Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Eli-Mar 2 stars

Vicente Sobrino, 12, 36780 A Guarda, Spain

#6 of 9 hotels in A Guarda

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 233 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.9
    Staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not quite in town but good after hot day on the camino

    Staff were very helpful. Restaurant staff were enthusiastic and knowledgable. Food was good. We only spoke English

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    6.3
    Hotel Eli-Mar rooms are reasonably spacious (including the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC so we had to open the windows. However, loud street noise and music so we had to shut the windows while sleeping. Resulted in hot, stuffy room and not a lot of sleep, period. Reception was not welcoming. Breakfast did not begin until 8:30 a.m.

    Hotel Eli-Mar rooms are reasonably spacious (including the bathroom) and clean, but the rooms do not have AC so you must open windows. We were in a street-side room and when we opened the windows fort cool air and air circulation we could hear all of the street music, noise, etc. well into the early morning (9:00 p.m. through 5:00 a.m.). As pilgrims we were disappointed in the noise because we could not sleep even with the windows shut.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.2
    Perfect stay with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was really happy to arrive at the hotel and got a warm welcome. The room is perfect and for a great prize. Love the details such as a bottle of water being present in the room. Breakfast is good as well. In sum: all was great!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.3
    Terrible reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived at 3:30 and the door to the hotel was closed and no receptionist at the desk. No one showed till 4:20. When she came no apology but showed annoyance that anyone was waiting. Looked like she was out shopping with two large bags. Next morning a different receptionist but same terrible manner. The hotel is over a cafe and loud street talking till about 4 in the morning.

    Clean and near the Portugese Coastal Way

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.4
    Nope, find smth better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I reserved room in advance and paid more than people who checked in at the same day without reservation poor Wi-Fi small room with uncomfortable bed stuffy air noisy because there is a bar on the ground floor man on reception was unpleasant to talk to

    Good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice little hotel very near the beach and the taperias.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the money, nothing ☺. But maybe you should ask for an anti-mosquito spray.

    There was a kitchen too. Nice. Very clean and the towels were changed every day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Hotel Eli-Mar - Simple but very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very simple breakfast - Croissants/toast, coffee and orange juice.

    Location. Close to the port and short walk to explore Santa de Tegra area. Lovely coastal walk to Camposancos. The orange juice at breakfast was some of the best I tasted.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.7
    It’s right on the Camino.
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one bedside table between the beds and only one plug. Lots of street noise in a first floor room despite the double panel windows. Breakfast was only coffee, juice and pastry. Room was very small.

    It’s right on the Camino. The cleaning staff did a tremendous job in our room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    Camino Portuguese 2018
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. The noise was a little loud from outside. Also I didn't have enough Spanish and the owner didn't understand me at times.

    Nice place. Not far from the Camino. Easy to find. The owner is pleasant and helpful. Will go back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.5
    A lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing. everything was fine

    A lovely place to stay. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Owner was very helpful. we were a group and he gave us use of a private room for late drinks. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.3
    A nice stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could hear people in the people in the next room coughing and sneezing but it didn't worry us too much.

    This hotel was in a good location and perfectly adequate for our overnight stop in A Guarda. There is no parking at the hotel but the staff showed us where to park on the street and provided the permit so we did not get a fine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Great choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Martín saved my day (and stay) in a patient and calm way. Muchas gracias!!! The room is big, clean and comfortable and the double glazed windows provide peace and quiet for a good nights sleep. After a long day I appreciated the pub downstairs for the beer and tapas.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    10
    A lovely end to our Camino holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was exceptionally clean and comfortable. The owner and his wife were really friendly and helpful and accommodating to our group. We had a very restful and relaxing stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.5
    Had a comfortable stay while after walking the Camino
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple budget hotel convenient for walking on the Camino. Comfortable bed, clean bathroom with bath. Close to the Camino path.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was perfect. I would highly recommend Hotel Eli-Mar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good central location. Easy access to dining, cafes, and sights.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Super place on the Camino
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super place on the Camino

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.3
    Good start for our Camino Portuguese
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet, comfortable and close to start our Camino Portuguese coastal route.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.8
    Staff were very helpful.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was cold, but staff brought us an electric heater.

    Staff were very helpful. Room was clean and bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.1
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    We would love to come back to this Hotel!!
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we only had one nigth there!!

    The personell was very friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    A Great place to stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good area to be when walking the Camino

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    5.8
    Old Hotel, poor breakfast.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old Hotel, poor breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    7.5
    Good value for money and very central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value for money and very central

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    9.2
    Great place to celebrate the end of our Camino this year
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    Staff were so helpful, obliging and facilitating. Couldn't have done more to hel us enjoy our stay. We will be back next year

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    6.3
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    breakfast (very poor) parking (paid, far and small entrance) triple bedroom (a twin + extra bed very short) noise (one can hear neighbours snoring...)

    location

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    9.2
    The hotel is a short walk from the bus stop from Vigo on a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was a tad dated and the beds were a little to soft, but the value made up for it.

    The hotel is a short walk from the bus stop from Vigo on a quiet street. The room was a tad dated but comfortable and had the necessary items. The manager was friendly and helpful everytime I saw him, and he called me taxis when needed. There's also a small cafe for breakfast or drinks. The value was great, and that's why review was so high. I feel I received all the services I required. And the wifi was the best of almost any hotel I've stayed in Spain. I recommend this hotel.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: