Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Esquirol 2 stars

Avinguda Catalunya, 56, 17527 Llivia, Spain

#7 of 12 hotels in Llivia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 369 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not applicable!

    Excellent breakfast (not included in my room price but not expensive). Owner let me park up my motorcycle securely. Good location Spain / France / Andorra - minutes walk to small town centre.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a very nice hotel. The staff were very helpful and provided us with an excellent suggestion for a walk. The bar area is very nice. We had a room on the road side - the road is not busy and didn't find it too noisy.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On our first evening the wifi wasn't working although the staff didn't seem to believe us. They had sorted it out on the second day. Breakfast was served from 8am and we had to miss it on our first morning in order to get to the train. As we had rooms at the front of the hotel it could be noisy with delivery lorries and the market. There is no air conditioning but it wasn't necessary.

    The purpose of our visit was to take a ride on Le Petit Train Jaune. This hotel is perfectly situated for starting the journey at Latour de Carol, just a 15 minute drive away. The hotel is a lovely Swiss chalet style building and has a very pleasant lounge area and dining room. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and we had rooms with mountain views and balconies decorated with geraniums. The bathrooms had a shower over the bath. There was a safe but no fridge in the rooms. The staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel dog is adorable! The evening meal was excellent and there was a complimentary "digestif" at the end of the meal. Breakfast was also excellent and there was plenty of choice. This is a hotel frequented by walkers and skiers as there is not much of interest in the small town of Llivia. The local language is Catalan. However, the hotel staff speak French, English and Spanish. There is no specific parking but it was not difficult to find a space on the service road outside the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We ate in the restaurant, opting for the quick pizza/hamburger menu, perhaps this was an error on our part as we all felt this could have been improved.

    Good standard hotel. Our rooms were clean, tidy and provided the standard facilities we needed. The staff were friendly and engaging and assisted us to park our motorbikes securely to the side of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mountain view is also noisiest view as it overlooks the road. Lack of air con when 34 c makes sleeping difficult particularly when combined with noisy road at night. Strange opening hours for restaurant when they were not particularly busy

    Good view over mountains

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room had the basics, two beds, one shelf, one chair. a little desk or table would have been nice. Same with the bathroom, very basic.

    Meals at the restaurant were a nice option for a rainy day. Cozy atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent bathroom, excellent staff, great location, good food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything

    Friendly staff, clean and large room and the restaurant was great too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The address didn't match my GPS so it was a little hard to locate, but maybe this is fault of GPS map?

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff could have been friendlier.

    Good location for Llivia. Nice swimming pool and outside hot tub.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lack of lift

    Breakfest was very good, with local products, very nice place and town, near is taverne with superb food

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No fridge in room, Pork Cheek on Set Menu - avoid at all costs

    Large comfortable room, good shower, bar next door, quiet location, balcony, WiFi

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal tasty & excellent value; local cuisine. Excellent breakfast buffet with freshly-squeezed orange juice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very dark

    Fab breakfast, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    que no tingui ascensor

    en general, tot

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a thing

    Comfortable and relaxed. Great staff, good breakfast - would stay again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NA

    Very unique, plus best food in town. Lots of locals eat here.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location to walk from.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was kind of old as mattress and blankets Busy road just in front Big TVs in restaurant

    Very nice staff Renovation done cheap but cozy Restaurant food quite good Easy to acces and close to everything in Lluvia

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No hooks to hang wet bike gear (sorry to be picky)

    Breakfast was beautiful

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff, I had a problem with the heating and they don't pay much attention in my complains

    The situation of the hotel in the nice Llivia place

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Efficient and friendly staff, excellent location and charming building. Many rooms recently refurbished. Loved this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi didn't work very well

    Great location and good food

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The balcony with the view of the mountains was lovely.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good restaurant in hotel.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Part of our reservation was that we instructed the hotel not to use our credit card as we would pay cash. They charged our credit card !!

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We enjoyed the food and relaxed atmosphere. The staff were extremely helpful and only too pleased to cater for our every need.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: