Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ETH Irún 3 stars

Comete Sarea, 5, 20305 Irún, Spain

#11 of 16 hotels in Irún

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 612 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 67

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On this visit, when we arrived we found the ensuite toilet to be constantly on water filler overflow. Initially this did not bother us as we were only staying one night and it didn’t appear to be making any noticeable noise. However, this changed during the night as we were woken by the loud sound of pressured water trying to be restrained. This obviously restricted our sleep for the remainder of the night. We reported this issue to the Desk staff member on Check-Out, but it was a pre-existing problem that could have been picked up before our arrival during the staff Room Inspection. We would like to consider this to be a ‘one off’ issue as everything else was so good, but we will be looking for these potential problems more closely next time.

    The room was clean and well presented, and the staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant meal was also excellent. This hotel is ideally located for travellers passing through this French / Spanish motorway border crossing point, yet no noise could be heard inside the room from this nearby motorway.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The room was clean and well presented and the staff were friendly and helpful. This hotel is ideally located for travellers passing through this French / Spanish border point and, although it is located near the motorway, the room was very quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard bed.No heating in bathroom .had to ask . Given electric heater .Dinner not good .No white wine in a Winery with dinner other hotels in Spain Free wine with Dinner at least a glass.

    Staff .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When my wife. Was having her shower mid way through the water went to scalding hot when she stepped back she slipped as there is no grab rail in the bath, she got her scalp really burnt, we did report it to reception but don't think they understood what I was trying to say. Think the problem happens if someone else in another room is using water, not good as this could have resulted in serious injury .

    Didn't have breakfast just coffee

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internal window shutter was not large enough to cover the opening street light sreamed into the room all thhrough the night It appears smoking is till allowed in room as it was extensively smelling of tobbaco though room was clleane

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle for making your own drinks

    We stayed overnight and left early due to a long journey the following day, nobody was on reception when we arrived, We asked to see the menu to be told 10 minutes, after waiting we decided to go out and look for something to eat, There were no tea/coffee making facility in the room so left early morning without a hot drink. Also was not informed by reception staff that the door would be locked in the morning and that reception wasnt manned. We did find a key on the desk at reception and unlocked it leaving the key on reception. We are staying here again on our journey back and to be honest I wish we had booked for somewhere else as we shall be leaving early morning again and won't have a hit drink before we leave.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    a bit expensive for a family; we have 3 children and often need two rooms which make traveling very expensive; why cannot hotels offer accommodations for families in one room ? When you have 2 kids it is OK but with 3 it is twice the price. I never got that; an extra bed in a room would be so fine for us

    a good spot when traveling from Spain to France only for short stay breakfast cheap

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is not in a good area unlesd you are a lorry driver. There were also 'ladies of the night' a short distance down the road from the hotel.

    Good location right on border for travellers to or from Spain. Betel was clean and quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were floodlights on our side of the building which shined right into our room and the blind did not block out any of the light so it was hard to sleep because it simply wasn't dark! Also it was a non-smoking room (with a no smoking sign in) but it stank of cigarette smoke and they were unable to move us to a room that did not smell.

    It was close to the airport which was why we stayed there and we liked the little outdoor cafe. The room was as we expected and was fine.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed on a Sunday night, which is moving night for the hundreds of trucks based nearby. get there before 8 pm if you don't want to be stuck in traffic. Restaurant closed Sunday and Breakfast could have been better little choice and no refill on coffee

    Close to AutoRoute easy to find, friendly staff, ample parking spaces

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi at the hotel did not work. The room smelled funny. The TV is extremely small and located far from the beds.

    The free parking and the ability to park directly in front of the hotel. The room was clean. Good water pressure in the shower.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was only available at reception, did not work in room. All rooms are supposed to be non smoking, ours stank of cigarette smoke. Cigarette burns on the bedside tables.

    Location was ideal, just off the motorway. Great for breaking the journey from UK to southern Spain.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was in an industrial area with lots of lorises around, however, we couldn't hear the traffic from our room

    Excellent value for money. Dinner and drinks for €12. Room was comfortable and quiet

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location. There is a huge construction sight right opposite and very close to the entrance, there is an elevated motorway on another side and a car/ Lorry repair shop with a major road running across another side. I actually thought the sat nav had got it wrong when it said 'you've arrived at your destination'. It looked more like an industrial depot of some sort.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unless you are crossing the border you might want to look for a more scenic location!

    However, the location I also the best feature: right next to the French border allowing an early start to avoid delays

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very ugly setting and position on a trading estate, next to a busy road, no where near the Centre and no restaurants nearby.

    Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not a good neighbourhood and poor breakfast

    very close to the highway

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice clean hotel with good food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel for the cost was very basic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good food.

    A good nights sleep.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable and overall facilities were ok.

    The staff were awesome, friendly, and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't realise we were in the middle of a filling station for articulated trucks.

    The access to the motorway

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sheets on the bed were stain with blood.we have to leave a day early.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great location for stopover at the French/Spanish border

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all good

    Location to the French boarder

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ease of parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In a very good condition and location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    expensive book for 4 peaaple and got only 3 beds the room was too small no plugs in room or didn't work

    the location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to find! Just over the border from France abd vice versa!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the second visit was better the room was larger which accommodated us better as a family

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is ok but not that secure. Maybe close the barriers ?

    Location near the exit of the motorway. Nice rooms, very professional staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom appliances need updating also there aren't enough plug sockets

    It was very easy to find

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    easy parking, great location when travelling France-Spain or the other way

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel car park was empty, but blocked by a coach and apparently out of bounds for reasons unknown.

    Helpful staff and evening dinner.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the main motorway easy to find

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location in busy trucking area

    Access to bike path and walking track along the river. Staff very pleasant and food was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very uncomfortable and sagging

    Parking was very convenient

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Every thing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very good night stop.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    It said private parking my be true but right on the road and not secure.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On industrial estate. Hôtel was cold. Bed on a slant. Restaurant was closed !!!

    Not a lot

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet despite being so close to the Autoroute

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good position for my travel plans

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic accommodation and poor food in restaurant. Good location for traveling from Spain to UK.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the main road, but quiet.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows were not the best one but ok

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location not very appeeling in the middle of trucking area next to the highway.

    Staff very nice and helpfull.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs updating inside

    Position of the border with France

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ruidoso

    Bar

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far away from downtown in a industrial area

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A lot of traffic noise due to proximity to motorway and situation in industrial area.

    Comfortable, clean room. Bar & restaurant excellent for a solo traveller.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is very noisy as the hotel is in the middle of a logistics park with lots of huge lorries trucking all day and night. It does not make any difference if the bedroom is at the front or the back. The service is efficient but smile less. The room price was high.

    On our way to the Costa blanca, we needed a one-night stop close to the motorway. You can see the motorway from the ETH windows... It was easy to get to and to rejoin the motorway next morning. There were plenty of parking spaces when we arrived in the mid afternoon. Check if you arrive late.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We stayed on a Sunday night and the restaurant was closed, we got there around 8ish and couldn't get any food unless we went out. Having just drove 8 hours we couldn't be bothered, our room was small and there was a put up bed in so tight space. No one in bar to serve us a drink, man on reception had to keep coming in to serve.

    Easy to find just off motorway

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It needs a sign at 90 deg to the entrance so you can see it when driving past as it looks like a commercial building in this commercial area with only a hotel sign up on the very top of the building.

    Reception staff were very friendly and it was very handy to main roads and the only about 15 mins from San Sebastian airport.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Staff were superb very helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    friendly faces on arrival,and during dinner and breakfast . clean and smart looking hotel. In a good location for easy access from the AP8.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the room was on the smool side and could do with more pillows

    The hotel was Nice thanx u and the Location was grat for us

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was limited but OK

    Location near motorway,fuel and food

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was a bit hard

    Staff helpful and polite

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Roof of bathroom dirty.

    Big size room,simplicity,staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location and food etc

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor value for money. Poor food

    Near motorway

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nada

    Location

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast items were not restocked

    Ease of access off motorway and cleanliness of rooms.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was clean and comfortable staff were friendly food was good

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location, Friendly staff, Bar and restaurant on site, free parking in hotel carpark, free wifi. Close to fuel and motorway access.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Coach load of students making lots of noise till after midnight. Poor dinner selection.

    Location to motorway but still quiet

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 67

Guests also reviewed these properties: