Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Exe Alfonso VIII 4 stars

Avenida Alfonso VIII, 32, 10600 Plasencia, Spain

#7 of 23 hotels in Plasencia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1758 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - 1 o 2 Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived the receptionist was not at all welcoming as if motorcyclists were somehow not the type of guests they would prefer. I find this both disappointing and offensive as I am paying the same as another guest and just because I ride a motorcycle (an expensive one at that) doesn't mean that I don't deserve the same courtesy as other guests. In addition the hotel photograph on Booking.com suggests that it is not on a main street and occupies a special site in the city - which it doesn't.

    The hotel is in a good location and was obviously once a grand hotel with marble everywhere and large rooms. Breakfast was good and had parking arrangements car park very close by.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - 1 o 2 Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Everything ! The staff were very welcoming and the room, or I should say suite, was the best value out of the eight establishments we stayed in on this trip.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Single Use
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hotel lacked a bar - a must for weary travellers

    Breakfast was excellent, Bed was huge and very comfortable, room had a good view of the old city roof tops, very close to the city centre vibrancy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - 1 o 2 Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at the front desk were lovely and helpful. This is a grand hotel though perhaps ever so slightly and charmingly shabby, but well run in the grand tradition: wide, sweeping staircases, brass and mirrors, great thick paneled doors, huge baths with elaborate tiling. Enormous bed and loads of pillows. Very comfortable and staid and confident of its superiority

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - 1 o 2 Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    there wasn't anything that we didn't like. The car park was a bit difficult.

    Comfortable. Friendly professional staff. Good location. Nice beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    They were able to meet our specific Gluten Free and lactose free needs for breakfast, due to Coeliac Disease. And the breakfast area was close to our room. Beds were comfy. The terrace was a good surprise for the children.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - 1 o 2 Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast room could do with a refurbishment.

    I was very lucky I was appointed a suite for the price of a double room, including a fully furnished separate living room and an absolutely enormous bed. Very comfortable stay indeed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Parking - 1 o 2 beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and dated. There was only one armchair for two guests but two would not have gone in the room anyway. I pulled out a sideboard/cupboard looking for an extra charging socket and I suspect it was the first time it had been moved for a decade as behind it were wrappings and a lot of dusty muck. Breakfast was very poor, scrambled egg,bacon, and tiny sausages were all cold even in a warming pan- maybe we were too early. Location great, reception very helpful and friendly but not worth 80 odd Euros a night.

    One of the most comfortable beds ever in a hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - 1 o 2 Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lack of possibility of controlling the aircon,whiuch I left on cool and 5 degrees,to come back and find it was pouring out hot air!

    The elegance of this lovely hotel-the stairs were like something from a Disney film and the actual room itself with a bed the size of which I had never seen-2.3mts wide.We also had a separate salon. Incredible

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff did not seem happy to see us or were preoccupied. Bar area is also a snack/cafe area which meant the bar lacked ambience.

    Great location, huge beds, good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Parking - 1 o 2 beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    A tiny smell of stale cigarettes in the room probably from a previous guest, but the cleaners have not been able to get rid of this foul smell.

    Very comfortable large rooms, well equipped. Convenience of hotel parking in car park opposite.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect location, huge comfy bed, secure underground parking opposite the hotel. We ate dinner in the hotel on our last night, it was excellent and great value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    it has perfect lockation - you stay just on the entrance to the old city (250 mtrs from Plaza Mayor) with publick parking lot of 50 mtrs away without a hassle of driving and navigating in medieval city

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car park was a bit of a labyrinth and because they are not clear on instructions before arriving and in the car park itself it can be a nightmare. Thankfully we speak Spanish, but I can imagine for those who don't you would be stuck there for a while!

    Very nice room and bathroom, the bathroom seemed to be bigger than the bedroom, comfortable and with beautiful views of the surrounding hills. The hotel is in a old bank and has a very majestic staircase, with beautiful stained glass windows dotted around the hotel. The staff were helpful. Unusually we had a meal at the hotel which was very good value for money and so was the G&T. I nearly got a pint of gin at the bar not realising I had to stay stop to the barman as he was pouring it into the glass!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room, or should I say apartment, was magnificent along with the included sitting room and, I still can't believe it, the 8ft wide bed. I was thinking of sending my wife a text from the other side of the bed. Hotel could not be faulted.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV channels could be expanded for international travellers.

    Breakfast is very good. Rooms are clean, nice linen, proper pillows and comfortable bed. Internet is fast and reliable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no parking at this hotel, however there is a 24hr underground car park across the street which is €10 per night payable in the hotel. This is a lovely hotel, the reception staff were very helpful, when we got to our room we had been up graded to a suite, complete with a king size bed. The room and hotel were spotlessly clean. We went for the half board meal option, the evening meal was very good, complete with a bottle of wine and the breakfast had a good selection. This hotel is located a short walk from the old town. We really enjoyed our stay here.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, just within walking distance of Plaza Mayor and the Cathedral. Got a bedroom on the last floor with a huge terrace! There was a large selection of food for breakfast. We also chose to have dinner at the hotel and were quite happy with the food. The hotel has a deal with the parking on the other side of the street: 10 EUR for a full day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to note.

    An older style hotel but well maintained to keep the image I think it aims at. The room was very good size, large comfortable bed and air con that worked even when selected to quiet. The breakfast was an €8 extra but well worth it, the breakfast room is on the third floor and has a wonderful view of the cathedral if you pick the right table

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel's car park was nearby but entry was steep and challenging on a motorbike; getting back to the hotel entailed a long battle with the one-way system. Dinner was fine but breakfast was especially poor in terms of quality and choice. Staff attitudes were mixed with young people being noticeably more helpful.

    This is a traditional hotel near the attractive old town. The unremarkable price for B&B reflects the age and general condition of the facilities.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First stay (we stayed there and back ...) the request for twin room hadn't been passed on to hotel. With language difficulties it was awkward asking to change from double room. Second stay much better ....

    Good location in Plasencia - a beautiful and atmospheric town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit confusing with the car park exit card provided by the hotel . It actually doesn't allow exit ....you need to contact the man in the car park office.

    Excellent hotel for a stop-over driving through Spain. Great location and staff extremely helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although there was a Car park it was a little way away, we ended up parking out bikes up the road so we had less distance to walk with all our gear

    Great place to stay, right in the middle of Placencia only a short stroll to the square for a bite to eat, lovely room with a view of the church, all in all a cracking hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entire hotel has a rather tired feeling about it, with old- fashioned decor, fittings and furniture. It badly needs updating. I could forgive this if it wasn't so expensive - we paid parador prices for a very forgettable stay. There seemed to be a lot of tourist groups staying in the hotel (I bet they weren't paying the same prices we did) and breakfast was chaotic, with coffee available from a single coffee machine, leading to long queues. This is not acceptable in an hotel of this level.

    On the plus side, this hotel is in a good location, and the staff were extra-friendly. Our room was a decent size, was reasonably comfortable and quiet, and had a nice view. Parking is in a public multi-storey carpark across the road.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    First room we were given had been smoked in. Staff did an excellent job of giving us a different room.

    Old classic hotel. getting a bit tired, but lots of character. Nice big room; excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can see this an old classic hotel that is being slowly updated. There is still a mix between some modern features and the old style decoration that makes it a bit weird. Amenities are good but hair conditioner would be appreciated.

    Location is excellent, right in the center of cozy Plasencia, yet quiet. We got a room with a huge terrace and outstanding views!! We enjoyed it very much in the beautiful spring weather. The bed is big and comfy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pedro the Receptionist was unfriendly and not welcoming at all! The Hotel is very old fashioned and rather run down. For Spanish standards it is very expensive and poor value for money. Breakfast & car parking are charges as extras. It cost us €156,00 for one nights accommodation, 2 breakfast and car parking across the road!

    The staff serving breakfast upstairs were charming and very friendly!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nice room with city view, car parking nearby, good dinner served late evening - with a variety of food, proximity to the city center and main attractions.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bathroom layout poor very difficult to move round good shower.

    very large room with terrace very spanish style very comfortable bed,dinner good value as it included a bottle of wine.good continental breakfast,reception very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking but across the road use of secure car park which was free to hotel residents.

    Very nice hotel, a feel of grandeur about the place. helpful and friendly staff. Large comfortable room, very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - 1 o 2 Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Good sized comfortable room with an enormous bathroom. Although it is near a busy road, the sound insulation is excellent. It was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - 1 o 2 Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine

    Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Parking - 1 o 2 beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view from window of room. Because on first floor could not see the sky so no proper daylight.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - 1 o 2 Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent friendly hotel in the beautiful town of Plasencia! Comfortable rooms & great breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - 1 o 2 Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location Friendly staff Very comfortable Lovely place to visit

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Parking - 1 o 2 beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better.

    The location was great to explore the city.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Parking - 1 o 2 beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Extremely comfortable bed Incredible value menu del dia Very good buffet breakfast in a dining room with impressive views of the town

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Average breakfast.

    Price and location very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Que no tenga parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - 1 o 2 Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    classic 4 star hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel Confortable, habitaciones ideales, trato estupendo, centrico

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Breakfast was v good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    La estetica, el patio de luces horrible

    Colchon y almohadas

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English news channels

    Everything was excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was superb.

    Everything. It was a great property and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excelent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm beginning to love this hotel

    They had bananas in supply before 10am - hooray!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    liked everything

    It was easy to get to off the motorway anf the hotel was wonerfully placed to visit the town and its wonderful cathederal.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable hotel with large rooms next to the old centre and close to a big public parking. Ideal to explore the old city. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast find I expensive, so we prefer to take something basic in the near

    The bed extra big and confortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking spaces.

    Good location, near the city center and other attractions.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor was great we also liked the maps and lead light windows .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, nice clean room, great location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking on site but there was parking very close by.

    Comfortable bed and room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No pool or outside space. Not really 4*

    Position & staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking

    all of the hotel beautiful staff as well

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    all was good

    worth staying if you are in the area

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tricky to stop and unload on a stormy winters night. Needed to use a nearby underground public car park.

    Bedroom are large and very comfortable. Staff sorted out a malfunctioning appliance with absolutely no delay. Buffet food was tasty and there was a wide choice.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bit Difficult For Parking But Large Car Park Not Far And Free. Reception needs To Give Better Direction To This Rather Than Promote Car Park Opposite Which Is Expensive.

    Location Large Comfortable Room Great Housekeeping

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent and interesting Tuesday weekly produce market a few minutes walk from the hotel. Convenient undercover public parking across the street - hotel special rate of €10/day. Restaurant Succo was a wonderful meal.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    TV programming could pehaps include an english speaking channel eg BBC World News

    ecellent facilitis for disabled persons. Professional and polite staff.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi connection was poor in our room.

    Central location with good public parking close by. Unusually we chose to eat at this hotel in the evening and the meal was good value and well prepared and presented.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff had no interest in their guest. Never spoke to me once in 3 days to welcome me, ask me if I had been before or need any information or directions.

    room was very comfortable and well cleaned.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Maybe some refurbishment might be considered, but still everything ok and a recommendation

    Very centrally located, parking close for 10€ per day, good value

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficult to drop luggage of before parking.

    The rooms the huge bed the accomadation added to a very comfortable experience.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was a little basic.

    I booked a room and was given a suite, with an adjacent sitting room. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very comfortable large room. Nice ambience.Room with view on 3rd level.Very convenient ,

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bar shut at 23.00 and there was no room service thereafter.

    Very reasonably priced.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was out of season and the resteraunt was limited

    The size of the room

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom a little too small for such a large bedroom.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike

    Had an enormous suite - very luxurious

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    No parking in front of hotel to remove your luggage

    Great beds

There are also 35 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Exe Alfonso VIII traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: