Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of L'Era de Cal Bastida 2 stars

Soldevila, 8, 25719 Estamariu, Spain

#1 of 3 hotels in Estamariu

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 377 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    A very lucky find
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the property so have no recommendations

    The property was perfect for a relaxing holiday - peaceful, quiet and good hospitality. The breakfast was great with lots of variety and the one dinner we had was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Great value, nice breakfast and evening meal. Outstanding location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good. Availability of Tea/coffee making facilities in room would be a nice extra.

    An outstanding location overlooking mountain. Host couldn't be more helpful. Very clean. Evening meal and breakfast good. Drive up to location to be experienced!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful location and lovely host
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was all fine

    My dinners and breakfast sitting outside the place on the small terrace, especially in the evenings the view was beautiful. Pilar is such a friendly host, with a very uplift attitude. The food she prepared was simple, but very good, with a nice wine to accompany it, it was exactly right for me, no need to go around and try another place for eating. The one-day hike I did was great,coming back to L'Era de Cal Bastida and getting a beer from the fridge equally so :-)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    A magical place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved everything about L'Era de Cal Bastida. It is a wonderful villa, lovingly looked after by the generous and hard-working Pilar, situated in the heart of a charming, little village not far from La Seu d'Urgell. In my opinion, the quality of this accommodation far exceeds a stay at the expensive parador in La Seu d'Urgell. The views are magnificent, the rooms are perfectly appointed, everything is sparkling clean and comfortable. There is a large terrace where one can have breakfast on overlooking the valley, even a garage. No restaurant on site, but there is a restaurant in the village, a few steps away. Pilar and her endearing mom, also called Pilar, could not have been more helpful and hospitable! Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    The view from the place was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked it all.

    The view from the place was amazing. Nice and relaxing to enjoy from the balcony of my room. The breakfast was very nice. I travelled out of season and had not ordered dinner ahead of time so remember that. There is no grocery store in town, but it's possible to eat at another hotel in town. The town was old and interesting with very narrow streets.I had problems with my rented car and was very great full for the help I got from the owners.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.6
    Hosts, atmosphere, views, room, brekfeast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It does not relate to hotel, but the mountain road and narrow streets was a bit scary for unprepared drivers, especially in the dark. If you come from "flat" countries, plan your arrival in daylight :)

    Hosts, atmosphere, views, room, brekfeast. Friendly and helpfull local people.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    Spectacular views in a remote mountain village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi signal did not reach 2nd floor and the signal repeater did not work (or has lost the signal as well). Not a big issue at all though.

    The room was very nice and clean with a spectacular views and a terrace. Although we came during winter, the room was pleasantly warm and we felt no discomfort at night about the negative temperature outside at all. The property manager was very friendly and helpful with what we needed. Although some of the streets got a bit narrow at certain points, we had no problem with passing through or navigating - it's no worse than a street in any other mountain village.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    We loved it. A different out of the way place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a lot of options for dinning in this town. Like maybe 1 place.

    This is unlike any place you will eve stay. It is a unique experience. 300 year old house converted to bed and breakfast. The whole town has 100 people total on top of a hill overlooking the valley. The next closest place is 20 minutes away by car. The breakfast was simple but good. Classic Spanish breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Charming host, nothing too much trouble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charming host, nothing too much trouble. Typical breakfast from the area. Spotless. Wonderful views. Quiet. Nothing to dislike. would be ideal for a group of friends or family to stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    A charming restored farmhouse in a stunning setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a negative, just a heads up: if you drive a larger car, prepare for a walk up the road. The access is extremely tight, but bear in mind, the charm of the setting is that it was built in the age of horse and cart!

    Maria was so friendly and accommodating, I had a wonderful night here in this rural hamlet in the Pyrenees. Spotlessly clean, a good breakfast and excellent value; the perfect stop for walks, photography etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.7
    Located within superb scenery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Approach roads are so narrow I wouldn't risk taking a hired car through!! Location was isolated which meant that the only restaurant in the village could charge inflated prices - which it did!!

    Located within superb scenery. Breakfast was the best we got in out 3 week tour of Spain.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.2
    Large room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Complicated access by car (extremely narrow streets in a historical village)

    Large room Friendly owner Very nice terrace Location with real atmosphere Nice view from the terrace

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.6
    A very enjoyable stay with a very friendly and helpful host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We weren't game enough to drive our car through the very narrow street to the accommodation, so Pilar brought her car down to where we left ours. We were able to pack our luggage into her car and have it brought to the front door where our room was located. The view from our balcony was very nice. Breakfast was good as well. We can highly recommend this property for a stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    8.8
    If you like off the beaten track this is for you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The parking could be a problem if you have a larger car. Check it out on foot first, it's not far to walk from the entrance of the small town to the property. The breakfast choice is limited but acceptable.

    If you like off the beaten track this is for you. The quality of the renovation of the building, an old mountain farmhouse, is exceptional. This was our second visit to the property and we expect to stay there again in the future. The accommodation is simple but clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    9.6
    We enjoyed our stay,the experience of life in a Bastide and the friendly people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The isolated hilltop location was great. Good views and a nice room with a balcony. The streets are VERY narrow so be warned and have a good driver in a small car, good fun. Billar was extremely nice and very helpful, with nothing being a problem. There is only one restaurant up there and it is not always open. Billar will cook a basic meal for you after 9 pm, so unless you like to eat late, better to have a big lunch and bring some snacks for dinner.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All ok

    Good buffet breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Unique location in old town
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unique location in old town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful staff, excellent view and tranquility

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Molt be tot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tot molt be en general

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    amazing views and location, cosy small room with super conformable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was no soap in the bathroom, but everything else was cool.

    The location is amazing and the owner is super nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    Pilar was a perfect hostess. We enjoyed our visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be difficult to get there if you had a large vehicle

    The scenery was amazing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    One of the most wonderful places that I have ever been by all means
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was wow, wow, wow, wonderful location, hosts, food, room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    10
    Wonderful sightseeing from the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful sightseeing from the room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    7.9
    I was on an motorcycle and would have hated to attempt the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was on an motorcycle and would have hated to attempt the roads any other way...way narrower than most would be comfortable with

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    8.3
    A "hotel" located in a tiny village of Estemariu...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A "hotel" located in a tiny village of Estemariu where customers are personally taken care of by owner Pilar. If your into something a bit different experience, choose this. Just a hint: although some alleys may look impossible to drive through to the hotel, you can make it :)

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    8.8
    The renovation of the farmhouse had been done to a very high...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking is a problem. Suggest stopping outside of the village and finding the accommodation before attempting to drive to it. The GPS takes you down a blind alley!

    The renovation of the farmhouse had been done to a very high standard. The rooms were comfortable and warm.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    9.2
    The adventurist drive up the hill was worth the view and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The adventurist drive up the hill was worth the view and the comfortable bed. Small room but clean and had all amenities. Very helpful and friendly host who served a basic but good breakfast. Quiet and peaceful.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    10
    We liked the beautiful location and the lovely modern clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The access to the b&b through very narrow streets.

    We liked the beautiful location and the lovely modern clean room with a balcony. The very helpful owner who made us feel most welcome.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    4.2
    Staff were not there to meet us, the breakfasts were not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were not there to meet us, the breakfasts were not very appetizing and although the room was clean the balance of the facility was questionable.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    10
    The facility was clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The facility was clean and comfortable. The setting was ideal. The village was a small and very picturesque stone village in the mountains approached by a mountain road. It was a beautiful setting. The owner was very friendly and very helpful. The area is beautiful and not commercial.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    10
    Pilar, the owner, went out of her way to be helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    NOTE: This hotel is in a small town at the top of a mountain, although our host ensured us that there was a town higher up. The road up was narrow and winding and the streets in the hamlet the narrowest we encountered - that really says alot. Also, have a phone as Pilar lives elsewhere in the town and you need to call her when you arrive. However, the charm of the place far outweighs the steep roads and narrow streets.

    Pilar, the owner, went out of her way to be helpful. Even guiding my husband through the narrow streets. This B&B was clean and comfortable and the view great. We ate at the only restaurant in this tiny hamlet and it was fabulous. It was also fun to just walk and explore the town and the surrounding country

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    9.2
    The road the takes you to the hotel is narrow and full of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The road the takes you to the hotel is narrow and full of turns. There is even traffic. Beware!

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    9.6
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location

    Staff Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    10
    The guest house is in the most marvellous location, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The guest house is in the most marvellous location, very much off the beaten track!

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    10
    Personalet og stedet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Personalet og stedet

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Guests also reviewed these properties: