Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel 4 stars

Las Margaritas, s/n, 35100 San Agustin, Spain

#23 of 49 hotels in San Agustin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1390 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you love fish, great place to go. Do not go if you like pork, chicken, turkey etc. As each one seems to circulate every 10 days. If you go to the big pool, stay away from the bar area, you get a smell of sewage every minute and a half (yes, I counted it). Bit of a walk to the beach. About 15 minutes. Thought it would have been closer. The hotel is situated on a relatively steep hill. So people with walking problems might struggle.

    The pool was nice. As were the staff. The rooms were clean and tidy. And the sea view was quite good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A lot of extras not clearly described on the original booking. Safe cost 20 euro, Towel rental, if you wanted to use the top floor sun bathing area this came at an additional 20 euros, indoor pool came at a cost also.

    Breakfast was excellent every morning, staff where always very helpful and pleasant. Entertainment by the pool was funny. Several shops/pubs/restaurants is 5 mins walk away and local towns a 5 minute taxi costing 5-8 euros or 1.50 on the local bus

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast food was just okay, mould on the pineapples skins, not much variety. Had to go and get coffee yourself out of machine, I felt for this sort of price it should have been brought to the table in a pot. Drinks very expensive if you are b and b only. Irish prices. Entertainment was not great. Had to pay 50c to change towel, this hotel is a money maker and not much is for free everything extra.

    Staff were ok, nothing special just normal. Clean and spacious bedrooms, water left in room daily which was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service was outstanding. The staff were very friendly and always happy to help. The hotel was spotless, toilet cleaned constantly throughout the day and the rooms cleaned every morning. We paid 1500 for a family of four all inclusive money well spent. My 4 year old daughter spent most of her days in the pool or kids club. Definitely will be returning in the future

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I travel every month and by fat this hotel was amazing I'll surely be back

    It had everything u possible need and the staff couldn't have being anymore helpful and polite they were excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t fault this hotel! Just came back from a fantastic week with friends & family. Staff can’t do enough for you & the hotel facilities are fab. Perfect for families. Will definitely be returning

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a little out of the way, nowhere to have a little walk on an evening.

    All the staff from reception to room cleaner were very helpful and pleasant. We had a lovely welcome from Cassandra on reception when we arrived and if we needed anything Maru our room cleaner was there to help us. We never saw a sad face on any of the staff they were all so lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was given a 7th floor sea view, but WiFi signal poor and could not sit on the balcony without extra clothing due to the high winds. The hotel location is on a bit of a steep hill. Not enough english labelling on the meals. So it's a bit of a gamble as to what your eating. I found the beds a bit too firm.

    Rooms clean, Free coffee/tea making facilities, mini fridge. Restaurants provide a good variety of meals. Hotel provides a free shuttle bus to maspalamos and playa del Ingles which we made good use of most days.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had pool view which ment we could watch evening entertainment from our balcony. Staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. Upgraded to all inclusive at hotel and they gave us complimentary drink and lunch on last day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel had amazing facilities and it was definitely worth going all inclusive! The views were amazing and they had entertainment in the evening time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Struggled to communicate in English with reception staff. There were no indoor pools for children. The water in outdoor pools was very cold. Comparing this hotel to the others we have been to, it was OK, but not great.

    The room was spacious and clean. The beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food. Not enough english dishes. No children eating area like the other 2 gloria palaces we have been 2 on the island. We could no swop dinner for lunch like we was told we could when we checked in. I had to pay for my towles as the receptionist made a mistake. The entertainment is the same every time we go. We go about 3 times a year.

    The rooms where really nice and big

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We topped up by purchasing an evening meal. The price wasn’t consistent each time. Cocktail bar slightly on the high side.

    Food and facilities to a very high standard. Staff also friendly and eager too please.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike , very clean , helpful staff

    Superb hotel. Food was fantastic and the hotel itself was lovely. Quiet location with the water park just 10 minutes away by taxi

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The raw material used for the food at the restaurant was poor and can certainly be improved. However there was really a wide variety of dishes both at lunch and at dinner, so it definitely was not a big problem. Furthermore, my girlfriend can only eat gluten free food and she was also pretty satisfied.

    The pool and animation by the pool was excellent. Very nice atmosphere and very kind and helpful staff, speaking all languages.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Evening entertainment poor considering the size of hotel.

    Staff were attentive, professional, and very helpful if there were a problem. Good and wide variety of choices for breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa was terrible......no communication pre treatment, on arrival for treatment no communication as to where to change wait etc, no relaxation area post treatment or even the offer of a cup of water after a 90 minute treatment......vast improvement required in that area.

    Breakfast selection was good, lunch was ok but I would not pay for the evening meal.....not good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a twin room even though booked and had payed more for a double room. (spoke to reception but told this was correct). When we arrived, the floor seemed dirty. One day there were no towels, another no soap. Reception took an hour to deliver towels. The food was sometimes only warm. The extra effort put in on “survey day” was embarrassing. We bought a bottle of wine for 24 Euros at dinner, but as we are not big drinkers 1/2 the bottle was left. There was no system to store the bottle until the next day and we weren’t allowed to bring it down with us the next day. The beds would have been comfortable had they not had plastic sheets on.

    A good selection of food, some cooked fresh on the grill. The fresh Chinese Food was especially good. Breakfast selection very good. Lovely upper sun terrace, but an extra 8 euros a day. Flowers around hotel pretty. Staff mainly pleasant and helpful. Free bottle of water each every day was very good. Hotel sheltered from the wind and has full sun during the day. The balconies are shaded.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 13 nights

    There was nothing which we dislike at the hotel.

    We have very often stay at 4 stars hotels but Gloria is on the top of our memory. We could easily recommend to stay at Gloria Palace.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel is on quite a steep hill and a little bit out of the resort - somebody with mobility difficulties may struggle. We didn’t see any of the entertainment or use the bar area. Had to pay an extra £130 for an upgraded room with a sea view

    I lost my mobile phone and the staff were very helpful phoning the airport & helping me find it staff made a good job at valeting our room. Good choice of food. Comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing quite honestly . We commented on a questionnaire that our beds weren't that terribly comfortable and the next day new mattresses were placed on our bed !!!!

    Loved everything about this hotel . Staff always smiling , helpful - at reception , restaurant , bars, housekeeping - they are all so happy and ready with an Ola !! The food is excellent . Being a vegan/vegetarian there were delicious choices for me at every meal and I didn't even need to inform hotel of dietary needs . Our children loved the pizza and my husband thought the fish was beautifully prepared . The children's club was very relaxed - drop in and out and our 5 year old daughter popped in to cool off during the day and at night - the staff were fantastic with the children . I had a massage and my husband and I spent a couple of hours in the thalassotherapy poops which costa €29 for 2 hours but is so worth it . Relaxing water jets for each part of body , even feet ! left us feeling very relaxed . Pedro at the pool bar and Eduardo in the restaurant shone out but as I said - all of the staff were superb , including the manager Carlos . We upgraded to all inclusive from half board on arrival which was a good decision and great value for money . Be careful when booking to ensure you book a sea view room as these are much nicer . We thought we had booked one but the manger kindly assisted us to move into one of these rooms on our third day of holiday . Mini disco was great and entertainment good , the dancing shows were definitely the best, flamenco dancers super and Vie en Rose singers who were outstanding .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The reception area could be bigger and the staff more helpful as there always seemed to be a queue to speak to anyone and the staff were rarely able to solve a problem!

    We were upgraded to the family suite which was very big with 3 rooms and 3 bathrooms and 3 balconies with amazing sea view which made our stay very comfortable for a family of four including two teenagers and allowed them a bathroom each! The breakfast buffet is very impressive with everything you could possibly want. The sunbeds were very comfortable and our teenagers really liked the big round ones located above the pool area where it was more private and peaceful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The buffet food was great. Staff were almost all wonderful. The spa was fab as were the round leather sunbeds! Water in the room everyday was a real bonus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    limited parking. The only people that spoke English were the Dutch interns! The heated pool was cold! The floor numbering system was dumb. I saw a cockroach on the 11th floor. The wind was so strong every day. The only elliptical machine was broken in the gym all week.

    The entertainment every night was nice to have. Free parking. The rooftop was fun and nice. The manager specials were nice to have. The gym was good. The Dutch interns were great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I suggest to have a part of the area as completely non-smoking, as it is very unpleasant to stay closed to smokers, and have the stay and fresh air all spoiled by the smoke. I also consider that you can reduce significantly the running water costs, by reducing the pressure in the pipes, in the rooms.

    Generally, we enjoyed the one week stay there, as we returned after 3 years.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to ask 4 times about WiFi in our room that was not working. The hair dryer was also not very good which we informed reception staff of a number of times, were told we would have new one but one didn’t come. We also had to request our room to be cleaned once as it hadn’t been done. We were also told the room was ready for us but when we went to the room but it wasn’t.

    We liked the selection of breakfast and the pool, amount of sun beds and the staff around the pool. The location was good to! The mojito man was great! The size of the room was also good and on the whole clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you get family room - there will be lots of noise in the morning sometimes.

    Amazing food, great location, lots to do, nice spa area. Pool towels are free by the way, they take only a deposit. Totally recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Excellent hotel, lovely rooms, wonderful facilities including pool and spa. Food selection was one of the best I have seen. Staff were always willing to help. Lovely location in San Augustin - a nice family friendly area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Library should be more visable and consequently more people would use it.

    Selection of food excellent as one of us is a ceoliac we needed to be careful but no problems. Staff very friendly. Facilities excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay for a dated and dirty thalasso spa, lack of communication and being asked to review every service, food, staff, at the entertainment evening a member of staff walked round with an I pad with review options and approached everyone to press which face represented like or dislike, no pressure then!! At breakfast one morning a woman walked round the whole dining area which is huge asking for people to fill out review forms, which as I was half way through my breakfast I did not appreciate as usually you receive them in your rooms to fill in before you depart. The staff, especially in the dining Room are amazing and very polite and helpful, however we feel let down in a few areas of this hotel and would not return.

    The location is good, the staff are friendly, the hotel is huge and needs some updating, the view from our 8th floor room was great and the roof top terrace is amazing with chill out tunes, bar, pool and amazing view, you have to pay 8 euros each which is well worth it, however on our 3rd day there, we only found out hearing a member of staff telling another couple that included in the 8 euros was a bottle of water and a glass of prosecco each, so we weren’t impressed with that, we had lunch one one occasion and the staff got everyone’s order wrong, after I received the wrong salad twice I left it and we didn’t pay. You have to pay for the thallasso spa which I have never experienced at many of the 4/5 star hotels we have stayed at all over Europe , we did pay a visit one afternoon which is a reduced fee, we were not impressed it was dirty and dated. In our opinion there is room for improvement in may areas of this hotel, however we made the best of the great weather and found our own fun.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everything about our holiday was perfect. Everyone was so helpful. The food was varied and of a high standard. Entertainment good Great holiday thanks

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very slow check in! And check out.Apparently new computer system and staff unfamiliar! Traveled with 2 friends and we wanted to divide bill x 3 but were unable to do so. One person had to take hit, no funds left in account after! Difficult for bed and breakfast clients to get food/sandwich without paying €19 for buffet lunch!

    Room was lovely, generally staff lovely. Roof top chill out bar fab...staff, food and particularly coffee! 😀.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    15 mins from beach and incline on return towards end which may not suit everyone. Communication could have been better at times. We arrived on Thurs and paper info not send until start of following week. Had to rely on touchscreen displays. Events did not always take place. Salsa lessons could have been cancelled in advance as they had no teacher. Also probably due to a lack of younger residents at that time. Spa lacks a proper intro. We had a treatment p!us use of sauna and spa. After the treatment we were left on our own and in quite a big area not told where to go, or what to do. Be careful in pool as different"stations" can have raised walls in the water which you don't always see. Not really for swimming in. Big hotel so you hope you don't get noisy neighbours, although reception will sort it out if you have issues. Wouldn't say walls are thin but you can hear things. Breakfast good but not sure if I would want buffet type food every lunch and dinner. We paid just for b&b although half board was not much extra if pre booked.

    Beds comfy and rooms spacious. Choice of breakfast. Excellent staff. Nice views from hotel (on 4th floor of 9). Air con for hotter times (we didn't use it). Safe in room although you have to pay for it. Chill out area on top floor, but have to pay for it (although we did get a voucher for one day) or can go up for drinks, snacks or meals. There is a free separate area for naturists! Teas and coffees in room, although milk not replaced, but there is a fridge. Bottles of water supplied each day and a bottle of wine on arrival. Free shuttle buses to nearby resorts each day. There is a car park which can get busy, but there are other areas to park for free nearby. You can hire a car from hotel. Friendly guy there each day from 8 to 12. Good idea to check car before you accept it as some better than others. Cars get a hard time there with winding mountainous roads but would recommend at least one day to travel up north, just try not to do the whole island in one day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not quite as grand as the Gloria Palace Amadores or as good. Entertainment was only Ok, food was not as good either. On arrival room wasn't cleaned properly. We made a complaint and it was fine for rest of week. Air conditioning leaked but was fixed next morning. Would have liked a better view for the money we paid. Most of the desk staff were trainees & were unable to efficiently help the customers making the Qs at front desk impatiently long.

    We have been to Gloria Palace Amadores & loved it. Could not get it at the right price so tried this instead. It's fairly top of the range the reason we went for it. Had entertainment, gym, pool, sunbeds, chillout rooftop area, half board, near beach, shops & other resort's to visit nearby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Reception desk was extremely slow to deal with check in and check out. I also had a few queries during the course of the week at reception and service is very very very... slow. At one stage there were 8 people behind the desk and only two customers being dealt with. Reception staff are very friendly and helpful but quiet young and need a lot more training in efficiency and speed as it seems to take two or three people to deal with simple queries.

    breakfast and lunch excellent. Dinner was a bit repetitive. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are big and airy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel appeared dated and differed from the description I thought. It seemed overpriced, as I was under the impression that the spa was included with the room but turned out to be an additional 48€.

    Parking available

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Sun bed cushions were continually left out in the rain and were unusable on the following day . I would recommend they be removed from the Sunbeds when rain is forcast and stored inside . This was the only downside to our visit but it was an inconvenience .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived they expected only 2 adult and they would have more money as we came together with our daughter. Luckily we had a copy of the receipt. Bad internal communication at reception as the several times ask us for more money.

    We had online Breakfast included as we only stayed in the hotel in the daytime. Had our dinner on a restaurant or at our balcony with panorama view👍🏻The breakfast was excellent with homemade omelet and homemade juice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed comfort could have been better. Few things like dental kit & hair conditioner could have been included in toiletries.

    The location of the property and the view from the balcony were amazing. The breakfast buffet had various range of options to choose from. It was delicious & complete.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a steep climb up the hill into the hotel, the spa was extra, not many bars nearby for nightlife, pools not heated

    Champagne on arrival, the spa, lovely food and beautiful room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Staff were always happy to help - with a smile. Hotel was extremely Clean. Lovely pool area and all guest areas. This really is one to go back to.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing - We can't wait to return.

    When I informed them that my bed was not comfy, I was unexpectedly provided with a new memory foam mattress. Very impressive. Staff are great, especially the animation team!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact hotel charge for use of safe and towels and also charge you if they are dirty and need to be laundered - spa facilities way overpriced - £24 euros pp per day - after six it's half price also booking with a third party and not the hotel direct you don't get the same privelages as mentioned above - but thank you booking.com for your quick response to my emails and and hep No tea or coffee after dinner - need to pay for this Adult chill area is great but again having to pay £25 euros to sit on a subbed in the roof top way over the top Although staff were friendly and helpful quite slow at check in due toninly two members being there although we seen more going into another office but got there with a little patience

    All staff were friendly and hotel was really clean was quite easy to get to the wee shopping area not to far a walk and really easy to get buses to different places - hotels shuttle bus to playa de ingles and maspalomas was great but times could have been better

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When booking, it is not made clear that standard rooms don't have sea view, but are actually located on a lower level. We asked for an upgrade and were given, free of charge, a family room with a view to a well-kept garden.

    Excellent service, well trained staff. The variety of food is exceptional and the facilities are of good quality. Our room was comfortable and we were very well cared for by the staff whenever we needed. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room exceeded expectations, large, spacious and clean and having two bedrooms such a bonus for two friends travelling together, having a room each was just fantastic .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    We got the courtesy bus into Maspalomas on 2 occasions during our stay and intended getting the 16.00 hrs. bus back to the hotel and on neither occasion did this bus turn up and we were left waiting one hour until the 17.00 bus arrived. Complained to reception on both occasions but got little satisfaction and don't believe anything was done about it.

    The bed was very comfy and great variety of food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The games and activity area outside is noisy and rooms overlooking this area are best avoided. We complained and were moved to the quiet side without fuss. The dining room can be very busy and chaotic and you learn to choose the quieter times. Good range of foods although some of the hot dishes on display were often just tepid. In fairness there was always chefs cooking meats and fishes to order to provide hot and fresh meals. Whilst the hotel has a great range of facilities I do think the pricing of the therapy centre is excessive so look out for the special deals on offer.

    Great location just short ten minute walk from beach and shopping centre and the wonderful long coastal promenade. However it's a steep walk so maybe not suitable for some. The spa and therapy pools and chill out area on the roof are a bonus but come as extra cost so you have to factor that in. Superb pool area and no problem getting beds. Special mention for the staff who were really helpful and obliging in sorting out issues.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Aditional parking area could be better signalled but other than that cannot fault them.

    We had a really nice stay. Nice reception with a welcome drink. Room was clean and spacious with a good sea view from the balcony. Complimentary bottle of sparkling wine on the first day. Great buffet breakfast with a lot of variety. Buffet dinner was good too although we only had it once. Complimentary bus to Playa del Inglés and Maspalomas. Staff was always nice and helpful. The pool areas were also nice with sea water and no chlorine. Hotel is in a quiet resort but 5 minutes walk from a shopping area with a Spar minimarket and several restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need to pay everything extra. Indoor pool, cheers on roof pool, saunas. safe box and tovels if you booked via booking.com . If you booked on hotel web site you get some of that for free. Only old people in hotel

    Rooms were big and clean, staff was helpful and friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super uncomfortable beds- afrer two days I was considering sleeping on the floor, in the Thalasso swimming pool they force you to put plastic bag on your head- this is not how I imagine relaxing time in a SPA, rooms quite old,

    Food, staff of the restaurant, nice swimming pool zone although a bit small for such a huge hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were charged €172.00 for a New Year’s Eve party we didn’t attend, as we were told we need to make a reservation. Upon checkout, we were informed that it was stated in the terms and conditions of our stay when booking the hotel on this website. As you can imagine we had a flight to catch, so we had no time for disputes! When I arrived home in the UK, I checked the terms and conditions and OH! nothing.... So basically I was made to pay for a service I was not provided with and I was also lied to. Great experience! I will never visit this hotel again, and I shall never use booking.com to book a hotel online again Happy New Year! Mr F D’Antonio

    Very clean,very friendly staff with lots of activities for children . Shame we were charged €172.00 for a New Year’s Eve party we didn’t attend as we were told we need to make a reservation.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were some problems with Checking in and checking out so it longer than it should have but were resolved right away.

    The resort is big but it has plenty of things for guests to do. The family rooms are conveniently located next to the pool area. The location is good as it was away from the larger crowds but you can easily take the shuttle to Maspalomas. We rented a vehicle only because it's always easier for our family. The kids had so much in the pool and meal options were great! Would recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    When booking through booking.com, they give you and impression your room should have the lowest standard. The room was a bit unfresh, and in need of an upgrade. You need to pay for everything extra (towels, sunbeds in the chillout area, safe in the room..) After the 3rd day guests with a dog moved in to the room next door. The dog barked a lot and we heard it too well in our room, but when we complained we were moved(!). As we had to move, we asked for an upgrade, but then we would have had to pay 15 EUR extra. We found this solution very strange. Once we ordered room service, and even though it was very clearly informed about food allergies, the food was still served with items containing these ingredients. In general the staff came across as a bit ignorant. It took 4 calls to the reception to get an extra mattress for the bed.

    The pool in the SPA was nice, and the chillout place at the roof top.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It's touristic (if you like to feel authentic Gran Canaria, go to some finca, we have been there too;) & mostly a senior choice, this hotel - it's up to you if you are OK with it or not - there are no "hard parties all the night", but Abba and other hits are playing by the pool anyway:D All is slower and calm, but in fact, I feel more safe here! Btw. Skandinavian people are lovely to speak with!:) Cleaning service or whoever were making noise with carts and loundly speaking early mornings (I didn't mind but my father was awake by the noise and said there should be soundproof door at least, You have to pay extra for a freshly pressed orange juice if you want it on the breakfast? Or have I misunderstod the offer board in front of the restaurant - I don't get it, some other 4* hotels have this option normally included... even though there are orange trees almost EVERYWHERE in GC... this is the only point that dissapointed me... haha, big deal, our holiday was great anyway:))

    Food... it was (hopefully I use the right word) fattening :D We were half-board and it was enough, we didn't even need something like a lunch, only a snack/ice cream while travelling through the island we got the way somewhere - in this hotel there is a huge variety of food but Gloria Amadores Thallaso (a "sister hotel" in Puerto Rico nearby) has even more variety of food (not saying San Agustín has little:)) I personally appreciate fish and fruit choice and "internatinal corner" - Greek/Canarian etc. cuisine every day different, Coffee & tea facilities free in the room! Swimming pools - even in December the water was great to swim! The cleaning lady in our room did a perfect cleaning and was always politely greeting us with a smile (as well as in the restaurant) Complimentary bottles of water every day, Parking lots in the hotel area, there are few, but if you don't find a place late afternoon, there is a possibility to park nearby on the street, Live music both outside in the evenings and during dinner sometimes

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    -No drinks included in the dinner. Not even tee or coffee. -Our beds were two separated beds slipping from each other easily. (we didn't ask to change it) -Not so close to the sea. (but it resulted in a better view) -The shows in the evening were held indoor in a badly suited room. Not possible to enjoy the shows as much. (This was late at December) -There is no inside pool included. The pictures show one, but that is part of the SPA.

    Good service and friendly staff. Very good food. Great view. Pretty good facilities. Nice shows in the evening.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very comfortable, clean , large and cheerful bedroom, balcony and bathroom. Excellent breakfast with very friendly and helpful staff. Rocio on the Reception Desk was particularly friendly and helpful. The hotel swimming pool, spa and entertainment facilities really made for a special stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were cycling and the facilities at the hotel are superb (Free-Motion branch situated in the hotel itself, with secure garage parking etc). There is endless food and the beds are comfortable. It is hard to fault this hotel for the price. It is not high end luxury (maybe it was 20 years ago), but it is comfortable, clean and very well looked after. The staff are absolutely excellent - from the cleaners, to bar staff to Reception to waiters. All very happy and keen to do a great job. third visit for us - hard to imagine we'd stay anywhere else when visiting GC to cycle

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t like the daily activities of the activity staff. It didn’t match the ambience of the hotel or the demographic to have whooping individuals bouncing around in the peaceful setting. I get that they were trying to encourage people to take part in aqua aerobics etc but it seemed a bit of a mismatch and became quite annoying

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, very clean rooms and the spa was amazing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff, the key wasn't working for 8 hours and I didn't access to my room, I was keep asking them to fix the key lock but there were just ignored it. Never will go to that hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door keys were very temperamental, we had to change ours 8 times v annoying. Wish they served coffee and tea at dinner time in restraunt , I wouldn't mind paying for it, as the outside bar is v slow and also full of smokers, so for a non smoker v uncomfortable. Only small gripe I had 😉

    Food was v good but just had enough after 5 days 🌝 Both sun beds and sleeping beds were extremely comfy. Lots of sun beds available. Great friendly helpful staff , bedroomkept v clean. We had a no smoking room booked but when we arrived we realised nearby rooms were smoking on balconies and we could smell it and the hotel were so helpful and accommodating, they moved us to a junior sweet and gave us a bottle of champagne.. so were great🌝☀️

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Repeated issues with room cards not working for all our rooms. Standard procedure was to reprogram the cards which almost never solved the problem. Six times for one of the rooms. It took three visits from the repair man to finally change the batteries in the door, which solved the problem. Similar non action with other minor issues. In general friendly but disorganised staff. There were some bugs in the rooms.

    Very fiendly staff. Excellent and fresh buffe breakfast and dinner. Nice pool area and hotel in general. Rooms ok. Quiet location a bit off, but not a problem. Less than 10 min walk to the beach walk. Kids activities seemed very good but unfortunately only english speaking. More than fair compensation for booking mixup.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location not great. No night life in the area. Entertainment at night in the hotel was poor. Did all inclusive which was very limited.

    Staff were so kind and friendly! Great activities for children and adults around the pool throughout the day

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    was a bit expensive

    Food excellent and great variety. It was long way to town centre. not much enterainment or music around there. Went on to Playa Del Ingles after that which had much more life and lots of irish singing pubs around that area. We will probally stay in a more lively place next time,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food could have been a little hotter

    This was a great holiday. Rooms were very nice, we had a family room. Food and beverages in the all inclusive package were really good, and the staff were fantastic particularly Andrea on the lobby bar! He makes the best cocktails, Belen and Eloise in the restaurant were particularly attentive and great at their jobs and Vanessa on reception who's professionalism and customer service skills were second to none. We will be back

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks and snack prices are very expensive

    Hotel itself, staff were really friendly and attentive, nice sun lounge beds, good pool, plenty going on in hotel, great sea view, nice spacious clean room, comfy beds and pillows, nice specials at lunch time

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have nice workers but also very unkind workers. When I came ( i was alone with my 1 year old, it was a heavy trip already) the person at the desk was so unkind and made me feel like I was not welcome. She got angry at me because my booking was on the wrong name and told me that I was not allowed to go to my room. After looking correctly at the booking i was allowed. They showed me the room but it was in a side building where you cant come with ur buggy. So I had to carry my baby, buggy, suitcase on the stairs. ( buggy en baby every day).

    It's very clean, looks fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small things like- Entertainment was very repetitive, our shower wasn't a consistent temperature: went from boiling hot to freezing cold. Wasn't sure what the difference between twin and double room was, looked exactly the same but varied in price.

    Very friendly staff and locals, good variety of food and drink: liked the way they did themed nights e.g. Mexican. Well maintanined and clean hotel. Lots of things to do. Although the roof top zone and restaurant is not all inclusive, you do definitely get what you pay for up there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were bad, they broke two times. And they work too fast. We went after food at the buffet and our drinks were gone.

    The technical services were fast en good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately the staff at the hotel, especially at reception seem to get everything wrong. They gave us a standard suite for three people with a double bed and a sofa bed instead of the family suite with two bedrooms that we booked, they told us that the room we booked was not available for the first night of our stay even though they made us pay for it before telling us, they misinformed us that the room they gave us instead was an upgrade when in fact the family room costs at least 60 Euro more than the standard suite for three people (a simple comparison of the two rooms on this website is enough to convince you), in fact the family suites look less dated so I don't see how they consider the standard suites an upgrade, they printed our key cards for the wrong rooms, they got most of our names wrong on the cards and some of them didn't work, we had to move our stuff from one room to another The best part is that it wasn't just one person who assisted us at reception but at least 3-5 uncoordinated people and for some strange reason they all kept getting everything wrong, although none of them were rude at least and they did try to make things better by giving us free access to their spa which costs 20 Euro. The WiFi was virtually non-existent anywhere, we tried to connect from several devices and it didn't work in most areas. We didn't make a big fuss about this as we could use our mobile internet. The lunch buffet was ok-ish but not as good as their breakfast. Decoration and furniture of the hotel slightly dated especially in public areas. The location of the hotel is not an issue if you have a car or if you want to just stay at the pool and the nearby beaches. To get to Maspalomas you can use a taxi or the hotel's somewhat infrequent shuttle bus service that ends around 5pm.

    The beds were comfortable, the breakfast was very good with great variety, the rooms were big, most if not all rooms are with great sea view as the hotel is located on a hill and all rooms face the sea. Nice outdoor area with swimming pools, live entertainment with good singers, the spa is OK and the rooms were clean with free treats every day like fruit, water bottles, discounts for hotel services. The roof top pool bar and restaurant is quite modern and only for adults which makes it a great retreat from the rest of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish they had double bed in the room.

    The hotel looked beautiful. Rooms were nice and clean. Once we arrived there was bottle of champagne in our room which was very nice gesture from the hotel. Breakfast buffet had many options. Pool area very nice. Recommend to go to the pool on the roof ,very nice view. Restaurant on the roof serves nice food.Would come back!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing all good

    Excellent choice of food, excellent customer care very responsive, staff were welcoming and very efficient, lovely views and more than enough sun loungers and seating never felt crowded. Overall a very relaxing holiday excellent value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They prices for the massages in thalasso

    There was always somthing going on in the Hotel druing the day . Breakfast was really nice. We didn't go all inclusive as we like to eat out at night and taxis were handy and pretty cheap (€5.50). We were celebrating our anniversary and there's was processo in the room when we arrived , that was a really nice surprise. Very child friendly if you have the them with you.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    There were no enough staff at the restaurant and at the reception.

    Room was clean and comfortable, pools and spa were perfect, breakfast was excellent and the location was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small and catotic parking, cleaning to be improved mainly in the rooms, difficult to exit with my small dog, caotic reception.

    Overall services. Animation for childrens.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some tables at the breakfast Hall are way too short. It's very difficult to fit your legs in.

    Everything. This place was a big surprise for me and my partner. We were not quite sure about staying in San Augustín rather than Maspalomas, however the hotel is huge, clean, comfortable and very friendly staff. We had a nice room with a balcony. The view is astonishing. The hotel provides a shuttle service to Maspalomas and Playa del Inglés (takes about 15min) which is very convenient, although you can easily get buses to both places in case you miss the shuttle service and it costs about €1,40 or you can walk along the beach, there is a path all the way to Maspalomas city centre, it's a long walk though, but it's fine if you're used to it. I would deffinitely recommend San Augustín and see myself coming back to Gloria Palace in the near future. The buffet breakfast is the best and we also had access to the gym which is also a good thing to consider after such a huge breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: