Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ganivet 3 stars

Toledo, 111, Madrid City Centre, 28005 Madrid, Spain

#156 of 327 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3968 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.1
    Good breakfast, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Front desk ladies should be a little more friendly with arriving passengers.

    The breakfast was good, good location, nice room and very good air condition.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable rooms, close to plaza major & tapas area of La Latina, easy walking or metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really missed a fridge in the room so we could chill our water. Staff friendly, but disappointingly didn't point out discounts and a much lower rate for 2 days on the hop on hop off bus. Pool is actually a large jacuzzi but saw this on a previous review so not disappointed.

    Liked that there was a cafe for cheaper breakfast and tea or coffee all day. Very comfy beds. Good room & bathroom. Lifts. Great location. sun terrace a bonus. Wouldn't bother with a balcony.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.3
    Nice location, not much else positive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tub was extremely high, especially for a senior citizen. No storage space. A few shelves and 6 hangers. Staff didn't note cabs etc. that they were to call and have ready for us.

    The location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel in a fab location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very good, the location was excellent, breakfast was good, the rooms were very good the roof top pool was lovely - everything was very clean - we would return.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.1
    The roof terrace and plunge pool/jacuzzi was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the beds were very firm, much too firm for my liking.

    The roof terrace and plunge pool/jacuzzi was very welcome as it was very hot during our stay (33-35 degrees). Good range of food at breakfast hot and cold, cooked and fresh.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    Madrid is charming
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room to small for three persons, lack of baggage storage

    rich and diverse breakfast, 8 min walk to metro and railway (to airport) station, close to major sightseeing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable stay. No Mini Bar, no tea/coffee maker in the room & pool were disappointments
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - No Tea/Coffee Maker in the room (and no kettle either) - No Mini Bar in the room - No double bed in the room (despite asking for it during booking) - Limited, Boring and repetitive breakfast - Swimming pool is a joke. It should be described as Jacuzzi. - elevators are hot and stuffy - Only provide complimentary water on day 1

    Location is outstanding; right in the city center and very close to the key sights of Madrid. The Air Con in the room was nice Staff at reception helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.9
    Close to hop-on hop-off bus route and a short walk from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had a funny drain smell in the morning. Mattress was too soft and the bed was squeaky.

    Close to hop-on hop-off bus route and a short walk from the royal palace. Rooftop pool was small but welcome in the August heat. Attached restaurant and bar was great for a quick snack and refreshments

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.3
    Good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    20 min. Walk to main center and market. No kettle in the room to prepare coffee. Could not sleep with open window due to the noiwe from the street.

    Friendly staff, bar at the hotel for hot and cold beverages, good variety of breakfast. Reasonable booking price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.8
    2 night break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plug was missing from the bath and the room was dark.

    Roof top terrace smaller than it looks on pictures but still modern and clean with great views

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    5.4
    Closeness to bus and metro & walk to centre plaza mayor,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having stayed here 5 times before we feel that the hotel has declined. Everything seems an effort for staff. They aren’t very warm I would say. Cleanliness of the room itself- glasses weren’t cleaned or changed. Toiletries weren’t replenished. On booking.com it asks for notes you can tell the hotel these weren’t adhered too and not taken note of!! Also the room next to ours had the most weird guests you could ever imagine including having showers at 1am and screeching /speaking at the top of their voices ruining sleep on all nights of our stay. Didn’t complain to hotel staff as they probably wouldn’t have done anything anyway going by how they were and it isn’t their fault in some respect they have ignorant and disrespectful guests!!Been in many hotels across the world and stayed in another Madrid hotel at the start of our trip this summer. They are much better. The Ganivet needs to think about it’s friendliness and cleanliness. Will be staying in the other Madrid hotel if we come to Madrid again!!(Leonardo boutique) very quiet , pleasant staff, replenished toiletries, very clean & lovely area where as Ganivet although local to places the street it’s in is a bit rundown!!

    Closeness to bus and metro & walk to centre plaza mayor, mercado, sol for shopping if interested.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Couldn't be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool a little cold 20 C but temperature out 38c

    Everything was perfect. We got an upgread for both rooms free . Rooms were clean and super comfy. Definitely value for!! Exellent stay . Defo coming back!! Love madrid . Thanks to the girls from reception for helping us with the surprise for our friend .. your the best 😍🤗

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.5
    Friendly personnel and clean room, but with no special extras, very ordinary and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better breakfast, more extras of hotel, even for those who pay 90eur per night. A night before I and my husband stayed for 90 eur in Gran Canaria for the same price , even 2 euros lower price and had a private pool with welcoming champagne and snacks and perfect breakfast. And it was located in the very south of Gran Canaria in the same city where is Maspalomas dunes and beach. It was tough to have such an ordinary room with absolutely no extras on the last honeymoon night (in both accommodations I mentioned in my special request about double bed that this is our honeymoon trip), although very clean and comfortable. Could have been great if we were provided at least with a free-of-charge champagne for the honeymoon night. But at the same time glad that my request about double room was satisfied.

    Breakfast was alright but could have been better, with more warm dishes to offer. Location was good, in the center of Madrid, close to bars and restaurants. The room was clean and comfortable, but with no extras, not even balcony. Maybe because the price was quite low (90 eur per night) for such a big city as Madrid. Very responsive and welcoming personnel, helped with arranging taxi to the airport on the next day. And also I requested a double room for our honeymoon and my request was satisfied. Thanks for that!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay. Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only slight improvements which I would have liked, would be Tea and Coffee facilities to be in the rooms, and for the TV to have at least one English channel, if only a news channel

    There was nothing not to like at the Ganivet. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast good and plentiful And the location of the hotel very good. Only 20mins from the airport and very central to the city centre

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Fab
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - such good value for money!

    The staff were so helpful and friendly when we asked them about places to eat locally, and where to go. They were also very helpful when we checked out and looking after our bags until our flight.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel from which to explore a fantastic city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I liked everything apart from the extreme heat in the early afternoon. However, the swimming pool and air conditioning in the hotel made everything bearable.

    The hotel was totally air-conditioned which was great in the hot summer. The small swimming pool was a fantastic bonus and a good place to meet people from all over the world. Our room had a fabulous terrace and the bathroom was very clean and towels and toiletries were changed every day. The bar and cafe were a good place to start the evening off with the bar staff being very professional and friendly. Madrid is an excellent city and the Calle Toledo is an excellent location from which to explore the city with the Plaza Mayor being down the road and the Retiro park and Gran Via being about a 15-20 minute walk away. The night life is fantastic and there is a whole plethora of bars, restaurants, museums and places to explore in Madrid. The Rastro Sunday market opens your eyes to the arty vibe of the city. I would thoroughly recommend a visit to the city of Madrid and the Gavinet hotel as a place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.1
    I made for this trip to Spain several bookings with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I made for this trip to Spain several bookings with different Hotels via Booking com, Always double room for me and my 16 years old Son. It seems, by (my?) mistake, there was confirmed from booking com dokument: 1 double room, 1 Person. Arriving at the Hotel, they were asking more money because of 2 person (+ 29 €?) I had a long discussion with reception lady, finally I asked to talk to the GM. I told again my opinion, that 1 double room was booked and confirmed, never mind for 1 or 2 person, should be the same price, as offered neutral via Internet. The Manager told me, each Hotel has his individual Conditions..... Breakfast was offered to be included in the booking price. (For my understanding as well for 2 Person). Finally, I agreed to pay + 25 € for 1 additionally breakfast. I was not happy about this kind of discussion and solution.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    Recommended by me 😁
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not really pick faults with the hotel. Rooftop pool area was small but I didn't use it to much to see and do.

    Fantastic location literally 2 minutes from centre walking. Good metro access (Brilliant metro system in Madrid don't be scared of it). Clean, well run, nice little bar area, brilliant staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location 5-10 minutes walk from Mayor plaza.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with parking included
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location 5-10 minutes walk from Mayor plaza. Breakfast was very good. Good quality and various. Fantastic staff. If I come back in Madrid, I will definitely stay in Ganivet hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic location wee gem in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have loved the option of having tea making facilities in room ...other than that it was a wonderful hotel

    Room ..location...staff especially Sebastian would made loads of tea 💖 Pool was plus

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location for a stay in Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in experience was quite poor, and not welcoming. However, some experiences with other front office staff was quite good during our stay.

    Great location for a stay in Madrid.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    Short but sweet. Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A pleasant stay .a cheap budget hotel. It is not fancy but it's clean,rooms are a good size. Didn't use the terrace.would definitely stay again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a time limit on use of the pool as some people sat in it all afternoon leaving no room for others.

    Excellent hotel. Convenient location, clean, loved the rooftop area with pool/jacuzzi. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    6.3
    Good location but extremely loud
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was extremely loud, rooms seemed to have very little noise cancellation and the cleaners were the worst. We were woken every morning by them laughing, joking and making noise whilst doing thier job but after being to a music festival till 5am this was far from ideal at 9am

    Location and small pool on roof top terrace

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    A very pleasant surprise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV is a bit small but good selection of channels in numerous languages.

    Spacious clean and quiet. Five star service! They work to keep the customer satisfied. Location- fantastic! Since we never ate there, we can't rate the food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    It was great!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast was not so rich. There was not a disposable slipper in the rooms. There was not any trousers hanger in the room's wardrobe.

    Central position, good air-conditioning, clean, very good wi-fi connection,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Very good stay, will choose also next time!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Small, but nice rooftop pool and sunbathing possibilities in the center of Madrid, astonishing view on the roofs of the city, convenient location, cafe with good coffee, good WiFi, generous breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    4.6
    Nice location of the property, but for Eur 135, look for a better place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The commitment from Booking.com was not honored, there was no mini bar in my room. Upon informing about the same to the reception, there was no satisfactory resolution provided. Room was too noisy and vibration from the room next to me was too obvious which majorly disturbed my sleep. All the noise from hallway was too loud inside the room. Booking.com mentioned of a 'soundproof room,' but this room was such a disappointment. Room amenities were provided only once on the first day and never again during my 4 days' stay. The swimming pool was too small, it was more of a kid's pool. I have to write more personally to Booking.com. For Eur 135 per night, I strongly feel I deserved a better property.

    The bed was nice and cozy. Breakfast was good too. Location was very good. Right opposite to the hotel was a night club which was full of youngsters and remained open until 5:30, at least till the time I last saw it open before leaving for the airport in morning. Plaza Mayor, a nice place to be out during late evening, even with kids, was very accessible by walking. Also, I found a lot of attractions quite in close vicinity. The WiFi was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    a vary good hotel close to all attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    modern hotel in easy walking distance of most major sites (10 min Plaza Major) easy car parking is a little expensive Very good breakfast Very clean and comfortable would definately stay again Easy to find with sat nav

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was extremely clean, beds very comfortable,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was extremely clean, beds very comfortable, friendly staff and in a great location, the balcony was spacious and as the rooms with balconies were on the 5th floor there wasn't too much street noise. The pool, although small was a nice place to relax and cool down. Will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel close to all major Madrid attractions!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought they were fine but my sister thought the mattresses were too firm.

    The hotel is in a great location. Close to a lot of sights to see, restaurants and public transportation to get to other parts of the city. Staff was very friendly. Check-in/check-out was very easy. The hotel itself is very clean and the neighborhood feels safe walking through.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    The perfect hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It has the best staff I have ever met in a hotel.the place is spotless the food is excellent .the location is perfect so you don't have to be getting taxi's.the beds are like you have at home.there is nothing not to like about this hotel.i would have no problem recommending this hotel to my family and friends

    There is absolutely nothing to not like about this hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    loved the hotel really good just a shame about being near cleaners didn't get much sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we where right next to the cleaners room and they woke us up without fail at 6am and where quiet in the slightest

    i loved the pool on the roof was brilliant to have a sunbathe!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    I would recommend the room with terrace in summertime. It will be nice choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could be more clean, pillows could be more comfortable.

    The location is perfect- not a noisy very center, but everything is close to the hotel. There is a nice swimming pool on 5th floor and nice terrace in a room(we ordered a room with terrace). Rooms are not big, I can tell - small for two people, but bathroom is comfortable size. Staff is polite, exclude some persons, who tried to prohobit to take away an apple after breakfast (one apple!) - it was a stupid situation. But other personal is very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.1
    Location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi. Breakfast is OK. Pool is very small.

    Location. Staff is friendly. More recommendable for leisure than for business, as WiFi is not working very well. Views from swimming pool area are very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    4.6
    The staff is very friendly.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked in an email to give me a room with a double bed , but instead i got a room with two single beds. After they send me a comfirmation that ill get that.Next day when I walked in the room the sheets were still dirty one of the beds had a sheet on it with like foot steps on it. Nothing was replaced in the bathroom. Wasn't cleaned.

    The staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.8
    Loved Madrid but would have stayed somewhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was decent.

    The bed was the worst thing I have ever slept on. Also, the floors are fake wood making it very loud. Every night it sounded like the room above us was moving furniture until about 2 am every night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Located at the historical centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located very near to the historical centre, at the Toledo Gate Square, with a metro station nearby, it offers access to all the major sights of Madrid. The room was comfortable and clean and the breakfast very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    staff and facilities made this a very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee making facilities in the room.

    Very comfortable bed, plenty of room in the room. Lovely bathroom. The proximity to sightseeing places was great, very easy to walk to all the places we wanted to see. Nice to have car parking in such a central place too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    Staff at reception were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On one day (Saturday afternoon/evening) out of our 3 days at this hotel the rooftop pool was full of boisterous children. This pool is very small (it is actually described as a jacuzzi) therefore when my friends and I were trying to relax at the pool we were continually splashed and bumped into, the children took over the pool area meaning no one else could get into the pool. Not a big deal on the whole, but just to make others aware. No English speaking channels in the rooms.

    Staff at reception were friendly and helpful. Aircon in our room was great. Rooms were cleaned to a good standard. Water cooler on each floor saved us buying bottle after bottle of water -a useful facility!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    June 2018 stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only bad experience was check in. But I'll put that down to my friend who's name the reservation was delayed so it caused some confusion.

    Great location, very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location and perfect service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went in Madrid for 4 days with our 2 twins. Everything was perfect: location (close to everything), breakfast (rich and good quality), dinner (buffet at an affordable price). The room was very big and clean and the staff was very kind with us. We had just a problem with the baby seats because there was just one and we have two babies but after a short talk with the receptionist they bought the second seat in few hours just for us. Conclusion: great place and definitely our hotel for the next stayings in this wonderful city. Thanks guys for your great job!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.8
    Great stay in madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee in the breakfast room was not very nice only had two cup during our stay. So ended up drinking fruit juice instead.

    Excellent modern hotel and room. And very friendly staff. Very nice breakfast apart from the coffee.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of it was really good and modern. The bed was a bit soft and keep sliding away while I tried to sit up to read. May be it was high season but the price per night was a bit steep for early June. I don't normally pay more than £80 per night for hotels.

    The reception was really great. They were happy to advise travel tips and patiently explain it to you. The catering staff was quick at placing up food and keeping the place tidy. You get churrus at breakfast buffet! They even have hot and cold water dispenser on each floor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    4.6
    Would not book again, would not recommend to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Low quality bedding, pillows were awful, no blankets or covers, only a bedspread that was not super clean. No coffee/tea in the common areas. There was a water dispenser, but the water tastes same as tap water (not very good) Location is OK, around 15 min walk to Plaza Mayor, Royal palace.

    The breakfast was OK and especially for the price (EUR 10 for adults, EUR 5 for children). There was bottled water in the room, very thoughtful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    4.2
    Bad, expensive, unfriendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly staff with an arrogant attitude. They don't give you soap and shampoo unless you ask for. The cleaning was disgusting, floors were dirty and they never really cleaned the bathroom, same dirt on the floor four 4 days! Too exoensive for what they offer. No worthy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Great time great place definitely worth another visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot tub was a little noisy above our room but other than that was great!

    Location was perfect, staff were great and the rooms were spotless everyday! Breakfast was lush!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was hard and pillow wasn't so good either. You can hear clearly when somebody talks out side of your room

    Breakfast was quite nice - value for money. Service was excellent - always really friendly and smily. Location really good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    The rooftop area was grand when it came to relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had an issue with food just. A language barrier where the staff didn't understand what I wanted.

    The rooftop area was grand when it came to relaxing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast was marvellous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel couldnot arrange for a cab to go to station. I had to go to taxi stand to get a cab. Though the taxi stand was near but I expected someone to call the taxi for me.

    Breakfast was marvellous. Room was quite good. While check in the lady was super efficient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    A very central hotel with friendly staff. Hotel was very clea and comfortab . we went for tennis and
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the fridge in the room was not cold enough I thought it would benefit from tea coffe facilities in the room —- a kettle

    Location and friendly staff The room was very clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location, friendly, helpful staff, safe neighborhood to walk around
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I just had knee surgery a couple of months ago & had a difficult time getting in & out of the bathtub- too high. The lights by the side of the bed were coming out of their intended place & twisting around.

    Wonderful location. Very helpful staff. Fantastic breakfast buffet- worth the extra price. Comfortable beds & pillows

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for sights, restaurants and bars. Staff were helpful and friendly. Rooms were spacious and always clean. We were lucky to have a terrace and that was worth the extra money for. Solarium was good however you needed to get there early for a spot! Would highly recommend and will be sharing this recommendation with friends and work mates.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Bury lads 50th trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not really criticise too much at all, pool a little too cold for comfort and rooms with three beds a little too tight but being picky there.

    Very clean hotel, regular maid service, good amenities. Bonus of rooftop terrace with pool. Good location on the fringes of the centre of Madrid. Friendly and helpful staff. Great value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    Meet my expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was large amounts of noise on both nights that we stayed at the hotel however it did have air con so wasn’t too muxh if a problem with the windows shut

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Was extremely happy with location and cleanliness of hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately opposite the hotel was a night club which was open every evening including Monday from around midnight until 6am. This meant constant noise especially from the smoking area which was at the front of the venue opposite the hotel

    Was extremely happy with location and cleanliness of hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location. Helpful, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facility to plug USB into the TV to watch Englush speaking movies etc. Pillows are very squishy.

    Location. We walked to most tourists sites. Lots of places to eat or buy supplies in the street. Quiet- a noisy street but the hotel soundproofing is excellent. Sorin, who worked the bar and the breakfast room was always happy and welcoming. He's an asset to this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Great, centrally located hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the pool was closed even though the temperatures reached 30C.

    The staff were friendly and helpful from reception to dining. The buffet breakfast catered to all tastes. The Ganivet is in a great location between Puerto de Toledo and La Latina metro stations but only a fifteen minute stroll from the Plaza Mayor. My second visit but hopefully not my last!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    First class breakfasts and very good food in the cafe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    First class breakfasts and very good food in the cafe. Also liked having the bath! We were five friends who all enjoyed staying at the Ganivet with friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.7
    Good if you find a good rate
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls and poor €8 breakfast buffet. We ditched the buffet after day 2 and went two blocks up the street to a bakery and got better value and taste. Most of the windows look into a bare internal patio. We had to book last minute and it was way overpriced due to the Madrid Marathon happening that weekend. We paid 5 star price for a 3 star hotel. My fault.

    The location is very convenient. Away from the MADness of Sol and Pl. Mayor but walk-in distance from them. Metro station is 3 mins walk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Romantic peaceful and full of activity
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single beds in a double room .

    The rooms where excellent apart from it been two single beds for a couple which slid apart the location was excellent And the facility's where amazing . If I was to go back to Madrid id be staying there again the staff had great English and had no problem organising taxis for us .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.0
    The location was acceptable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff looked bored and uncaring. Their answers were short as if I was bothering them. This was not a staff that reflected welcoming and warmth. They simply did the minimum job they could to get by. I was told by the front desk that this was ONLY a 3 star hotel and I should not expect a lot of services. When asked if they had a place where I could download my boarding passes, I was told to go to an internet café a block away (in the cold and the rain) We will again travel to Madrid and pitch a tent instead of staying at this hotel

    The location was acceptable. The 8.00 Euro breakfast was very good. But again, the service personnel did not even smile

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Beds were comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit hot and you can't control the air conditioning.

    Beds were comfy. Breakfast good. Location is a ten minute walk to Playa Mayor or a five minute walk to hop on hop off bus. Room was not huge, but good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.3
    a very good place to stay in Madrid for visiting the city centre
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    1) the toilet has not ventilation fan 2) the room has not electric water kettle and cannot drink tea at the room 3) the Wifi connection sometimes is not so good

    The hotel is located within 10 minutes walk to Plaza Mayor. The shopping malls, restaurant can be easily reached. The metro station La Latina is just nearyby. Further, the hotel is situated at a quiet region though it is close to the centre. Second, the desk receptionist is very nice for any help. I asked to have my room changed to upper floor upon check-in, the lady immediately made it for me. The air conditioner works very well at night. it does not feel cold with just a few degrees above zero.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.9
    Location of the Hotel was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with parking included
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was disappointing, always the same bread and cereals. The coffee was bad and cold. No variations in the fresh fruits. No yogurts available

    Location of the Hotel was very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    it was a nice hotel, with clean rooms and helpful staff. The hotel is near the city center there are lots of the top sightseeing within walking distance. Nothing luxury but nothing to complain about either. nice breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable & good value in the heart of Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a bit staid - decor a bit anonymous and old fashioned. Not a big problem though.

    The property was very well located for walking around Madrid and the metro was super close. Staff were friendly, the food was good value (had buffet breakfast and a sandwich one night at the bar). Little rooftop pool area was cute. The Calle de la Cava Baja is very close - one of the best areas in Madrid for tapas. Overall we were happy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    5.4
    Bearable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not worth the price at all, it should not be qualified as a three star hotel. They ask you to pay everything upfront so if you want to pay at the end of your stay is not possible.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    i was in Madrid for the European masters athletics hotel was near the stadium
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food not very hot iu

    Breakfast large selection and plenty of fresh fruit . Bed was comfortable , large single bed very comfortable, food could do with being a lot hotter had to ask the waitress is they could bring out some food that was hot . She did which was very nice of her . Staff behind the reception desk was very helpful so was the bar staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.9
    Comfy bed clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our party of 4 were going to have evening dinner on our last night when we arrived the dining room was closed and when we asked we were told there was insufciant reservations to open the dining room

    Comfy bed clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.8
    Excellent base for our ten day visit to Madrid while we took part in a major sports event.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    No real dislikes. We were in Madrid for the coldest March weather for 20 years, and our room was a little chilly at times, perhaps.

    Great position, close to bus and metro, and ten minutes walk away from the city centre. Superb buffet breakfast every day and a very good evening buffet available 8 to 10pm on several days in the week. Close to some very nice restaurants. Good bar, serving a variety of hot and cold snacks or light meals. Our double-bedded ground-floor room was large and adequately equipped.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    I loved the location yo public transport, the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I loved the location yo public transport, the staff were helpful, breakfast great , rooms good size and very comfortable Would go back again 😊

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    4.2
    I would not recommend anyone to stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Staff extremely rude they need to learn how to say please and thankyou. Expected to use one bar of soap to last 6 nights, no power in shower, couldnt wash my hair. Mediocre breakfast. Very overpriced.

    Unfortunately cannot find anything to say here.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Great location, ten minutes walking from Plaza Mayor and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In our room the temperature of the shower was not easy to regulate, varying from too hot to too cold autonomously.

    Great location, ten minutes walking from Plaza Mayor and close to Calle de Cava Baja, where you'll find the best tapas in Madrid. Breakfast very good. Great staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    2.9
    Horrible and dated hotel, bad odor in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the hotel is dated, decor from the 80's, when i walked into my room, i smell an strong odor, did not know what it is first, later find out from the bathroom, from the sewage. I feel hitchy too, may be bedbugs, horrible place. I cannot sleep.Do not stay there, rather go a little furthur for a more quality hotel.

    the location is convenient, close to Metro and downtown area

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Ganivet traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: