Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Esplai 3 stars

Ramon y Cajal, 2-16, 08370 Calella, Spain

#38 of 53 hotels in Calella

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 661 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    5.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    6.7
    Hotel Manager - friendly, helpful, was trying to do...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff of the hotel could be definitely improved. Poor food - what you haven’t eaten on breakfast was served for the other meals.

    Hotel Manager - friendly, helpful, was trying to do everything to make the guests satisfied

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.9
    Decent although a bit old-fashioned and minimalist rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Decent although a bit old-fashioned and minimalist rooms. We had room with balcony and as we only needed the room for sleeping, it was good enough for us. The service and the staff were super friendly and helpful. We even got upgraded for free lunch, dinner and wine, even though we only booked room with breakfast included.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    It was a very nice Holiday spent at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room for 3 persons

    It was a very nice Holiday spent at this hotel. Very good food, nice pool, very nice view from the room, the personal was very helpfull. We really enjoy it ! I don't know why it has a low score on booking because almost everything was perfect !

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.9
    We got married next to calella and since half the invited...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the rooms we booked smelled like cigarette smoke.

    We got married next to calella and since half the invited were from abroad we chose this hotel. From the beginning till the end the staff were very welcoming and helpful with anything we could need. I met Alexis, the manager, who offered us all the help as well. They let me check-in a little earlier and set my name so that other invited could reach their rooms without me. Overall was a very nice experience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.8
    The hotel was very clean and cozy and the staffs were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very clean and cozy and the staffs were very friendly from minute 0 they made us feel comfortable, the pool was amazing and fun, because they do activities we didn’t get boring at all. I definitely loved every thing about the hotel and would surely repeat my stay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.5
    We had a good time, catching up with other family members who we hadn't seen for many years.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The food and bar facilities could have been better. The bar staff didn't even know if they had Cava (the Spanish sparkling wine) !! They didn't have any red wine (only Sangria) and the white wine undrinkable.

    The Reception staff were excellent - VERY helpful. Beds were comfy and the cleaning staff very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Convenient for short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Quite hectic at breakfast. Not much in the way of fresh fruit. Didn't try the pool as usually quit busy. Noise peaks around midnight when hotel bar closes, then 2 or 3 hours later when centre clubs start shutting. (A number of groups of young people in hotel, early July).

    Easy to find; 10 minute walk to beach, old town. Plenty of restaurants, cafes nearby. A few minutes to public bus stops for Barcelona & Airports (Barcelona, Girona). Good breakfast with chef to prepare eggs as you'd like them if buffet not to suit.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    5.8
    Below average 3* in an okay location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrendous noise through the walls all the way through the night followed by the maids "screaming" good morning at 7.30am EVERY morning making sure people got up so they could clean. Food was horrendous, cold - looked like it had been reused from the mealtime earlier (sometimes night before) needs more choice even for a budget hotel!

    Reception staff were amazing went above and beyond to accommodate us!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.1
    would not recommend it if you want to rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the wifi rarely works, the maids enter your room at 9h30 sunday morning, the breakfast is so early if you party the night before you sure miss breakfast time, the tv doesnot always work, very little water from the shower, I was stolen my camera in the room

    the confort of the room with a balcony

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    4.2
    A bit rubbish and I've been ripped off.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Whilst trying to pay for my room the machine refused my card 3 times - even though I use my card abroad all of the time and in remote places. The staff were not very helpful and just pointed to the door. As a woman travelling alone this was not very reassuring. I eventually found a cash point - after wandering around on my own in the dark at 1am in the morning. I returned to the hotel to pay in cash. When I returned home I found that not only had they taken my cash they had also taken payment on my card. In addition - the cleaner only cleans what is in front of her. The cobwebs behind her were covered in black dust the bathroom was scruffy and the room smelt musty even with the windows open and air con on. First day no towels - second day 5 towels???? I don't think I will return - a pretty poor experience in all.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    6.3
    Low price - low quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Terrible cleaning. All they were doing is simply making the bed and changing the towels They did some repairments in the bathroom at the time we were still living in the room, couldn't they wait until we check out? Was super uncomfortable Rooms in on the first floor are terrrible, do your best to avoid them Water supply system got broken, and it took more than 2 hours to fix it. No apologies for this whatsoever.

    Breakfast is rather good, view from the 6th floor (only!) is nice. Location is good, very close to the beach and to the bus stop to Barcelona/Airport. Receptionists are really friendly and do their best to help.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    6.3
    This Hotel is about what I would expect from a 3 star venue ie) satisfactory rather than exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Although the food was quite acceptable in terms of choice and quality it was almost always warm rather than hot.

    The hotel staff were,in general, very good - in particular Alexis on Reception was "the star of the show "

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.9
    Everything was good, for that price the food was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    In my opinion, everything was great, plenty of food, location, the room was clean, the balcon was good, but Esplai is little bit noisy, you should know that.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.1
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy. Staff did nothing to discourage screeching in the corridors are 2am! Walls very thin. Staff noisy early mornings. Sometimes couldn't get in dining g room as it was full. Food often like warm but plentiful.

    Short walk to the beach and restaurants

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    Friendly staff, good location, clean room, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise insulation (it was very noisy when young neighbors came home at 4 am :) This can be a problem if you are a light sleeper.

    Friendly staff, good location, clean room, good breakfast. Everything was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    Perfect hotel's staff, very polite.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Germans. Unfortunately, there are uncountable amount of those little loud bastards!

    Perfect hotel's staff, very polite. Awesome breakfast and dinner with a lot of choices of fruits, porridges and meat. Rooms with AC. Close to beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    5.0
    A decent stay with kids, wouldn't go as a couple.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Lack of information, basic food, the sheer number of bags in the lounge from guests that had already checked out and waiting for transport. Charge for safe. When we arrived the receptionist took our names incorrectly and gave us a key for another room already occupied! All of the entertainment is at Hotel Bon Repos, go there straight away and find out what's on as there's loads happening but you wouldn't know if you didn't go over there. Magic Show (Mag Magic) has no respect for animal welfare.

    This is a typical all inclusive property, basic food but plenty of it, a decent sized pool and alcohol all day! There is no parking on site and very little outside the hotel, be warned there are traffic wardens everywhere until late at night! Use the hospital car park which is only a couple of minutes away and is 2.5EUR per 24 hours (free all day Sunday and between 20:00-08:00).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.2
    Will definitely go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food at the restaurant was a bit bland, but there was plenty of choice. The hotel was packed with people in their early 20's, but thankfully they must have gone out at night because they didn't make any noise in the hotel corridors.

    Staff went the extra mile to make me feel welcome, especially at reception but also the cleaners and restaurant. They were fantastic! The bed was very comfortable, tv was huge and surprisingly no noise from neighbouring rooms. Nice balcony too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    4.2
    Felt like sleeping on nightclub roof.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 11 nights

    We spent in Esplai 11 days (from 13 - 24th of June). And unfortunately the feedback is negative. 1) Hotel is really noisy and not comfortable at all for family who looking more peaceful stay. Full of age 20. The “party” started after launch time and ended around 3 am. It was not organized by hotel, just young visitors decided to put up own speakers on balcony! This was completely unintelligible from hotel side to accept this kind of act. Screaming and shouting from one balkony to other was like normal way to speak. Even in breakfast I couldn’t hear what my wife is saying. 2) Cleanliness was pure. Urine smelling toilet and ants in bathroom!

    We really appreciated the personnel responsiveness and helpfulness! Special thanks to Alexis!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    6.7
    Good food, friendly staff, good location and swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean, not big rooms, didn't add enough soap/shampoo. No coffee during lunch/dinner.

    Good food, friendly staff, good location and swimming pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Very good
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location,is not far from the beach,the room was clean and staff friendly. Food was really good and you have from where to choose beeing a open buffet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    5.0
    Good food, fresh but unfortunately very lite variations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was dirty already the day we came. It was cleaned one time (floor, toilet a bit often). On the other hand the towels were changed every day even if we didn't want to (they were not at floor like described in instruction). The worse was that in the hotel staying groups of young people (Germans and Brits). In the dining room they behave like animals (screaming , putting legs almost on the table). They make parties in the hotel til late night and make a lot (really a lot ) of noise coming back at 3-4 in the morning back to hotel. They have teachers (or residents) with them but this do not change anything. I thing the hotel should have a little control on that. I am not an old granny, and I understand people ant to have fun but really this was toooo much.... I will never recommend this hotel and I will never go back there again and for sure they do not deserve 3 stars...

    Good food, fresh but unfortunately very lite variations. Reception staff var great- nice and helpful. Unfortunately the dinner room staff was not so good, screaming o hotel guests and little communicative. We agreed on early breakfast for departure day ( to reach the early bus to airport) and they were surprised that we came, screamed on us and didn't want to serve. We felt very but especially that the evening before we were informed that it wont be any problem.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    6.7
    Good value, great buffet except don't expect to get much sleep. Security does nothing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Beds were uncomfortable, couldn't get any sleep because other guests were extremely loud, basically no security to stop anyone.

    The Buffet was great!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Used by Jam groups who had no respect for staff or property. No access for pushchair upto main reception and swimming pool.

    The staff were welcoming and always greeted us kindly. The sister hotel just up the road has children entertainers throughout the day. Food variety was OK as expected for inclusive service. The manager is exceptional and was excellent with accommodating our 10 month old son.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.6
    Everything , very happy with my stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have more variety.

    Everything , very happy with my stay here.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.1
    The staff were very pleasant and very helpful,also we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very pleasant and very helpful,also we thought the hotel is very good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Excellent manager
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager and staff were very friendly and helpful . The facilities were good and the food was very nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.8
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    not mini fridge in the room

    location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    great food excellent staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    great food excellent staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Everything the staff were fantastic couldn’t do enough for us
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything the staff were fantastic couldn’t do enough for us

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food could have been hotter.

    Staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    Disrupted sleep at night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper thin walls hence very noisy during night (and day)!

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    El director.
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    El director. Personal

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    4.6
    Staff were helpful on check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness was poor, holes in ceiling and doors, plug sockets hanging out of the walls, no soundproofing.

    Staff were helpful on check in.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    5.0
    Crap hotel avoid it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise all night

    Very noisy hotel no respect for other clients sleeping , you can here people in next room shagging

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everthing was to be expected

    The area was perfect location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.1
    Very nice and helpful staff, clean room, good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bad wi-fi connection. A little noisy at night.

    Very nice and helpful staff, clean room, good food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    loved the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    walls very thin could hear a couple arguing most of the night more variety at brealfast

    staff very friendly food really nice answered any queries

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    5.0
    Very noisy and average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy young guests and parties at night. Also good choice was poor.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.5
    I like the location, has pool and the facilities are okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was good,above average

    I like the location, has pool and the facilities are okay. Near the beach (5 minute walk).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    best ration value / money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet;

    Food; swiming pool; staff;

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.3
    Very very noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very noisy. A huge amount of kids. Noise all night. Thin walls. Breakfast not good at all.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.1
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy (teenager Hangout), no pushair acces (need to carry it up the stairs to reach the reception).

    Friendly staff. Variety Buffet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    5.4
    Because if some conferences in barcelona , we stayed in spelai hotel in Callela, its far from Barcel
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 of Cooking staffs

    Restursn foods

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.3
    For a 3star hotel it is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about the room was perfect. The staff was really nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.1
    Parfait pour un weekend prolongé
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stationnement difficile

    La formule all inclusive !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    7.5
    You get what you pay for
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    FOOD WAS TERRIBLE AND ALWAYS COLD

    All staff very helpful, location of hotel is very good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    7.1
    We went all inclusive and food was available ALL day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The beds were rock solid. I would not recommend this hotel if you want a decent nights sleep. I was in agony the majority of every night.

    We went all inclusive and food was available ALL day. Even when it rained and they had to close the outside bar, they re-opened it inside.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    8.3
    staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    food was terrible...breakfast was edible with the help of microwave...lunch was just about edible...dinners were horrific...no flavor no variety...definitely the worst ever allinclusive i have ever had for food...drink good..chicken kebabs at pool bar were nice..found a pub gringo joes next door ,,excellent food...

    staff were very friendly and helpful..pool was nice...rooms were clean..great location

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    9.6
    Within walking distance of everywhere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast finished too early, walls were paper thin could hear everything next door

    Within walking distance of everywhere! Reception staff very helpful went above and beyond for me. Rooms spotless floors mopped every day!

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    8.3
    We stayed here for our honeymoon and we got a room at top...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The water pressure on top floor was less and no place to hang the shower while showering.

    We stayed here for our honeymoon and we got a room at top floor corner with a great view over the village and sea. Also we got complimentary dinner for the whole weak. Staff was helpful, efficient and friendly. (specially in restaurant).

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    3.3
    I was offered a deal which included parking charges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was offered a deal which included parking charges. When I arrived, I asked the receptionist thrice whether I could leave the car where I had left it. He was quite sure that I could. However, the next morning I saw a parking ticket on my windscreen! I spent more than an hour trying to deal with it. Also the beds smelt funny. There was no handwash, no soap and shampoo.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    10
    I like the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    The only thing I did not like is that it was full of teens wanting to have fun. Only 2 or 3 families in all hotel.

    I like the hotel. The food was good with lots of variety. Room was clean.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    4.2
    Good wifi in rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Problems with parking a car. Hot breakfast was already cold when we came 9.00 am. Old furniture.

    Good wifi in rooms.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    7.5
    Amazing staff, especially reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing staff, especially reception. Pool, location

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    7.9
    nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    nice staff close to beach tasty food

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    10
    everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    everything

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    10
    Best hotel team member (Alex) I have ever had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Best hotel team member (Alex) I have ever had.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    9.2
    Near sea, swimming pool,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Many young people

    Near sea, swimming pool,

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    7.9
    wifi is a paid for service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    wifi is a paid for service. Not in any other hotel the area

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    10
    Everything was just perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was just perfect! Thank you

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Guests also reviewed these properties: