Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gandía Palace 4 stars

Rioja 41 - Grau de Gandía, 46730 Gandía, Spain

#36 of 61 hotels in Gandía

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 655 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel has 4 stars that at somepoint could have been valet? but they have long overstayed their welcome. For starters was the beds very uncomfortable, the noice from the street if you thought the sound of ocean waves was something you could enjoy. The breakfast buffet was uneatable. The hotel rooms have paper thin walls so you hear every thing from your next door neighbours. It is an awful place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The worst stay I have ever had in this hotel and probably worse than any other stay in other hotels for many years. The hotel was full of young people of around student age (I discovered later that it was a group of portugese students). Dinner was geared towards these guests and options were pizza, cheeseburger, hotdogs - all OK if your a student or 10 years old but not for a middle aged business traveller. from around 10.30pm the streets around the hotel started to become noisy - people in bars etc but from midnight and for a number of hours past midnight it got louder and louder and louder even with all windows closed it was too loud to sleep. At 2am I went onto the balcony and there was a group of 50-70 students all in the hotel entrance, singing, shouting, screaming and the hotel doing nothing to calm the situation. I contacted reception and advised that if they did not call the police then I would because guests were trying to sleep. 20 minutes or so the noise stopped. I complained the next morning and reception told me that they had 5 security guards working that night (yet they had done nothing to stop the disturbance) in the meantime the aftermath of the night before was evident, drinks spllied over the floors of the elevators, Plants in large pots knocked over and people asleep on the lawn in front of the hotel. I managed less than 3 hours sleep before having to head off for a business meeting. Not good

    Normally the hotel is good having stayed there a number of times

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel need an urgent upgrade! The furniture is old, the beds and pillows are very uncomfortable. You have to pay 10€ to use the gym, and it’s not worth it, the machines are old and outdated. The food at the restaurant is very bad quality (It’s buffet, all you can eat). Wi-Fi almost doesn’t work at the top floors. And, the sea view is not that spectacular.

    The staff is very friendly and helpfull.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a major complaint, picky really but the elevator/lift was very slow, we were on floor 10, so had to wait around a bit.

    The hotel was pleasant, well located, and staff friendly. Made for a very pleasant weekend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed clothes were awful, no duvet in the winter months. An old blanket on top of the bed. Pillows weren´t great either. Wifi was awful, we were on the 9th floor and we couldn´t connect for 2 days. Very dissapointing! Area would be nice in Summer but in the winter its like a ghost town.

    The breakfast was good. The decor was nice. Spa was nice but cold water in all the showers, could be cleaner too

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More pillows would be nice there was just the one apart from that no other dislikes

    The breakfasts were very good excellent choices,the hotel situated close to beach

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wonderful staff and very patient with non-speaking Spanish guests, excellent location, huge breakfast buffet, and located conveniently to my relatives homes.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked all inclusive.. Lobby bar was only open for about 6 hours so had to use the pool bar which was crowded with guests smoking and Kids screaming in the pool. Had to ask for our bottle of cava which should have been given or mentioned on arrival. Requested a birthday cake for my partner who was 65 during the reservation state which didn't happen. Was told to buy my own cake even though I spent a fortune for the weeks stay (hotels in the Middle East and Caribbean were always willing to assist with this Birthday surprise request). We're not allowed to take food or drinks into the restaurant or take them out. Snacks at the bar were unhealthy (sandwiches, crisps, ice creams). Bar staff ignored you and served the paying guests as hotel was bed, bed and breakfast, half board, full board and all inclusive. Beer was given in small plastic glasses and paying guests were given larger plastic glasses. Entertainment was focused on the kids rather then the adults. Staff spoke very little English and the customer service from the reception needs improving. It states that the hotel is 250m from the beach but add another 250m onto that.

    It was close to the beach

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There have two turns to have dinner , but at the reception, they didn't told me anything and didn't asked me which turns I would like to have .but at the restaurant of the hotel they didn't let me in , because I was the second turn ?! So for two days I had to have dinner at 21:30-22:30! Why the stuff at the reception didn't asked me to chose ? Or she thought it's better to chose it for me?!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Warm choices for breakfast could be better. And honestly, the coffee was bad, they should invest in a new machine asap. And I'm not a fan of greasy canned mushrooms nor greasy tomatoes. However, there is a large variety of cereals, bakings and some fruit as well. So it you fancy that then it's alright.

    Location was perfect, about 2 minutes walking from the beach. The room was spatious, clean, amazing view to the sea. I wish I had a little more time to enjoy the pool and fitness facilities! But what I appreciated the most was how helpful the staff was. They have a lot of choice for breakfast if you fancy sweets in the morning. Just don't expect much appetising savoury staff and get your coffee somewhere else ;)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    they offer wifi but it doesnt work at all. the staff is not friendly. when i complained about the missing wifi and asked them a way to connect to internet they offered to cancel my reservation (at 11pm)... the room was not ready when i arrived (4pm). the room was not very clean

    nothing.. i hated the hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weren't allowed bikes in our rooms

    We stayed whilst completing a triathlon in gandia the hotel was well located nice rooms good food very clean great value

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very poor. Pool towels not available Had to pay for spa - €10. Spa needed updating Gym very dated - equipment broken and unusable

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Every thing just seemed to be on the cheap. unsuitable plastic chairs on the balcony. The web site said hard wood parquet floors, in fact it was cheaper laminate flooring, which squeaked like crazy if walked with out shoes on. Fifteen minuets into my stay, I reported problems with the bed, air conditioning and the safe in my room. Only the mattress was changed, but the bed still squeaked, the air conditioning was noisy when it started up and safe didn't work. I felt disappointed and let down.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with 2 Extra Beds (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Think there should be complimentary pool towels and a life guard at pool. Breakfast menu quite limited - would like to see pancakes and omelettes on the menu. Found silver fish in both rooms (201 and 221) Cleaning staff could have done more thorough job - very superficial clean (very quick)

    Kids loved the pool Salad buffet excellent

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought the hotel was very basic and outdated. We spent time at the bayran which had the same star rating. We enjoyed their evening entertainment and comfortable bar areas. Your had no such facility. We could not even get a coffee at 11.30 at night. I feel that your hotel was overpriced for the facilities it offered

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard beds

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, wonderful rooms, Good service

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    El wifi era horrible!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were too hard for us

    Staff were lovely and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were so old and uncomfortable. Rooms were sparse. The breakfast was awful.

    Location was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There were no Tea or Coffee making facility in the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was clean and close to the beach

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    all spanish

    food

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lot of facilities were closed for the winter.

    A comfortable hotel in a good situation, very cooperative staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff

    useless staff. tried everything to rip off customer.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    la comida

    all inclusive

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel needs a reform

    good central location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic but adequate

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa needs some maintenance work

    The general cleanliness of the hotel. Good Breafast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The wi-fi could be improved.

    Great staff, mega buffet at lunch, spa & gym, quiet rooms...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with 2 Extra Beds (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet dinner all tasted the same.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hair-dryer fitted in rooms. Cooked breakfast. Impossible at this price I know and again staff helped out.

    The staff were incredibly obliging. Unlike many venues in Spain, this hotel was WARM. Excellent value. Location excellent for town and for buses. Staff patient and obliging.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very disappointing paying extra to have the ability to choose twin or double and still ended up with a twin which we didn't want. If I knew I would have saved myself 20€

    The hotel had good view and a large, professional reception

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Check-in process took about 20 minutes after waiting 15 for previous clients in line. The clerks were unable to inform precisely if breakfast was included in the reservations. The Spa opens from 10 till 14 hrs on weekends. The publicity that the hotel does have a spa is devious.

    The value for the money and the room was clean according to expectations for a 4 star hotel.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Guests also reviewed these properties: