Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Spain hotel reviews
  3. Canary Islands hotel reviews
  4. Tejeda hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Mountain Hostel Finca La Isa

Reviews of Mountain Hostel Finca La Isa

GC-156, Finca la Isa 1, 35369 Tejeda, Spain

#15 of 29 hotels in Tejeda

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 313 hostel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2019

    8.8
    Fantastic view and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    There is an option to participate in the daily diner prepared by Tom who worked as a chef for several years. He uses local products and I can recommend this.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    9.6
    Booked for 4 nights, stayed 7!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Remember that this is an isolated hostel in the middle of the mountains, things won't always work perfectly but the staff do their best to rectify any problems and help out where possible.

    Idyllic location in the mountains, perfect for trails. The staff - Tom (who is an excellent chef), Paul and the volunteers - are incredibly helpful, create a great vibe and made me feel welcome from the moment I arrived, thanks!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    7.1
    the views and surroundings are amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I guess we were a bit unlucky. we stayed there for christmas. we chose a private room for 70 euro per night. it is located in a private house (3 private rooms and 1 kitchen and common area and 1 bathroom to share). the waterpump which provides water to that house was broken which meant no running water. we were not able to use the bathroom, toilet and the kitchen. the waterpump didn’t get fixed for 2 days (the length of our stay - due to christmas period). so basically we couldn’t use the kitchen nor the bathroom. we had to walk to the main house which is okay but during the night or the early morning it was quite cold outside so not really comfy.. the chimney was kinda obstructed which caused a bad smell of smoke in the common area and didn’t heat the place properly. the property has a jacuzzi which we could have used at any time they told us.. but in the end we couldn’t due to electricity problems.. we got a little discount but I expected it to be more due to the kind of problems (I listed them all). also privacy (as we choose a private room for that purpose) was not given as the door didn’t have any lock or key and opened just by slightly touching the door from outside.. I am sure those problems could easily be solved (apart from the water) I would still recommend the place as it is very nice and special.. still a bit overpriced in my opinion comparing to prices on gran canaria

    the views and surroundings are amazing. also the finca is really nice and well looked after (plants, surrounding green area, chillout locations etc). the staff is nice. they cook breakfast and dinner every night for quite reasonable price. free coffee and tea. tapwater is very good to drink.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    7.1
    a night between two hikes
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed was very hard to find a good rest. Bathroom was over floated

    It is the kind of place you need to stop between two hike! they made food and there is craft beer

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    5.8
    Will not go back to that place to stay, but many other places to sleep in this beautiful area of the
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Chaotic staff from start to finish: "Where is the key. Wait for me here, I will find it. Towels? I might find some. Where is your receipt... I can look for it, wait and I will get back to you. I don't know how to get there but try this (extra 45 minute climb!)." Etc. Friendly but amateurish and uninformed staff.

    beautiful mountains around the place

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    5.4
    Gorgeous location with stunning view of Roque Nublo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A complete overwhelmed crew running around trying to be accommodating. Hygiene definately needs to be reviewed (mice in dormitory, flooded bathroom...)

    Gorgeous location with stunning view of Roque Nublo.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    8.3
    The hostel is located in a very beautiful area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only "problem" we had was that not everything (especially the bathrooms, but also the kitchen stuff) was not very clean.

    The hostel is located in a very beautiful area. You can start nice hikings right from the door (but be aware of the fact that you have to drive to the hostel before by car which is sometimes not that much fun ;) Outside in the garden and the terrace you have a lot places to sit and watch the amazing sunset. The room itself was clean. The staff was really very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    7.9
    A natural pearl in the mountains - struggling with lack of personel and repairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place had very visible signs from struggling with lack of personel and repairs. Trashcans with toilet paper unemptied or overfilled. No hand soap or towels at toilets. Just a general lack of tidyness. Fireplace chimney was broken, so hard to breathe inside. Most furniture broken or in need of repairs. Such a shame, but at the same time something that could easily be fixed with the right means. We all felt like going back anytime, anyway. Its recommended to bring your own wine/drinks as prices of local wine from the 'bar' is pretty steep.

    This place is pretty isolated. Car, bike or motorbike is recommended. Bus also possible, but good luck with that. Of course its also possible to hike if you're already in the area. View from the place is nothing but spectacular, and the manager is very kind and helpful to every extend. Food is amazingly good and prices are fair, and the place has - very simple but - very nice and clean beds. Towels were available. Water from the tap delicious. Gets cold after sunset so bring a jacket or fleece. I was wearing both fleece and down jacket during Christmas.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    6.7
    Peaceful countryside retreat, but a bit shabby
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    However, they seem understaffed and not really able to keep up with maintenance. The place is more suitable for the bohemian type. But we sure enjoyed the views and the silence.

    Outstanding location, in a beautiful area of GC. The view of Roque Nublo during sunset is uniquely pretty. It is a very large lot and so peaceful, and I am grateful such a place is open to the public.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    10
    Must visit this gem at least once in your life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, loved every minute of it.

    Hostel living can be an acquired taste. During my stay here it felt like anything but just a place with a bed. The staff, scenery, accessibility to nature and food are second to none. Definitely worth a visit only regret is I didn't have more time to spend here. Warm and friendly atmosphere from the moment you arrive and the feeling lingers long after leaving. Staff go out of their way to make you feel at home. They are very knowledgeable about local surroundings. Everything from cave systems and dwellings that are not on any charts, hiking route recommendations for all abilities, and much more. Local restaurant and bakery recommendations are always handy and by the way do check them out, but if you are staying at the Finca Tom's (sometimes Paul's) home cooking will leave you with very few reasons to wonder further than their dinner table.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    5.8
    The setting is as good as anything you’ll find in the world.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    With all due respect to Tom the manager and his team, who work long, stressful hours and put their hearts and souls into providing great guest experiences. The place is woefully under resourced in terms of staff and infrastructure. Cleaning standards are decidedly questionable in rooms, which feature old mattresses, pillows and linen and are in my opinion leading to hayfeaver and flue like symptoms being experienced/reported by a lot of guests. The kitchen is a disaster zone which is not set up for mass catering in any way, is consequently not clean and is very worrying because of that. Bathrooms are functional at best even for the undemanding backpacker. For some reason a ‘volunteer’ staffing model is being used for a lot of the staffing despite this being a commercial business in a very viable and popular mountain location. This appears exploitative from the outside and isn’t leading to good service levels at all. This is the second year in a row I’ve spent Christmas at the Finca, so it’s fair to assume I’m a fan. However I will not be returning unless standards and staffing levels improve considerably. The place deserves better and this review is provided both in hopes of seeing change and to support the accuracy of the guest review system.

    The setting is as good as anything you’ll find in the world. Beautiful views, great hiking and the bakery in Tajeda just down the road is excellent. The people staying are always diverse and interesting and the group dynamics are generally excellent. It’s a brilliant location to relax and enjoy the mountains. The food is always tasty and locally sourced when possible. The staff/volunteers work their ass off in difficult circumstances.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    10
    The place was just lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place was just lovely! The stuff was super friendly and helpful and the views were just stunning! We were hiking in the area and the location for our purpose was great.The hostel is easy to get to by car as well, so I would recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    6.7
    The place is amazing with wonderfull views in the mountains...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price (acording to our experience in Canarias) is too high for the service we had. The double rooms are very tiny (they are not the ones we see on the pictures) and toilets/bathrooms were outdoor and not very clean/comfortable. 60€ per night is for a proper hotel, this is more like camping high level!

    The place is amazing with wonderfull views in the mountains of Tejeda. We felt welcomed by Tomas and the team of La Finca Isa.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    5.8
    Central and quiet location right in the middle of Gran...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was not clean, only two showers, in the dorms is no space to put or store your stuff somewhere, the dorms are quite narrow, dinner was really good but between 21 and 22 o'clock its just to late. Common area isnt open before 8.

    Central and quiet location right in the middle of Gran Canaria with a great view, sufficient parking spaces (also the road down is a little scary :D) Filtercoffee for free, dinner was really good (but late)

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    9.6
    Great fun and friendly...great common area and grounds..good staff...friendly owner..good value...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dining room /common room area untidy first thing in morning..dining .tables with glasses ..needed cleaning etc from previous late nighters...but the staff that opened up at 8 did clear it up after setting out breakfast..

    Everything

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    9.6
    I was feeling welcomed right from the start.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was feeling welcomed right from the start. Tom, who is running the place, is a legend. Place has an amazing view. It's close to the hiking hub. They have a bloody jacuzzi... Overall, I had an awesome time over there.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    9.2
    Location, garden where you can eat whatever you harvest...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Jacuzzi was a bit dirty but still amazing! There is really nothing negative about this lovely place 😊

    Location, garden where you can eat whatever you harvest (currently almonds, figs etc.), cozy rooms with fireplaces and best of all amazing people who do everything to make you feel comfortable 😊Thanks for everything!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    9.6
    Space and NAture
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The place is totally amazing. View on the mountain- Is like being on the middle of it, with nothing else to view than the mountain around and the star. Tom, the manager is very nice and fun. The big living room , at the evening is very a nice place to stay and meet people.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    8.8
    Extended our stay to enjoy this great area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One of the two showers had only cold water. The hot tub needed a refreshment of the water and wasn’t warm too. Just a few maintenance issues.

    Awesome location with magnificent views. Rooms are spacious and looking great. Great to visit after our stay in the busy city of Las Palmas. Friendly staff and good dinner.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    5.4
    Cleaning must be improved, but awesome location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was friendly but not necessary helpful. When we arrived in the evening some of the staff really was high and helpless. In the morning it was a bit better. The worst point of our stay is cleaningless : - bathroom and toilet were really dirty. The worst we got on the island. - the bedroom (2 person room) was not really clean and we could not say if the sheet on the bed really were clean or not.

    The location is the best point as it is located in the middle of the mountain with awesome view and landscape all around. It is possible to observe the stars in the evening.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    10
    Perfect stay in the nature!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful location in the middle of the mountains, ideal starting point for hiking. The view on the mountains, Roque Nublo, Tenerife is breathtaking. Sunsets are amazing, and even better from the Jacuzzi ! At night we discovered a sky full of stars and shooting stars. Tom and volunteers are amazing people, helpful and friendly, they make us feel at home. It was really pleasant to spent evenings together. Homemade dinners and breakfast cooked by Tom are just delicious. We had an incredible time at the Finca, in a peaceful and relaxed atmosphere. Thanks for this moment!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    10
    This place is created by amazing people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only minus is that, the bathrooms are out of the room, so you have to go out to get to the toilet.

    This place is created by amazing people! I was there only for one night but I will remeber this forever! I've met a lot of amazing people who are open-minded, helpfull, friendly and kind. I spent incredible time there. The views from the terrace are breath taking, espacially during the sunset. I trully recomend to buy a dinner and breakfest there! Because the chef is just amazing (the best french toasts I've ever tried in my whole life). Also you can use kitchen. Recommend in 100% ! Surely I will come back ;)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    10
    Tom, the manager of the hostel, and his volunteers were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The owner of the hostel, who comes down once a week, could do much more for the place and his staff. Instead, he seems to be giving priority to his own friends as guests which creates additional work for the team and he is not investing in some of the basics for the team to be able to do their job (like repairing the only car the hostel has to its availability and which has to drive around with a broken front window and a side-mirror missing)

    Tom, the manager of the hostel, and his volunteers were absolutely amazing. The place would not be what it is without him: he is welcoming, a superhard worker, the best cook ever, caring, and knows how to create a positive atmosphere in the hostel. Thanks a million! You really know what hospitality means.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2018

    7.9
    This is the perfect place to stay if you want to relax,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tom is a real nice and welcoming guy, which is more that we can say about the other members of the staff, unfortunately. The hostel, located 4 km away from Tejeda, is really hard to find, almost impossible to reach if you don't have a car, and taxi drivers have never heard of it; so it would be a good idea to display more informations about how to get there on Booking.

    This is the perfect place to stay if you want to relax, chill out, and enjoy the scenic view of the canarian moutains! Dorms and bathrooms are basic but clean, and taking a bath in the hot tub while looking at the beautiful landscape is an unforgettable experience. Again, Tom is a real nice guy who makes you feel at home. Here, you will get the countryside vibe of Gran Canaria: a sky full of stars at night, sheeps going into the fields on the morning, birds chirping...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    10
    Amazing views of surroundings, fantastic home-cooked food by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to fault!

    Amazing views of surroundings, fantastic home-cooked food by Tom (often made with ingredients picked fresh from the garden), attentiveness of Tom and volunteers, informative and unfailingly helpful staff. Can't recommend it enough. Thanks for a lovely stay guys!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    10
    Quiet and serene stay in the nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No Wifi in the bedroom I used.

    The location in the beautiful nature and a magnificent view. Very good service and a fantastic staff. Complete kitchen that I could use.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    9.6
    This place is like a bit of paradise on earth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This place is like a bit of paradise on earth. The views are stunning, it's very relaxed, and an open air jacuzzi looking at the myriad of stars a wonderful way to finish the day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    10
    You are not be soory if you are going there and spend some time in that perfect place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was perfect

    It was a perfect time spend in Tejeda. We recomended to everyone. Nature is soo nice and quite, and the wiew is breathtaking.. people who work there are amazing. Rooms are clean, water was hot and parking place is in front

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    8.8
    It was raining and we enjoyed short walks and reading in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was raining and we enjoyed short walks and reading in front of the fireplace. Peaceful place. Delicious vegetarian food and I guess the non-veg food was good too. Great basecamp for walking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    9.2
    Very nice property composed of 3 villas and a hostel,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice property composed of 3 villas and a hostel, nestled in the valley midway between Cruz de Tejeda and picturesque Tejeda town (trail S85), offering great views to Roque Bentayga and Roque Nublo. You can relax in an open air jacuzzi after all day hiking and enjoy tasty dinner cooked by Tom. Overall great ambiance, helpful staff and friendly companions during my stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    9.0
    The location is a dream!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place would deserve some improvements and maintanance of kitchen. Rooms itself were very clean.

    The location is a dream! And the views are just stunning. The atmosphere of the place makes you wanna stay longer. That’s what I did. If you like hiking, it’s a good base. The place can be both quiet and lively in same time. You should definitely try some dinner art from Tom! The shared rooms are cosy and in the big living room you can always have a tea or coffee. I have really enjoyed my stay :D

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    10
    Beautiful and peaceful location with a breathtaking view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful and peaceful location with a breathtaking view. Exactly the mountain stay we were looking for. The manager was so friendly and made us a delicious dinner and breakfast. The hot tub was just perfect too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    9.2
    Perfect accommodation for outdoor enthusiasts who want to explore the mountains of Gran Canaria.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I spent a few days in April at Finca la Isa. The finca is an ideal starting point for hiking and trailrunning-tours in the mountains of Gran Canaria. The most beautiful mountain village of Gran Canaria (Tejeda) is just a short hike away (30 minutes). The accommodation is characterized by a particularly great and relaxed atmosphere: very friendly and uncomplicated Pesronal, beautiful location and amazing sunsets, delicious food, large garden area with jacuzzi, nice roommates. The stay on the finca is one of my best holiday experiences, I felt very comfortable here and will hopefully be back soon. Mario

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing place surrounded by nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    WARNING. At the time of our visit, the number of the accommodation in booking, and on the web page don't work, so it is quite impossible to reach the place by phone. The owner promised to fix it soon, but just write by email if nobody replies by phone.

    Relaxing country cottage. Completely surrounded by nature. It includes an external jacuzzi ( available anytime) , and breakfast. I recommend to ask for the 'hostel' room since it's a special accommodation which includes indoor bathroom and a kitchen. Classical double rooms are provided with outdoor bathrooms, and it might be quite cold to go to the toilet during night hours. Excellent place if you want to hike in the area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    10
    It is a paradise on earth!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is a paradise on earth! Incredible views- you can see Roque Nublo and watch some spectacular sunsets! Sitting in the jacuzzi and watching a fire show - unforgettable... Delicious food prepared by Tom. It is a place you will be missing. I wish I could have stayed there longer. Simply beautiful!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    10
    Tom is a fantastic host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tom is a fantastic host. The hostel has a fantastic position with a great view to the mountains and the stars. Near to the prettiest village of spain - Tejeda.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful location, too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Low comfort for a high price even in the dorm.

    Breathtaking views, good vibes and the solitude of the location. Relation between price and comfort surprisingly bad on the other hand.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    7.9
    A good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The host tom was very friendly. We had a room better than the one we were supposed To have so that was good and we had the Wi-Fi. Otherwise we would have had it in the common room The breakfast was simple but okay. Tom gave us good advice to visit the region

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    10
    The place is just at the perfect spot, Tom is such a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place is just at the perfect spot, Tom is such a friendly and relaxed person and there is selfmade dinner in the evening for everbody and breakfast.... Couldn't be better. Very happy to found this place and those people!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    8.8
    Great location and no-frills place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The in-dorm heaters are gas operated and despite reassurances we were not confident they are safe. Not the cheapest hostel around.

    No-frills accommodation in a spectacular location. the multi-talented manager (TOM) makes the place tick and is very hospitable. Unbeatable base for hiking and nature. Superb sunsets and starts are night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    10
    Amazing place !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is an amazing place with a pure hippie inspired soul and great vibes in the mountains just above Tejeda. Trekking, yoga lessons, jacuzzi, unbelievable sunsets... Tom also prepares for dinner some healthy excellent meals with fresh vegetables from the island.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2018

    8.8
    Amazing views and sunset
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room had no window and door did not stay closed unless all occupants inside and it was locked shut. Heating of the dorm at night was by a portable calorgas heater which glowed and lit the room making it difficult to sleep, not sure whether ventilation for this was adequate either. Breakfast of cereal and toast and spreads/jams not filling for a days hike but cooked breakfast was available for extra €3-4

    The location has awesome views and magnificent sunset, also great for starry skies. Rooms were spacious and newly decorated. Staff friendly and welcoming and free tea and coffee anytime. Liked that non dairy milk was available and possible to buy a reasonably priced home cooked meal which I think was around €7

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2018

    10
    Location and the people you meet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location and the people you meet. The hostel was right along the trail that went from north to south and was the perfect stopping point. The owner, manager, and other people staying the night were so friendly and chill. Many people decided to stay more nights after they arrived because it was that nice. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    10
    Thank you very much for the amazing hospitality and coziness...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thank you very much for the amazing hospitality and coziness during our stay. It's definitely a great place to stay especially if you would like to hike the highest peaks of Gran Canaria, have a wonderful view when you wake up and spend evenings with adorable people!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    7.9
    The host Tom was really kind and helpfull!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There are only portable heaters which are running with gas. On the heater, there is a sign that says "Don't use it in closed rooms." We didn't feel safe sleeping while using them so we turned them off and were freezing because it is pretty cold up there at night in March.

    The host Tom was really kind and helpfull! He is an amazing cook and cares a lot about his guests. The location is amazing with incredible views on Roque Nublo and the surrounding mountains. There is no better place for sunsets on the island.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2018

    8.3
    I liked the location of the hostel as well as the staff a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If the weather is bad you are basically stuck in the mountains. And it can get quite cold in the rooms. Apart from that it is more expensive with 29 € for a bed in a 8 bed dorm (even so it was empty) compared to other hostels

    I liked the location of the hostel as well as the staff a lot!! It is a bit remote from tourist places and is directly in the nature, which is great for hikers. They have a big common area and offer dinner and breakfeast from 4-7 €. The breakfast and the dinner was great !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    7.1
    Our experience hasn't been as great as it could've been. Hostel wasn't prepared for a rainy weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in was very late. Hostel wasn't prepared for the harsh rainy weather conditions. We didn't get the room we booked because it was flooded and they didn't provide us with equally nice accomodation.

    The hostel is situated in a magnificient area with beautiful landscape. Tom - the staff member made a really nice dinner and were trying his best to accomodate us with the unexpected weather conditions that caused a lot of problems.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2018

    10
    I choose this hostel near Tejeda as a starting point for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I choose this hostel near Tejeda as a starting point for some hiking trips (e.g. it is 20 km from there to Roque Nublo and back; in the case of Pico de las Nieves (via Cruz de Tejeda) its about the same). The view from the hostel itself is incredible. I really loved the sunsets. And everything else was just perfect too ... especially, the delicious breakfast and dinner prepared by the host, Tom. He is the perfect host for the place. It wouldn't be the same without him. The common room is very, very, very cosy ... a fantastic place to hang out there and meet the other guests.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    8.8
    Spacious bed, room, view and helpfull staff to a vegan as me, separate food for me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I become the 2nd guest in the latest dorm of 4 bed in a solid construction but the madras only Chinese or those strongly influenced by them, will say it’s great for the body but ergonomically it has to follow the body, keep the S-shape for your spine.

    Spacious bed, rooms and the view from the fireplace-and-dining room is spectacular. Ask for the superior kind of taste of a warm evening Cocoa upon Soy and Cocos-milk. Enjoy the fireplace conversation of nature and hikes to take to and around Nublo.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    7.1
    The best is the sunset and the dinners in the evening where all guests get to know eachother.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hot tub doesn't work (we stayed 10 nights) Please remove alll references from the booking.com listing, it's illegal to list it if you know it isn't working. Dorm rooms can be improved with curtains. Double room in hostel has no window. Only one shower with limited hot water for all the guests. It's a wonder Tom can still prepare dinners for such big groups in that unequiped kitchen.

    Finca La Isa it at it's best in the evening when all guests are having a meal prepared by Tom. The perfect place to get to know other travellers and arange some trips in the neighberhood together. Location is superb. The place has some issues which 'one day' will all be fixed but in general we had an amazing 10 day getaway in hostel Finca La Isa. We'll recommend it to likeminded travellers.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2018

    8.3
    Super host Thomas has taken really good care of us, cooking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Super host Thomas has taken really good care of us, cooking great meals and breakfast with selfmade smoothies. Great views on the montain. Really a place to recommend for nature lovers.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    8.8
    Outstanding nature experience with a warm and cozy atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom cleanliness could be improved, we recommend bringing slippers to avoid the wet floor. Tom, although laborious and engaged, sometimes just can't keep up with the work load alone. However, more staff is to come soon.

    Tom was a very obliging and likeable host. We particularily enjoyed his excellent dinners and the cozy evenings spent by the fireplace. Tom was always around and gave us helpful tips for hiking and eating. Tejeda, the most beautiful city of spain, was easy to reach by a 20 minutes walk. The most impressive views, delicious oranges straight from the tree, an awesome place to be!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2018

    5.0
    Beautiful property with potential. Lots of kinks to work out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The roof leaked. Washrooms were workout running water and or hot water. My wife was trapped in a shower for 15 minute s. Breakfast was not as advertised. The jacuzzi did not work. Meals were served late. Our reservation was not correct.

    Dinner was good but sparse

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    9.2
    Retreat in the heart of the island
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sometimes a bit of a mess, since its a young hostel.

    The peoplr are great, the scenery wonderful, so is mostly vegetarian food. Full of potential. The vibe.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2018

    8.3
    Great base for day walks
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not so clean, maybe the place is still under renovation. The kitchen is not really opened for guest use.

    The location is great with amazing sunset views. The dinner prepared by chef were delicious and there is plenty of interactions with other fellow travelers.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2018

    9.2
    Felt like home
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some problems with warm water and power but probably only due to the unusual weather

    Far away from everything, amazing view, great cook and outstanding company

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    9.2
    Very cool hostel in an amazing location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Please put a bigger sign next to the street! I missed it once and wasn't sure if this is the right way. Yeah, it's really that tiny road going steep. But don't worry, it's not hard to go down or up!

    The hostel's location is just amazing. We had bad luck with the weather but for sure a good starting point for doing stuff in the mountains. Very ambitious British servant and fantastic chef! The hostel is partly still under construction, but already a very good stay. Great potential! I'll come back!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2018

    7.9
    Location is awesome, but we expected more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overpriced, at least for the bulk room! Lots of constructions where going on; construction stuff was laying around; hot tub wasn't working: please be honest & remove it from the description! No signs, we had to search for the checkin.

    Awesome location with great panoramic view! The bulk room we stayed in was very basic, but nice and beds where comfy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2018

    6.3
    Great Location, very friendly but VERY basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1. We had a VERY basic, no-windows, 2.5 by 3m room in former stables. No water, no toilet, only a bed and electricity. 2. Price, although in prime season, for basic room and breakfast is steep

    1. Great location with marvelous views 2. Friendly German ex-windsurfer owner ‘who stuck around” 3. Friendly walking/climbing/ surfing crowd

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2018

    5.4
    Beautiful location, stunning views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Place is still a building site, difficult to read and no signs on the road. Overpriced for the quality of accommodation

    Beautiful location, stunning views

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2018

    8.3
    Mountain rural house
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I stayed in the dorms and the heating system its a gas one.. Not very safe nowadays to have this in the rooms.

    Its situated in a very nice and beautiful place... The landscape its amazing. The social room its nice, big and very cosy... You can light a wood fire... The girl in charge of the cleaning its very friendly and the new chef do very nice dishes :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2018

    5.8
    Very Nice Place- but not Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately very dirty. The Room/Kitchen/Living Room Its such a nice facility but not clean.

    Great View, in the middle of the Mountains. Very quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    9.2
    Sabrina is the perfect host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sabrina is the perfect host. She gives good advice and has a positive vibe. The room is basic but very nice and clean. Also the terrace on the roof is a surplus. Facilities to have breakfast (coffee, tea, fruit). Close to supermarket and to the centre of Aldea. We forgot our glasses in the room, but Sabrina was so kind to send them back to Belgium. She even tried to bring the glasses to Maspalomas, but we missed the appointment. Perfect stay and a good price fort he room!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful mountainside paradise, fabulous hiking and company.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It's a shame the hottub wasn't working, but the host Oliver assures us it will be soon. Don't be put off.. the hot tub would have just been the tip of the cherry!

    Finca La Isa is hosteling at it's best. Faboulus views, stary nights, great hiking, lovely environment with tons of charm. Good wholesome, simple food can be had every night at very affordable prices, there's breakfast available at the same and all done in a very informal, community space. Did I mention the views and the hiking?

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful location, wonderfully relaxing, will be even more amazing when renovations are finished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Guests were told they could use the kitchen, but because it is also shared with the owners, and some meals are prepared for guests, it was a bit chaotic and not always clean. Also there are so many patios and outdoor spaces but not much outdoor furniture - I imagine this will be improved as the hostel develops.

    Beds were comfy and clean. 6-person room is fabulous - with sofa and fireplace. Also the large communal area is very nice - relaxed, comfortable, plenty of space, and wood stove as well. The views and location are phenomenal - absolutely unbeatable. Within walking distance (20-30min) of shops, restaurants and bars in Tejeda, and many walking trails all around the valley and mountains starting straight from the Finca. Super relaxing, fresh air, sunshine - wonderful!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2017

    10
    Wonderful place with a magnificent view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wonderful place with a magnificent view to mountains. Perfect if you want to escape from everything and just listen to silence, meditate and relax. Rooms are well equipped and the place has very cozy atmosphere. The guests are welcomed very warmly. It's definitely a place where I would love to come back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    8.3
    It was great being there, meeting all these wonderful people
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Finca La Isa was wonderful. Olivier just started the place and has some personnel problems, but otherwise my stay there was fantastic, with amazing views over the valley.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    10
    The most amazing hostel in Europe!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The most amazing hostel I have ever been! Super welcoming host, we have been treated with local wine, cheese and personally cooked breakfast and dinner each day of our stay! We stayed by fire in the night and had aome deep conversations. I also got yoga lessons from one of the workers and could improve my practise. Super relaxing atmosphere, with amazing views. It has even a whirlpool that you can use! Highly recommendable!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    9.2
    My refugee in the mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is awesome, perfect for relaxation and spirituality. Views are like a painting, with Roque Nublo, Roque Bentayga and Tenerife on the background. You can't miss that sunset! Will definitely be back for a few times. What are you waiting for?

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2017

    9.6
    Great place in the middle of nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Thanks to Olivier and Zuki, I had a great stay at the Finca. Very personal approach. Loved the dinner we all had together and the jacuzzi is just a great bonus after a long day of hiking. Perfect place to stay if you like hiking or cycling. Just be aware that after one night you might want to stay longer! That's just the affect the finca has on people.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    9.2
    Stunning location and experience in the rural mountains of gran canaria
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hostel is absolutely beautifully located in the middle of the canari mountains. Its run by super friendly people and the rooms are quite nice. The view from the jacuzzi in the afternoon sun is to die for.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    10
    A lovely place in the middle of the mountains with a breath...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were still constructions going on, but we were not distracted by it. We are sure this will make the place even more beautiful.

    A lovely place in the middle of the mountains with a breath taking view from the terrace. The surrounding, terrace, garden and the accommondation are really beautiful and the atmosphere is super relaxed. The stuff is friendly and helpful and good to communicate with. This calm place is perfect for people who are nature lovers and like hiking trips. The nearest village can be reached by car or you can hike to Tejeda. We enjoyed our stay a lot and hope to come back one day.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2017

    8.3
    Staff is really friendly and easy going.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When I stayed at the hostel, part of it was being renovated. There was some noise but since the room was at the other side it wasn’t that bad.

    Staff is really friendly and easy going. Nice mountain views and very relaxed athmosphere. Good base for hiking the mountains.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2019

    10
    Very frendly stuff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The kindness you will see here is amazing

    Very frendly stuff! Thank you

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    10
    Perfect mountain hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Clean, good bed, friendly staff. Atmosphere like in Nepal on trek.

    Stayed in January 2019

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Mountain Hostel Finca La Isa Traveler Photo Gallery