Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Elba Estepona Gran Hotel & Thalasso Spa 5 stars

Carretera Estepona-Cádiz, 151, 29680 Estepona, Spain

#13 of 25 hotels in Estepona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1349 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    10
    Room with a beautiful view of the palm trees, swimming pool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room with a beautiful view of the palm trees, swimming pool and beaches. My wife was extremely impressed with the view of the bathroom. great breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.9
    Good to have an indoor pool which can be used if weather is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Indoor pool needed some repair and cleaning of edging tiles . People coming into restaurant in evening still wearing shorts although it clearly stated that these are forbidden.

    Good to have an indoor pool which can be used if weather is not good and sheltered sitting out area next to pool

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    relaxing, excellent weekend will surely repeat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was really comfortable, we really liked the balcony with sea views, The Bathroom was amazing it had everything, The breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the waiting staff in the restaurant could wait a little longer before taking the plates. Sometimes it felt like it was constant and difficult to relax. Of course they were very attentive but it should feel like everytime we finished a plate or a drink that empty object was removed.

    The food was amazing as well as the spa and room!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    5.8
    Mixed review. No way 5 star but some good points.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food often cold and repeatative. Bad location for getting out, long way to town. Entertainment very poor. Lounge seats very uncomfortable No way 5 star! Expensive in relation to value at this hotel! Poorly cooked grill food Sun beds uncomfortable and no seats available outside.

    Staff friendly and helpful. Nice balcony view Nice selection of fresh sea food (but repeatative!) Gardens/landscaping excellent

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.6
    We left early after two nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We left early after two nights. We had to go, as my husband needed to get home earlier, so we had to cancel the last nights and lost the rest of our money as we had done the booking through Booking.com, and hadn’t,t vacelled through you in time. Bad luck. That is the problem with last minute prepaid or totally confirmed cancellations when we book through you. Bad luck to us.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel but a little remote
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a bit remote. There was a mercadona supermarket down the road and a couple of restaurants but unless you are prepared to drive or get a taxi into the town centre (about 10/15 to the marina) you have to eat at the hotel which is fairly pricey. Room service menu pizza was not very good burnt topping and way to much cheese and i like cheese.

    The hotel was beautiful. The room was huge with a lovely walk in shower and a big double end bath. The view was stunning over the sea so relaxing sitting on the balcony listening to the sea. The pool area was clean and plenty of beds.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Beautiful site, great pool, breakfast and lunch are awesome...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach is very small and there are a lot of rocks but still you have seats at the beach and there are no other people around

    Beautiful site, great pool, breakfast and lunch are awesome compared to other Spanish breakfasts and lunch buffets, you can choose the fish they grill for you fresh. And the rooms are really big. I recommend a room with sea view.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    6.3
    Very disappointed in the quality and servicel for the price charged and the standard which it claims
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The hotel is tired and many of the the staff are generally (but not all) unsmilimg and lacking in enthusiasm. We complained about the amount of smoking in the restaurant areas - as did several other guests to whom we spoke. There was no bar service offered around the pool area. There was a significant lack of signage and only a very poor hotel map was available. The piano bar was closed the whole time and there was never anyone playing the piano in the foyer bar. There was no information about the location or nature of evening entertainment. The cost of dining in the two restaurants we tried was not justified by the standard of the cuisine. The description of the number/type of restaurants is misleading. The same restaurant offers different cuisine on different nights and there was a lack of readily available information about which cuisine was available on a particular evening.

    The pool area was good plus the easy beach access.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    3.8
    Great weather, good pool delighted we were able to walk along the beach to find alternative offers!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall compex too big and therefore charaterless. In trying to cater for all it really catered for no one and was very costly- if you were not on an all inclusive package Staff were de motivated - with exceptions: Pool Staff and Cleaning Serviceabd Dining staff were particalarly demotivated Over all if it were more bespoke and less formulaic with a greater attention to detail it may have been a more memorable experience

    Good maid service, reasonable pool

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.8
    Great location, were upgraded to the tower room 616 which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    air conditioning

    Great location, were upgraded to the tower room 616 which has amazing views but the air condition is not "man" enough to keep the room cool enough and the bathroom becomes a sauna by afternoon. Great pity . Breakfast offers a great verity of options. We enjoyed our stay overall and the staff are friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Breakfast was very generous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was very generous. We had some issues with original room but the staff was very quick to resolve any issues. Wonderful service and hospitality.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    4.2
    breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is very old fashioned, there was a smell of dampness in the room. The pool area is not clean enough. Not a five star hotel level and really not worth the price

    breakfast was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Staff at the hotel were super when we arrived
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had asked for an airport transfer from Malaga airport which did not materialize on the way over and no explanation. We did get a transfer back to Malaga airport from a very angry driver who while driving took/ made over 10 calls, read texts and ruined our journey back to the airport with bad language.

    Staff at the hotel were super when we arrived

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.5
    3 nights at Elba - September
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is out of town so if you want to go out or eat somewhere else, it's a car drive a way (no busses). So it's not really comfortable if you're not in the all inclusive deal. The room wasn't sparkling clean. When arrived the batch had some sea sand in it... Plus the ac in the bedroom was dripping.

    Upon arrival we entered our room which had 2 twin beds instead of a queen. The hotel staff were extremely nice and upgraded us to a sea view king size bed deluxe room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.1
    Over rated as a 5 star.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were not too happy with the location of the room that was given to us. Yes, we did get a sea view room but it was noisy from the stage below and having a very noisy family next door did not help the situation either. Also, when a hotel is classified as a 5 star one, there should be basic amenities like an ironing board and an iron in the room. This was easily obtained from the reception but that is not the point! Breakfast was limited. Same buffet and no variety.

    The room was spacious and having the tea/coffee facility in the room was a definite plus. Having a spacious balcony was also a plus. The gate that leads onto the walkway and the beach was a favourite for many, and ours too. The staff were also helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.8
    The hotel was lovely and the staff were excellent especially...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The beach was a bit disappointing and it is a little further from Estepona than I have anticipated.

    The hotel was lovely and the staff were excellent especially Pippa who ran the buffet restaurant. I have a Gluten allergy and she was extremely helpful and accommodating. I would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    It was perfect for our needs: a relaxing week before work...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Sea View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room description was inaccurate. A triple room advertised as three single beds was in fact a twin room with a ‘put me up’ bed. At £300 per night this is an inexcusable error. Especially when the hotel only supplied two cups and saucers, glasses, toiletries etc.

    It was perfect for our needs: a relaxing week before work starts

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    Great views from sea facing room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t really walk to anywhere outside the hotel, need to drive or taxi, but not an issue for us.

    Great views from sea facing room. Super spa facilities. Good food in both buffet and A La Carte.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    Gran Elba
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food at the restaurant was not the best. Good grils usually but hardly anthing else to choose in evenings. Beach in front of hotel is narraw and with stones. But on postive side it is almost empty.

    Very big room with a fantastic see view, very big terase. Very confortable. Although the beach is not with smooth sand the view and the privacy is great. Very very relaxing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    Appalling cabaret otherwise excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spalling standard of show time singers. Gemma is worse than a poor karaoke singer. Just a joke as no one listened to her she could not sing a note. Disgraceful for a 5 star hotel

    The spacious room and pool facilities

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel, a few kms outside of the main town. Great for a restful few days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air-con in the rooms was not strong enough. We changed rooms after the first night due to this. The second room was only marginally better. There were no "summer" blankets available, only sheets or thick winter poochs, so if you prefer more than sheet covering at night but something lighter than a heavy pooch, you're out of luck.

    A lot of thought went into the decor both in the public areas and the rooms, which all have balconies and are spacious and well equipped. The service was excellent and the reception desk extremely professional and pleasant. Breakfast was fantastic. Evening entertainment made for pleasant listening.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.9
    Big rooms, massive bathrooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee from coffee machine was terrible. Iced coffee/frappe from bar was super sweet even without added sugar. The waiting service at breakfast and lunch was like a factory and not really personal or friendly. It would have been nice to be served tea/coffee. I’m gluten free and didn’t see any gluten free bread/pastries/pancakes etc.

    Big rooms, massive bathrooms

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.9
    3star desperate to be 5star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s had a hard season. There’s signs of wear and tear around the place. The decor is a little old fashion. I guess this would have been a beautiful hotel when new or last refurbished. It’s ready for a new refit. It is very over priced. Fair distance from anywhere and only one external restaurant within walking distance. Food is average at best...definitely not 5star. We’d need to be desperate to stay here again. There's better choices on this coast. Sorry to say but I can’t recommend it unless you want to overspend on an underwhelming hotel.

    The hotel is fine but a bit worn at the edges. The pool is great. The bar is great. Spacious enough and plenty of seating.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.3
    Nice relaxing hotel but crowded
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Somewhat older hotel, had to ask for maintenance 3 times, but they came immediately and were very helpfull. Quite busy and not enough chairs around the pool area, which triggered some reservation-fever. Also parking lot was not big enough to fit all cars of all guests.

    Nice spacious room with great view on the sea. Staff was very friendly and helpfull. Food was of good quality. Quiet location outside of Estepona.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    4.6
    Not a 5 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sun beds basic and very uncomfortable - no waiter service around the pool and food repetitive every night same same - did not change towels on an evening or do a turn down service. Understaffed throughout and staff did not Interact - overpriced for what we got I could go on but said enough at best a 3 star hotel would not go back !

    Beach front

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    great suite, very spacious and luxurious, with sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    our suite was just above the swimming pool for babies and young children, therefore very noisy when we stayed on the terrace

    great suite, very spacious and luxurious, with sea view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.8
    My experience.. hope it helps.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please not that the following is constructive criticism and should be taken as to improve place and service, or at the very least share my experience to help others. There seems to be a problem with the air conditioning of the complex. The hotel is generally warm and stuffy. This problem passes on to the hotel rooms, making it hard to sleep at night when temperature hits 26-27°Celsius in August , the ceiling fans do provide some relief though, the higher the floor the uncomfortably warmer it would get. Not the standard you would expect of a 5*. We paid the all-inclusive package nearly €500 per night and still found ourselves to have to pay €26 further to reserve a table at the other restaurants besides the buffet, which i think is unnecessary and should be included in the all-inclusive package. The sun beds around the pool area were really crammed together and have a policy, explained to me by the lifeguard, that as long as there is a hotel towel on them, no matter if its being more than 10+ hours of no one appearing to be using them, they are deemed occupied. The end result being tons of sun beds empty and you, with a bunch of other guests having to sit on chair or on the floor around pool area, looking puzzled and confused as to why this isnt monitored properly. Checking in process went smooth but we specifically requested a quiet room. We were told by receptionist that our room was indeed quiet. The room was located top floor above the entertainment area and was quite the opposite. Finding ourselves in a hot stuffy noisy room lol. Checking out was quite pleasant but make sure that you check and tally what you pay for with your booking.com confirmation booking. I was nearly charged around £60 further because as explained to me by reception, the bank that operates the card machines have a excessive conversion fee. The indoor pool terrace is suppose to be a quiet area for adults. Part of it is located above the main pool area.

    The room was very spacious and quite the luxury. The sea view from our balcony was stunning. The enclosed adult terrace pool was very nice, with clear window panes blocking winds and showcasing again the stunning sea view. The sun beds are very comfortable too. The complex in general is beautifully decorated, clean and the SPA is excellent to say the least. We were given a complimentary entry with our all-inclusive package and was the highlight of our stay. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    4.6
    Its over priced & not a 5 star Hotel, Aircon not work "Its Old & Tied hotel"
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no aircon in corridors of the hotel and the room Aircon was old and didn't work properly and the hotel is not a 5 star hotel its old and very tied and should be rated as a 3star ish hotel

    location and on the beach was great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.9
    1) Room size
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    1) Room cleaning could be better especially on the balcony. Wet cleaning must be done at least each second day but it did not. 2) Moscito repellent did not work, so take your own. 3) Very cold sea (the Atlantic is even warmer in mid July) and bad quality pebble beach - go to the adjacent nudist beach, if you are not shy :)

    1) Room size 2) Big free parking 3) Big balcony with front sea view 4) Breakfast on the second floor (no children allowed and goog coffee provided) 5) Adult pool on the second floor (quiet because no children allowed)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing retreat with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect stay to relax for a few days, everything you need is catered for. Loved fresh towels at the poolside every day. Room was a good size and room/hotel is cool throughout.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel in front of the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was below expectations for a 5 star hotel. I expected more fruits in the breakfast. In the evenings there were concerts in the patio and it was impossible to sleep with all the noise. Very frustrating for someone who wanted to rest during the holidays. However, upon a phone call to the reception , they quickly proposed us to change to another room.

    Very close to the beach (20 second walk!). Room was spacious and comfortable. Friendly and polite staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.7
    Wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a 5 star hotel more like a 3+.. it’s a package holiday hotel exceptionally busy lots and lots of children running around especially during meal times . We had lunch on arrival which was very poor . We were unlucky with family next to our room whose kids never stopped screaming however when we mentioned to reception they were happy to deal with the situation . The hotel is isolated nothing nearby to walk to . Taxi is around 10 Euro to estepona . We won’t stay here again

    Wonderful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    Great spa, good service exellent food,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 11 nights

    YOU COULD SERVE A SORBET ON THE BUFFET AS MORE AND MORE GUESTS ARE NOR EATING DAIRY PRODUCTS AND EGGS. BE THE FIRST HOTEL ON TH COSTA GOING STAWLESS AND HELP TO SAVE THE PLANET OTHER BIODEGRADABLE STRAWS ARE AVALABLE .

    Great spa, good service exellent food,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.0
    Pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No entertainment

    Beds where really comfortable. Had a problem with the food at one of the restaurants and management took care of it the day after our complaint

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    3.3
    Wouldnt go back. Far too isolated and pretty average overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The food was terrible, Certainly on the bar menu. Very isolated so taxi everywhere. Nice beach in the photos but could not use it. rocks not sand. general service was lacking. Maybe 4 star but not 5

    The hotel itself looks nice. entertainment at night was not bad. pool was good for the kids. You cant use cash to buy drinks so tally up what you buy. At the end its NOT itemized

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Everything was absolutely perfect, everything we could’ve...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Abraham wasn’t there on Wednesday and Thursday night..

    Everything was absolutely perfect, everything we could’ve wanted, shout out to our server Abraham, top guy!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Familly friendly hotel on the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price for one buffet dinner was 40 euro per person, wich should include some soft drinks. We had to pay extra for water, this was a little surprising :) The kids have their own pool, but they seems to prefere the bigger one, so you can here them all around.

    The rooms are very large, with excellent sea-view, beds were very confortable, the bathroom large and modern. The breakfast covers all the preferencies. They have a nice pool sorrounded by a nice garden and also a private beach in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Excellent family weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Other staff were not as happy in their jobs. Some areas need a bit of maintenance.

    Had a lovely welcome at Reception! Lovely friendly lady. Friendly guys handing out the towels in the pool area. Great choice of foods at breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    friendly staff and a very large bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    friendly staff and a very large bedroom. The continantal breaky was amazing. we had a large balcony with sea view and the sound of the waves . definitely deserved their 5 stars !!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.1
    I visited this hotel for the second time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I visited this hotel for the second time. It is beautiful and the staff is all very friendly, however there are a few points of disappointment. The cooked breakfast is definitely not up to a 5 star standard. The "bacon" was full of oil and totally burnt same with sausages on first day. The scrambled egg was swimming in what looked like milk and was very lumpy. We requested a room with double bed and all they could offer was 2 single beds joint together which was very uncomfortable and you could feel the springs in the mattress. They said they didn't have a room available with double bed as fully booked, but the hotel was definitely not full. We were also allocated a disabled room with bath instead of a shower as we had requested. My parents were also in a disabled room upon request as my mother is in a wheelchair, however again the bathroom offers a bath instead of a shower which I struggle to understand given that a disabled person is unlikely to manage getting into a bath. We requested a late check out as we had a night return flight, at least 1 room for my parents for the same reason above. We offered to pay the extra time but we're told they were fully booked which again I know is not the case as the hotel was definitely not full in June compared to my previous stay in August. As I said, overall the staff was very pleasant and friendly, however a 5 star hotel should not have these issues considering they charge as a 5 star hotel. Liz

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Great Hotel - Nice location for good Instagram pics ;)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I had to make a constructive remark it would be that the placemat looked a little run down and the coffee cups were all chipped around the edges. Also, having worked in a number of 5* hotels around the globe I was a little disappointed when I called reception to make a dinner reservation and enquired about their selection of restaurants and menus and was told by the receptionist: “I don’t know the menus”. We particularly enquired about the buffet menu and what was on offering that night, it would have been nice for him to find out and call back with menu information or bring a copy of the menu to our room. Being in hospitality makes me a little extra demanding.

    Check-in and check-out was effortless- very quick. Room was very spacious and had a lovely little terrace, The pool area seemed to run very smoothy and so did the breakfast service. Breakfast stations was replenished constantly and kept very tidy consiering the volume of guests- great job!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Everything was upgraded to a Suite and far more than...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was upgraded to a Suite and far more than expected A* I have been many times before as a couple and my first taking my granddaughter she love that she could experience the Spa and many other kids facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    5.4
    Not a 5 star property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel lacked any kind of atmosphere. There was no music around the pool area during the day. Very limited entertainment in the evenings. The bar was very bright & unappealing. I enjoyed my stay but would not go back. Over priced & over rated. A 5 star hotel. No attention to detail. Hotel lacked creature comforts. No turn down service at night. No pool service, pools towels all creased & handed to you without being folded. The restaurant offered the same food every night so it became very repetitive. No water in the rooms. Everything you had to for. Most 5star properties offer complimentary bottles of water in the room. Even at dinner a basic like water cost €5 a bottle.

    Staff were very friendly & welcoming. The rooms were clean & spacious but they were not luxurious. The bathroom however was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    everything we expected and a little more the hotel is first class the staff were wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is fantastic just a little out of the way. its just a pity as you need a car the A7 road is just outside the hotel and i would not like to walk long it.

    Staff very efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic Retreat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything , food, accommodation , coquetels, location, service !

    Excellent luxury family retreat. Staff very friendly and helpful! Excellent food ! Well done for the CHEFS and the barman on the third floor best coquetels ever.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.1
    An enjoyable break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit tired in parts

    Friendly and most efficient staff , lovely rooms any problems we had were promptly and competently dealt with . The glass doors in the bathroom were hazardous . It's a well equipped resort but the rooms are tired. The pool area is fine . The food was good with plenty verity . It maybe more of a four rather than five star

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    Relaxing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Quite anonymous big hotel, no personal feel. The Spa was 20 EUR/hour extra per person. The décor of the room was old-fashioned, used-to-be-posh-once-upon-a-time, and tired.

    The hotel room had everything necessary. It was also very big, and had lots of space in the room, bathroom, etc. We had a sea view room, which makes a difference, as keeping the windows open, we could sleep with the sound of the waves. The breakfast was great with lots of choice, anything that you could imagine for breakfast was there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.4
    Not worth a visit! Much nicer properties in the area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Sea View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in experience was horrific! Poor service, dreadful assistance and massive priority shown to the local resident guests. I was completely horrified at breakfast one of the lady chefs dropped a wedge of cheese on the floor whilst replenishing stock. A waitress next to her picked it up and gave it to the chef who simply put it straight back into the buffet..... Dreadful practices.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.7
    The staff worked hard and were very helpful but management need to step up their duties.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool outside hardly used as too cold for guests. Saturday and Sunday outside people encouraged in to use facilities with their children. Very noisy and parents didn’t control their behaviour and they took over the indoor pool so paying guests had to go elsewhere for some peace. 5 Star hotel should be for the guests who have paid to stay there and not a free for all for others.

    Outdoor Pool cold not heated. Business Centre computers not able to communicate with printer and no instructions for changing to English language. Staff not adequately trained to sort out problems with computer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Good to stay and relax but avoid half or full pension.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Supplement if you eat at the restaurant instead of the buffet (which would have been OK if the receptionist hadn't told us it was free when we specifically asked) Lack of vegetarian options (diced ham was dropped in gazpacho after we specifically asked for vegetarian dishes in the menu) Food quality & Service OK but not worth 5*

    Great facilities, 2 pools, choice of sun chairs/beds/couches 24h access to the beach Very clean Spa & treatments Large buffet choice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Excellent weekend away!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I went away for the long weekend and it was perfect! We were lucky and got a free upgrade from a double room to a junior suite. The service was fantastic, no complaints.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    One Night Getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows!

    Great hotel, can't believe I have not stayed here before considering I only live 30 minutes away. Enjoyed both the outdoor pool plus the Thalasso Spa and the wife and I look forward to returning here soon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    A luxurious resort with very abundant buffet dinner and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to mention.

    This is a luxurious beach & pool resort. Extravagant use of space, both in the public areas and hallways, and in the rooms. Extravagant bathroom, too. You can see Gibraltar from some of the ocean-front rooms - a wee bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.4
    Nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very unfrienfly non client facing staff: pool safegard (Paolo). Always making noise when bringing towels on his very noisy cart, waking up our baby systematically. Asked him to modify his route. He couldn't care less. Unacceptable.

    Nice place. Nice pool indoor and outdoor. A lot of grass.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.8
    Stayed several times here ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a true 5 star Hotel now i would say 3.5 max! Sad to see it has lost its sparkle so many touches no longer there ie no turndown service, sunbeds now run of the mill plastic which are NOT comfortable at all against lovely padded wooden beds before, very poor Bar service bith at the pool and inside the Hotel - such a shame

    Stayed several times here ideal location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    pleasurable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Don't end up in room 612 it is right next to some kind of hotel machinery and drones all day.

    A lovely hotel with excellent facilities. The rooms are large and comfortable and the beds are huge. The buffet breakfast was amazing with just about everything you could wish for except maybe for English sausages.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    we loved everything about our stay, just sorry we had not organised a longer stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing we did not like.

    We loved the hotel and it's location sitting on the beach. On arrival we were given an unexpected upgrade of room which was very welcome. Staff are very friendly and obliging and would definitely revisit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    4.6
    Would not go back to this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sun loungers were the most uncomfortable we have ever had the pool bar was closed the we were told the air conditioning cannot be turned on till June and staff were quite unhelpful

    Cava at breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.5
    Junior suite has a great terrace, breakfast selection was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible soundproofing between rooms, Location next to a busy road, no free water in the rooms, pool area was very busy and we were there in low-season.

    Junior suite has a great terrace, breakfast selection was fantastic and very large comfortable beds. Staff helpful with a late checkout.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel with very bad spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thalasso spa is misunderstanding!They put too much chlorine and bromine into the water! You stand there 5 min and You start to feel throat pain, eyes pinch ... Sauna was cold, heated beds were cold- we claimed it but they said wait a minute and didnt do anything to fix it. We paid 20 euro per adult an 15 per child - loss of money. Dont go there if you have to pay for that. Children can use spa from 10 till 12 ( two horus ). That is why this spa is permanently with no people... Prices in snack bar were overpriced.

    Heated swimming pool on 3rd floor. In May there is no chance to use outdoor pools- they are very cold.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.4
    Boring
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely not value for money. I would not say it is a five star as they state

    The room was not very clean towels missing and furniture wobbly table. Not a lot to like only location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Staff frindly helpful spacious rooms great facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kids in spa area.English movies or series.German French Spanish channels had .facilities to change language disabled

    Staff frindly helpful spacious rooms great facilities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.9
    Great for 5 days, you need a car to get around, Estepona port taxi 8 euros nice within the port
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    From the main bar no direct outside area to sit in the sun you had to go down a steep flight of steps where chairs and tables were, but no bar or service in that area..

    pool area very clean, quiet would have liked waiter service at the pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.0
    Very expensive, very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Been staying here few times a year for 5 years and it has got really bad. I will not return. Needs staff training in service with a smile especially pool bar. Pool area and beds need updating the pool beds actually hurt my back. No complimentary water, no baby changing facilities I could go on but if they don't change then they are really only a 4* if that!! Sorry guys

    comfortable beds nice rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    It was relaxing, quiet and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would've been nice to be able to walk into Estepona rather than take a taxi. There wasn't a restaurant (apart from the buffet with a set price) where one could've got a small portion of seafood.

    The balcony overlooking the sea; the sense of space in the public areas as well as the bedroom; the beautifully kept garden; the extremely helpful and friendly staff including Ana, Abraham, the General Manager Juan and the reception staff. The buffet breakfast. The hotel was very peaceful in early April.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel expensive but worth it for a peaceful break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of drinks from bar or in room

    Nice big hotel excellent breakfast not too busy ,actually very quite even though it was Easter. Drinks are expensive though

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Although short relaxing and stress free
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were not very comfortable

    The buffet dinner was excellent and the staff was very helpful. Breakfast also was excellent and the variety was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    The breakfast was really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not like the smell in the room which was like nobody was there for a while.

    The breakfast was really good. The bathroom in the room was spectacular and the heating pool was really a hit

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    We really enjoyed our stay and the obvious focus on keeping us happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good hotel. good reception and ongoing customer interaction. Room clean and spacious and will return. Food excellent and good access for disabled customers

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    Five star relaxation and great cuisine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Although the bathroom and dressing are excellent and spacious, the polished marble floor is dangerously slippery when wet. Be very careful when you shower. The SPA facilities are good and complete. Recommended, although some parts were under maintenance.

    Great comfortable room with great sea view. Breakfast and evening buffet excellent and restaurant service five star including good room service. WiFi is fast, reliable and for free.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    3.8
    Nice hotel with rude staff, and idiot rules. :( You should to go to Kempinski!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We choosed this hotel because this is a family wellness hotel. Right after check in we tried to use the wellness, but the staff told my daughter is too small to go in. (2,5 y) What??? This idiotic rule was not visible on the hotel's website or at booking.com. We came only to use wellness, because the weather was terrible. I tried to speek with receptionist, and she told impossible go to the spa, but she give my money back, I can choose other hotel. I asked the other 5 stars welness hotel in the city (Kempinski) - Can we go with our 2,5 y girl to the spa? Yes naturally! We packed our suitcases and went to reception to check out. The manager came, and told arrogant: "good bye, I can't give refund, ha ha." We did not believe it! :(

    Nice clean room, wery good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    1. The weather was a total disaster.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. The weather was a total disaster... minor hurricane. Unable to enjoy all the facilities, Only God to blame ! 2. We had to pay an extra 40Euro to use the spa.... the main reason we went. I thought this was already included in the price we paid/pre-booked. This was the only negative.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.2
    Really enjoyable stay & only wished it could have been longer. Looking forward to a return visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had no trouble parking, but I imagine at busy times that could become an issue. We booked bed & breakfast & then ate in the buffet restaurant at €40 per head, which I felt was a little steep. Next time I will look at the price of other options & it might be better value to stay on a half board basis.

    Spacious, comfortable room with awesome bathroom. Good balcony with table & chairs. Comfortable beds & slept really well. Although the hotel is conveniently located on the main road, the rooms face towards the sea, so you get a beautiful view & it's quiet. The receptionist who greeted us was friendly & welcoming. The staff at dinner were particularly nice & the chef at the plancha cooking the fresh fish was great :) !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    5.8
    Just average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was too far out of town with no bus service running . Had to relay on Taxis and the 4 times used on the very same route was a different price . Not good .We did ask for a refund our stay as we weren’t happy with the hotel .

    Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was just okay .

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: