Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel España Ramblas 4 stars

Sant Pau, 9-11, Ciutat Vella, 08001 Barcelona, Spain

#136 of 516 hotels in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2078 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra charge of 10 euro was taken (tourism fee!) not mentioned on booking.com (and as per booking our prepaid price was final No view at all if you don’t request it The room is mainly made for sleep and change

    Location is excellent The roof was nice and the staff upstairs were great They offer free drinks on the roof as part of welcoming Safe hotel (they close the entrance at night)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A minor issue, some of the refurb is not the most functional, siding doors on wardrobes coming off runners and being impossible to open at points (this is more an irritant than anything) and the bathroom being very attractive but water not contained in the shower. Room felt quite small but we had the chair made up as a bed which impacted on space.

    Very central to all the main sites and well placed off Las Ramblas, las ramblas has a section made up off stalls and gelato stands etc and another section which sees more restaurants. The hotel is positioned in between. Helpful and friendly staff and a very glamorous feel in the lobby area and in the communal areas. We spent the days out doing lots of walking and sightseeing and so our evenings were largely spent relaxing indoors. Very comfortable and clean bed. Supermarket opposite for essentials and a wide choice of amenities for food and drink. I would recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices in the bar. This made us spend more time away from the hotel which was a shame as we wanted a really relaxing time

    Amazing staff great location good breakfast what more can you ask for?

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The greeting. After two excellent hotels in other cities in Spain we were shocked at how little the front desk people seemed to care about making us feel welcome. As three women traveling together we had hoped that the concierges would help make us feel safe and cared for. Not here. The staff was not interested in making us feel special at all. And it colored the whole trip to Barcelona which I think we would have like much more if we had had the welcome we expected. The front desk seems to act as though there are no consequences to this kind of unfriendly behavior. The staff in the breakfast area is the same.

    The roof top bar was fun with a wonderful bartender (ginger haired with a beard). The room was comfortable and we were supplied with additional hangers and bathroom items as soon as we asked. The location is easy and surprisingly quiet. Our room (315) had no view - just a hostel next door with the kids' towels etc hanging on the railings.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel pool is small but overall the terrace bar is a great spot to relax and soak up some sun.

    Excellent location for exploring the city with comfortable and well appointed rooms. The interior decor was stunning. We had a room with small balcony overlooking the street below,a comfortable place to enjoy a cup of coffee in the morning or a glass of wine before going for dinner in the evening. The terrace bar is a lovely place to unwind in the evening.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved our stay in this wonderful hotel with a great location! Our only complaint was the noise from the alley. We had pre-purchased a "city view" room not realizing just how loud it would be. There is a woman who sings at the top of her lungs each and every morning at 6am! If you do not want to be awoken or are sensitive to loud noise, you may want to refrain from choosing a city view room. That being said, the front desk staff was exceptionally accommodating and provided us with a new room our second night with no complaint whatsoever.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) Leaking water from the shower room that flooded into the dry area, that gave an unpleasant dress up time and was dangerous to use fixed mount hair dryer in the area. 2)There were hot dish/breakfast served at the buffet line but uninformed by the staff, there was only an A4 sized menu put in the coner which was unnoticeable. 3) Transaction had been charged in the guest local currency instead of Euro without being informed with bad exchange rate plus 2% mark up.

    Nice staffs, good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Front desk staff was amongst the poorest I've ever dealt with. Uncaring and almost surly. A/C in first room not working and on the third night, A/C not working in the 2nd room. Messages called in never delivered. Concerns too numerous to list.

    The only positive was the location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice rooms, great location. Our breakfast was included. We ordered omelet and they were not great. Overlcooked. Otherwise a nice small hotel with a bar lounge on the top floor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a little smaller than expected. Also, it is a known issue, but some of the rooms (and I happened to land in one of them) have showers that are leaky. It's a design flaw so they can't really do much to fix it but the water flows out of the shower and all over the bathroom floor. All they could do it help fix it was give me extra towels to lay onto the floor but it probably needs to be looked at properly. Not a fan of the sink, which is like a large rectangular plate, and it feels like the water isn't going down the drain but just sitting around in the sink. There was no free TV at all.

    Situated very well just off La Ramblas, also a metro stop a min walk away. The hotel is well maintained and has lovely architecture. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The amenities are from Ritual and were all a lovely touch. The walk in shower was roomy and decent water pressure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    What a wonderful place - This is a gem of a hotel. Just off La Rambla, it is extremely convenient to main attractions. The room was clean and comfy and the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only few things that let it down was that the air con in our room didn't work, so it was boiling. It looked like someone had attempted to fix it as the switch board in the wardrobe was all open. Also the shower leaked, so we kept having to use our towels to mop the floor. We could have spoken to reception about it & i'm sure they would have offered a solution, but we couldn't be bothered with the hassle of moving. Also you can here a lot of noise from other rooms / corridors. I think its due to the open plan courtyard style, so everything echos.

    The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We asked for restaurant recommendations and the gentleman on reception told us about an amazing little italian on a side street, and even wrote the directions down for us. Fabulous. The hotel is on a side street just off the ramblas, couldn't have a better location. About 3 minutes walk from a little square with restaurants, bars & irish bars too. The rooftop terrace is lovely for drinks before heading out for dinner, and again the staff are great up there too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were ripped off by the taxi driver who the hotel rang for us when we were leaving the hotel. The fare on the meter was 11 euro for a short ride to the cruise ship terminal and he told us we had to pay 24.80 euro. He yelled at us in Spanish when we questioned him so we had to pay to get our luggage out of the car. I’ve reported this to the hotel and I hope they contact the taxi company. Beware of rip offs. 😞

    We just stayed here and loved the close proximity to Las Rambla while being very quiet. The roof top bar and pool area was a great place to go for a quiet drink or a light meal. Our room was very comfortable and the bed was excellent. Food was excellent too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff issue

    Modern hotel in a beautiful modernista building, very comfortable in every way. Great toiletries, breakfast and position , near the Rambla's but quiet. The only fault was a delay in access to our room, however compensated with an upgrade!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not particularly clean, bathroom & floors not washed. We stayed 4 nights & very little done to the room each day. Expect more for that price! Room small too. Sliding doors to wardrobe came off runners. Shower leaked a lot of water ( but gave bathroom floor a much needed wash!)

    Excellent location, kettle & tea/coffee facility in room. Quiet at night even though very central

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front staff was very accommodating as we arrived in the Am after a very long flight. The rooftop bar was very welcoming after a long day touring. The location was the best. Very safe and centrally located to everything. Can’t wait to return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some stains of drinks on the floor beside nightstand, obviously cleaning wasn't done too carefully. Also sand on the floor.

    Lovely breakfast, front desk staff was most friendly and we got excellent service from Jorgi.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looking at the the pictures online it shows a pool-is it not, it is a deceiving reflective picture. We booked a family room for a friends 40th and was given a twin room with a camp bed, only provided for 2 people when 3 of us were staying- 2 cups,2 glasses etc. Small cramped room. Tried to complain about the facilities and the fact we had paid double the amount for a family room but clearly were in a twin, they were not accommodating to this and fobbed us off. There was only lady at reception who was more than friendly other than that no interaction from any staff

    The location was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived, the desk staff insisted that we had reserved two rooms instead of one. Finally got resolved. The shower door did not prevent water from flowing out onto the floor.

    Location couldn't be better, in the heart of Barcelona. The room, though small, was equipped with everything we needed and the facility was spotless. The staff were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I do not find it acceptable that when a guest reports s malfunction in the room paid for, no action is taken. It is certainly not a big issue, but the sliding doors in front of wardrobes did not function as they should. No action was taken.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 English speaking t.v. channel - CNBC Financial News - GREAT!!!!

    Modern, great staff, reasonable bar prices. The location is superb for La Rambles.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a dog in the building next to our room that barked all night and people were up very late and were loud.. It was most unpleasant. Of course it is not the hotels fault but I will not stay there again for that reason.

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air condition wasn't working in our room

    The beds were amazingly comfortable. The breakfast was great! The staff we're very helpful especially Jordi. It was a nice perk to have water and juice in the fridge. Location is fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was comfortable and clean but small, and in need of a checkover to fix taps and switches.

    It's a short walk from Last Ramblas and el Barrio Gotico. The hotel is quite stylish with an attractive room for dining. There is a rooftop terrace and bar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving!!

    Location of hotel is ideal for all facilities. Staff were outstanding, helpful and caring and could not do enough to make our stay memorable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I pre booked breakfast but they didn’t have the booking so I had to pay for 2 people for two days again. I ordered champagne to be in the room on the Saturday. We got back late and no champagne. It was my partners 50th so wanted it to be special. When I asked the next day all they offered was a free glass of cava which we didn’t want. Shame the service wasn’t up to the fantastic decor.

    Great location and beautiful hotel. Sadly due to the weather the terrace was closed but it looked stunning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hot element of breakfast was cold, however the staff warmed it up for us.

    The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was clean and lovely. The staff were helpful and very friendly. I would recommend this hotel to any friends travelling to Barcelona. It was my partners birthday and they left champagne with a birthday note in our room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic location in the heart of La Rambla. Close to shops, restaurants, transports, beautiful sites and plazas. The staff were very attentive and accommodating, and the breakfast was superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and efficient staff, excellent breakfast, great bar with excellent service, lovely rooftop bar and location was absolutely ideal....central to everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Defiantly not a 4* Hotel; beautiful hotel but lacking amenities; location great but also makes it loud; ask for high floor room with external facing balcony

    Location was great for exploring the city

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I actually didn't get to see the rooftop...due to the rain, but that's not the hotel's fault necessarily.

    The staff was friendly and the property clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom has a large separation between the hinges of the bath and the door - you easily flood the bathroom without noticing. The breakfast bacon could be much better, as well there was some lack of vegetables on the breakfast. Free TV channels are surprisingly quite limited in english.

    Nice hotel - the smell and temperature, and overall feeling on entry was very nice. Breakfast was quite varied, and orange juice was tasty. Bed was very comfortable, and room cleaning very efficient and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had to ask for hand towels

    The room was a good size and very quiet. The building was beautiful and had a 1 Michelin start restaurant. perfect location, just off the Ramblas with a Metro at the top of thew street.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very dark on entering so difficult to find card activation slot for lighting. Do not book a taxi through the hotel it already arrives with the meter running, mine had 5.35euro on clock (should be 2.30) then when it gets to drop off driver tries to sting you extra 10euro over meter price claiming it is "company charge"

    Close to both port (staying after a cruise) and Las Ramblas. Stylish old building tastefully restored, modernist interior luxury but minimalist, free cocktail for booking via booking.com, staff,especially porter very firendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door of our shower didn't close well, so after each shower the bathroom was flooded and we were on our knees cleaning up the water (room 119). Nothing that can't be fixed though. We didn't complain about it. Just mentioned it at check out, so hopefully they will take care of it.

    Nice comfortable and stylish room. Good bed, minibar with water and pineapple juice free of charge. Location is perfect (although the street it is on is a bit dodgy, but that's only 100 meters), very close to Barri Gottic, Plaça Catalunya, the port and Born. Lots of restaurants to choose from. The hotel itself is very nice. Authentic Spanish (Catalan) elements with a modern twist. We asked for a quiet room and got a room with hardly any daylight (tiny window), which was okay for us, because no noise from the street. We did get some noise at 3 AM from an English guest. She was apparently drunk and was singing and shouting... Something we can't hold the hotel accountable for. It's just the bad behaviour of some folks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Deluxe room didn’t have a couch as I was expecting - not as in the photos so felt a bit misled and disappointed by this. Bed was not up to 4 star standard as it was really hard and pillows were of man made fibres so not very comfortable and made your head sweaty!!!You get a better bed and pillows in a Premier Inn. Also they wanted €25 for 24 hours of TV. No free TV channels on offer. Thought this was a huge cost and very cheeky.

    Location was superb - couldn’t have been better. Room was very clean. Good bathroom. Staff were friendly and helpful. Free unsecured WiFi.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well though it can't be changed but the room is too small..

    The location of the hotel is 4 steps away from the the rambla .. the staff is super nice .. the design has mixed between the classic Spain one with a modern touch .. to lay down on the bed and open the window and hear people walking down the allies was one of the most comforting experiences .. In the bar you will find one of the nicest bartenders ever .. sadly we forgot to ask about her name !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our shower completely flooded not only the bathroom but also the bedroom but house keeping came and cleaned.

    The history of the hotel and the location was perfect

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was compact and the plumbing a bit noisy but other than that, nothing else.

    This hotel is a great find in Barcelona and it will now be my go-to hotel whenever I'm in Barcelona. The staff are excellent; the breakfasts perfect and it is a very quirky hotel with some great architectural features which delight. The location is just perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff gave us a free upgrade. We had a beautiful terrace. The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly and we really enjoyed our room and stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Breakfast staffs were not very responsive, had to asked multiple time for simple things. They were least bothered to refill the items that were finishing fast...! - Be careful and take care of your belongings, that is the in general problem of Barcelona but we have seen a lady's phone was stolen from the breakfast table... - Rooms were not very good sound proof and we could hear noises from outside and the room above us

    - Welcome drink arranged by booking.com was nice - Location is a major advantage for someone wants to stay in center, major attractions are near and La Rambla street is just 2 min walk. Metro stop Liceu was very close. - Reception staffs were friendly and helpful - Water bottles and complementary juices provided in the room was nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We travel quite a lot (as a family with kids; 2 of us together; and separately for business purposes), and that's definitely one of the best hotels we have been to. What impressed greatly at the check-in - it was the quickest check-in we had. Literally less than one minute. That was very important as the kids were rather tired after the late evening flight. The location is great, the food is superb. Standard rooms are not too large, but we definitely come to Barcelona not to stay in the hotel room:)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only minor issues like only two English speaking TV channels (CNBC and Bloomberg) and the ornamental wooden snakes coming out of the walls in breakfast area, didn't like that at all. :) But there was a bit too few places to hang wet towels.

    Comfortable bed. Good (even very good) and varied breakfast. Very good location. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Quiet room. Complimentary beverages in the fridge (water and juice).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not up to scratch. Couldn’t be bothered to help me with bookings etc so basically no point in concierge. Breakfast - need way more staff and the room is so massive but too few tables so turning people away! Never see that before!

    Good location clean and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing i didn't like was there wasn't free cable TV. I was sick for a day and couldn't go out so was kind of bored.

    Location was great for walking to many attractions and right by the Ramblas street. Easy to party the night away and walk back. Room was very quiet even though facing the street. Staff was extremely helpful and very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooftop and pool facilities were closed and only available to use between May and September. This wasn’t specified when booking the hotel which we found very disappointing coming from rainy London. On booking.com says pay at the property,however we were charged prior. No natural daylight in the room we stayed in.

    Very clean rooms, good quality towels and toiletries, amazing shower. Great staff, very polite and welcoming. Very cozy bar with great selection of drinks. Amazing location !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    The incredible ambiance of the old world, the original structures and decorations combined with the most modern rooms eloquently decorated. The breakfast is great, served in a surrounding you don't find elsewhere. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were only here two nights. There was nothing not to like about our stay in our experience.

    We were upgraded on arrival to a lovely room with a fabulously comfy bed. The staff were so helpful throughout our stay. It was better than we had hoped for.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Situated just the wrong side of La Rambla for my liking albeit only 100yds away.

    Very welcoming, room ready prior to check in time. Very clean and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a leak in the shower, had difficulty in reaching the reception by phone, low quality of housekeeping e.g. failed to put toilet paper in the bathroom

    The location and ambiance was great. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like that we had to pay for the weighing scale and the Comfort room was extremely cold. We could hear the flow of the water from the pipes through the walls

    Nice interior, employees spoke English very well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room was ground floor was very musty and dark try and get a room higher up , the road the hotel is on is off la ramblas which is good but the road has a phone shop every other shop which ruins the feel , gothic quarters is much more rustic and a nicer experience.

    Bed was comfy , staff were lovely I was unhappy with my room so they changed us to something slightly bigger.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was on the small side and, on our first day was not serviced until we pointed it out after 18:30

    Position in Barcelona just off Las Ramblas and very close to the Gran Teatre del Liceu

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small and the overall dark color does not provide a better feeling. Not good for business travels but perfect for leisure.

    The atmosphere was really good and the building is amazing. The staff at the arrival was nice and the check in procedure fast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise: bad insulation of walls and parquet ¦ you hear everything from next door room, such as a lady coming home at 2:30 a.m. and walking around in her clacky heels for 75 minutes. Staff: No information was distributed beforehand about the Barcelona Marathon on Sunday, our departure day, when the inner City was in fact closed and no taxi could access or leave the area of the Hotel.

    Building extraordinary; location is superb room was very good, though small

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were welcoming, helpful and polite . Located close to bars and restaurants on las Rambla and excellent transport links. Hotel full of character and breakfast delightful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff there were brilliant . Special mention to Tom , he really made our stay brilliant , always smiling and helpful and a great ambassador for the hotel . And the rest of the team at reception , at the bar and at breakfast were just wonderful too . Thank you x

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I didn’t like was the drink selection at the bar which is a minor minor detail showing how amazing this place is!

    The design in the hotel was gorgeous - the interior is exquisitely designed. Also the staff were extremely welcoming and friendly and helpful in any way possible.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the small room; once we figured out how to move within room, it was fine.

    Had hard time figuring out the shower operation! Some leaking from under shower door spilled onto floor. Bathroom small but mostly functional.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Me and my boyfriend came to Barcelona to celebrate our 3 year anniversary and really couldn’t of picked a better hotel to stay in. The hotel was very clean, and the staff were really lovely and helpful. We had a lovely room with the comfiest bed. Perfect location, right near the metro station and restaurants, bars and shops. Couldn’t not fault a thing, would definitely recommend and will hopefully be back in the future :) thank you Hotel Espana x

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Why are twin beds welded together? Impossible to move. If you ask for twin beds it is because you want to sleep separately! Heavy glass door on loo opening inwards and crashing into loo. Poor design. Pathetically inadequate towel rails. Poor drainage in basins. Hate those hangers you have to hook into. You think we are going to steal hangers? Room temperature gauge seemed to have little connection to actual temp. Pity about the boring modern decor in rooms and bar. Would prefer furniture etc in keeping with period -

    Pastries and fruit and fresh orange juice good. Bacon etc all dried up. Staff very good. Loved the modernist restoration.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The daily clean was not amazing, they basically just made our bed. Our bathroom was still unclean sometimes when we came in from a day out. I was just a tad disappointed with the size of the room as well, may be I was just unlucky with the double room I was given but they looked much bigger online.

    The bed is big and comfy, and despite being off Las Ramblas, I heard no noise. The staff are lovely, and despite not being able to speak Spanish fluently, even the maids tried to make conversation with me.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was so accommodating and helpful. Greeted us with friendly, warm smiles every time we entered and left the hotel. The cleanliness was impressive and the location was perfect.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    The location was excellent, loved the bar and restaurants the room was lovely with a neat little patio with a view it would be fantastic in the summer months.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a small internal room with no outside view. I was quite disappointed. The roof terrace was closed which I understand as we were there in December but still would have been nice to sit in the sun.

    Good location, staff and decor. We could walk almost everywhere.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The city is changing , more beggars , rough sleepers , and being pestered while out at meal times .

    The staff was excellent , couldn’t be more friendly and very helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Usually I am always talking to my friends about the staff at the “Ramblas Espana” We always had great experiences with the staff each time we stayed. This time that we brought friends with us (in a second room) and for the first time we were really disappointed with the staff at reception as well as at breakfast. Very poor communication I would even say no communication at all. Also very disappointed when I have asked for a late check out (knowing that the hotel is not full at all) I have been asked to pay 40€ to stay until 3 o’clock pm It is not the first time that I have asked this at the “Espana Ramblas” but it is the first time that I have been asked to pay, It is not the problem of 40€ I did pay the amount asked but for a usual customer as I am I do not really understand this policy and was very disappointed about it. Once again I don’t care about the amount I have paid but I am in business as well and I am always trying to give advantage to the faithful customers I am sorry you did not the same especialy as the hotel was far to be full.

    It is our 6th or 7th stay at the Espana Ramblas We love the location at “Ramblas” but without the noise of it. Near everything We love the style of the decoration even if rooms are a bit small We also always loved the good communication with the staff (not this time)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Saying goodbye to the hotel!!

    Staff were so kind and helpful. Bar was lovely and friendly. Decor was absolutely beautiful throughout the entire building. The space was so comfortable and inviting with beautiful lighting that was just right for this building. So central to Las Ramblas and the Opera House. Thank you all for a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a big desk across the room that housed the fridge it was difficult to get around and made the room seem small.

    Beds were extremely comfortable. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The temperature gauge doesn't work as expected. If you bring the temp down, it won't go back up, though the display shows otherwise. My gf and I went to bed one night in a 19*C room. The staff told me not to mess with the gauge and didn't apologize for their stupid setup. There is no signage to suggest anything otherwise. The front desk can bring the temp up to what you desire. Breakfast was 15 euros and it was not very complete. Expensive for what it offers. The window is single pane and it is noisy at 1am and noisy again at 8am. By no means am I a light sleeper. Don't get the rooms with a terrace facing the street. Worse than the standard rooms, which my friends had.

    My room (an upgrade from the standard) was roomy with a touch and desk. The bathroom was double vanity with a separate door to the toilet, which is very nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only bad parts were that the shower leaked so bad, so whenever we got out the shower we had to clean the floor with towels. Also that the room on booking.com stated we would have a robe and slippers and an iPod docking station which we didn’t have either. Albeit this did not impact or ruin our time at all.

    Bedroom was lovely and clean, the staff were so friendly and it was in a great location and very easy to find. Highly recommend this hotel!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked a Deluxe room but were taken to a Boutique room which is Super Small... When we complained the assistant told us that this was the room that was booked... I told him I wanted what I paid for and had to show him the picture of the room from booking .com.. He then said "Its a boutique- Deluxe, I said "No, it's NOT"...Then he gave us the right room...Also don't expect all the goodies of breakfast to be out by 7:30 a.m. -As we were leaving at around 8:15 a.m. from the breakfast dining room the next day lots of goodies were coming out that we didn't get to have. If you book the room with breakfast (as we did) and your plane leaves at 10 am. You loose having a cup of coffee and breakfast because the doors don't open and lights don't go on until 7:30.

    We liked that we arrived at the Hotel at 10:00a.m. and were accommodated at that time. Also the walking distance to restaurants and Plaza Catalunia where you get the Tourist Bus was within a short walk.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    This was all I had hoped for on the extended stay in Barcelona. You could just walk out the door and in a short walk be at all the exciting places you had plans to visit, or a short cab drive to the Gaude location. Going to the market, going to the Gothic area and just walking on Las Rambles was the main reason for our stay and it all was within a block or so of this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was quite small and an extra small sofa stuffed in it is unnecessary (IMO). Breakfast is quite expensive. Plastic glass wall at the end of bed is a bit weird (when you are sitting in the bed you bang it with your back and head). Sink faucets in the bathroom are not comfortable by design (water stops running in seconds)

    The terrace (booked a room on a top floor) was very spacious and had a beautiful view. Staff was really nice. Beautiful interior of the building. Perfect location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The TV had very little to none english speaking channels

    Excellent location. Wouldn't hesitate in staying here again, or recommending to a friend. The staff knew we were celebrating a special birthday, and went out of their way to have some sangria on ice in our room on arrival. A lovely touch. Located 15 second walk from Las Ramblas and very close to a Metro stop. We received a free cocktail each on behalf of booking.com to have during our stay. A lovey surprise!

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel España Ramblas traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: