Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostal El Escudo de Mijas 1 stars

Trocha de los Pescadores, 7, 29650 Mijas, Spain

#3 of 7 B&Bs and Inns in Mijas

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 488 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only thing I have to say is it wasn't easy to find and had to ask directions.

    Really lovely room with a beautiful view. Very clean and shower great. It was so peaceful considering where it was. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few steps to climb to get there not helped by lift from car park not working. You can walk around the steps but bit of a hill instead and then a few steps at the end.

    Great location in heart of village. Lots of places close by for breakfast etc. Check in/out very easy. Lovely find. Car park in village only 1 euro per day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no meal option. This is not very problematic tho, plenty of cafes& restaurants nearby.

    This hotel is very nicely decorated, it is situated right in the centre of a fairytale city, has (almost) free parking very nearby (kindly indicated by the staff over the phone), and it was cheap. We had a very comfortable sleep. Oh, and the free toiletries they give are almost that of a 4 star hotel (including toothpaste, comb, razor..).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cant think of anything

    The location is excellent, tucked in a side street but right in the centre of the town. Perfect. I highly recommend staying at this property. We were in a twin on the ground floor, so just had a slight view between building opposite. The room is spacious as is the bathroom. The beds were comfy too. Theres a coffee machine on the ground floor available to all to use at 1 euro a drink. Its a great place to stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I really dislike smelly air fresheners and they do abound here so you are greeted by wafting scent of this and that as you mount the stairs. I think they use plug ins…ugh , a real mistake I think. The place is so clean I am sure they don't need them. Important fact for those who can't climb stairs. The Hostal is situated up a few small flights of steps which means carrying suitcases up and down. They kindly helped me when I left..

    I think it was the best hotel bed I have slept in. Nice big room with french windows that opened . Good bathroom with excellent shower and all facilities. Nice white cotton sheets and good blankets..extra pillows and blankets in the wardrobe. A well stocked fridge, a bottle opener …a hairdryer…all the extras in fact that you do get in expensive hotels seem to be here..at a more reasonable price. Even the dreaded coffee machine made reasonably drinkable fresh coffee which was surprising.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This is a hostel so there are no restaurant facilities. There was a fridge in the room with an assortment of drinks and water which were very reasonably priced. There are literally dozens of places to eat within 100 metres of the hostel so getting fed isn't an issue. Top floor rooms have a balcony and all rooms have air conditioning. If they are all like this I will never pay for hotels again on holiday as Hostal Escudo was a very pleasant place to stay for our week's break.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Slight drainage issues. Best to let customer choose currency to pay when using credit card

    Nice tidy room. Lovely balcony and views . In the middle of village but tucked away beautifully.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A more accurate description of its location and the fact that you CAN NOT drive up outside to unload luggage!! we would have had to park quite a distance away and lug our cases and golf clubs through a very busy shopping square. Plus I have medical equipment which is heavy and if I had a more accurate description of it's inaccessibility I definitely not booked this place. Money down the drain for us and we are very unhappy that we had to search for another hotel at additional cost.

    We can't give an honest opinion of this hotel as we couldn't get to it so didn't stay. We knew there was no parking but we couldn't even get close enough to unload our luggage and golf equipment.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound echoed around the building so we were awoken some nights when guests were coming in and out, otherwise very peaceful.

    Lovely room with complimentary toiletries, basic but cheap mini bar and great balcony with sea views. The lady running the hotel could not have been any more friendly or helpful. We had a great stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower curtain in the bathroom, which left the bathroom floor wet all day.

    Staff very friendly, clean room excellent location, beautiful views, very private, easy access to all locations.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the heart of Mijas, next to restaurants and bars but quiet so you get a good sleep at night. Very nice sea view from the room (room 6 first floor). You can park your car for 1€/day at 7 min walking distance. You will need to carry your bags a bit though :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Automatic lights going upstairs , did not come on quick enough, thought it could be dangerous

    Very clean and friendly In a great loccation in middle of Mijas Pueblo

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Liked everything.

    Great location to walk to all sites in Mijas. The staff was very friendly, very clean place, and we liked the refrigerator in our room that had water, juice, wine, beer and they kept track of what you used each day. That was very appreciated.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    excellent location in centre of town. It is a walk from the multi story car park but please use the public lift from the car park to the main square and then the other glass lift from within the main square to the next level which will enable you to avoid some steps

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficulty in speaking to the proprietor on arrival. Even with good Spanish it was difficult to make myself understood or to understand what the man said.

    Central location but poor access to parking the car to unload suitcases etc.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can see that parking is difficult in Mijas but it was a shame that nothing was offered in this regard. We ended up parking in some free spaces just down the hill from the multi-storey car park, which was about a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Luckily our cases weren't heavy! Secondly, the hotel doesn't provide any breakfast (there is a slightly unreliable coffee machine in the foyer) - it may have been the time of year (mid Feb) but there was very little, if anything, on offer in the town for a modestly early breakfast (7-8am).

    Quiet and tidy hotel down a little alley off a square in Mijas. Superb value and we were lucky enough to get a top floor room with an excellent balcony. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom clean and spacious. For what we paid this hotel was great value.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think in winter maybe some rugs on the tiles floors as you can imagine ...it can feel colder especially at night...maybe more plug sockets

    The view was fabulous..very central

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful room with a balcony. Fabulous view. The place was very clean and had everything that you could possibly need. The owner was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is an issue but solvable as parking is an issue in the whole town. A large parking structure has been built in the town for this challenge. Bathroom was a bit tight. A lot of stairs to get to the hotel and no elevator.

    The place is well thought out, so comfy and quaint. It seems great thought and care was taken in making guests feel welcomed. We arrived late at night and had no problem getting in. Loved the quaint area of its location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning remote was stuck to the wall so couldn’t be operated when in bed

    The hotel was lovely in a quiet hidden spot but right around the corner was a beautiful traditional town square with restaurants and bars. Our balcony was a large size with sea views and the room was a decent size with mini bar and large comfortable bed. The bathroom had everything, 2 sinks and large walk in shower. There was ample storage space and wardrobes to stow our luggage. Over all we were impressed with the facilities and staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    A little gem. Will definitely be booking to stay here again. Everything was fabulous. Can't say a negative about it. Tip: in the shower the 'f' is the cold tap and the 'c' is the hot.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing to dislike

    No frills, simple little hotel. Tucked away behind a small square. Very clean with small balcony giving great views . Really handy for all shops, bars and restaurants, Great value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The biggest problem with this hotel was finding it. A detailed map telling you that it is actually up a lot of steps and nowhere near an actual road might have helped. Also when we arrived there was nobody there. We were let in by remote control and a key left on the reception desk. If it had been midnight, this might have been expected but it was only 7.30 p.m.

    This is just a room and nothing else, however there was a coffee machine in the reception area - no tea though. The room was very nice, large with a small balconette and a view, mini bar with soft drinks which were not overpriced and a big TV which we did not use. The bathroom was great with twin sinks, bidet and shower.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit difficult to find, as you cannot drive to the property. You must park in a parking garage that is about a 2 minute walk away and 1 euro per day (very reasonable). Once you find it, it is a quaint comfortable place in a good location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Task of collecting payment was left to cleaning lady who had no bill or receipt. We were expected to hand over cash and leave hotel with no record of payment. Problem fixed after telephone call. Room was not ready for check in at 14:45. The owner/manager though this was okay and was the international standard for hotels. I disagree!

    Location, room and views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We really enjoyed our stay, our room was a good size with good furniture, a comfortable bed and a really good modern bathroom. It was all very comfortable and spotlessly clean. We parked in the multi story car park, went up to the 10th floor, found the hotel quite easily from a map that we obtained from the tourist office near the car park exit. The hotel was very centrally located for shops, restaurants etc. The owner was very helpful and it was a very relaxing two night break.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A kettle would be good, if not in the room, then on the floor. There is a coffe vending machine in the lobby but no tea or hot water possible.

    This is a very nice and - most importantly - very clean hostel and a good value for money. The room is cozy, the bathroom very nice (with the walk-in shower), the wardrobe big enough, the tv, the aircon and the wifi are working. On the highest floor you get a nice balcony so you can really relax there, there was even enough space for my yoga mat. Rooms are cleaned daily. It is quiet and location is great (close to everything). To find the place, just go up the narrow steps between the pizzeria and the Blue Coffee Bike, passing the leather shop behind the pizzeria, and continue up the narrow passage until you see the sign of the hostel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Lovely spacious room with sea view and tucked away in peaceful spot but in the centre too. Friendly staff. Room had lots of character. Bathroom and room facilities stylish and seemed new. Would recommend for adults and couples.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The fridge wasn't cold enough and not very big for own food and drink. As there was no outside space, the roof terrace was a wasted space as it had a beautiful view and sun late into the evening. It needed new furniture and some plants and perhaps a BBQ for use which would make this an added selling point.

    The central location with lots of choice of reasonably priced bars and restaurants within easy walking distance. Also close to the bullring, church and beautiful clifftop garden walk with stunning views. Marguerite was very accommodating and friendly. I really liked the private balcony. Although just by the constitution square and lots of tourists the hotel was situated just behind and was very quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bullfighting - this is a Spanish tradition but it should be banned as it has been in a lot of other areas of Spain and other countries. It is outdated and barbaric. There was one whilst we were there and there is another tomorrow. The pain and suffering of the bulls is shocking, both before and during the fight I have done some research since coming home and it advises that people should avoid going to areas where this is still active - animal rights are exploited and ignored all for creating revenue.

    Traditional Spanish town Felt very safe Lovely walks Very clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike about this hostal.

    A wonderful hotel in the perfect location. The staff were excellent and made you feel welcome. A rustic hotel tastefully decorated. Located in a quiet side street but literally seconds away from the restaurants and bars. Even though there is no parking onsite, there is a multi storey car park only a couple of minutes walk away and its only 1 euro per day

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close location to 2 church clocks striking the hour and half hour 24 hours

    Location was superb middle of village. View comfortable beds and excellent bathroom facilities with complimentary toiletries

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No car parking nearby, but easy to park in the towns multi-storey which is very cheap.

    Very friendly staff, good location for bars and restaurants. Nice balcony which caught the sun. Quiet location and good sized room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like really. If I was being 'picky' then perhaps a couple of English speaking channels on the television e.g. News channel.

    This is a hidden gem! Great location. Even though it is in the centre of the town, it was at the end of a quiet little street. Very clean and comfortable. The room was cleaned every day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was not one thing about our stay to dislike.

    Liked everything, Hostel in perfect location within Mijas Peublo. Staff in hostel were very helpful with enquiries re bus times,booking taxis etc.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked 3 rooms. All were a little different but ewually excellent. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Mijas. Beautiful city. A must see for at least 2-3 nights.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Something that happens in most hotels - often there are 2 people sharing a room so why is there only one chair?

    Small hotel in quiet position but near the centre of Mijas. Well designed, in traditional style. Very comfortable beds, though you will not be happy if you like soft mattresses, pleasant staff. We liked the cost too!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee making in room otherwise really good place central & very clean

    Comfy room & bathroom clean & great fittings - wrought iron looked good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the restaurants, less than 100 steps 😁 Close to the markets, banks, clinics. In the heart of the center. Staff were very friendly and welling to help all the time, extraordinary. Many places to visit in the tiny city top of the mountain, make sure you arrange you trip well, because it worth to do as much activities as possible. Very nice place, for walking, cycling or sightseeing and enjoying food.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside no tea/coffee making facilities in the room

    Lovely place great spot right in the town centre and quiet we had a sea view perfect all round and very clean should have more than a 2 star rating

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could do with tea/ coffee facilities in the room. They did however oblige with a kettle and cups 😀

    The room was very traditional, great views and private. The bed was very comfortable. The whole place was quiet, no noise from other people

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find and not ideal for those with any mobility issues due to location and no close by parking facilities.

    Very clean hostel ideally located in the centre of the town.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sheet had a big stain on it. It was really disappointing to see when you pull back the cover to get into bed.. It had been washed but I think it should be replaced.

    Love the hotel, very clean(apart from one of the bed sheets), very friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wonderful little 'Sanctuary' in an idyllic and perfect location in the heart of the village. The trip was for my birthday and I couldn't have had a better time. We were made to feel very welcome from Margarita on reception from start to finish and we have already made plans to return again soon. 😊

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Terrible smell in the bathroom which wouldn't go away despite several attempts to air the room. Breakfast options at the hotel would've been nice.

    Good average comfort hotel to a decent price. Room is a good size, and nice large balcony with a view.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    pillows a little too solid in our opinion,however there were some softer ones in the wardrobe, lack of power sockets!, lack of storage but not a problem for us as we were only there for 3 nights : some drawer or shelf space would be useful for a longer stay!!

    The view from the top floor rooms was amazing, decor and facilities 1st class,beautiful bathroom, we were offered a kettle which was a nice gesture,but had taken our own,very close to the plaza de constitution and all restaurants/bars/supermarket., very quiet as it is not on a vehicle accessible road,fabulous!!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only things that would have been nice are a proper double bed (rather than two singles pushed together) and tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    Had a great stay here. Fantastic location. In the heart of town yet very quiet.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Never saw a member of staff.

    Great location though difficult to find. More signage would be helpful, the mosaic on the oage end isn't helpful as you only see it when you're standing in top of it.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent location in centre, all just a few minutes walk away. Parking in municipal car park, 5 minutes walk away, was just 1 € for nearly 24 hours! Breakfast places nearby at very affordable prices

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Perhaps a sign in Plaza de Constitucion directing guests to Hostal El Escudo.

    Beautiful views from our balcony, comfortable beds, Receptionist provided Kettle and cups as coffee machine in reception didn't have black coffee, guided us to local supermacado, excellently located in centre of Plaza de Constitucion.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    + beautiful view of the sea and the city + very good location, just in the city center + clean room + interesting design + comfartable bed and spacious room + good wifi connection + big tv with hdmi

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    This was my third stay at this hostel and it won't be the last. It is exceptionally clean and comfortable. As I have said in previous reviews, the location is perfect.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Be prepared to walk to find it and finding it can be challenging so patience recommended!

    Fantastic authentic Andalusian style property! Don't miss the view

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the mattress in this room a little too firm for us. Optional mattress toppers might be a solution?!

    Another wonderful stay in Mijas Pueblo at this excellent 'hostel' accommodation. Top floor room with sea view, south facing balcony and ensuite. Everything you need for a comfortable stay. Super location just a few steps from one of the main squares yet peaceful. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel in the smack middle of Mijas. We very much enjoyed our stay and would come back without hesitation. Beds were comfortable and the room was clean. This room was the best we stayed in during our 2 weeks stay in Andalucia.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish I could have stayed longer.

    I loved the room, it was so cute and cozy. It really felt like home. Also the beds were so comfortable and I slept really well.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle in room would have finished it off. On arriving it mijas property is difficult to find but once found you realise it's so central.b

    In the centre of mijas but location perfectly quiet and peaceful. Spotless well maintenance. In the UK would be classed as a boutique hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    The location in the middle of Mijas. Central to everywhere. Our room had a balcony and a sea view. Village car park €3 for 3 days, excellent. No food in the Hostal but so many restaurants and cafes within 100 yards I would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing considering the cost of the room , it was all very satisfactory .

    Very good value accommodation in a prime location . Comfortable room and very clean . Second time we have stayed here . Great if you are just looking for a room with no other facilities . Very quiet on both visits and the hotel manager very helpful and obliging .

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Considering this was a 'hostal' the room was very well decorated, a good size, nice quirky bathroom and a mini bar that didn't cost the earth. A little gem of a find. We'll definitely go back again

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is problem with finding this hotel if you're driving. Make sure you don't get the hot and cold taps mixed up .

    Loved the location near the town.The room was cool and located at the front of the hotel, the staff left the doors open and shutters drawn which made the room feel cool and comfortable on a very hot day, very considerate. The receptionist was very helpful and answered all queries with a smile.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had high exceptions for this stay because its booking rating is so good. They were not fulfilled. Thought the location is nice, you just can't get to the hostal by car. This means you have to carry your luggage for 300 metres of irregular floor and stairs (both on the street and at the hostal, because it doesn't have a lift). The check-in is an adventure, you have to ring the bell which calls someone on the phone and they let you in remotely. We asked for a room with a double bed when we booked it, several months ahead, and we didn't get one (they were two twin beds pushed together). We could never find anyone at the reception to complain about it (curiously there was a girl there for the check-out) Also, the room was quite ugly (brown wallpaper, old furniture). The breakfast is not included (because there's no kitchen or room for this purpose at the hostal), and the only food you can get there is a ridiculously expensive coffee machine.

    Nice location (really in the city center). Mijas is a delightful place. The bathroom was big enough and with two sinks. The mattress was very good. This was the place with the best quality-price relationship that we could find in the area.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Excellent position in the middle of Mijas. We've stayed several times here and each room is different. Big well decorated rooms and bathrooms. An affordable mini-bar, hair-drier in the bathroom and a coffee machine on the ground floor. No restaurant but it's not needed as there are so many cafes around. Excellent parking in Mijas which is only 1 euro for 24 hours.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the only downside is the staff were hardly there in the 3 days we stayed, even when checking out there was no one to take our payment and they asked us to leave card details on the desk which is very unsecure. Other than that our stay here was fine.

    This is a lovely hotel in a really nice spot. Very clean rooms and good size balcony.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny room, view was a wall across, no directions to a well hidden location (Spanish lady guessed what we were looking for with cases and told us where it was). Maybe we would never have found it! No balcony as quoted on booking, but didn't complain as we were a 1 night booking and those staying longer should get best rooms. Think price of €55 was well over odds, quite basic for a bed. Didn't know the the main street and central plaza in Mijas was under reconstruction and spoilt the trip. Overall Mijas is great when all the work is done, but no good for disabilities - lots of steps, cobbles which cannot be avoided.

    Basically the central location sold it. A/C, bed and pillows good. Lovely square 40 yards away, and on route for donkey & horse trips, which was nice to watch. Near to the only lift in Mijas, with great views from the nice restaurants. Stage for flamenco and accordion player added to the atmosphere. Impressed that town council didn't rip off tourists - nowhere to park on streets (very steep, narrow) but 7 storey car park cost just €1 a day! That is what every tourist resort should do to attract visitors.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative

    Nice and clear in the city center, comfortable, nice view, friendly staff, it's definitely not a hostal feeling. The parking is hard on Sunday evening but after dinner time is OK. You get exactly what you can see on the pictures. We loved it so much.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The address was difficult to find and the parking was an uphill walk with luggage. The parking had been disrupted due to roadwork in the local area.

    The view from the bedroom window was exceptional

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location in the centre of Mijas, yet in a quiet spot. Great view from the room which we had, all the way down to the coast. Staff were welcoming and efficient

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps a couple of table and chairs at the entrance for sitting in the sun. However, it was fabulous. There wasn't anything we didn't like!

    We were very impressed by the quality and comfort of the facilities. More like a 'boutique hotel' than a hostel. Really fabulous - will be back!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bells, the bells, the bells..........but at least I knew the time when I woke up.

    Central location a short walk to the squares and restaurants. View from room stunning with a balcony and a sunbed! reasonably priced minibar!!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to been able to X make a cup of tea or coffee in the room

    Reasonable price, great location right in the c stre of town but just in a back street so not noisy.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of Tea/coffee making facilities in room.

    Ideal Mijas centre location with easy access to Golf, Costa Del Sol etc. Ideal for a short break as limited facilities at hotel itself. The price absolutely excellent and staff very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location perfect in the centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this place was excellent. This is the third time we have stayed here and will definitely be back again soon. Definitely recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    Very comfortable rooms and right in the centre but tucked away you wouldn’t know it was there

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: