Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of El Rincón de las Descalzas 3 stars

Descalzas, 1, 41410 Carmona, Spain

#5 of 16 hotels in Carmona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 489 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Lovely rural and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very difficult to find as its hidden away, bookings.com dont seem to put the full address on any of their hotels so sat nav dosnt always pick it up

    Lovely rural place excellent town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.4
    Noisy, will not go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very Noisy, wall very thin, staff hovering outside room all hours of the day and speaking in loud voices. Some rooms did not even have windows! two of the rooms were right by the breakfast room which made them even more noisy in the morning

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.9
    A lot that's good spoiled by totally inadequate lighting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room was appalling - impossible to read in bed day or night. Creating atmosphere is good but it also has to be functional. Decent wall-mounted reading lights at bed heads might be a compromise.

    Liked location in pretty town. Atmospheric hotel and rooms for example candle-lit stairs and corridors after dark. Breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Gorgeous! Well situated, walking distance to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we asked for firewood we were told a story about it being "too windy outside and a fire was a hazard". Early next morning we noticed firewood being delivered and asked again. Other than having to pay 15 euro, we simply had to arrange a time for staff to come and light the fire for us and we were given a supply of large logs and a few fire starters. Without kindling it took a while to really get the fire going - in the end it all worked out but I was left thinking staff had not been honest that first night.

    Based on on-line reviews there appears to be significant discrepancy on quality of rooms. We upgraded to a suite with fireplace which was truly charming, a few pictures on the walls would have made it perfect. Beautiful woodwork, candlelit hallways and colourful courtyards. PARKING TIP: Park in the outdoor Public Parking Lot (free) next to the Parador. By far the easiest place to park without having to drive on any of the extremely narrow streets. Honestly, you don't want to take your car in there, we squeezed down one street with about 2-cm left to spare.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful location! Staff very helpful (got sick and a staff member went to pharmacy for meds).
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom mirror was very small and the lighting very poor. Very hard to put on makeup, especially when getting ready for a very formal event. The bedroom had no other mirror where a second person could get ready. Poor lighting in the closet. Maybe other bedrooms had better lighting and mirrors.

    The location is great! The staff was very accommodating and helpful and the place itself is a gem (architecture and decoration)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    Nice little hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast wasn't as expected, not recommendable Roof terrace was unfortunately closed Rooms could need a bit of repair, i.e. the bathroom door didn't close

    Great location, nice rooms and very comfortable beds. In general, the hotel has a good atmosphere and is nicely decorated. You feel welcomed and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.3
    We had a great time in this very small but fine hotel, close to everything in beautiful Carmona.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Poor breakfast. Room a bit dark. Difficult to find the hotel (also for taxi drivers).

    Very nice and genuine architecture and atmosphere. Small and cosy hotel at a great location in Carmona.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.5
    Bed comfee, but small, very central to old town, rooms quite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very nice, but could do with better lighting, TV small and no English channels (not even a news channel! Breakfast was very average, did not bother on the second morning. Difficult to find, could do with another sign at the entrance to the passage way.

    Bed comfee, but small, very central to old town, rooms quite and nicely decorated.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Convenient location nice patios
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting was very dim when you first turned the lights on but improved after a while

    The hotel had secure parking for our bikes. The location was convenient to the main plaza and many interesting sites. The hotel was very clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.8
    A beautifully restored traditional hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tricky to find; in particular, it defeated our satnav completely and we finished up parking near the Parador and walking (which isn't that far). Otherwise, nothing.

    An excellent welcome and a lovely room in a central and beautifully restored traditional hotel. We were very impressed that gluten-free bread was available for breakfast on our second morning (I guess it would have been on the first morning too if I had thought to mention it in advance).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    9.6
    Lots of little patios
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel was a bit too dark in feb but prob lovely in summer. No fridge in room.

    Quiet, central, tons of hot water for baths, great decor. Quality sheets. Laura the receptionist genuinely likes people and was very friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    8.8
    Great location, lovely furnishings and patios.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The en-suite bathrooms are only partly separated from the bedrooms by an incomplete wall, open at the top - and no door. "Open plan" I guess but we'd definitely prefer more privacy.

    Great location, lovely furnishings and patios.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    6.7
    Ok for a short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was on the ground floor with no window looking out of the hotel, it was also right next to the breakfast room. Quite noisy at times

    Great location in the old part of town

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    5.4
    Get a room in the Parador hotel instead
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are plain dirty. Don't look under the bed, it's unsettling. The advertised fireplace is not functional. The strangest design for a bathroom - with a huge window to a living room and no sound insulation whatsoever. Awkward service at the breakfast.

    Right on the middle of the old Town. Beautiful entrance.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    9.6
    Quiet place and lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is amazing ,very kind and helpful in giving informations on where to eat and what to see.Very chatty .Nice big breakfast served either inside or outside in one of the patios .Good location as its close to a few museums and churches .parking not far away.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    10
    Really liked El Ricon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We easily found parking (November) but might be difficult in season.

    Location excellent in old town. Atmosphere lovely - birdsong at dusk, church bell close (but not obtrusive) lovely study and rest areas surrounding room, individual layout of rooom and brilliant development of historic building. Excellent shower, v good broadband, good included breakfast, 'Genius' reduction made even better value.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    Lovely Authentic Spanish hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air con or room fan and even in October could have done with it as it was hot and too noisy from people chatting walking past to keep windows open.

    Great traditional Spanish hotel, the owner did not speak very much English, but we managed to communicate. Great evening meal and breakfast in nearby restaurant also theirs. Very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    9.6
    The place is very good for a family vacation which has...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find since it doesn't have sign outside

    The place is very good for a family vacation which has facilities that can cater for intimate small family gathering. The staff are also very helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.1
    Vert Nice room, excellent breakfeast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking vert difficult !

    Vert Nice room, excellent breakfeast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    A typical English cottage bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The saloon doors to the bathroom.

    A typical English cottage bedroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice small hotel in the center of Carmona - lots of free parking in the vicinity
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable king bed - large well-appointed bathroom - quiet

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.3
    Comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better. El desayuno podría ser mejor.

    Comfy bed. Good location. Pretty room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    We won't stay anywhere else!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish the microwave was available all hours so we can make our own tea in the afternoon and evening.

    Excellent as always.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    See above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Bed really nice. ..great antiwue feel to place. I had s bad cold and staff looked after me v well. Would love to revisit

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    6.7
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oldish style

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Very traditional hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very traditional hotel. This is why we liked it. It was clean, excellent value for the cost. Located in the heart of Carmona.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    An interesting hotel with lovely sitting areas for relaxing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    6.3
    Very pleasant area within hotel for sitting outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor breakfast

    Very pleasant area within hotel for sitting outside.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Charming ambience of hotel and town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't great. Breads/pastries were very fresh. Coffee service was poor.

    Charming ambience of hotel and town.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    9.2
    Short break in Carmona
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a little bit hard to find, but once found, excellent location

    Good breakfast, nothing special, but enough.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    9.6
    The room was simple, but very clean and had everything we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We really had no complaints.

    The room was simple, but very clean and had everything we needed. The bed was comfortable and the hot water pressure very good - 2 things that were important after a day of walking. The hotel management and staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    7.5
    A beautiful historic building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff could have been a little more friendly and welcoming. It may have been done to the language barrier, but a few more smiles would have been appreciated.

    A beautiful historic building. The rooms are very nice and the two pretty courtyards and roof terrace are an added bonus. There is a cosy lounge and a pleasant traditional breakfast room.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    8.8
    Nice small interior courtyards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Difficult to locate. Almost no signage. Look for the two small plants/trees on the left side of the narrow one lane street.

    Nice small interior courtyards. Authentic atmosphere. A former convent. Located in the historic heart of Carmona.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    7.1
    It was warm and comfortable (it was really cold in Carmona!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking was difficult as the streets are very very narrow and everyone in Carmona seems to have at least one car

    It was warm and comfortable (it was really cold in Carmona!!)

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    9.2
    Wonderful atmosphere with many courtyards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Several burned out light bulbs, bidet wouldn't drain and a staff member spent about minutes getting the heating to work.

    Wonderful atmosphere with many courtyards. Like staying in a 19th c. Mansion (which it once was).

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    3.3
    Stay in the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed for one night at the El Rincon de las Descalzas in Carmona. We were pretty much looking forward to it, but the experience was disappointing. The hygiene in the room was below standards, long blond hairs on floor carpet, on floor and in bath,..My husband and myself have short hairs, so these 'remains' definitely were from a prevous visitor, clearly a sign that the room has not be cleaned in a normal way. The sanitary in the bathroom showed signs of rust, a 3 stars hotel unworthy. Breakfast was in line with the total experience... disappointing. Maybe the staff had a bad hair day, but we have been shouted at. Very impolite and aggressive. Dry croissants served, margarine instead of butter,... An experience to forget quickly.

    Stay in the old town

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    8.3
    Unfortunately we had only one night in the hotel and in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking was a real problem although we did eventually find a spot after a really scary drive through the incredibly narrow streets. Finding our way back out of the old town on to the Seville road was also difficult, but none of this reflects on the hotel.

    Unfortunately we had only one night in the hotel and in Carmona but the location of the hotel and the overall ambiance of the building were excellent. The town itself and particularly the area around the hotel was very attractive.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    9.2
    Convenient for bars and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bath / toilet just had swing doors to the bedroom part - not very nice or hygienic. Very hard to find - no notice on the wall where the alley way was / is .

    Convenient for bars and food. Parking hard close to - but carry driving down the narrow, cobbled road and you will come to places where it is easy - 5 mins walk ?

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    6.7
    The staff were very good and made every effort to oblige.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast is very basic continental, and the orange juice was made from concentrate which was disappointing.

    The staff were very good and made every effort to oblige. Some speak English if your Spanish isn't up to it. The patios are beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    6.7
    Atomosphere, cleanness, good wifi connection, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    1) No English, No helpful stuff The stuff could not speak English at all (!) and we had to push them to get the information such as a bus schedule, etc... They said firstly 'I don't know', so we persistently asked them, then they checked the information on the internet... Guests should be very active to obtain all the information needed. 2)Noisy Our room was next to the pateo near the entrance and the sounds of other people chatting and closing doors desturbed our sleep often although I'm not so sensitive to the noises. The room door and window are not isolated well, so all the noises can be heard...

    Atomosphere, cleanness, good wifi connection, location

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    8.8
    Loved the layout and decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was disappointing

    Loved the layout and decor. We stayed here at the end of a week touring and didn't want to go back to Sevilla for the last night. Easy to drive in to drop hire car off in the morning from Carmona.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    10
    This hotel is extremely beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Absolutely Nothing!

    This hotel is extremely beautiful!!! The hotel with it's 3 interior patios are an oasis of rest and relaxation. An excellent example of Andalusian living and hospitality with a five star service, but a three star price.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    9.6
    Central location with a good selection of restaurants and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not really a dislike but it's not easy to find. My satnav initially took me to another part of the town at first so I asked in a shop and was pointed in the right direction. It's near the church. But, even when I go there I drive past it without seeing the entrance, as did I and a German couple whom I met looking for the front door !! Best park your car where the satnav eventually says it is and ask.

    Central location with a good selection of restaurants and bars in a plaza a couple of minutes walk away. Beautifully designed and laid out; very elegant and tranquil. I parked outside but, as it is located in the centre of the old town, parking might not be too easy if the hotel is busy. It's five stars for almost everything and my only gripe was that it was not easy to find. My satnav initially took me to another part of the town so I asked in a shop and was pointed in the right direction. But, even when I got there I drove past it without seeing the entrance, as did a German couple whom I met also looking for the front door !! Best park your car where the satnav eventually says it is and ask. Great place to stay though. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    10
    We really liked the central location of this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The church bells announce the time day or night. At first they woke us up, but we missed them after we left!

    We really liked the central location of this hotel. The rooms are nicely decorated and the internal patios are a peaceful place to relax.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    9.6
    We liked the room, the small courtyards, and the position of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although our room was very comfortable, we were not thrilled with the open plan nature of the bathroom facilities - would prefer a door on the toilet!

    We liked the room, the small courtyards, and the position of the hotel within the old part of the town, with its fascinating architecture and streets.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything! Beautiful tranquil room, lovely rooms to relax and read in, delightful patios to sit in, a relaxing bathroom, friendly staff, Monica and Laura were angels, luggage store etc. Nothing was too much trouble, the whole ambiance of the place was an oasis of calm, yet the location was very central. A perfect getaway, would definitely stay again and recommend. It really as good as the photos.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    2.5
    Mi husband was sick and we decided to come back home .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Mi husband was sick and we decided to come back home ....the y did not try to listen to the Reason of our no showing. The next day my husband Was admited to the Emergency Hospital in Cuenca with a respiratory problem

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    8.3
    Location, interesting hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, interesting hotel

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    4.6
    To much noise during the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    To much noise during the night. Church bells. And noise people from the patio. We hardly slept.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    8.3
    Riad style
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No exterior window, only one to a stairwell, meant it was very dark

    Riad style

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    8.3
    Charming location in the centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Charming location in the centre of town. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    10
    Location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location is perfect. Staff is friendly. The facilities are gracious. Fascinating history both within the town and in the outskirts.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    8.8
    Decoración in general .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast could be greatly improved, both quality and quantity.

    Decoración in general .Beautiful set up. Great Staff .

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    9.2
    The spanish character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was only breakfast there and did not see a bar.

    The spanish character

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    7.9
    interesting layout, every room is different, has local...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    concierge speaks no english at all

    interesting layout, every room is different, has local charme, very pretty hotel

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    10
    Typical Spanish small hotel, friendly, comfort and has its...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No concerns encountered.

    Typical Spanish small hotel, friendly, comfort and has its own characteristic.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    7.5
    central location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    central location, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    9.2
    Location close to restaurants and principal attractions of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Got used to it but church bells are striking all night!

    Location close to restaurants and principal attractions of town. Good breakfast and nice staff

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    10
    Away from the big city Seville in a small town with a lot of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Away from the big city Seville in a small town with a lot of history. The real Spain atmosphere and no pressure. Just relax and enjoy

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    9.6
    Nice and local to the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No restaurant or Bar if you wanted to stay in.

    Nice and local to the town

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    8.8
    Good strong wifi signal, lots of options for breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was a little firm, for my liking.

    Good strong wifi signal, lots of options for breakfast

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Browse El Rincón de las Descalzas traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: