Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Casa Rural Finca Santa Marta 3 stars

Pago San Clemente, s/n, 10200 Pago de San Clemente, Spain

#2 of 2 hotels in Pago de San Clemente

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 197 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    5.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    One of the best holidays we have ever had,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like. Happy with everything.

    Finca Santa Marta would only suit someone who was looking for complete peace and quiet as we were. The rooms were rustic yet comfortable and the bed was amazing. (There should be a warning about how hot the water is though. Breakfast was very nice and there was always a pretty vase of flowers on the table. The grounds are fantastic and you can sit outside your room at a nice table and chairs with a cool drink and watch the sun go down and the stars come up. Four days wasn't really enough for us but it was all my husband could take off of work at the time. The staff were friendly, as was the dog! Everyone is surprised to hear my husband speak fluent Spanish and look a little confused but we really enjoyed ourselves. Property is within easy reach of Truillo and Guadalupe both enjoyable places to visit. Would definitely go again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.8
    We enjoyed our time in Truillo, shame that this property could not match the delights of that town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There appeared to be only one administrative member of staff and he was not full time. It appeared from old reviews that there had been a restaurant but this no longer exists except for breakfast. Due to the lack of guests we were actually the only 2 people in the property one night, a bit spooky as there was no locks on the property.

    From reading reviews from the past this property clearly is not what it was. It has all the makings of an ideal stop off. In the countryside, 14 rooms, with a pool, extensive garden and lounges in which you could rest and relax. But it appeared that its fairly remote location must have affected its viability.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    3.3
    Very Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reading the other reviews you either love this place or hate it! Our experience was very poor. There was no one at reception during the advertised hours when we arrived, and no one there at all on the Sunday. Eventually as all the doors to the main house were locked we had to ring the house to get some service. The breakfast which is only served from 9.00 am was VERY POOR coffee undrinkable sliced bread, pre wrapped cake and worst of all orange squash (I think) instead of fresh orange. In all the cheapest catering pack stuff. When we left at 8.00am on Monday there was no one around to check out with. In all it seems they don't care at all about their visitors experience.

    The location in the country is fine

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    Outstanding staff.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dalmation that attacked my passive timid Border Collie bitch. Never seemed to be taken for walk so probably pent up frustration. Apparently it is a known fighter from the folk in Trujillo. If that is so, why is it loose on the property? Ok, it lives there, but then why is the hotel dog friendly? Rather have a no dogs policy here. My dogs aren't looking for a fight. Decor is dated and tired.

    Staff were friendly and exceptionally helpful. The location is great for Trujillo. Beautiful walking and scenery.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    It is like home from home.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful and spacious suite. Just perfect when travelling with two small dogs. It is such a warm and friendly place to stay. Lovely food and beautiful log fires. Looking forward to our return at the end of April. I

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    5.0
    Lovely place & landscape but very disappointed in regard of our accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double-room very small. Equipment & bathroom very old. Room very dark. I would unfortunately not recommend any double room at the finca. If guests are interested in the finca, they should definitely book a superior double-room.

    .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.1
    First impression is good, but under the surface a little grubby
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleanliness of the house is not to standard, light switches grubby, dead flies throughout the ground floor, the place needs a good clean and dusting. Breakfast was poor, supermarket long life croissants, pastries, no fresh orange juice, just cordial. No farewell on departure from the host or staff. We just left the key at reception.

    Pool and grounds were idyllic, the house looks picture perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.8
    Charming rural retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was a bit overpriced for what you got (30 Euros). Rooms could do with a bit of maintenance e.g dripping tap.

    Beautiful setting and friendly staff. It is VERY rural and charmingly antique. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    9.6
    Easy and comfortable to stay with 2 little dogs.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot drinks facility in the room would have been very nice as we had a small kitchen in our suite. Apart from that, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to our return.

    Easy and comfortable to stay with 2 little dogs.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    8.8
    I loved the location: the sun baked fields, Olive trees, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I loved the location: the sun baked fields, Olive trees, and the vistas of the surrounding mountains and valleys. the Finca was charming in every way...rustic stone work, cut flowers, lovely swimming pool, abundant peace and quiet.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely property with bags of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely property with bags of character

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    Lovely peaceful location, comfortable common rooms, bathrooms need work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathrooms need serious work. The showers leak, the taps drip, and they could be cleaner.

    The location and the grounds are gorgeous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Great stay very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    A very nice and comfortable Finca with an extremely helpful Laura in charge of the daily business.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not much, but if I may mention a small detail: I would have appreciated a sharper knife in the cupboard

    The place and its surroundings.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    8.3
    Rural peace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, tranquility, wildlife(nature !) Ryan's evening meals

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.3
    I was visiting Trujillo, which was only 10 minutes away
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Banged my head on the low bathroom door. No internet in the bedroom. No fresh croissant. Only factory croissants

    It was a very pleasant place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    10
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing'

    Excellent house in charming surroundings

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    7.5
    Beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The 'double' bed was tiny. Heating in the public areas was terrible - they were freezing! Something vaguely warming in the breakfast, e.g. boiled eggs, or even a toaster, would have been appreciated. It was rather basic, the coffee was lukewarm and there was very little hot water available to replenish. This hotel would be idyllic in warmer weather.

    Beautiful setting. Rustic charm. Good proximity to Trujillo. Friendly helpful hostess.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    7.9
    A rural location with authentic lodgings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We lacked the final touch of someone who genuinly cares for the guest: dinner was allright but not outstanding, wines in the general area was ok but not good enough, our room had no wifi nor fridge. Although we stayed here 3 nights we only met Laura - a cheerful girl that speaks English well - never saw the owner. We appreciate Laura's effort, however felt the owner's did not put their hearts into it. We felt they thought the structure was all right and that was enough.

    A rural location with authentic lodgings. The ambiance in the room and various areas was really pleasant, as was the swimming pool, therefore in general we liked the place. The window had a mouskito net, that was great!

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    6.3
    Well located, close to Trujillo yet in the countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Finca seemed a little tired. Lack of other guests made it seem isolated and could not have an evening meal as not enough people staying.

    Well located, close to Trujillo yet in the countryside. beautiful surroundings.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    9.2
    The buildings and garden were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were not able to have dinner in the hotel. Bur, we were able to walk to the local bar which was about 30 minutes away through back lanes and fields, which was great.

    The buildings and garden were lovely.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    9.2
    Excelent place for a birder
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast typical Spanish - mised better bread and an eag Would have been nice with Wi-Fi in the room

    Excelent place for a birder Suoper cosy place Very friendly staff Nice with the pool in the garden

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    6.7
    Location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Electric sockets and light fittings coming away from the wall!!

    Location was perfect. The grounds were absolutely gorgeous. Orchards etc.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful location and extremely friendly atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was a bit variable, but there was plenty.

    Wonderful location and extremely friendly atmosphere. Surrounded by nightingales! Very peaceful.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    9.2
    Cosy room in a beautiful and peaceful setting close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cosy room in a beautiful and peaceful setting close to Trujillo. Very friendly and helpful staff. Would have been nice to stay longer.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    7.5
    The peaceful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The peaceful location

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    3.3
    This was totally unsuitable for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

    This was totally unsuitable for us

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    9.6
    Location in central Spain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location in central Spain. Quiet but easy access to sites of interest both town and country.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    9.2
    Quiet, relaxed, comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quiet, relaxed, comfortable

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    7.9
    Lots of space and privacy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing to report

    Lots of space and privacy Only a 10 minutes drive fromTrujillo and 45 minutes from Caceres. Excellent location for birdwatching

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    10
    Awesome tranquil farmhouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Awesome tranquil farmhouse

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    8.3
    Location, very comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor breakfast. Rotten fruit in fruit bowl.

    Location, very comfy bed. Peaceful surroundings. Friendly staff.

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Browse Casa Rural Finca Santa Marta traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: