Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Fuerte Grazalema 4 stars

Baldío de los Alamillos Carretera A-372, Km. 53,, 11610 Grazalema, Spain

#1 of 13 hotels in Grazalema

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1002 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of affordable drinks/ refreshments. 2 euros for a tiny bottle of water is very steep and everywhere else I've stayed in the area provided at least one complimentary bottle of water. If you didn't want to pay 22 euros for the buffet dinner (not my thing) there were limited bar snacks available but it all felt very geared towards foreign tourists which is, I suppose, expected with a large hotel such as this.

    The pool set among spectacular scenery in a little sun trap was the highlight! Lovely to have own balcony too. A comfortable, easy, relaxing stay after a day of hiking in the hills.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was a buffet which we were not expecting. Food looked good but we decided to eat in the bar, where the food was satisfactory..

    Beautiful setting, wonderful views and access to the countryside on the doorstep. Rooms comfortable and staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Absolutely wonderful. A situation of great beauty and tranquillity. The buffet breakfast was astonishingly good. The buffet dinner at €20 was wonderful value for money. We have stayed in a large number of hotels in Spain over the years and can honestly say that this is the best we have ever stayed in. Will find an excuse to return!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Further away from Grazala than we anticipated - 5 min drive

    Comfortable good rooms. Great views and food. Book meals ahead to get a good discount. Lots of choice and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we got the room size as booked, it did appear smaller than expected, so when we return some day we will book a bigger one.

    Perfect hideaway: wonderful view, good facilities, great food (breakfast/dinner), friendly staff, soo much value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing expect the rain that spoilt us from enjoying it even more.

    It was amazing but it rained so we could not enjoy the outdoor space. The vistas was wonderful. We would highly recommend it to anyone but stay two nights. It's that good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms looking 'tired" but rest of property modernised and lovely ambience.

    Comprehensive breakfast buffet with wide choice of healthy options. Amazing views from terrace and dining room. Staff extremely good and attentive. Huge comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A buffet meets the needs of many people, but it would have been nice if there had been a proper restaurant as well.

    Fine location; well situated for excursions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was fantastic but just be aware it's about 30 minutes to walk into Grazalema. Half of it is on the main road (which is fairly quiet) then you take a gravel path up the hill. It's not very well signposted so ask reception for directions.

    Beautiful views from the pool and dining areas. Excellent breakfast and the buffet evening meal was great value too. It's a little far from Grazalema so eating at the restaraunt was a good option at night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful view from terrace. Nice food available in bar all day. Great if you've been out and about and can't always fit in with usual meal times.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny point - pool is not heated, so if it's early in the season you have to be brave!!

    Beautiful, remote location. Nice traditional restaurant just a few hundred metres away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had assumed the outdoor pool would be heated but it was way too cold to swim in, the hot tub was not very hot either. I find it quite misleading that the pool is listed twice- ie once as an outdoor pool and the other time as a pool which makes you think there is an indoor pool too. We did not find the games room or the billiards that are listed in the facilities - as we were with children they would have been helpful.

    Great views from the hotel, staff were good and breakfast selection excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Excellent breakfast, evening buffet excellent value, and as always, very friendly and helpful staff. Parking is very good, and there is a small animal farm for children to see. Close to Grazalema, and set in glorious countryside.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    far a way from the main road.

    we liked everything in this hotel. the room was large with a door to the garden. A great country view. the restaurant was very good and we liked a lot the food. very rich breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall the buffet dinner offered lots of variety and was mostly good but let down by the quality of the main courses.

    Superb location in the Sierra Grazalema. Wonderful views and good for walking. Clean and comfortable room. Staff very prompt sorting out a problem with the TV. A spacious hotel with everything you need. Good parking facilities. Very good breakfast. All staff very polite and welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view of the white village, the mountains and the valley from the breakfast room was really nice, despite the bad weather The breakfast is absolutely amazing, many different kinf of fruits, vegetables, juices, sweet and salty stuff, everything I could ask for Ping pong and pool tables

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no aircon to cool the rooms so we had to ask for a room change to be able to open windows securely. The evening buffet was a total disgrace: the food may have looked appetising, but it was served in unhygienic conditions, the tables were not properly clean and the plates were chipped or not clean. I would not eat here again.

    We were offered a choice of rooms and the swimming pool was open and available

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been earlier for those who need to be on the road early. We didn’t like that we were there for only one night.

    The area around the hotel is beautiful. We liked the little farm and particularly the roosters and turkeys. It was interesting seeing the cork trees. The room was quite nice. The lounge and patio nice as well. This is a facility that warrants more than a one night’s stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice change of pace in a quiet country setting. Liked relaxing by the pool and had a great view of Grazalema at sunset and sunrise. Loved the free parking right outside the door.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor service from start to finish. Took 3 attempts to get the correct room we booked. 3rd room had blood on sheet, duvet cover left on top of duvet, wall light in need of repair. Reception team member disinterested. No concierge although there a sign at reception. Barman surly and unhelpful. Two tables had to go and get my drinks from the bar! Food shocking -ordered wrap with chicken, got wrap with prawns, sent back and got wrap with chicken and large bone in the middle! Breakfast 2members on duty often not in restaurant so cleared own table. Plates need polishing and grooves between wooden table dirty with old food. Table also wobbly! Asked for manager in morning who was in a meeting so spoke to a very pleasant lady on reception- apologised and asked what could be done. Settled on no charge ! Hotel needs to get its act in gear and better staffing ratios. It feels like the company is wanting to have as few staff on as possible and charge as much as possible.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was extremely cold and we couldn't swim (although to be fair we are from Florida......) and the hot tub was a mildly warm jacuzzi, but these details are so minor when you take this beautiful property as a whole. I would visit here again in a heartbeat.

    This place is gorgeous! The king suite with mountain views was so lovely. It was very private and quiet. I did not want to leave. Location is fantastic and so peaceful. Our favorite place of all our travels this vacation. The breakfast buffet, with the egg station, was so very nice. The hike from the hotel to the beautiful town of Grazalema was just the right distance and so much fun! The surrounding towns are beautiful, breathtaking, short drives from the hotel. Words cannot describe the beauty of the area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing,everything was perfect.

    Cisy hotel with beautiful views great location. Big and nicely decorated room. Very professional and helpful staff at the reception.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of privacy on the room balcony . Pity the bar wasn't open earlier

    fantastic location and views . excellent facilities . Buffet dining excellent .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The huge dining room is a cafeteria. The first night it was packed with tour groups. OK, but after that we went out in the village, which was terrific: families eating outside on a warm night, really "Spain."

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant a big buffet scramble which lets the place down but good food in the town,fabulous views so someone had the idea of planting trees in front of your room so you couldn't enjoy the view? What was that for?

    Clean and good price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jacuzzi was a little cold, but it wasn’t a big problem + We went October

    Helpful staff Clean room Knowledge of different activities and help to organise them

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were not clean and kind of dodgy. Corridor was just horrible - looks like from some creepy hospital

    Nice garden and swimming pool. Decent buffet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked it. There was, however, that pesky high balcony wall that precluded our interest in sitting out, but the pool area was great and made up for it.

    The staff was nice, the room was fine, albeit a little on the small side of things, the pool was nice with lots of families and kids romping about. I like to mountain bike, and my wife likes to hike, and there were decent bikes to rent (Cannondale, no suspension, fat tires, not too expensive) and trails to accommodate both interests. Grazalema was an hour walk on one of those trails, though not for the timid and/or infirm. By car the town was 15 minutes at most. And it was beautiful. Good buffet-style breaky with lots of options and one of those coffee machines that do it all, but none of it very well. Big bunnies romping around!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool water was too cold.

    The views are amazing on the mountains and the village of Grazalema. The jacuzzi on the terrace is great. The staff is kind. WiFi works in the room. Beds are comfortable. Breakfast is spectacular: extremely varied and tasty.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find. An iron!

    The location was superb The onsite restaurant was very good value - the female chef on the flat top grill was great! Local mushrooms, simply grilled were delicious

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a modern hotel set in a splendid location. Our rooms were clean and comfortable providing a good standard of accommodation and the efficient air conditioning made for a good night's sleep when the daytime temperature had exceeded 35c.... The buffet style dinner and breakfast suited us fine, we were able to eat plenty of the dishes we liked and avoid those we did not !! Staff were pleasant and efficient throughout.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - during our stay in the middle of August we were nearly the only non-Spanish people in the hotel, which didn't bother us at all apart from two things: due to no English speaking children the kids club wasn't popular with my children and as per Spanish tradition of going to bed at a very late hour it was normal for us to be kept awake by the other guests well after midnight. - one night there was a fiesta in nearby village Grazalema with the loud music playing until 7am. We only had one night like this as were leaving anyway the next day but the fiesta was supposed to go on for 4 days (and nights). We liked the hotel but we were extremely happy to be leaving. My suggestion if you don't like to stay up all night to check for the dates of any fiestas in Grazalema prior booking the hotel, especially since the hotel has nothing to do with the fiestas in Grazalema and so no control over these events - the swimming pool was too cold - no shop or spa in the hotel. Given its remote location it could come handy - at the peak of lunch hour to get a table in the hotel restaurant was problematic

    - Wifi excellent throughout - Breakfast and buffet dinner were beyond excellent with very friendly stuff - cleaning was through and done before noon on most of the days - beautiful surroundings and stunning views everywhere - the farm and a chance to walk the dog were hugely popular with my kids and made their stay truly wonderful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a family place not for couples! You dont get the relaxation you would expect on the mountain beacuse of all the gun children are having...

    The whole package

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fabulous view which was advertised as a selling point of the hotel was obscured by the planting of tall trees right in front of the rooms.

    The bathroom was very clean. The restaurant was excellent. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pick your time of year as it was very noisy in the Restaurant and Bar with Children running around. It did not ruin it for us we just ate in the town not the Hotel.

    The location is fantastic with stunning views from every room. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was amazing. Very large comfy bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool area can be very busy and noisy in summer.

    Very comfortable rooms and beds, with a choice of pilows. Excellent buffet breakfast with both hot and cold dishes.. Close to Grazalema, although you would need a car or taxi if you dont like walking too far. Staff are very friendly and helpful, and a bowl and bed provided for our dog.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    excellent hotel, fabulous views, great food (inside or on terrace with the views), very friendly helpful staff. Quiet, beautiful countryside with lovely Andallucian villages. Lovely pool, pool terrace, bar and gardens. For a quiet relaxing, beautiful few days, I can think of nowhere nicer. 35 minutes drive from Ronda (and Ronda is worth it!). Chose a small car and take your time - the roads are not for rushing! Take sturdy shoes and enjoy the countryside. Sporting cyclists will love the quiet roads, climbs and views.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was nice and helpful but check in was a bit ... slow

    Excellent breakfast and diner buffet. Food quality and diversity is clearly in focus. Nice pool area and garden around, very nice view on Grazalema

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wide choice of foods for breakfast and eating it on the outdoor terrace overlooking Grazalema and the mountains. Pool area was really good. Little clothes line on our room balcony was also very handy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room said balcony but it was more of railed window. There were trees obstructing the view but I think almost all the rooms had them and probably there for shade due to the heat in summer. The patio area is open to everyone and that is where we spent most of our time.

    The view from the patio area was incredible with the white village of Grazalema ringed by mountains. Had an amazing looking infinity pool we unfortunately didn't have time to use.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you look back on school dinners with nostalgia, and the thought of dining on a cross-channel ferry makes you moist, then this might be the hotel for you. For people who like tranquility and style to accompany their fine dining, then prepare to be deeply disappointed. Fuerte has clearly sold its soul to the God of tour groups and gone for a minimally staffed self-service canteen instead of a restaurant. It was swamped with waves of tour groups queuing and barging to get to the trays of food. The few staff serving the tables were overrun, and clearly needed to rush us through the 'meal', at one point, whipping my plate away while I was still chewing. In contrast, at breakfast, almost every table was piled with uncollected used crockery as a tour group or two had just left the trough, and only one poor waiter was available to try and clear the wreckage. That's a bad look for a motorway service station, but for a so-called luxury hotel, it's tragic. My advice is that if you stay here and don't have to use the canteen, go to the village to eat. If you stay here and have to have dinner in the Fuerte, then don't stay here.

    Great location with fabulous views across the valley to Grazalema. A nice walk to the village was laid out and signposted. The (few) staff we met with were very hard working and helpful. The room was very nice, with a lovely private garden for sunbathing, and the bed was huge and comfortable. The public lounge was better than most airport departure lounges.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    A kettle to make a decent cup of tea in our room in the morning and last thing at night would have been great;

    Excellent buffet breakfast lots of choice and high quality food. Friendly staff able to speak English but happy for me to practise my Spanish.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No ironing board despite having an iron to loan me!! It wasn't ideal ironing my clothes for a wedding on the bed!

    Excellent food in the restaurant, I had the 18 Euros dinner buffet - the quality was far superior to the usual hotel buffet fare. The location is lovely, and the room clean and comfortable. The hotel have lots of walking maps for local walks in the mountains.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are very basic. We had two beds pulled together with a huge gap in between. Would expect more from a 4 star hotel.

    This hotel is located in the middle of the mountains and has a view over hilltops and one of the famous white villages. It's peaceful and quiet. We had a sandwich from the snack bar and it was delicious. The breakfast was also great and offered a wide variety of food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening buffet dinner was very good value but not for you if you want a quiet waiter service meal.

    Bed was super comfy and the breakfast buffet choice was bigger than i've seen before in a hotel. Views from every room, restaurant and pool were amazing looking out over the mountains and the town of grazelema.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I have to say a negative then it would be the fact that the restaurant was quite noisy.

    Our stay was wonderful! The best view ever!! And we loved the hikes in the area... really enjoyed everything about the 2 days we were there.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Awesome, relaxing hotel. We would wish to stay there for a few days instead of one day. The room was clean, and beds comfortable. The food was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Impressed by efforts to support sustainable tourism and awareness on impact to environment. Kudos to all the staff from front of house to bar tenders, restaurant waiters for their professionalism, courtesy and friendly attitude.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was the worst ever so if you depend on it go elsewhere. It spoiled everything else that was really gold. Also meals were 18euros per person without drinks (expensive although quality and selection really good).

    Location, facilities and food quality very good. Surrounding areas beautiful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    both the buffet in the evening as well as the breakfast menu was some of the best I ever had the pleasure of in Spain, and I,ve been to lots of places.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    understaffed had to wait long periods at bar sometimes as the staff trying to do several tasks, kettle & tea / coffee would have been nice in the room, a la carte menu was poor so we dined in the bar which was fine

    staff were really helpful , room was very good , location great

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only there overnight - light fitting didn't work, due to hotel being full we had end room with solid balcony so did not gain maximum enjoyment of hotel located to give great views of Grazalema. Urge anyone going to ask for ground or first floor room

    Staff, comfort etc. also Green messages such as preservation of water and energy, fair-trade items for sale etc. Great location for walks

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We asked for a kayak trip (during full moon) Which did not have enough people, so we were informed that we could go on a daytrip any day, but when we asked the day we wanted, it suddenly was not possible anymore (only weekends instead of any day of the week). Eventually we contacted a company ourselves and rented kayaks, so we solved it ourselves.

    The location was extremely beautiful, the view on the mountains. Also the breakfast and dinner buffet had a lot of choice. Wifi was working good and very sweet dog at the small animal corner!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel needs refurbishment - once gorgeous, the furniture and overall style is outdated, and in some parts looks old and used. The capuccino from the coffee machine tasted really bad, would not recommend to anyone.

    Once the somewhat steep drive is over, the location of the Hotel is absoulutely marvelous - the landscapes are breathtaking and very quiet.The Hotel territory is relatively big, with a "ecological" touch - there are bunnies on the grass in front of the room with garden view, and other domestic animals in a small "farm" nearby. Though the water in the main pool was really cold, we still enjoyed a warm Jacuzzi outside. Evening buffet was a nice surprize, breakfast ok.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant prices very high.

    Wonderful views from all the rooms across the valley to the town of Grazalema. Very quiet and peaceful during our visit in October. Very comfortable beds and room with a nice balcony.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather ! Rainy and misty throughout our stay which detracted from the superb views over towards Grazalema village. We did get glimpses through the mist/cloud but it would have been nicer had it been sunny. Apart from that there was nothing we didn't like about the hotel.

    The food here was terrific, some of the best we've ever had in a hotel. Great buffet dinner for 18 Euros with beefsteaks/tuna steaks etc cooked to order in addition to an enormous cold buffet. An exception to the usual Spanish choices for dessert too, there were a good number to choose from! Breakfast was just as good too. Very impressed with the quality and choice. We will be back! Hotel itself was very good. Terrace with a pool. Activity area with 2 pool tables, a table tennis table and a table soccer unit. Very well appointed rooms.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An odd thing to say but the mattresses were noisy. Also, the AC didn't keep up with 3 people in the room. We couldn't open the sliding door for fresh air because there was no screen. It is our fault that we didn't mention the AC issue to the staff - perhaps it could have been corrected.

    The setting is spectacular and the hotel quite lovely. An email prior to arrival quoted us half board at 18 Euros per person per day, a price that was questioned by the front desk but ultimately honored. There was a great deal of variety at the breakfast and dinner buffets and the restaurant staff worked hard to refresh the buffet and keep the large dining room immaculate. We were 3 adults traveling together, but it was nice to see all of the families with younger children having a great time. It's worth going off the beaten path to stay here and it was one of our favorite places in Spain.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bad weather made it worse but we found the hotel to be rather gloomy. The bedroom and terrace weren't anywhere as nice as we were expecting. We really hope that someone takes the dog for a walk daily and lets the donkey run round a field and that they aren't left all day in the "farm"! There was a bad smell in the hotel lounge in the evening.

    We enjoyed the evening buffet .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Whole Hotel seems to be constructed on economic reasons, room was fully unattractive and small, you feel like a bee in a beehive, a small balcony in a close row of others leaves no privacy at all. On 4th floor there was a windowfront full of flies entering from ground floor, no Chance to escape, dying and lying around in masses.

    We booked the Hotel due to the closeness and sights to nice Grazalema (sight was restricted by trees, but don't cut them!), other White Towns resp Ronda, also the nice landscape. Lobby, Restaurant, balcony with clear sight to landscape nice, Lobby staff very friendly. My wife liked the hares running around.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not as close to town as we thought. Petting zoo area was dirty and not well kept. Need new pool furniture.

    Food quality and service was very good. Parking was great and rooms were clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Buffet dinner was plentiful but seemed a bit 'package deal' - tough meat, lots of carbo-heavy dishes. Staircase had a fly problem that the staff sorted with insecticide. This may have led to a rather strange smell in that area – and the bodies were lying around for a while!

    Location - spectacular views of Grazalema and its surrounding mountains from public areas. Swim pool looked great, but we didn't have time to use it. Super choices at breakfast. Staff friendly and efficient. Room very clean and pleasant but view from it blocked by trees, presumably to screen from summer heat.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance from Grazalema but no reflection on hotel Maybe could warn people about friendly "cows/Bulls" on walking trail into town

    The buffet gave great opportunity to try various foods The view from pool to village was beautiful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We will not be able to walk to Grazelama any more because the path is too worn and not suitable for old uns like us. The path to Las Palomas from the Mirador of more than 7 kms was easier.

    The superb Quantity & Quality of the food. Imagination of combo dishes particularly good. The hotel was full of Spanish families we got lots of smiles and of course gave them!!! The weather was very hot (over 40C)but we were able to walk in the mountains.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trees in front of the bedroom windows. Staff didn't know the local farmacy opening hours (& didn't offer to find out)

    Comfortable beds & pillows. Pleasant bar & restaurant staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The advertized mountain view was largely obsured by a line of tall trees planted in front of the room The restaurant had rather a lot of flies. The front desk was not sufficiently staffed.

    The buffet dinner had a good selction and was good value for money. The room was clean and well equipped. The staff were generally helpful and polite

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is fantastic location in the mountains, beautiful landscape. Very peaceful but there is also activities with swimming pool, animal farms and walks. The food is delicious and the best of our stay in Spain! This is incredibly good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is out of town so you need a car to get there, but it's stunning views look back over the village. The breakfast buffet was extensive and good and the pool refreshing.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There used to be more toiletries in the bathroom, but I guess, like everyone else the hotel group is looking at ways to save money.

    The breakfasts and buffet dinners

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only buffet style dinner option, which was decent if nothing special. View from room rather obstructed by trees right outside the window.

    Stunning location, beautiful to sit out having dinner with the sun going down over the mountains. Helpful and friendly reception staff. Would recommend highly.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A long walk from the room to the reception

    Huge pool Outdoor hot tub Friendly staff @ reception and poolside bar Views Free parking Huge comfy bed with great pillows Courtesy minibar Wildlife Private terrace

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was the highlite of our trip through Andalucia. While Seville, Cordova, Grenada and nearby Ronda were magnificient, they were all a bit over run with tourists, noice and pollution. The Hotel Fuerte Grazalema is a bit off the beaten track, you have to drive for 15 miles along narrow mountain roads, it is in a wonderful natural and historic setting. From the terrace of the hotel, you can dine while watching the sun set over the white village across the valley and the mountains behind it. This is apparently one of the places with the highest rainfall in Spain, thus the lush vegetation and the pastoral setting. It is the only place on the trip where the night stars absolutely filled the sky - wonderful. We had a free breakfast with everything included.There is a magnificient swimming pool with view also. This is one of those place that is almost too good to be true - luxury accomdations for a very reasonable price.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We very much enjoyed the location in relation to the town. We were able to hike to town one day and catch another trail into the mountains. Breakfast was excellent at the hotel. Also, a big plus was there "green environment".

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a large hotel. During weekdays it was very relaxing, but in the weekend it was pretty crowded. Good to realise. Same goes for 'remote' location. We had a car and really enjoyed it, but be aware that you can't easily walk to Grazalema 'city'.

    Great views! Breakfast was extensive, staff very friendly, lunch menu of really good quality. And the pool was great. Everything was well maintained.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no a la carte restaurant, just buffet. But there are good restaurants in grazalema.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful location with great view over mountains and the pretty little village grazalema (which is about 4 kilometers away, but you can order a taxi at the reception) . Room big and very clean, with coffee machine and minibar and a terrasse with view. They have a pool bar, another bar with a selection of a la carte tapas and for dinner a restaurant (just buffet). Breakfast was very good and huge. They have a cook for the eggs and different fresh juices. Coffee was not the best.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The view the food was fantastic and brilliant value

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: