Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel GHM Monachil 3 stars

Avenida Maribel, 10, 18196 Sierra Nevada, Spain

#34 of 88 hotels in Sierra Nevada

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 969 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were incredibly nice and accommodating. Easy to talk to, even though some didn't speak as much English as others. The food was superb and although I did not really need to use a lift, I can only assume that it's gold when you have full equipment during the ski season. I think suitable for all ages!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    4.2
    Scruffy unkempt exterior
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scruffy unkempt exterior Summer camp teenagers playing football in car park No cold aircon Grout missing on floor tiles in room Scruffy, hand written signs everywhere Not much soundproofing!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Nothing flash, but a great place with a chilled feeling to it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although it was late in the skiing season, I did expect a bit more help in the ski hire shop in reception

    The buffet food was a great selection, hot and freshly cooked. The location and ski in ski out option made life very easy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    3.8
    Highly disappointed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floor was full of hair, our room was very dirty, the shower was flooding all the time because the pipes were blocked, old towels and bedsheets, worst pillows I have ever seen. It is a shame(((

    The breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    Helpful staff, direct access to slopes, clean bedroom and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside appearance looks rundown. The outside of the building needs to be painted this summer.

    Helpful staff, direct access to slopes, clean bedroom and large parking area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.8
    Simple accommodation with good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very hard to park and main car park too far away with no transport to hotel. Recommend reserving if they have space.

    Simple accommodation with good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Excellent all round helpful and very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location close to the slopes snowboard in and out great staff nice bar just generally very good place fully recommend it and we had a great room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    Hotel Monachil is the best for skiers, they feed you well, you sleep sound, and ski to the door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A pint of paint here and there will improve the look of the building. It's a traditional snow lodge, full of character, very well organised, but a bit neglected. The staff, food and location compensate it anyway.

    Food was excellent, location the best you can have, very nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location, great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was the end of the ski season so did need a spruce up in the bedroom but it was very clean and comfortable.

    Amazing location and views. Good breakfast, comfortable room - we had a suite. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.1
    Location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms should have a better lighting. Breakfast was good but the quality of the dinner should be improved. The optional parking choice should be better described during the app/web booking phase.

    Location is great! Staff very professional and very hospitable. Wonderful hotel to go to ski in a very smart way! ..only 20 metres to the ski slopes!! :-) ..you can go out the hotel, 10 sec by foot and you can ski!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.0
    Great hotel, most unhelpful reception on this occasion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The guy on reception when we arrived about 6pm 15/3/18 was about as unhelpful as he could be in raising the barrier to get into the carpark. Initially would not open the barrier when asked to from the intercom outside, even though I gave my name and reservation. He insisted that I park up somewhere, go inside and check in first. What this achieves I do not know. It happened to be snowing and blowing a gale so was actually a bit of a problem parking somewhere. I checked in, took my luggage to my room and came back down to re park in the hotel carpark. As I passed reception I asked the guy to open the barrier (which is right outside reception). He refused and said I must go outside, get in my car, drive it the 5m required to get to the intercom, get out of my car, speak on the intercom, get back in and proceed to park - again, all this in a blizzard. I calmly explained to him what he was in effect asking me to do but he still refused. It was a very unpleasant experience and if it had been our first visit to the hotel, I may not have been inclined to return. However, the rest of the staff are lovely and it's a good hotel.

    A great hotel. full of school kids normally but never a problem and gives the place a lovely lively atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    6.3
    Enjoyed stay - great resort, nice public areas in hotel. Will return to resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms a little tired & in need of refurbishment/ renewal with some sloping head height issues and hard floors. Acoustic separation to corridor areas could be better

    The public areas were well maintained and pleasant. Ski in/out potion was good. Resort great skiing and will return to resort

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.0
    Excellent value, ski in/out, super breakfast. Good quality skis for hire in hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room only had a small window and due to the excessive heating even turned off we had to sleep with the window open. Otherwise room was unbearably stuffy.

    Shower was awesome with powerful flow and plenty of room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    6.3
    Overpriced.. I'll look for another one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's SO expensive for the value it offers. I've been 4 years and I'll not get back there. Above 300 euros for a triple room with only breakfast is really overpriced. Noisy and crowded.. seems the hotel changed from family management to a tour operators..

    This is the 4rd year that I visit this hotel. Location is really good. Restaurant has a good quality/price ratio. Nice bar below... etc.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The reception staff by the name of Sara was so accommodating before our arrival that she went out of her way on a special request to her, which we were so grateful for! Our room was a suite and was so big we all enjoyed our stay throroighly. The new bar is very cosy and the staff and food in the restaurant was excellent! Great place to take your family if you want to go back to hotel, enjoy a few apres drinks, dine and not go out for evening.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.9
    excellent location close to the slope, nice apres-ski bar,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    poor internet signal in far located rooms (as at the end of a corridor) , thin walls/doors - noise for corridors at occasions, no heated storage for ski boots, you have to take it to the room, quite run-down ski storage lockers.

    excellent location close to the slope, nice apres-ski bar, very nice and helpful staff, generous breakfast with variety of choice, well heated rooms, free coffee/tea in recreation area, moderately paid car parking,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.8
    all I wished for and more
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would not regulate the heating in the room, too hot.

    The location was excelant, with friendly helpful staff. Great value for money, Buffet dinner only€12!!! all you could eat.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    GREAT STAY, LOVELY AND WARM ROOMS AND GREAT BREAKFAST
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    THE MAN WHO WORKS IN THE SPA, DIDNT WARM THE SAUNA WHEN BOOKED SO HAD TO WAIT 20 MINUTES FOR IT TO HEAT UP AND SPEANT ALL THE TIME ON THE PHONE.

    ROOMS LOVELY AND WARM, GREAT BREAKFAST, FRIENDLY STAFF, GOOD LOCATION, VERY HAPPY WITH EVERYTHING

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.3
    Really excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit out of the main town but was great value for money and actually a very good hotel with good food and facilities, restaurant, bar, games area sauna etc. The ski hire shop in the hotel had excellent quality equipment at very reasonable prices.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    Will definitely visit again soon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location with private parking provided at an extra cost but well worth it. You can finish your last ski run of the day right at hotel door step!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    Love Sierra Nevada, Great skiing, Great weather Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Arrived and room not ready which was ok however could have had more help with luggage storage. They gave us a locker key for the boot room but nothing would fit into the lockers as they were in ski bags, boot bags and cases etc. A bit stressful and hard work with the luggage Not what you need after a long journey. A bit of a trek downhill to restaurants for evening meal, harder on the way back up.

    The room was great, breakfast good, ski in and ski out was great. bar area great with great views. Staff very friendly. drinks very reasonable price. Only ate evening meal once at the hotel as it was very busy with groups and children, food was OK with a good choice.(good value at 12Euro per meal, buffet )

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are not so comfy and you will definitely need an extra pillow or two. Heating works back to front and “2” is actually off (instead of the usual “0”.)

    Dinning and bar staff were top class. Always friendly and received service with a smile. Definitely value for money if you’re not too worried about location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    8.8
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some kids noise in the corridors after 10 pm. Could start sending alerts about that to all customers.

    Friendly staff, food an breakfast, location (direct access to pist and also close access to telesilla Parador). No frills, with a family ambience.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were so ridiculously hot with no option to cool them down that we ended up sleeping with both windows wide open (it was -4 outside) and we were still sweating non-stop. In the end we ended up having 2 hours of bad sleep. Additionally, we arrived at 5.30pm and our room still wasn't ready (check in was already very late at 5pm), which was disappointing after a very long car journey.

    The breakfast was very good - lots of options.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.6
    Great value, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal was not great, the food needs to be served hotter, and was all under seasoned. The evening meal needs to be the same standard as the breakfast, we looked forward to breakfast but not dinner.

    The staff at this hotel made us very welcome, room was very comfortable. Best views in town, direct access to piste, value for money, good breakfast. We personally did not mind that there was school parties at the hotel, this added atmosphere and you really felt like you were in a ski resort. Great secure parking at 10€ per day, must be pre booked. We will be booking again for sure, bed and breakfast only next time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    8.3
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have a more comfortable bed and pillows.

    The staff was amazing, could do enough to help you, food was a buffet but really nice and good selection.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    4.6
    Direct access to the slopes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even the Jacuzzi has to be paid. The hotel shouldn't mention it has SPA when it works has a completely different business

    Direct access to the slopes

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.1
    A great place to ski
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a terrible drainage smell in the bathroom which also led into the bedroom and hallway it was very off putting, in the first 10 minutes of being there we had used half a bottle of deodorant, but then realised it was a drain issue and nothing we used would have cleared the smell.

    The hotel's location and onsite ski shop were perfect. There was lots of choice at breakfast, and the hotel bar was friendly and cosy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.5
    Short sightseeing break.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms were very hot and was not able to turn heating down. We were unable to park at the hotel as we had not pre-booked. We were not advised to do this on my booking confirmation all it said was the cost. Maybe advising people to book car park space would be good idea.

    Was basic but clean. I was not a skier so appreciate they cater for skiers.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    A fantastic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We’ve just returned from our 2nd visit to the Monachil and it didn’t disappoint. We were there over New Years Eve which they provided a superb gala dinner, which we didn’t expect. The location for ski in and out is great. The hotel has a lovely traditional ski hotel feel to it. Would definitely re visit.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    2.9
    never again, dont recomend unless youre looking for something really simple
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was awful tiny and old.. the beds were awful really uncomfortable and jumpy. We requested 1 double bed and they gave us 2 singles. The staff were really unhelpful......said hotel was full and could not help us. Hotel Parking was a 10 euro fee a day..............

    nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.1
    Enjoyed the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room provided is at the top with sloping roof, so not enough space to move around. Hotel didn't provided the room shown in website.

    Warm room, good dinner for reasonable price, good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.2
    Very enjoyable short stay at Christmas time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing major considering the price that we paid. There were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The room had a good shower but a bath would have been nice. There was no balcony on either of our rooms. Some exterior decoration and tidying required.

    Excellent location (ski in and out), beautiful mountain views, secure parking on-site at small additional cost (reservation required), warmth and cleanliness throughout, polite and helpful staff as well as a good variety of food. Reasonably priced on booking.com.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    5.4
    A hotel to get easy access to the slope, but I didn't sleep well due to nuisance all over the place
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My room was not at all noise-proof. There armchair was broke and it took me 4 to 5 time addressing the reception to make work of it. In the bathroom, I found vomit from a previous guest which I briefed the reception, but the last day of my stay the vomit was still there.

    The hotel is accessible on foot from ski resort Sierra Nevada. The staff is very tactful. The hotel offers an elaborate breakfast buffet with a great view on Sierra Nevada. There are computerised entertainment facilities and a huge sitting room with a pool table and a soccer table. I loved the sitting room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel but..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad sewer smell in first room but we changed, money issue on checkout. So had booked ski lessons for my 6y old, reception tried to overcharge me €480 above agreed price and only fixed it once I showed them my email confirming price & offered no apology whatsoever - this left a very bad taste

    Location, breakfast, spa

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    6.7
    I will have to think very seriously before booking this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of attendance to noisy large groups of drunken youths having an all night party through to the morning with no break to let other residents sleep. The night manager was clearly unaware of what was going on in and outside the hotel including on the second floor flat roof. The noisy was incredible with shouting, smoking, drinking, singing, music blaring, doors being slammed windows being opened and closed with youths jumping in and out of the windows on to the flat roof. We were on the third foor in room 324 so always ask not to have any rooms which face onto the second floor flat roof. The morning manager made no attempt to offer me any discount on my room bill as away of appologising on behalf of the hotel, for me having no sleep at all after a hard days skiing and a further days skiing to come. The hotel staff could have done more at the time to stop the drunken youths and in the morning they could have waved my bar bill to make me feel better. We stayed here two weeks prior to this current stay and rated the hotel highly. This time it was "the stay from hell". I dont know if I we will be back a third time. We are coming back to the resort in a few weeks but I will search for other places to stay. They dont answer their emails very quickly. We didnt use the ski in/ski out facility as we hired our skiis from Las Gondolas down by the telecabin station as the hotel ski hire rates were massively higher than down in the square. The rooms are far too hot.

    Located well within the resort. Its an old and somewhat tired place which brings with it a kind of charm of its own.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.5
    Lovely old chalet, amazing view form balcony, thin walls (could hear neighbours TV all night)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisey neighbours until 2.30am! ( could hear TV through the wall). Out of ski season hotel quite dead and closed. Slightly neglected all round (but charming)

    Nice old chalet vibes with wooden beams, balcony view amazing! Restaurant convenient, easy parking and access to village!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.2
    Our booking was changed to GHM Kenia Nevada, as GHM Monachil...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - beds/matress was not so comfortable - hotel is good but old, needs a refurbishment. But on the other hand it was a very fair room rate

    Our booking was changed to GHM Kenia Nevada, as GHM Monachil was closed at that time. Pros: - fair room rate including dinner and breakfast - great dinner in Restaurant next to the hotel (with voucher from hotel) - location nearby the Teleferico - free WI-Fi - big balcony with great view towards the hills

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.5
    Mas Omenos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Double bed was a bit tiny, blankets for the bed not very fresh and no cleaning during the 3 days we stayed here. Afterski, I would not called it afterski...

    Location and friendly staff. Great breakfast. Parking and lockers for our equipment! Good food and drinks

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    10
    Great family ski hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little too warm at night.

    Great hotel for kids, big areas to relax; games room lounge, bars, terraces etc all with comfy sofas and well furnished.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    6.3
    Nice friendly hotel but very basic food,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My daughter and I did not like the food. It was uninteresting and monotonous. After skiing all day you need nutritious food and fresh vegetables. I'm afraid the food was greasy, over cooked and very uninteresting. The breakfasts did not have variety I.e. Oats, nuts, seeds etc to add fibre. The fresh fruit was nice. Scrambled eggs tasted like it was made from a dry egg mix, very tasteless. We did not look forward to the meals which was a great pity. Room was ok but certainly could have been bigger, especially having to accommodate all our ski gear. Shower was great.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. I liked the fact that you could hire skis, boots and lift pass from the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    6.3
    Staff attitude at morning reception - asked for ointment for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff attitude at morning reception - asked for ointment for a minor burn - which was hurting after 9pm - staff didn't have any in first aid box and I asked for a form to make a written comment - which turned into a personal attack on why I didn't go to the 24 hour medical centre or go to the pharmacy before 8pm - which I found unwarranted. I had only wanted to comment on what a first aid box should include in a ski centre - where minor burns must be commonplace. I included the comments of the staff member then in my written comment - and the staff member then refused to continue to charge my mobile phone. Conclusion: very poor public facing skills. Staff attitude of evening staff on the other hand was very helpful. So I guess - it is down to trying to train ALL staff on the correct way to deal with the public.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    6.7
    ok for a one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are in need of renovation and are very basic. Beds and pillows are hard and uncomfortable. Bathroom is tatty and the shower tray filled up when you stood in it, to the point of overflowing. We had to leave the hotel at 7.45am, before the breakfast buffet opened at 8am, so the hotel prepared some takeaway bags. (wasn't very appetising... but good of them to make them for us)

    The hotel is inexpensive and is ok for a one night stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    7.5
    ski center staff great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    not great if you want to go into the village in the evening.

    ski center staff amazing. The hotel was value for money. It was a bit aged but the bar and buffet were very good value. Staff very helpful, Great to ski straight from the hotel to the lift but

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    7.1
    2 visits but won't be returning again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ive stayed here on 2 separate occasions just to get 2 days of skiing - that really was enough for my husband and myself. Staff very good but all else very poor in afraid - tired and dated - way too many kids, wish i'd known this prior to booking. Room small and needed repairs and the decorating actually finishing! Stuffy even with no heating on and window open Unless you leave the 'No Cleaning' sign on the doors the cleaners will arrive, literally, just after you return from the slopes!! Noisy youngsters (school ski parties) roaming the hotel running/setting fire alarm off during our stay) Too many 'idling' at breakfast when your in a rush to hit the slopes. Staff do their best to clear tables in order for the service to work 'Hot' option always luke warm

    Ski to door (providing there's enough snow) Helpful staff (lift passes/boot hire/locker hire/parking) Friendly bar staff Parking/ski/locker hire at very competitive prices Good selection at breakfast (although barely warm) Drinks in the bar reasonably priced with great music inside and out-great place to watch the sun go down! Fab views! Plenty of hot water Bed very comfortable after removing its 'topper'

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    5.4
    Inexpensive hotel in Sierra Nevada
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms need updating. Bed and pillow not very comfortable. Location is fine if you have a car but quite a distance from centre if you are walking.

    Inexpensive hotel in Sierra Nevada, so for a short stay is ok

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    7.1
    Nice place for the money basic but good standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Friendly staff, good food at bar, good choices buffet breakfast, great spa 45 euro for 55 min massage! Ski in ski out not for novices. You can get a lift down into centre but this shuts at 5pm so a 7-8 min walk up stairs but works off dinner. Buzzing centre lots of bars & restaurants - good apres ski. Ski passes arranged at hotel and a ski hire/lessons also.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    3.3
    Wouldn't stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel looked like it hadn't been refurbished for decades. Room was basic - no safe or minibar/fridge. No drawers to put anything in. Maid came to clean the room and make the bed at 5.15pm. Buffet dinner was lacking in choice. Hotel full of school parties. Paid nearly £200 a night for what was a shabby boarding house!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    3.8
    Ease of access to the slopes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was very run down, poor finish and broken decor throughout. Several school trips booked at the time of our stay, very noisy, paper thin walls.

    Ease of access to the slopes.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    9.2
    We booked our ski hire, ski lessons, and purchased our lift...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    You need to be a competent skier to ski door to door.

    We booked our ski hire, ski lessons, and purchased our lift passes in advanced from the helpful staff, they also organised our transfer to and from Malaga airport which was much cheaper than I could have organised myself. The food was lovely, lots of choice for all the family.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    8.8
    Super hotel for family and really good for ski
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Perhaps the bed are not super confi.

    The included breakfast and dinner were excellent. We initially got a very small room, which i did not reserve, but after speaking with the reception they solved the problem promptly and with kindness. Very nice and helpful all the time!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    9.6
    good location, friendly staff, nice and warm hotel, booked to next year already
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    breakfast!!!! was adequate but they need to stock up on english tea bags and cut down on the greasy sausages!

    great position, clean, friendly staff, nice and warm too.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    8.3
    A very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food at breakfast and Dinner was superb, however we, my family and friends also with us, all thought that the food was not hot enough. The food, both presentation and variety was very good but let down though not being hot. Such a shame after all the hard work the chefs had gone to. The Bar staff a little slow, although very pleasant.

    Very good selection and the staff were always refilling the dishes and making sure everything was available and well presented. Location excellent, although a little muddy getting to the slopes through the car park.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    6.7
    The bed was very good and the staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was poor quality : bad coffee, bad orange juice, .... Dinner should start earlier.

    The bed was very good and the staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    7.1
    Sun snow and walking ?
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far from the slopes no courtesy bus to get back to the hotel from the square where most restaurants and night life are 1 an hour would be good up to 11 or 10.30 even would be good

    Good food quick lifts

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    7.1
    A good location for most if you can ski otherwise hire ski equipment from the bottom
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needs a good update and the toilet in 209 has a real problem with the smell

    Good location if you are a good skier otherwise a long walk carrying your ski's back to hotel

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    2.9
    Awful, overpriced, outdated hotel with 'couldn't care less attitude'.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Where to start? This hotel desperately needs a makeover- both physically and in it's customer approach. Awful small room, metal beds, cheap blankets and dirty bathroom, shower in cubby hole with no light and mouldy ceiling. Outrageously noisy school party of teenagers put into adjacent rooms who 'took over' dining room etc. Reception staff who were happier chatting to each other than serving customers and when they did had no answers to reasonable questions. No information in rooms about how anything worked, heating not able to be adjusted so swelteringly hot at night. Wifi snail paced if it worked at all. Broken doors and lockers in ski room. Ski in- ski out access to slopes totally unrealistic unless you are a black run skier happy on ice and definitely not ski out. Access to main lifts 700m away downhill (fun in ski boots!) is by busy two man chair which doesn't run if it's snowing! Buses - staff couldn't tell me if or when they would run but probably 'not in the snow'. The electronic games room of half broken machines will tell you more than I can... We left a night early, fed up with it all and were not even asked why and all for the privilege of 155 odd euros a night. Make no mistake this is a money machine trading on some past glories, in the wrong part of the town for skiing access, run by a team who don't really care.

    The breakfast buffet was voluminous if not great quality. Lots of hot water. Very pleasant bar girl in mostly empty Apres Ski bar.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    7.5
    Expect a 3-star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air was very dry! The door to the hallway didn't fit properly, so it was very noisy and very difficult to sleep. The dinner only started at 2000, and after a long day of skiing, you would want to have a relatively early dinner and get early to bed.

    The restaurant was very spacy and the selection of food was good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    6.7
    Good location, food needs some TLC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet, did not see enough fresh food come out to replace empty dishes. This also goes for the breakfast. I think more effort could have been made to accomdate different nationalities.

    The bar was very reasonable priced. Had great views from are room. Room was clean and warm all times.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    4.6
    Not worth the money (375 E per night)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With very small efforts this hotel could do better. Better pillows, better meal info in the room, no empty minibar (it is not an apartment), no obligation to check and only then open the parking (you don't leave people waiting). The hotel has a lot of wear and tear and needs upkeeping. In the apres ski, switch on the large screen consistently, put on the fireplace consistently, clean tables quicker, take orders quicker. The hotel needs to invest in a supervising manager looking after the overall quality and client satisfaction.

    Good breakfast and fast working service in the diningroom/ comedor.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    6.7
    Great location for the slopes!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Starting to look very tired and tatty in places, a bit odd as it was end of January and season about to start !

    Breakfast choice was good. Great location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    7.9
    Would return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location not good for my non skiing wife, rooms a little jaded,

    Location great for Skiing, Staff especially in Restaurant, good supply of hot water, on site Ski and boot storage in the warm.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    10
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing

    This was probably one of the best hotels that I have stayed in for the cost paid. The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was good quality, hot and plentiful and the prices for other things in the hotel were sensible. The hotel organised the ski hire and ski passes, so in reality there was no reason to leave the hotel other than to ski. Even this was made easy by the access point straight on to the slopes. Great value for money.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    3.8
    Very poor overall and very disappointing = (
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at reception were very badly trained and very unhelpful. We booked a double bed room and were given 2 singles pushed together and 2 single duvets and sheets etc. This was very inconvenient for a couple on their anniversary holiday. The beds we also very uncomfortable and the room was absolutely boiling with no way to turn the heating down. We really struggled to sleep and whenever we did we were woken by loud noises in the corridors because the doors were not sound insulated and there were large gaps beneath the doors. The TV did not work properly and there was no kettle or any tea or coffee making facilities. Thwre was only 1 bedside table which was falling apart. Although the maids had done a good job of trying to clean the room was so dated and falling apart(broken tiles etc) that it was impossible to make it fully clean. The buffet style meals were ok but there was no free water so any drinks were extra and there were groups of very noisy school children shouting during mealtimes. For the price we paid I felt that we were overcharged and as regular visitors to Sierra Nevada we have stayed in far more pleasant hotels for a similar price or less. Generally we are relaxed Nd can accept that everything cannot always be perfect but this was frankly very bad.

    The cafe and bar staff were very pleasant and I feel like they would have been a far better choice to work on reception than the ones that greeted us so poorly when we arrived.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    8.3
    the view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    bed comfort puddings Not being informed about the presence of a large group of children on an activity group in advance.

    the view public rooms location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    6.3
    We had a nice time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was of a good size but the sofa bed was not suitable four adults being in a room may be better to have single beds instead. The location to far to walk with your equipment to the nearest chairlift.

    The staff were helpful the ski hire shop easy to deal for the ski equipment nothing was a problem .

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    7.1
    Very basic 'hotel'
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel/restaurant is really a hostel/buffet. There were about a hundred school children eating between 8 and 9 o'clock. The noise horrendous. Got bumped into several times. Lesson one, eat after 9pm, lesson two, better still, eat out. Food basic, but good value for money.

    Spacious room, if a little tired. Heating good. Beds very comfortable. WIFI excellent. Ski in ski out also excellent.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    10
    Great place for skiers to stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I didn't have enough time there

    The hotel is in an excellent location fro skiing as it is on the edge of one of the slopes so it is possible to ski in and out of hotel car park

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    4.6
    Not happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced,not clean enough, just a basic room, very small and nothing complimentary. Location not ideal uphill 15 minutes walk from centre..not at all convenient if you want to go skiing as you have to go down to the centre anyway to take the gondola up to the mountains

    Good things were the ski rental and training shop on the hotel premises. The breakfast was great and the inhouse cafe and bar was good value for money

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    8.3
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds are a bit uncomfortable.

    The staff was really helpful at all times, we had a problem with the reservation and the receptionist solved it the best way.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    5.4
    Lots of steps
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The scrambled eggs could have been warmer! Having never been to the resort I was expecting the ski lift to take you up the mountain, when it does in fact take you down to the main lift. I was also expecting a superb location and it is, if you don't mind lots and lots of stairs. The hotel is quite far from the town.

    There was a great selection of food at breakfast. All fresh & just what was required. 10/10. The hotel was also very clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    6.3
    A good enough hotel but parking was a real problem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not enough staff at reception. Tried to prebook parking but was told this was not possible, then there was no parking available when we got there. Impossible to get a space anywhere near the hotel.

    Good breakfast. Good common areas.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Great stay to extend the ski season.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location and facilities with good access to the ski slopes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn’t quite a ski in ski out, specially for beginners

    The hotel was great, I would definitely stay there again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.7
    Noisy school kids everywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy school kids everywhere. No supervision.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: