Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Insula Barataria 3 stars

Avenida Herencia s/n, 13600 Alcazar de San Juan, Spain

#1 of 8 hotels in Alcazar de San Juan

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 594 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 13

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were very few staff who understood much english, so it was difficult to make ourselves understood. Yes, we know it is their country and language and we had learned a bit, but even an english 'crib-sheet' might have been useful when trying to order breakfast, despite the staff being eager to please.

    Hotel itself was quite new, and staff took pride in keeping it clean and being attentive to their guests. However, it was rather 'stand-alone' and, as such, seemed to be the meeting place for all the locals to eat and drink. We looked up nearby restaurants on our sat-nav, and it produced a long list, but they all seemed to be closed down or just not open at that time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the time of year we went there was no restaurant during the week only a bar cafeteria and sited on an industrial estate

    Quietness comfy beds easy to find secure parking good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was out of town on exit to town, not ideal for walking into centre

    Room was clean with good shower, didn't use restaurant but breakfast was disappointing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Next to the main road and a petrol station. A cigarette lke smell came continuously probably thorough the bathroom ventillation

    Nice clean and comfortable rooms and bathrooms, more than helpful, extremely kind personnel. Food is okay as well.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was perfecto during our stay.

    Staff at the hotel and the restaurant is very helpful and kind. We had a wonderful dinner at the restaurant and the breakfast is also great. Rooms are very confortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check-in took an incredibly long time considering there were no other guests waiting. This was mainly due to the receptionist taking telephone bookings while attending to us which was quite irritating as we were hot and tired from a long drive. Checking out was also a long drawn out process. But no other gripes.

    The hotel is on the outskirts of town and unless you are up for a long walk, then a car is recommended to get into town. The hotel is modern and the rooms spacious, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was fantastic with lots of options to choose from. The hotel has a restaurant which looked very reasonable. Carrefour and Burger King are two minutes drive away. We were traveling south, and although a slight diversion off the motorway, we had very comfortable night and would recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking in one of the receptionists repeatedly interrupted the one checking us in, irritating!

    I loved the minimalist style of the room most unexpected and most relaxing excellent , firm comfortable bed

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very clean, new and extremely reasonably priced.. best 3 star I've stayed in and that was my 6th this week.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is not the best. Close to a gas station.

    Good value for money.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walls a little thin. Water didn't go down in the bathroom sink.

    Clean, simple, comfortable. Good strong shower and a comfortable bed.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What a lovely surprise, this modern, brand new hotel, comfortable beds, fantastic shower, large room, could not wish for better !

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    When I visited the town had torrential rain and hailstone. The town did not manage well.for example the main road was flooded about 1-2 feet high so that cars had to go through very slowly.

    Manager was very attentive of me as he spoke excellent English. He allowed me to store my bike and wished me well on my travels which was kind of him. Room was very comfortable and of a very good standard. Bathroom and shower were great. Although on outskirts of town it is only a 5 minute walk to the centre. Carrefour and other amenities 100m down the road.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Didn't go into Alcazar San Juan town as arrived late. Hotel is on the outskirts so would have to drive in.

    Modern stylish accommodation. Good on site restaurant. Receptionist didn't speak English but waitress who was called to help went out of her way to assist. Ran us through the dinner menu and offered us excellent choices of food. Cannot speak too highly of her.

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 13

Browse Hotel Insula Barataria traveller photo gallery