Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Barceló Emperatriz This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Lopez de Hoyos, 4, Salamanca, 28006 Madrid, Spain

#12 of 327 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 945 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    9.2
    Simple elegant hotel in a lovely part of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I think there could be more pool loungers, it’s not a big area but is plus in Madrid

    The perfect place to stay if you want to be close but not in the center of everything. Easy connection to airport. This hotel is simple luxury that makes it feel like home immediately

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay in a great area with lots of restaurants and shops nearby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be nice to include breakfast...even if just continental in the basic room rate...although this is not the common practice in most of the 5 stars in Madrid.

    We booked the standard double room which is described as 25 sq meters...but couldnt even open one large suitcase as the room was so small!! We complained about the room and were instantly upgraded to a larger more comfortable room at no extra charge! The hotel is lovely and the staff are very pleasant and helpful!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed our stay, there’s a number of reasonably priced restaurants and bars close to the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little bit for from city centre.

    Good hotel a bit of a distance from the city centre but only a 10 minuet walk to the train. Hotel caters for a lot of tour groups so breakfast can be very busy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    7.5
    Quite happ with the accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    See above!

    Overall the accommodations was more than satisfactory. However, we experienced a severe problem in that my wife's handbag was stolen in the hotel foyer. Unfortunately the hotel security were of no assistance at all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    9.6
    Everything was perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One lady at the reception, at leaving was rather very busy or acted as she was under time pressure. It did not leave a good impression on me.

    Everything was perfect. Unfortunatelly I did nto have breakfast so I cannot comment on that.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    9.6
    Great Location excellent staff and a great room with...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really the price was what was to be expected in the centre of a major city.

    Great Location excellent staff and a great room with excellent facilities. Loved the hotel as it did everything I wanted exactly where I needed it. If I was to make any comment it was a bit ricey but it was definitely worth it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    9.2
    We loved it, we were expecting a pool though not a plunge pool this should be made clearer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The concierge desk was mostly empty bar one morning, Ramon had been so helpful before we arrived but we didn’t even meet him and mostly the desk was empty which was a pity.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    8.3
    Do not expect 5 stars but it a good place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Althought the staff was very polite this is not a 5 stars hotel. The bar is always without staff so we had to call for assistance everytime we went, even the sofas and pillows on the bar were out of place and no one did anything. The bed pillows are made with a very cheap version of sintetic fabric they are terrible. One thing very annoying was the fact that both days, the clean ladies when cleaning in the morning the rooms next to ours never left the door locked open, so every time they went in and out of the room to reach the clean cart they open the door and the door close it self banging. Just imagine hearing a door banging for 20 minutes.

    I love the quiet location and the breakfast was very good. The hotel just went on a major refit so it has a modern envioremnt. The staff are polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel, gorgeous rooms and rooftop terrace and pool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complaints! Absolutely perfect

    Perfect hotel, gorgeous rooms and rooftop terrace and pool was amazing! Staff were all absolutely lovely! Great service would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    5.8
    Hotel room is ok but not 5 star standard , service not even 1 star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed in many hotels before , never had one reception is sitting like a banker , and never offered customer to take a seat, no smile and always seem angry with your questions .

    Hotel room is ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    7.5
    Really enjoyed our visit to Madrid - great city and would definitely visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tea and coffee facilities in the room were not up to standard, one sachet of coffee and one tea bag per day. Spa bath did not work which was disappointing. Room needed a few more luxury touches to make it a 5 star.

    Lovely quiet location in a very safe and friendly location. Good selection of bars and restaurants within walking distance. We stayed on the 8th floor and had a private terrace which was lovely. Bit of a walk into the centre of Madrid although there is a Metro stop less than 2 minutes walk from the hotel if you needed to use this instead.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    8.3
    A great hotel in a great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I wouldn't say staff were unfriendly, but I also wouldn't say they were friendly. I was there for 6 nights, and no staff ever spoke to me or referred to me by name. (Even just a 'Have a nice day' on my way out each morning would have been nice)

    The bed was really comfortable and the bathrooms were gorgeous! The wardrobe was big enough to hang up a week's worth of clothing. The maid service was excellent; they so carefully arranged all my make-up and skincare products each day, and had a great turn-down service in the evening.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    10
    Pleasant , comfortable and I wish I go back there at some time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium King Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sevice at the bar was a bit slow but this is definitely not a reason not to visit this hotel again .

    Breakfast was fantastic with fresh fruits and good coffe, churros and tasty eggs . The personnel was very helpful and kind . The dinner restaurant has Muntis has Also wonderful plates. The room was spacious and the bathroom was clean , modern with good lighting. In general I strongly recommend it !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    9.6
    Great Hotel where they take care about all the details.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Great Hotel where they take care about all the details. We had a pleasent stay. I recommend this place for those who are looking for a luxurious hotels with good price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    7.5
    Great little boutique hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great little boutique hotel. Very nice design and atmosphere. The room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was good, though the variety of food wasn’t great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    9.6
    5 star hotel with highest quality overall. Best hotel of my recent trip through Spain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Highest quality of all hotels that I have stayed in while in Madrid. Clean, efficient. Highest quality bedding and fixtures. On par with best hotels in New York City.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    9.2
    rooms at a very good rate
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cost of breakfast (18 euros per person - imagine for a family of 5 with small kids that don't eat much). Cost of late check out ( from 1pm to 6pm at cost of 65 euros) Very expensive parking (35 euros)

    rooms at a very good rate very clean good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed here for 3 nights as we were on a city break. The hotel is very modern, tastefully decorated and clean. There is a lovely reception / bar area in the middle which really captures the mood on an evening. The restaurant for breakfast was of a high quality, well managed and the service and food was excellent. The rooms were a bit larger than normal, clean and modern. There is a flat screen tv, music system, tea and coffee making facilities and a mini bar (located in the wardrobe area). Also tucked away are a hair dryer and toiletries. Nothing else you could need! Good comfy beds and great black out curtains, so no light floods in in the morning. Also has decent air con if needed in summer months. The hotel staff are polite and friendly, reception efficient and made our stay that bit smoother. The surrounding area is good, with plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance. We would and will return if in Madrid again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2018

    8.3
    Portable WiFi to carry around Madrid was offered for free!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Gym quite small

    Portable WiFi to carry around Madrid was offered for free! Very useful, works great! Very good bar at the lobby. Employees very friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is absolutely clean and the enjoyable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium King Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Madrid is big, so it is not walking distance to everywhere. Barceló locates in the beautiful Salamanca, just a street across the U.S. embassy. There are many high-end boutiques nearby, but the location is a little far from tourist attractions. Anyways, cabs in Madrid have reasonable price. It costs no more than 6 euros from the hotel to any major attraction.

    The hotel is absolutely clean and the enjoyable! The decor is modern and chic. Facilities are very new. Rooms are well-equipped - there is even a shower sponge! A fabulous and scrumptious restaurant, Bibo, is just around the corner.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    9.2
    A pleasant stay in Madrid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Wifi was slower than expected - Breakfast is expensive (much cheaper or better value options in other restaurants/cafes)

    - Great location - Very comfortable furniture and shower setup - Courteous staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    8.3
    Not very comfortable rooms but excellent service and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small delux room, not very convenient. The rooms are not soundproof at all!!! We heard the neighbors every night and had to call the reception to calm them.

    Breakfast and New Year dinner are great, we also enjoyed the compliments every day. Staff were always ready to help.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic stay for NYE!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was very expensive

    The hotel was great and very classy. Perfect for a couples get away with only a 5 minute walk to the nearest metro. Staff were very friendly and the cleanliness was perfect. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2017

    9.6
    I enjoyed my stay and the hotel staff is very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The size and configuration of the double room was quite disappointing. I did not expect that. Guests should be warned that the room is in fact quite small since most of the space is taken by the corridor in the room. In addition the room has a view to the inside patio hence no natural light.

    I particularly enjoyed the buffet breakfast which varied and delicious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    8.8
    Would delfinitely come back when visiting Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First night was quiet noisy as we were next to the facilities/ room service door. However reception moved us to a much nicer room for the remaining nights.

    Extremely confy bed. Amazing breakfast with Moet&Chandon available.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2017

    10
    Fantastic staff very friendly and helpful, can’t expect more!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic staff very friendly and helpful, can’t expect more! They are very considerable for every stay here, meeting room, guest room and especially the breakfast (picnic bag) was amazing if you are on a hurry in the morning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2017

    5.0
    Expensive disappointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was ruined by disgusting smell coming from bathrooms. We reported it twice but received only a temporary fix with no apology or compensation. The room was right below the running machines in the gym above and were very noisy from the pounding of feet on the machines.

    Good location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    10
    Loved this hotel from the moment we arrived , staff all very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved this hotel from the moment we arrived , staff all very nice , breakfast really good , beds very comfortable and great big bathrooms . Would recommend to anyone . Will not be disappointed . Excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel that looks pretty much brand new in a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium King Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One of the days the lady on the roof terrace didn't seem too interested but the rest of the staff were very good. Not the cheapest but I guess you get what you pay for.

    Lovely hotel that looks pretty much brand new in a good position in the city, close to the Bernabau and the City Centre. Very nice room, quiet, comfy bed and most staff very good, recommended.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    8.8
    A quiet oasis close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was in a great location, not in the busy tourist area but a short walk to everything we wanted to see. Décor was really nice and it was great to have the rooftop pool to cool off in the evening.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2017

    9.2
    Gorgeous hotel, away from the hustle and bustle
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium King Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We knew the hotel was located a distance away from the city centre, but we thought there would be more restaurants and bars around. Turn right out of the hotel for the closest ones. We didn't find this out until the second day!

    Lovely hotel, clean and comfortable rooms. Fantastic wifi and portable wifi to take out and about with you. Our little boy loved the pool on the roof - although I'm not sure the other guests were expecting an excited 4 year old splashing around up there! Lovely food in the roof terrace bar.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    9.6
    I like that there are many eateries within short walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I like that there are many eateries within short walking distance. One recommended by concierge- Bibo, was the best meal we had in our 11-day hols in Spain. I like that the stop for Hop on/off bus tour is within walking distance, and so is the shopping street which is lined with good shops. I like that the reception, concierge, restaurant staff are professional and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2017

    10
    Luxury for anyone in a great area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The entrance is very plain, you would miss it if you didn't know where to look.

    Everything you would want from a 5star hotel without all the fuss. Loved the fact that they where helpful without being all over you. The rooms are straight forward with a simple luxury feel to suit anyones needs. Great location, and a secret pool on the roof was a huge plus. Fab breakfast, would recommend this option to be included. Walking distance to the best shopping in Madrid

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2017

    10
    Bed and linens were perfectly heavenly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed and linens were perfectly heavenly! Clean, cool, and very comfortable! Staff was helpful! Valet parking made having a car in Madrid easy and hotel was located walking distance to great shopping and many restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2017

    9.2
    Great staff.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium King Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pool which was so small.

    Great staff. Lovely and comfortable huge bed. Clean and new rooms. Wld like to especially commend Pablo (check-in staff) who was especially helpful with places to go to for food, shopping and tourist attractions. Barcelo Emperatriz was so great with the details that they even noticed my birthday and gave me a surprise birthday gift whilst I was still at the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2017

    9.2
    Location is great, near to buses and metro.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    However, one minor issue was that there are no tissue box supplied in the room.

    Location is great, near to buses and metro. Staff are very friendly and gave plenty of suggestions when asked.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2017

    9.6
    4 day short stay in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Restaurant food is excellent but it is very quite and could do with some PR to get it busier, the staff again are excellent, very informative and easy to speak to. Breakfast is expensive.

    The hotel is not in the centre, but is within walking distance of good shopping district plus access to the main park. The hotel facilities are very good and staff are excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2017

    10
    I shall return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Emperador
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Service from the moment of check in was excellent. I love the location away from the tourist crowd; yet still near good restaurants and some shopping. Room was very spacious and clean. We shall be back for sure.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2017

    8.8
    Great little hotel in a convenient location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Meeting room facilities are not top notch. Very bare and minimal, feel more like converted gym

    Clean, comfortable rooms, staff very helpful with dinner bookings, gym present all in all is hard to go wrong here

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2017

    5.0
    Don't recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The service was sub-par for a 5 star hotel and the lobby and reception area was not 5-star hotel standards at all. Don't recommend a stay. The location is also up north so you would have to take the metro or taxi to the southern city sol area.

    The room was modern and the water pressure was good. The hotel gave us free water bottles each day.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2017

    9.2
    will definitely consider it for my next stay in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    that my request to change my reservation from 3 nights to 2 nights was not accommodated before my arrival - but it is more a question to booking policies that are not as customer friendly as one would like them to be.

    will definitely consider it for my next stay in Madrid

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2017

    9.2
    Fast check in, amazing concierge she reserved for us tables...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    one thing only which is the floor of the toilet it had brown spots that doesnt go near the garbage The tv didnt have any arabic channels

    Fast check in, amazing concierge she reserved for us tables in many amazing restaurants and I like bebo the restaurant behind the building.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2017

    10
    Loved it !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    nothing, everything was great

    Amazing staff, very welcoming and helpful. Nice atmosphere in the hotel, a bit far from center, but still chops location for quite time in Madrid 👍

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2017

    8.3
    Hotel in a nice location. A nice walk to visit sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant food and room service options were expensive however, Lots of good local restaurants very close.

    Location not in the middle of all the sites however a nice option and easy to get around. Serrano is close by making it a nice walk to retiro.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2017

    10
    Would definitely stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium King Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.. it was all perfect!

    The friendly and helpful staff The beautiful and clean rooms The phenomenal view from the top The close distance to areas of interest Panela & Co for breakfast next to the hotel (even though the staff were rude the food was good enough to ignore that)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2017

    9.2
    amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room size is a bit small..and there are no nearby restaurants except for Bibo which was really yummy but a bit an upscale one..once in a while experience.

    the staff was really good, Ismail who was the first receptionist we met was very friendly. the room was ready around 10 A.M which was really amazing after a long flight. room arrangement was lovely..the bathroom as well.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel, excellent customer orientation staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is wonderful and the staff gave me an excellent example of customer orientation. I will definitely come back. Best hotel in Madrid I ever stayed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2017

    10
    must stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the breakfast was too expensive,so i didnt have it but the rooms were imaculate and reasonably priced

    its well worth a visit and well worth the 10 points we give it.lovely rooms,must stop at this place

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2017

    10
    One of the best hotels in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    N/A.

    This is a wonderful hotel. With the exception of the the Intercontinental Madrid the staff has got to be the most helpful in Madrid. Thank you Barceló Imperatriz.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2017

    4.2
    Not a convenient hotel location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel staff was not helpful, very limited in room dining, the food in the menu was not available, location is far from any restaurant in supermarket, need to walk at least 10-15 mins

    The hotel seems new and the room is quite nice

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2016

    10
    Super 👍🏼
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was just great. The staff super helpful. There is a rooftop pool and the restaurant is really good too. You even get a complementary portable wifi from the hotel when you go out :) We already miss staying there. This hotel really made our experience in Madrid unforgettable. Oh and really good connection to center, you can even walk 20-30 min walk.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2016

    9.6
    Most everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wish there had been an option for a small breakfast. 27.50 euros/person for breakfast is a little crazy. Wish it was a little closer to the center of Madrid. Nice area though.

    Most everything. Good weekend rate.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2016

    9.6
    Nice stay at new hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are on the small side

    The hotel just opened in January and everything is new and clean. They also served us drinks at the reception which is a nice touch. Nice bathtub

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2016

    9.6
    Super - Free mobile internet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Emperador
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Windows insulation shoulb be better, we hear some noise and some cold come in.

    Good hotel, very well located. The free mobile wi-fi that allows having internet all day, even out of the hotel is a added value.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2016

    10
    Great boutique hotel in a top notch location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    n/a

    the room was very good - I particularly liked the shower. I found the staff to be very helpful. we also got an upgrade to free breakfast. for a w-e trip with friends, it's a lush venue, you can pack light as the hotel toiletries and other services are everything you need. the best part is that it does not feel touristy at all - it's quiet yet easy to access good restaurants and bars

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2016

    9.6
    2 night stay a delight after long flight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing - will stay again if in Madrid

    Staff were lovely. Bed very comfortable and rooms well appointed albeit on the small side. Wifi was good and we loved the mobile wifi - thank you

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2016

    7.1
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast is expensive for the value offered Improve cleaning in bar and breakfast area

    Friendly staff Location as in very good neighbourhood Comfort of the room and the different facilities

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2016

    9.6
    A lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    To leave...

    1) The staff is excellent. Very helpful, and always with a smile. 2) The balcony of our room was very beautiful. 3) TV, Wifi, restaurant, room service working at 100% for us. 4) Location is nice: Elegant area and not far from center. Good communication; metro nearby, taxis just on the door of the hotel. 5) We were welcome with a glass of Cava ! 6) Madrid !, my loved city

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2016

    9.2
    Comfortable room with great bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Minor thing - Takes around 700m walk to the metro station for taking metro to the city center. Not an issue related to hotel though.

    Room was really great - very comfortable bed (choice of various pillows), great bathroom. Staff was courteous and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2016

    10
    Fantastic Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Honestly, I can' t think of anything I didn't like.

    hotel location, very comfortable king size bed, big bath towels, magnifying makeup mirror, toiletry kit in the room, bathroom setup (bathtub, separate shower and toilet), breakfast buffet, room rate, roof pool with nice view of the city, but above all the cascade shower setup.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2016

    9.6
    Loved the room,would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing was that my granddaughter called for a pillow after I called for mine,and that caused a bit of a problem with a staff person.she came to our room and was not very happy with my granddaughter. I told her if she had a problem with her to go next door and talk with my daughter.

    Loved everything.The bed ,the pillows ,the bathroom amenities . We left very early in the morning and they gave us picnic bags to take to the airport. We had two rooms and my daughter loved it also.The staff was great,front desk called for a van for ride to the airport.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    10
    Was there last yearGreat staff. Super location. Amazing interior design. Will stay again. And again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Gym was a little small. But I was there to have a holiday.

    Quiet location. Staff are amazing. No complaints.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    10
    Just the perfect hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing beds and quiet rooms. Designed I n a luxurious though not opulent way. The staff is very professional and kind.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    10
    Extraordinary staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room a bit small

    Extraordinary staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    10
    One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in Madrid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in Madrid! Everything, starting for the attention to detail.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    9.6
    The hotel in the best part of Madrid!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was perfect

    The people, clean hotel at the best location of Madrid

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    8.8
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Smaller then it appears in the photos

    The staff and the rooms and clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    7.9
    It is clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stuff at front desk was cold

    It is clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    9.2
    Very good
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Smaller then it looks in photos

    The staff and the cleanness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money and very clean and modern
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Premium King Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast average and over priced

    Great value for money and very clean and modern

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    7.9
    Clean & comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No lounge areas to sit, relax & have a snack, bar area is also tiny

    Rooms are clean & comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    10
    Our stay was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We liked everything

    The staff was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    9.6
    Was amazing thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable 5 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms were comfortable, great lobby area, good food, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    9.2
    Helpful Consierge
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Helpful Consierge

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Barceló Emperatriz Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: