Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of El Cocheron 1919 2 stars

Montesinos, 22, 28300 Aranjuez, Spain

#3 of 12 hotels in Aranjuez

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 361 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    7.1
    Not what we expected, but a good central location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had asked for a quiet room, but it was very noisy with traffic directly outside, also some kind of generator working through the night. We hardly slept at all. I think the rooms above the inner courtyard would be quieter. Worst item was the badly fitting curtain across the w.c and bathroom. Looks awful and ruins their nice decor.

    Fabulous comfortable bed and nice linen. Clean room

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    5.0
    Would not go back but the only member of staff was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bathroom with no door a shower that was dangerous to get in and out of. To get to our room was an obstacle course of loose rugs on shiny floors.

    the lady who greeted us was very helpful and helped with our bags she also served our breakfast which was nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Beds very good.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom too small, bad smell. Although location is very quiet, people in neighboring room came in at 4 AM with lots of noise.

    Beds very good. Location was great. Beautiful decorations.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    En route from Orihuela Costa to Caen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The en suite is only separated from the bedroom with a curtain but it didn’t really worry us.

    Lovely big bedroom with four poster bed which was very comfortable. Very clean. Continental breakfast was excellent value for a city hotel. The hotel is within walking distance of wonderful parks and palaces.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Top Spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, interesting and tasteful decor, the rooms are comfortable and individual, the breakfast is good. It's very near the Royal Palace and old town so everything is in easy walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.3
    Lovely place, beautiful and homey!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are pretty small, and the bathroom had no door! WiFi only in the lobby.

    Boutique style hotel, very cosy and homey, small but sufficient breakfast, comfortable beds and good location (although that's quite easy as Aranjeuz is not so big).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    The bed was very comfortable and I loved the set up of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was terrible in the morning, I was unable to access it. The cafe doesn’t open 9am.

    The bed was very comfortable and I loved the set up of the room and the decor of the hotel. The coffee is fantastic! The courtyard is also very inviting, it is a great place to have a glass of wine or beer and relax after sightseeing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    We couldn’t recommend the hotel highly enough, I’m sure we will go back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave too soon

    Unique characterful decoration, a lovely place to both relax and feel inspired. Friendly people. Aranjuez is a beautiful place to wander around and soak up the atmosphere. We stumbled upon a great restaurant and had a fabulous meal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Quirky, quaint, quiet and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Our room had five single beds, three were matresses on the floor, but they were very comfortable indeed. The rooms are arranged around a sunny courtyard, which has little chairs and tables. There is a small bar. The excellent breakfast was a pleasant surprise. Easy walking distance to the town centre with plenty of free parking nearby. Aranjuez is a lovely old town with a beautiful palace and gardens. Lots of flat walking and good, reasonably priced restaurants. Wouldn’t hesitate to stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed my short stay. thanks
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Light bulb missing from bedside lamp. Room 108. Hotel needs to say more about parking facility.

    Excellent location within strolling distance of amazing architecture.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    A good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing a good hotel

    Very comfortable hotel, quirky and different. Good value for money. This was our second visit and would be happy to return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Comfy, quirky hotel in lovely old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely, quirky old hotel, full of character. Unfortunately we were only there overnight on our way from the ferry so unable to use it all but will try to return. Very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    10
    Quirky Comfort
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was limited in choice.

    The feel of this hotel hits you from the moment you walk through the huge, heavy, wooden front door. At first glance it may seem disorganised. Closer inspection however, shows just how well thought out everything is. There's something of interest to see wherever you look. The bedroom was small yet extremely comfortable. The wi-fi connection was fast. The location of this hotel in the centre of Aranjuez is a bonus; it's possible to leave the car parked in the central courtyard of the hotel. I visited this city several years ago and couldn't find anywhere to stay that welcomed pets. This hotel is a first class stop for both humans and pets alike.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    9.6
    Met expectations and would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Corridors a bit dark

    Stag very friendly and beds very comfortable. Great location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing boutique hotel, very stylish, with a lot of wood and nice art. It had a cozy yard to relax.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.3
    Very conveniently situated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very conveniently situated.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.3
    Exceptional value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a bit of an unpleasant smell coming from outside. But it didn't really bother us.

    Exceptional value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable and the owner was delightful.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was a querky hotel, well situated for walking to the sights. I stayed with 2 large dogs and we were made very welcome.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    The yard is not entirely pleasant because of the unpleasant...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The yard is not entirely pleasant because of the unpleasant smell of the sewage

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    breakfast good, good coffee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs to go to the room, no handle to hold on.

    breakfast good, good coffee.Beds good, bathroom ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    it was ok
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the lack of glass or wood on the bathroom door

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    Value for Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like hostel, no other facilities

    Good location, stylish design, quiet & comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No free parking nearby. Need to park at the property with 10 Extra € fee.

    Very very comfy and big bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Overnight at the start of our Spanish trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift

    Quaint comfortable friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    2.9
    charming, lovely, very quiet, ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it's a good place

    It's an old historical hôtel with a lot of charm. Like Aranjuez which is a beautiful place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Fabulous stay- thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable room, bed- so quiet. Easy walking to everything. Staff welcoming, informative and helpful. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.5
    Quaint and quirky, but in a nice way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived for breakfast at 9 am there was very little left for us to eat.

    Quaint and quirky, but in a nice way.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.3
    Not bad-
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was comfortable. Courtyard was cool. AC was not great and neither the wifi. Overall good though

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Perfect place to stay in Aranjuez. Especially covenient location if you like running or walking
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    All good

    It felt like home - relaxed friendly, welcoming atmosphere - no unneccessary fuss

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.2
    Great central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee facility in room.

    Clean and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Staff lovely and decor natural and inviting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff lovely and decor natural and inviting.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.9
    Great location good value for money
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being charged extra for pet

    Good location great courtyard

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    Lovely place ideally situated for walking to the tourist spots at Aranjuez
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No door on the bathroom, only a curtain

    Ideally located for the centre and easy to find and park at.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    9.2
    A quiet location, but still easy walking distance from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Booking.com states: "Free! WiFi is available in all areas and is free of charge." This is not strictly true. We specifically requested a room with good wifi connection, as we need to have internet access for our work. Unfortunately, in our bedroom we could not access the hotel's wifi at all. When mentioned this to the receptionist, we were told it had something to do with close proximity of our room to the police station. Some bedrooms apparently DO have wifi access, we're disappointed the management did not read our request on the booking form.

    A quiet location, but still easy walking distance from the main sights. It's an interesting building, with a quiet courtyard. The rooms had aircon and very comfortable beds. The staff were very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    8.8
    Carmen was very helpful and as we had decided to roll up in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It might be a good idea to put glass in the door to the bathroom a curtain doesnt muffle noises etc. Oh and a handle on the door as well please.

    Carmen was very helpful and as we had decided to roll up in Spain with no more Spanish then Gracias it was left up to her to do all the talking. She got us to our room, explained the night security guided us to a restaurant and to the parking all in pantomime, she was great.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    5.4
    Very convenient for the palace, gardens, bars and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had the room above the front door. The damper on this old, heavy front door was not working so slammed very loudly every time it closed (day and night ). I reported it twice but the young girl on reception did not know what to do about it. Eventually they put a sign up, but did not fix it (the door). The owner was not particularly apologetic when we checked out!

    Very convenient for the palace, gardens, bars and restaurants. Quiet street, opposite Police Station. Nice decor, but I think many people would prefer a door between the bedroom and en-suite rather than a curtain. Also it's a bit pricey for what it is, but not much choice in Aranjuez.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    6.7
    Aranjuez is a pretty little town and we needed a dog...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room was grubby. It was clean on the surface but dated and the bathroom was old and tired - the odd cracked tile, the bath as worn and a little old, just felt a bit uncomfortable bathing in it!

    Aranjuez is a pretty little town and we needed a dog friendly stopover during our road trip from London to southern Spain. This hotel was the only dog friendly one I could find. Seemed ok as we only wanted a bed for the night.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    10
    Have stayed twice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Have stayed twice. Only problem was getting into the building! The door is kept locked (with a code to get in) - but of course when we got there we didn't know the code.... But, once inside it proved a very pleasant place to stay. Large bedroom, comfortable bed, good shower, free wifi, opportunity to rent a motorised bicycle, and very dog friendly.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    10
    The character and comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    The character and comfort. The parking was very secure and staff friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    5.0
    Curtain instead of door for bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Curtain instead of door for bathroom. No bar or restaurant. Roomv small. WiFi didn't work in our room only in corridor

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    9.2
    Great hotel with a nice atmosphere and outstanding decoration
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Great hotel with a nice atmosphere and outstanding decoration

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    8.8
    Friendly welcome and plenty of on-street parking nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quirky room design with the glass in the loo door replaced with curtains!

    Friendly welcome and plenty of on-street parking nearby.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    10
    Charming, quirky hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Charming, quirky hotel. Fantastic bedroom. Great location. Lovely breakfast. Excellent value. Private car park. Dogs accepted.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful building, nice atmosphere, overall a pleasant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful building, nice atmosphere, overall a pleasant experience.

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: