Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@ 3 stars

Pallars, 203, Sant Martí, 08005 Barcelona, Spain

#399 of 516 hotels in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2330 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel not far from city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice hotel not far from city centre. Took us about 10 min to get to Catalonia square by taxi and cost only about €7. Very friendly staff. Not very big but clean rooms. Breakfast was ok, if you want something quick in the morning. We booked parking for some extra costs and were very glad we did it. With a hired car didn't feel very safe to leave the car on a street parking. Hotel parking is inside the building. A little bit tight to get in and out, but main thing that your car is safe, as we didn't use our car in Barcelona much. You definitely get the value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    Not bad at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would've preferred carpeted floors and the bathroom had some little niggles (though not major). The breakfast was reasonable though not with a lot of variety. There was a party only a block away (on Friday and Saturday night) which lasted until 2-3am - not sure if this happens every week but it did affect my sleep. And I'm not sure £100/night is value for money for 3* hotel, but then I guess you'd struggle to find much better deals.

    The bed was comfortable and the room & facilities were clean. Staff were very friendly and it generally felt very safe. The closest tube station was only a few minutes' walk away and only a few stops from the city centre.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    6.3
    I will not be back there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ants and avoiding a service for a third person 2 Nights for 3 people/ double bed+sofa bed= £340 Nothing was prepared for third person. Even on next day two cups where cleaned and third just left. Because we have had arrived very late my mom made a tea and it wasn’t refill on a next day. And room was full of ANTS! We have had discover that at second night. When I have told about it to front desk they answered “ok”😂

    Near to metro

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    3.3
    The staff were very unhelpful and there was only 1 iron in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very unhelpful and there was only 1 iron in the whole hotel as they chased to get it back after going to he reception to pick it up. I believe for a hotel under IHG, room service should be pivotal to the way of operations.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    Everything in the hotel was perfect although the hotel was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything in the hotel was perfect although the hotel was very busy . Breakfast was very good. A the use of the parking is very comfortable due parking is a problem

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.8
    Breakfast time - 7:00-11:30 - and menu was really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not communicable. I haven't got info about all hotel services provided.

    Breakfast time - 7:00-11:30 - and menu was really good. Every day room cleaning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.8
    Safe and pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn’t say I didn’t like the breakfast but I believe a variable one with different options would be a bonus. I stayed 8 nights and every day I had the very same breakfast which was a bit boring.

    Friendly and cooperative stuff. Clean room, good breakfast but repetitive , more variety would definitely be a bonus. The hotel is not central but very close to public transportation that would take you anywhere you want in Barcelona. However it is very close to some family friendly beaches . Very safe place to stay with kids , would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.1
    Great family stay in Llacuna/Poblenou
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel need little upgrade ie dirty walla in room. Would be nice to have something warm for breakfast like scrambled eggs or sausage or bacon....

    Super nice and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.5
    Lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very crowded during breakfast. Bad sound insulation between bedrooms, also when someone walked outside the bedroom room in corridor it was very disturbing during late night.

    Lovely location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.9
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast

    big size rooms. comfortable beds. location near to metro station and many restaurants near to the hotel. staff are very kind, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    Good variety for breakfast and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed clothes weren't changed for the stay. Rooms aren't the biggest for a family room. Very little space to move for a family of 4

    Good variety for breakfast and good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.3
    I enjoyed my stay.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One would have expected an hotel of that status to provide a small size refrigerator in each of the rooms incase guest(s) might want to freeze anything. Also , like done in some other hotels, one would suggest where possible that you provide take away (souvenirs ) for your guests as such will serve as advertisement and boost patronage.

    I enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.9
    Exploring barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chaos at breakfast time. Black mildew on bathroom ceiling. Charges for placing bicycles in garage in a city that is so bike friendly with loads of cycle paths.

    Great location with a wide selection of restaurants and a good supermarket nearby. Hotel manager waived bicycle parking fees which was a welcome gesture, especially as other hotels in the group do not charge and nearby travelodge/ibis have very flexible policies bikes allowed in bedroom or stored in meeting rooms free.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.3
    It's great for the price. The location perfect to get to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a little outdated. Old furniture and need a new paint coat on the walls.

    The location was great. It was 5 minute walk go the beach and train station. I felt safe. There's ample amounts of restaurants and store locations in walking distance from the hotel. Hotel breakfast was good. The beach was beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    2.9
    You must take away the licensing of "Holiday Inn" from this property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Problems at check inn. No soap in the bathroom. One set of towels only. Phone not working in the room. No assistance from personell at the front Desk when the Taxi drivers went on strike. "Sorry" but we cannot help you was the answer to all the guests. Paid tax when checked in and yet re-billed when checking out.

    This is one of the worst "Holiday Inn" that I have stayed in. How could Corporate give a Holiday Inn License to this property and rate it as a 4 star property. Is it because you want franchising fees? This is a 2 star property with very poor service. Poor service, poor rooms, worst location. No help from front desk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.3
    Good location, nice rooms, comfortable stay at not a bad price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is surrounded by other tall buildings so you don't get much view but this is such a small thing when all I used it for was to sleep after a day sightseeing!

    We used this as a place to rest heads while exploring Barcelona. It was in a great position to the metro, nearest stop a three minute walk, then four stops to las ramblas. Two stops to the waterfront/zoo and a thirty min ride to the neu camp. Breakfast was cold buffet but filling, rooms bright and comfortable. If you want facilities then this isn't the one for you, this is a lovely b&b. But check the cafe next door as the food is fab and the cakes to die for. Supermarket close by too for room snacks. Worth staying in for its proximity and access to tour Barcelona. We used it before and after a cruise as port it 20 min taxi ride away. I couldn't fault it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel. Good venue and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything. We enjoyed our stay.

    Hotel was great, just what we needed and had a 5 min walk to a metro station giving access to the whole of Barcelona. 30 mins from the airport and 20 mins from the cruise terminal. The hotel was clean, friendly, roomy for a family of 4. It did exactly what we needed and the continental breakfast (optional) made for a good start in the morning. The staff were superb and full of local knowledge.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    I enjoyed my stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No Dinner or supper for interested guests TV channels were mainly Spanish except BBC and Aljazera

    Clean, quiet environment. Breakfast was very good. The staff could communicate in English generally courteous. There is no porter to assist guests with their luggage. They should endeavor to provide at least a bottle of drinking water daily. I would recommend Holiday Inn Express to another.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable and friendly
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cooked breakfast ie bacon and scrambled egg but other wise a good choice

    Beds comfortable and we needed a good nights sleep as we were en route from Mallorca to England with our car

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Very helpful and prompt staff, great location right next to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast spread lacked variety and lack of amenities provided at the bathrooms, no fridge in rooms

    Very helpful and prompt staff, great location right next to the main Diagonal road & 200 mtr from Llacuna metro station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant staff, helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were not informed on booking or check in that we had a twin room, we tried to change but there were none available.

    Staff were great, friendly and helpful. It was never busy and nothing felt like too much trouble.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    The location is absolutely great, less than 20 minutes away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast could have had a bit more variety. The bed was positioned away from the air conditioning and we had to push the bed across each night to get optimum cooling.

    The location is absolutely great, less than 20 minutes away from all the major attractions. Bogatell beach is well within walking distance. Very comfortable bed and pillows.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.0
    I will not return in this hotel next time, friends have stayed at Novotel and this will be my choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not clean in the bathroom, in the rooms and the corridors. No slippers are given to the guests which should be the minimum due to the floors not cleaned.

    Location of the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    3.8
    Stay elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No slippers, no bottled water, no mini bar, cheap coffee, bed not comfortable, small room, poor value for money, far from center of city.

    Not much to like.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    beside the room problem the cost-benefit relation was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We asked for a change of room. The bath room of the first given was not clean and furniture of bed room old and didn't look clean. The second room was much better and fulfilled our expectatives. The question is why the second room was not given first.

    the cost-benefit relation

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.1
    Staff were gracious and accomodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited breakfast choices. I wish they had kept the shells on their hard boiled eggs.

    Staff were gracious and accomodating. Easy access to transport

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.1
    Location is good, close to Llacuna station, safe and nice...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of room, family room is too small even for a couple, Breakfast is below average, beds are not comfortable for a good night sleep, hair dryer wasn’t working, exhaust in bathroom didn’t work

    Location is good, close to Llacuna station, safe and nice surroundings, restaurants close by, nice and helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    4.6
    Won't be staying here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for matrimonial bed so maid pushed beds together and left us a sheet to cover ourself second day was same despite speaking to reception so 2 very cold nights

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    Convinient location near metro station and a few minutes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit noise of child playing the football on the corridor.

    Convinient location near metro station and a few minutes walk to the beach. Fine stuff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.7
    Nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floors of our room needed sweeping and the bathroom tile should be recaulked to remove mildew.

    Our room was ready early. Staff was helpful with directions. The hotel stored our luggage after check out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.9
    Good one night stay for a relatively low price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit difficult to find first and far away from the centre in case that is where you want to go to. The couch was a bit broken down.

    Clean room with a spacious bathroom. They even offered us a baby crib to use for the night. Decent breakfast with fresh ingredients, dairy products and selection of bread. The beach, park and nice shopping centre where closeby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.0
    Highly, highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    possibly coat hooks in hte room?

    Size of the room and comfy bed and a bathroon with a proper bath, breakfast,, the staff, the cleanliness and the location. Just fab!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.3
    Staff was perfect 10!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    expected little bit bigger room

    Staff was perfect 10! Always ready to help with all our requests. Location really good: nice neighbourhood, near metro. Breakfast was pretty nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.3
    good value for your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    heating in room not working properly air came in even thru closed window breakfast was average

    good price very nice staff metro station cca 7 min walk from hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was a distance from many of the sites. However, it was close to public transportation and a short walk to the beach and many restaurants.

    The staff was very friendly. Property was very nice and clean. Rooms were modern and decent size.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.2
    Beds comfy, great location, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bin lorries every night in the middle of the night emptying bottles and leaving noisy engines running outside for over an hour.

    Beds comfy, great location, good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    Very central to the town, in a new and up and coming area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very central to the town, in a new and up and coming area. I had two boys under 12 years of age and felt very safe walking around in the evening. A choice of restaurants very close by.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.6
    Great and conveniently located hotel, ideal for participants of the Barcelona Halfmarathon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Coffee

    - Very friendly and helpful staff (English speaking0 - Good breakfast (extra early breakfast for half-marathon runners) - Great location, close to underground station (Llacuna, line 4) - Spacious rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    6.7
    I don't think that I'll stay again in this hotel. I expected more from the Holiday Inn brand.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not clean. Damaged curtains. Water leakage in the bathroom. Walls should be painted. Cups for the coffee were not cleaned three days.

    Good breakfast, excellent staff, good location (200m from metro), cheap restaurants in the neighbourhood with daily menu (salad, dish and drink) for 10 euro. Two pillows (hard and soft). Hairdryer.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    5.0
    I WAS CHARGED AGAIN IN THE HOTEL, WHEN I HAD ALREADY PAID ON...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I WAS CHARGED AGAIN IN THE HOTEL, WHEN I HAD ALREADY PAID ON LINE,HAD TO CORRECT IT AFTER INFORMING THAT PAYMENTS HAVE BEEN MAID,BREAKFAST TOO CROWDED AND VERY LITTLE CHOICE FOE A VEGEN

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    7.1
    Tiny complaints but generally lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows way to hard Mattress too firm No English channels on tv Rooms are very cramped Walls extremely thin you can hear everything from next room Hear all the traffic outside Room way to stuffy no air conditioning Breakfast extremely limited tinned fruit no fresh fruit

    Staff were really helpful and friendly Very clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.8
    Good for a short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not the best

    Good shower, good wake up and start to the day! Staff very friendly and professional Clean and spacious room with desk which was needed for work

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.5
    Fabulous - exciting and an interesting place to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning does not work during winter and I’m from the UK - there are no English channels to watch except for BBC World news - after a long day you’d like to relax in your room and watch a movie.

    We liked that the room which included a continental breakfast which gave us a good start to our busy days.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    6.7
    - Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Breakfast was very poor. Every single day same thing for breakfast. Bread an buns were hard as rocks. Coffee was really poor

    - Value for money - Close to subway, supermarket, pharmacy, shopping center - Room clean, comfortable bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.2
    Practical hotel in nice area, a great 3* cheap hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is limited and of an okay quality. I'm glad it was free with our room, I would have been disappointed if I had to pay for it. The breakfast room is very functional, no ambience to it.

    Hard mattress which is what I prefer!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.5
    OveaBreakfast was also good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning ladies entering the room 2 times in the morning. We didn't check out, it was around 8:30 the first time,and then again around 10.Check out time is 11 or 12.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    The receptionists were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The receptionists were very helpful. Hotel is quite central. It is 30 mins walk to Sagrada Familia, 45 mins walk to La Rambla. There is a metro 4 mins walk away from the hotel. Breakfast was quite good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.8
    Nice and clean hotel, with good breakfast and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were a bit too big for us esp my children- 10 & 7 years of age- otherwise I didn’t find anything to complain about.

    A good value for money, nice and clean hotel with good breakfast. The staff is welcoming and polite. Close to Llacuna station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.6
    Good comfortable, value for money stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great for us.

    Lovely helpful staff. Nice breakfast, plenty of choice and constantly refilled. Easy access to metro. 15 minutes walk from Sagrada Famillia.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.9
    Barcelona is beautiful place to be!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast wasn't a great as wasn't any local (spanish) food.

    Hotel is close enough to metro station. The public transport is brilliant and fast in Barcelona. Room was nice and clean for families. Bathroom is big, so there is a lots of space for parent with child.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    6.7
    It was OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Something was biting my son during the nights, I guess it was a bed bug, since in december there were no mosquitos. Most of the staff were nice and helpful, but two of them were rude and unhelpful. The bathroom was not that clean.

    The location of the hotel is good- just 5 minutes walk to Llacuna Metro station- 6 stops to Passeig De Gracia. The room was big enough for 3. The breakfast was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.1
    -We like to fact that we can select the temperature of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Window in the bathroom: when one of us uses the bathroom during the night it often wakes up the other one. Main switch operates different lights in the same time. It would be better to have separate switches for each light More storage place would be helpful, eg, drawers and bigger wardrobe Breakfast could have more choices of food.

    -We like to fact that we can select the temperature of the room and that it was not an air conditioning blowing too cold or too hot air. - Comfortable bed - Very friendly staff - Good service

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.9
    Simple but nice, best value for your money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Toilets at the hall/lobby weren't clean as you would expect. Noise from the street at night night be disturbing. Little far from the city center.

    Good breakfast, but the same every day. Easy L4 metro access. Comfy beds and hard + soft pillows. Good WiFi coverage. Very good price / value ratio. They let us have early breakfast when we left.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    Very good hotel! I would love to stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were not many transport options to Las Ramblas.

    The receptionist was very friendly and helpful man, He gave us good advice on nearby restaurants as well as transport to city centre. The breakfast was very good value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.2
    Family Vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, very good location, 2 children are welcomed - they do not pay in the same room with adults, near La Rambla del Poble Nou, very close to many public transports, close to the Bogatell beach, close to almost everything that counts for a tourist in Barcelona

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.2
    Good hotel, great staff, breakfast was nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Good Breakfast. They serve a Continental breakfast and I was happy with the selection of food: fresh fruit, croissants, toast, cheese, cold cuts, yogurts and cereals. Close to the beach, about 10-15 minutes walk. Clean rooms. Our room was cleaned every day, and fresh towels provided. Reception staff was very helpful with the directions information and they speak English very well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Family holiday at Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family room was too small for a four member family. Price was quite high for a hotel with no other facilities than a breakfast room. The terrace at the hotel was closed maybe because of the off-season, but it would have been nice to spend also some time there too.

    Location was nice, walk to the Poblenou beach only 15 minutes. Breakfast was good with all the basic stuff and the room was clean. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. Cosy and relaxed athmosphere at the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.6
    Thank you, we'll be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wardrobe was very small and no drawers. Okay for a couple of nights but we stayed a week.

    A very comfortable and clean room. Good breakfast. The staff were really helpful and obliging with ideas for local restaurants and information on public transport. The local Rambla is a lively but safe area for evenings out. The proximity of the beach area was great too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    6.3
    No microwave, fridge, or iron. Great breakfast. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No microwave, fridge, or iron makes life harder and expensive. Cleaning service is spotty but staff is nice. Sofa has to retire.

    The breakfast is very nice. There is a playground across the street, a grocery store one short block away, and a whole street of restaurants one short block. Metro is very close. Only a couple stops from the center of Barcelona. Buy T10 card to save for the public transportation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    2.5
    Lack of security.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lack of security. We have lost passport and money from reception lobby.Two thieves came and snatched our bag from the lobby. Hotel doesn't have any responsibility for the travelers.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    6.7
    One night stopver
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was a bit poor.

    Nice clean modern hotel near business district. Usual Holiday Inn facilities. Slightly crappy location but a couple of minutes walk to a decent Ramblas in one direction, Metro in the other in 5 minutes and the beach is a good 15 minutes walk the other. So not too bad.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    Very clean and comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly out of the way from the centre. Costs about €10 in a taxi which are easy to flag down.

    Very clean and comfortable hotel. Restaurants nearby were excellent quality and value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    6.7
    Good, but could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We asked staff twice to change our room number, because we wanted room with a king-size bed. Poor breakfasts (we have the same breakfasts at the 2-star hotel in France)

    Big, clean rooms, near metro and not far away from beaches, many restaurants near

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.1
    Ok, but would not stay in this location again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location of hotel on website is very misleading. We thought the location was near the famous 'Ramblas' - this was definitely not the case. We requested a double room but only got a twin bed room.

    Rooms were very clean, beds were made each day and towels were replaced each day

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.3
    Could be better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surrounding streets and alleys towards Glories as well as towards Ramblas del Poblenou were a bit shady / dodgy (college closed & construction sites), no metro / tube nearby, rooms could've been a bit bigger was a tight squeeze with bags, might stay near Las Ramblas next time

    Breakfast was included, kettle + basic tea / coffee in the room, borrow iron for an hour, 20 minutes walk from beach / Glories, hop on hop off stop at Glories

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    As expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy A/C. Fixtures in toilet not secured. Quite far from Barcelonas main attractions.

    We only showered and slept... the staff were excellent. Very informative on arrival.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    6.7
    Overall a decent, no-luxuries experience for the price of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is a bit far from the usual tourist hot spots but accessible with relative ease using the metro or a taxi. The cleaning and tea/coffee facilities were a big let down for us. The cleaners made our beds and tidied the room to a decent degree but only topped up the tea and coffee and sugar satchets once in our 4 night stay. And we had to go down to Reception to collect them if required because no room service. Reception staff were okay and so was the breakfast which got repetitive after a couple of days.

    Good location, we walked to the beach and back. Also the little Ramblas Poblenou was very good for small eating and drinking places and there are also several supermarkets and shops and pharmacies. Also the Llacuna metro station is a mere 5-7 min walk away. The hotel itself was alright considering we were sight-seeing most of the day. The beds were firm and the pull out sofa bed was a bit old but functional. There was a choice of firm as well as soft pillows, so very good on that front.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.5
    Tons of options for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No safe or tea/coffee kettle like a lot of hotels. Took a while waiting on a party of people just to check-in the first day. Overall a good hotel to stay at though.

    Tons of options for breakfast. Not as noisy as most hotels in Barcelona. Location is solid, pleasant walk down the Poblenou Rambla to the beach.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.3
    The old town which is beautiful is only a 20 minute walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area immediately around the hotel is a bit scruffy.The area immediately around the hotel is a bit scruffy but the old town which is beautiful is only about a 20 minute walk.

    Nice big, clean, well appointed room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable, you know what you get with this chain and staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long walk to centre of Barcelona. When I visit Barcelona I want to walk and must say staff did show me the metro stops

    Comfortable, you know what you get with this chain and staff always helpful. Good location for beach area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.6
    Overall we enjoyed our stay but there are things that need attention.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a Wheelchair user I was disappointed with the shower seat, which was very low for me, ( I mentioned this before when I stayed in this hotel, but nothing has been done to alter this ) The air conditioning did not work properly, we had to leave the window OPEN even though the air conditioning remained ON ( we mentioned this to reception but nothing was done ) The breakfast, more choice is needed, ( I had to ask for boiled eggs which were not otherwise available ) There was an extra door to enter our Wheelchair accessible room, !!!

    The locality, close to Poble Nou & all restaurants, shops, the staff, ( very willing courteous & helpful,) the carvery breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.1
    Helpful staff, ok hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited options in breakfast, tinned cut fruits were kept in fruit salad. No complimentary water bottles in the rooms. Toiletteries were basic, no body lotion, etc.

    Ok hotel, beach within walking distance. In first look area around the hotel looks deserted and scary, however just one lane across there are decent market and eating options. Staff was good, very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.9
    Good for short term.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really crowded in the breakfast, a little dirt in the room. Very few english speaking channels. Room without refrigerator.

    Room was alright, and this stay good for the money. The little Rambla, just beside the hotel was really nice, better then the big one.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    4.2
    Disappointing. Hotel not upto mark, needs to be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi was very poor No cupboard in the room Breakfast very bad as compared to other hotels Bad value for money Though we paid much less in other 4 star hotels in Spain we got better service, better amenities and better (vegetarian) food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Like usually, Holiday Inn Express offered us high standard...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Like usually, Holiday Inn Express offered us high standard in all things!! Metro station - "Poblenou" is at about 20 min. walk among chic restaurants, to go in Centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@ traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: