Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel El Rastro 3 stars

Cepedas, 1, 05001 Avila, Spain

#14 of 24 hotels in Avila

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 744 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact that we had no wi-fi in the room, it worked only at the reception area and the TV was very small.

    Great location! Close to a tower and the view was perfect. Also the location was very close to the public transportation bus and they has a schedule when the bus was coming per hours. The hotel also helped us with printing our plane tickets, gave us details and a map of Avila and the people at the reception were very friendly. Would return there for sure!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi wouldn't work once we left the reception area.....and the receptionist was quite brusque!

    The situation of the hotel...easy walk from the Rastro car park.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very slow wifi, no breakfast. Would also be nice to have small fridge and glasses, not plastic cups.

    Great location, spacious room with good bathroom. Free parking a short walk away.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been better

    The rooms are simple and compact but well designed and presented. View onto the plaza was wonderful and the hotel rooms are not overlooked. So quiet and private.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite our efforts to engage in simple Spanish exchanges on arrival, having had a long journey, we were met with complete rudeness, total lack of customer care and felt as though we wanted to book elsewhere, but too late, we had already committed to 3 nights payment. We have travelled fairly extensively, both abroad and in the UK and have never been treated with contempt, as we were on arrival. We were made to feel, quite frankly, that we were an inconvenience. We did read reviews and new little English was spoken, but we certainly new how to say hello and thank you and other basic pleasantries. We were spoken to abruptly and with no pleases or thank yous'. Our passports were demanded from us, as though we were criminals and were just pointed to the lift, deducing which floor we were on, by the number on our key fob! There were no tea/ coffee making facilities, one of our towels had a hole in it, as did one of the net curtains and there were stains on the chairs. Soap had no soap dish, so sink around the outside got very messy. Thank goodness we hadn't booked breakfast, as I don't think we could have stood the potential grief! On our second day there was a male receptionist, who was a bit more approachable, so we were brave enough to ask for the WiFi password, which we felt, if we'd asked the day before, we'd have had our heads bitten off, for the audacity of asking in the first place! We were really looking forward to staying in Avila, as we were over for a friends, sons' wedding, but for that, we'd have taken the next train back to Madrid, to stay in the hostal we had been in, prior to our visit to El Rastro. The experience in Madrid couldn't have been more different! A major thumbs down.

    It was clean and tidy. No other redeeming features. Will not book again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking difficult, but what do you expect for this price within a walled city?

    Local people really helpful, told me where to park, what to eat, what to see in my very limited timescale. Needed more time, will go back!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is not 24h reception, so first night was closed out and had to go to a different hotel which is a shame.

    Very good value for money, excellent rooms and service for a much cheaper price than other hotels in Avila.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good location in the old city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi did not work in our room

    good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much facilities, no bar etc

    The room, and the location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff does not speak english

    Located in the very center of the city, cozy and confortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As central as can be, comfortable, excellent value for money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Accomodation was very very good but the town itself is not so great for tourists.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location-close to Plaza Mayor. Very clean and larger than most tiny hotel rooms. Nice bathroom and shower, TV, little balcony.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Perfect location in old town.great value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    will stay there again,peaceful and more than what i expected

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent facilities and location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location and nice staff. Value for money excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good condition and close the historic spot.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi in room, only in reception.

    Great location in the heart of the old city. Comfortable and good value.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interesting building and location. Proper matrimonial bed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The location of the hotel could not be better within the historical walled town, found parking just outside the old quarter

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No breakfast available

    Everything was great. Right next to the Wall of Avila. Parking near.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No in room WiFi. Staff not friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms very basic: no wifi, old TVs, no hairdryers or irons. Staff speak Spanish only.

    Good location in the old town. Quirky rooms in an old building.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be better if breakfast is provided.

    The hotel is beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not available and the staff declined to advise where to get some.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wi fi in rooms.television very old.Expensive parking nearby.No breakfast,although there is a restaurant.

    Location,Friendly,Helpful staff.cosy atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    If I have to find a fault, it is the breakfast is not included in the price

    Excellent place. Inside the walled city. Perfect location and the whole place is great

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The woman who greeted us and checked us in was very pleasant, the one who checked us out was brusque to the point of rudeness. The room was very basic, for example some soap in the bathroom would have been appreciated.

    I really liked the position of this hotel. It was well placed and it was wonderful to look out our window and see a statue of St John of the Cross. The room was able to be dark and cosy and had atmosphere. Cafes and a delicious patisserie were nearby.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficult to find but just park outside the gate to the city and go right when you go through and it is 100 metres in front of you. Very convenient to walk the city and the city walls which are stunning at night. Pleased that the hotel still takes dogs because the "dog room" we were in, and we don't mind, had been ruined by someones dog. Furniture chewed and ruined. The hotel have done their best to cover it but shame on the owner! Ate at Meson del Rastro restaurant just round the corner which was excellent. Taster menu for two which included starters a tbone steak and puddings for 39 euros - a nice bottle of wine and some water and the bill was just under 50 euros and the ambience of stags antlers and beams everywhere..brilliant.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No food or drink of any sort was available throughout our stay. Fortunately the weather was good and there is a wide choice available very nearby. The Web Site said there was a Bar and Restaurante - there was a restaurant but we were told it was closed!

    The location, welcome, and well equipped clean room.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nowhere to put anything in the bathroom. And floor was damaged outside bathroom door.

    A conveniently placed hotel. Good veiw from top floor. Staff were helpful.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower mixer tap had a temperature govern that was set too cold, also if you provide a bath please supply a bath plug. However this did not have an adverse effect on our stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff had very little or no English - which would be acceptable in Spain - but for the fact that according to booking.com the hotel staff spoke English. Basic amenities were lacking - there was no soap in the bathroom, the bulbs in the two main lights had blown, the electric outlet (plug) by the bedside table did not work so our tablet remained uncharged, there was only wifi in the reception area, there was no breakfast available either in the hotel or the associated hostal ... . In two months of travelling in Spain we have experienced excellent accommodation but we could not recommend this hotel to non-spanish tourists. A two star hotel at best!

    Attractive room with exposed walls and (very small) balcony. The Italian restaurant offered a reasonably priced and enjoyable evening meal.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Too far from historic centre which was an uphill. LED lighting that did not switch completely off. Signs of serious damp in bedroom cupboard and bad smells in small bedroom and lower bathroom.

    Avila is great to visit and an apartment through Hotel Rastro that itself lies in the old city was what we sought. We were though given a house significantly lower in Avila but still within the city walls. The House was spacious, well furnished with a well equipped Kitchen. Thankfully it was also close to a bus route.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We booked an apartment through Hotel Rastro on booking.com believing it to be close to the hotel and the historic quarter of avila and the Rastro park with great views, as the hotel is. This unfortunately was not the case - it turned out to be a house significantly lower down in the city, as we were told, not great when arriving with bags on the bus. The Bottom bathroom smelled of drains and the small bedroom smelt like solvent, thankfully we didn't need to use it. There was also a nasty black patch of damp inside a bedroom cupboard. Avila is obviously cold in winter, but this house does not benefit from being shut up with triple glazing - it needs to breath. There was no WiFi although the Hotel had it in public areas a quarter of a mile away! Lastly the lighting was a nightmare - literally - an energy saving bulb was broken open in the top bathroom, not nice if a mercury containing bulb and many bulbs were LED types that did not shut off completely when the lights were turned off meaning the bedrooms and landing were still illuminated slightly which affected sleeping.

    This was a large house and the kitchen was well equipped except strangely for lack of corkscrew and clothes horse. The house was inside the city wall in a quiet area (forgetting the Pilgrim fiesta) and close to a bus stop at the bottom port, this was just as well as it was a significant climb to the historic centre. There were 2 bathrooms, but the lower smelt bad and we kept the door shut. The TV was an old Sony, but had a freeview plug in which worked well.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The full board is a great experience as Breakfast is in a bar around the corner and dinner is in the courtyard out the front with an Italien menu .Yummy tiramisu!

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Matresses on the beds were extremely hard, made sleeping difficult for me. Staff at the front desk were not friendly or overly helpful. When we asked questions, even in spanish, I felt like we were being a bother.

    Location was great and quiet. The place had an old world Europeon charm that is comfortable and feels safe. We came primarily to learn about the life of St Teresa of Avila during Avila's 500 year celebration of her life.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tea making facilities.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bidet not working. No water coming to it.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small beds. No wifi in room.

    Good location. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We would have preferred theprovision of soap instead of sachets which we could not open

    Being able to watch the world from our window

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no WIFI connection in the room, but that was no problem for us.

    There was very cozy and clean. Great location and price. I recommend it

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Browse Hotel El Rastro traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: