Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gran Hotel Balneario De Puente Viesgo 4 stars

Manuel Pérez Mazo, s/n, 39670 Puente Viesgo, Spain

#5 of 7 hotels in Puente Viesgo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 638 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location, staff very friendly and helpful. Room was exceptional - particularly as we were upgraded to a Junior Suite so we could look out and keep an eye on our motorbike. Food was excellent too. Not far to travel from Santander ferry. What a gem of a hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Main hotel bar was close mid week. For pre-dinner drinks we had to go to the hotel's external bar.

    Easy to find from Santander. Good rooms and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet in very small area (1'10" wide) and therefore difficult to reach toilet paper. Broken door handle and loose drain cover in shower (causing my wife to badly slip). All reported to desk staff.

    All except bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Arrived late from boat but hotel aware and ready for us. Staff welcoming and most helpful. Room modern and excellent, restaurant excellent and parking good. A convenient excellent hotel near Santander,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could have been a bit more friendly. Check out took a long time as only one person at the desk and previous client obviously had a problem. Quite a walk from car park and reception (in old part of hotel) to our room which was in new part of hotel. Not a problem for us but could be an issue for some people.

    A very large hotel with spa facilities and plenty of areas to sit in lounges and bars. Check in was quick and easy. Room was very comfortable and clean and well fitted. Large car parking area which also seemed to be public parking as well. Restaurant and cafe facilities in the hotel and an outside bar, though restaurant was very expensive. Several bars and restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel. A good stop for us as not far from Santander and in a beautiful spot. A pretty little place with a super passeo along the old railway.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It as a very good Spa the food is very good.

    We always go there every year when we go to Spain on holiday and it is not far from the Ferry at Santander.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a large hotel so understandably it feels quite impersonal.

    Modern rooms with good wifi coverage breakfast was nice. Located in a small village with a few restaurants close enough to walk to.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bars and restaurants close quite early around 11 pm

    The gym was quite well equiped and the use for hotel guests gratis. There some nice bars and restaurants around but they close around 11 pm. Very lovely and beautiful the village and the surounding nature.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No food available before 21:00

    The staff were extraordinarily helpful The location is handy for the nearby caves (which are astonishing - don't miss)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Signage to get around, I got lost several times to and from my annexe and didnt know where breakfast was served. I could not find the internal way into the spa area. The room directory was only in Spanish.

    Good choice of breakfast items. Central location and grounds.places to sit.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant staff were quite surly

    Friendly reception staff and very helpful Fantastic spa facilities Outdoor pool clean and plenty of sunbeds for late afternoon sun!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived very hungry and tired at 5pm, after a LONG drive across Spain, to be told the restaurant AND cafe were closed until 9pm! There was nowhere else to eat locally, so we had to drive again to find some food. The car parking is completely hopeless. When we arrived we took the last parking space, far from the hotel. When we returned from our meal, there was nowhere to park. When we returned to our room, water was flooding in through our bathroom ceiling. We had to insist we were re roomed, rather than wait around for our room to be made habitable again. A nice hotel, in a wonderful location, but we will NOT be staying there again.

    Countryside

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet speed is horrible, if you are on holidays it might not be a problem but on business trip... The Gym needs a rejuvenation.

    Bikes for rent, even in a business trip is nice to have a quick tour around by cycling during the evening.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price, the room was misdescribed and the spa was crowded

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent. All round

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The gim open to late suana is 30Euro per access

    The location in a beutifull village is amazing. visited during November and the wether was great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurants open at 9:15 PM, until then there is nothing to find anywhere near.

    Great location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Environment, spa facilities

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    would have liked to have taken coffee/drink to the pool but the bar was rarely open at a convienient time.

    comfy beds, friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the place, the spa and the surroundings

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The pool, the grounds, the room, the surroundings, the view, the cafe, the lounge, the bar, the staff, all excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good that is why we go back again and again!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Excellent service, friendly smiles.The facilities were excellent and the Hotel was spotless.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Falta aire acondicionado, un calor insoportable

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much

    Lovely new hotel. Staff very helpful. Breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced. Hard beds.

    Good service. Welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was expensive

    Location was lovely

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful surroundings, great service and modern facilities. Relaxing and fun. Staff fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful junior apartment

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balneario id really good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meal times too restricted e.g. Dinner not until 9.30 pm even in the Cafeteria.

    Good facilities in spacious hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very enjoyable short stay. Would definitely use again when travelling through Spain.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Less expensive access to the leisure facilities for hotel residents.

    The staff were excellent, In particular the restaurant and bar staff. Also the lady pianist made the bar a delight to relax in after dinner.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some staff just weren't that friendly, and I felt €30 for one person to use the swimming pool for one day wasn't good value

    Very clean, beautiful surroundings and the pool looked great...if I decided to pay the extra

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old fashioned, rooms are not supported well, not responding stuff, general atmosphere of family camping, thus they have 4 stars but who knows where..

    Beautiful nature around, spa area is not bad but too many people all day long.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The only downside is the quality of the food does not match the price served in the evening. Either go for the full gastro menu or eat at one of the plentiful surrounding restaurant's.

    Modern and really nicely equipped rooms. Plenty of good facilities. Breakfast may seem expensive, but as it is buffet style and provides hot and cold food, is actually very good value.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Cafe restaurant was very busy in the evening and we had to wait 30 minutes to order and another 30 minutes for the food to arrive ( which was in fact very good). The toilets in the cafe/restaurant were not very clean at all with no toilet paper.

    The pool and spa area were lovely.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Limited language skills in reception. More could be expected from a hotel of this size. Wifi only worked in part of our room.

    Good parking. Nice mix of modern and classic in the design and decoration of the interiors.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was very disappointing. Shower: little water, temperature continuously changed from hot to cold. Slamming doors (room located next to service area) Asked for no smoking room, but ugly cigarette smell in the room.

    Airco, WiFi, bed. Did not used the spa facilities.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    beds were all twins and not very comfy. No iron or kettle in room and we couldn't borrow iron

    All staff very helpful especially at reception. spa was good lovely outdoor pool for sunny days, great cycle way on old railway line pass through some lovely villages

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sunday evening there is no bar service to sit and have a drink before you go in to eat

    Hotel nice, suite room excellent, parking onsite

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very good. Meals very good value.About 40 mins from Santander ferry.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff were excellent, breakfast was very good, garden setting is delightful.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have been there four times already

    The area hotel location in and not far from Santander ferry

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    It was so fancy.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Browse Gran Hotel Balneario De Puente Viesgo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: