Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Apartamentos El Portón 3 stars

Urbanizacion sitio de Calahonda, CN 340 Km 196, 29650 La Cala de Mijas, Spain

#38 of 63 hotels in La Cala de Mijas

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 163 apartment reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    6.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.5
    el porton 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Stayed here before about three years ago had a large one bed apartment, this time had a shoebox size apartment made the mistake of thinking all the apts were same size which is why we returned here, not much room for two adults and two teenagers,small apt was like an oven at night even with fans on. Secure car parking was not great either if you were not parked up by 9pm you would not get a space and would have to park on the street as i did a few nights. A few cars looked to have been left there awhile and were covered in dust this could be the cause of the parking shortage. Have used booking.com a lot in the last few years and this is the first time I have been dissapointed in them.

    The pool, the grounds clean safe apartments and area ,parking when available. ten minutes to beach by car. five minutes to supermarket by car.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    4.2
    Too quiet and secluded for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Description should mention that a car is essential. This is in the hills as it says but there is nothing in reasonable walking distance and I mean nothing! I believe the photos of the one bed apartment we booked to be very misleading and the balcony was very dangerous for children which was a worry. There was a section that was only covered with that appeared to be a garden trellis type of thing which was attached with not much more than picture hooks. We had to surround this with our cases to keep my son away and keep balcony closed when we were not sitting out there. Balcony with one bedroom is very small not as pictures suggest. The pool does not open un till 12 noon, even although the sign says 11 and it was always about 1215 during our stay. There are sign everywhere saying no ball games. And all the residents at the pool seem to want everyone to be quiet!( I think they were residents!) this was very difficult with a toddler!! In my opinion it’s just not great ! There was no WiFi password in our room when we arrived so had various email back and forth with booking office saying it was there.i then received an email to say a member of the housekeeping team tried to come and help but we were out. I returned to find our apartment open and the staff were next door . I was in our apartment before they knew I was there so anyone else passing could have been too! I was very disturbed that they even went in without our permission!! I also found the sofa bed to be poor but I was told it was new and they had never had complaints from anyone else . So maybe I’m just fussy , although I do have a bruise from getting in and out and my son also has bruises from trying to climb down.

    We got locked out at one point and had a very quick response to help us back in, which was appreciated. The views were lovely and a nice pool when it was open!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    3.3
    Rubbish stay away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not told swimming pool would not be open till june,and option given was small for amount of people and insufficiant chairs and lay beds. Very Dark room due to Tree 4 meters away from balconey blocking out sun. Will Not recommened or Return..Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.8
    we thourly enjoyed our stay,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    the shower was very nice but not very practical water from the showerhead splashed out the tub onto the tile surround and floor shower curtain would help this problem. Alex

    everything was very good the apartment was spacious clean tidy,well equipped we were very satisfied Alex

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.7
    There was no key to the terrasse gate so we couldn’t access...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5-6 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no key to the terrasse gate so we couldn’t access the pool area and terrasse from the apartment. One of the front door keys did not fit the door lock so I had to go back to the reception to get another key. All guests, arriving at different time, had to go to the reception to show their passports. In my opinion, mine should have been enough as I was the renter of the apartment.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.4
    Decent but have had better for less.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hassle to collect the keys and having to drop them off again( would be good if there was a drop box near the property. We were promptly told that we could not use the crown resorts facilities but the paperwork we were given advised that you could use them on payment of a fee. Very young family friendly as although set in a very quiet area it could get very noisy around the pool.

    Comfy beds, lovely pool, gorgeous views and pet friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.9
    Good for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5-6 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too hard, doesn't have air conditioning, has only one TV, pool opened only certains hours a day

    Apartment has a washer machine, kitchen was very convenient to prepare breakfast and snacks. Very nice view from the balcony. It has security gate and private parking space. Near to restaurants and shopping centers (need to use the car) Pool was clean and has a lifeguard.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    5.4
    Needs some work done as the managers are doing .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5-6 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen was a let down smelly and not very clean , although oven was. Microwave stank Broken kettle missing shelfs in fridge . There was missing things in the apartment. A fan was that was there was disgusting. I did not dare switch it on was covered in a think dust. The balcony was dangerous with missing grout between the ties I tripped and nearly went over the balcony wall. I took pictures of it all. The ties that had missing grout was sharp.

    The pool gardens were lovely and kept well. Bathrooms and bedrooms were nice and clean. Was happy with them.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    7.1
    Stay at El Porton 25 05 2017
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Light fitting in utility room was missing a Glass cover. The panels on the side of the toaster were broken on both sides so we were afraid to use it Ceiling in bedroom cracked and broken, as if water had leaked from upstairs. We also had a small round bathtub, weird .Key collection from Crown Resorts Marbella Club was very brief and not very friendly. We were told they only dealt with the keys any other problem we would have to sort it out locally and we were given a map showing the route to the apartment. When we arrived at 6 block the indicator lights for the lift were not working properly which led to some frustration. When we returned the keys we were given a "thanks" nothing else, like "have you enjoyed your stay" etc. It was very abrupt and disappointing

    The grounds were kept in very in very good condition and were very pleasant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    5.8
    Apartment and Pool was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5-6 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No Air conditioning We stayed 1 Week - apartment wasn't cleaned while we were there No reception area to contact if you had any problems No Tourist Information available

    Apartment and Pool was lovely Grounds around the Apartments kept very well Secure Parking for Hire Car

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    gut
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hunde in swimming pool

    swimming pool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    5.0
    cold appt too many workmen
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5-6 Adults)
    • Stayed 23 nights

    this apt wasCOLD

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.5
    Great place, you definitely need a car to get around as on top of a bery steep hill.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture is old and the beds very uncomfortable

    The flat was really clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    7.5
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5-6 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some other lodgers, loud and rude.

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    6.3
    Cosy Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV didn't work Very remote location No wheelchair access

    Swimming pool Kitchen Comfortable beds

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    5.0
    Pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low and old equipments in the house. No aircondition and only paid internet (min 5 days).

    Pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The transportation

    The bed and the view

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    8.3
    dated but clean
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hill to the propery

    Swimming pool, full kitchens with washers and ovens

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    8.8
    Great property awesome views
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't clean on arrival

    Great property awesome views

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    5.0
    No Internet during the weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    WIFI!!!!! No internet during the weekend then I had to pay 5 days for 3 days.

    view, quiet, calm

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    7.5
    Nice garden and lovely pool very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5-6 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    3G signal for WiFi weak Air condition would be usefull

    Nice garden and lovely pool very relaxing

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    2.5
    Avoid avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con, no fan, no reception, no phone, in the middle of no where stayed here one night and moved do not book ever !!!!

    Nothing!!!!!!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.6
    A big apartment with a large balcony overlooking a beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A bit far away from shops, restaurants,and beach, but we had a car. Hard to find the first day lucky we had a sat nav.

    A big apartment with a large balcony overlooking a beautiful pool area. pool area and apartment were spotlessly clean. nice quiet area.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    5.8
    The pool was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No air conditioning and the fan provided was completely inadequate during a heat wave. The fact that there was no reception desk was also a drawback.

    The pool was excellent. The apartments were quiet in a lovely location.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    8.8
    Excellent place for pool side holiday, very family oriented...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Toaster and kettle not provided in the apartment but reception staff are helpful and gave toaster on request.

    Excellent place for pool side holiday, very family oriented place. Poolside entertainment coordinators are lovely and keep everyone busy in various activities. Highly recommend.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    5.0
    Crown Resort Staff very helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Very basic! Settee in lounge was bed - cushions could not be sat on without cushions moving off! Other beds really uncomfortable. Extremely noisy as probably no insulation between apartments, either walls or floors. No sink plug or washing up bowl!!! Next apartments washing machine just outside bedroom window/patio door. Needed to obtain scart lead for TV and no information available

    Crown Resort Staff very helpful. Car Parking

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: