Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca 5 stars

Hoya de Afre, 2, 35580 Yaiza, Spain

#4 of 17 hotels in Yaiza

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 621 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Amazing place to stay for adults and children!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entertainment could be better.

    Amazing place to be and the staff are amazing! The marina is only a couple minutes in a taxi and costs just €4 to get there!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful holiday and well worth the wait!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Merlin Kids Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The 5D cinema has a height restriction of 1.2m which meant our little girl couldn't go on the ride, but she was happier in the dragon pool so it wasn't really a big issue. Signs on the buffet station to indicate what was being served would have been useful (i.e. 'kids', 'vegetarian', 'grill', 'salads', it was a bit overwhelming on the first couple of nights whilst we got our bearings. I guess it depends more on the guests that are there at the same time as you, but we found that you have to leave your politeness at the door at the buffet otherwise you end up getting a bit annoyed! We didn't think the Italian restaurant was up to much, the starters were all cold buffet items, as were the desserts so it didn't really have much of a restaurant experience to it.

    We had a problem with our original Merlin room, so made a complaint at reception who immediately gave us a number of alternative room options without any hesitation. All of the staff from the maids, bar staff, restaurant staff animation team and the guys on reception were great, we couldn't fault them at all. The size of the complex and number of different pools kept the boredom away during our 1 week stay, although perhaps we may have started making a few trips out if we had stayed for 2. Whilst we didn't use it much, our little girl really enjoyed the time she spent with the team and there were great facilities, although apparently a spanish boy slightly pushed her on the trampoline which we didn't hear the end of all week! Talk about holding a grudge! The entertainment in the evening was very good, again the entertainment team did a great job performing and keeping all the kids in check!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    The best hotel I have ever stayed in, dream family holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, u can not fault this place

    This property is out of this world! We went for my little girls second birthday and she loved it! The pools are great, food is wonderful, staff are so friendly and helpful and our room was fantastic. Our little girl loved her Merlin Room. We are going to come back next year x

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    2.5
    Nothing.
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing. Cafeteria for food. Everyone rushing around. We got put on six floor even though we asked for ground floor due to our child disability. Staff said we never requested a bottom floor. We argued for an hour then I showed them messages off booking dot com. How embarrassing for them. We eventually got a room which was full of massive cock roaches. Next day the alarm for what I do not know from one in the morning till five. The staff said they had no one available to sort till nine in morning. Hotel is beautiful but not worth money. Management need management. Do not book if you want quality.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Cleanliness good, beds were a little hard but couldn’t fault...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness good, beds were a little hard but couldn’t fault anything else about the hotel, staff, location or facilities we all enjoyed our stay and have recommended to friends already.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.5
    A little disappointed this year
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Senior Suite with Ocean View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found a lot of ants in our suite, the Hot tub did not function 100% and the cleaners didn’t do a great job.

    The staff are nice and they have entertainment for kids

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable. We will use this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Comfort Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with something to dissuade the birds from enjoying the buffet.

    Safe family friendly location. Good nightly entertainment for children and parents alike. Good mini club and a good variety of pools. The food is good with a good variety

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    would love to visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Ocean View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My one let down would be the food (especially for dinner)! Breakfast was suitable, lunch always had variety and the snack bar is great, however the buffet dinner was lacking in options and i would say that it is very focused around food for children not for adults , also the food wasn’t always hot and when we visited a speciality restaurant it was very disappointing with little options for starters, our mains were not cooked properly and the puddings were just disappointing. As a result of this we only ate dinner at the resort 3 nights and the other nights we went into town for dinner. I would recommend anyone to visit the town (marina) for dinner as the food there was exceptional all 4 nights we ate there! Despite this the all inclusive is worth it for the drinks, lunch and breakfast!

    The rooms are amazing and only drawback for me personally would be that the beds are double beds and are two singles pushed together. However we expected this as it is like this in many hotels abroad. The staff were very helpful in ordering us tacos and answering any of our questions during our stay. For adults the adult only area is definitely a highlight as it is very peaceful, has its own bar and bali beds to book (extra charge). Overall the stay was exceptional and only disappointment was the food for dinner.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    The buffet restaurant was fantastic, Langoustines, Salmon,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Leaving

    The buffet restaurant was fantastic, Langoustines, Salmon, fillet steaks and much more, Adult pool and restaurant areas excellent, room big and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Great place , just not for us 😞
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to do with the hotel itself it was just far too hectic with small children and babies , lots of noise(crying/screaming) all day and night , the dining hall was exceptionally loud and very uncomfortable to eat in.

    Beautifully clean, friendly, big rooms, great food , nice staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice getaway but probably aimed at younger children and not young teenagers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was in a good location but no view or sun.

    Customer Service and attention from staff was great. Site was clean and well maintained. No issues getting sun beds, food was plentiful and quality as you would expect. Our only negative and it is nothing against the Hotel was the sheer number of younger children and the noise and hullabaloo they generate. We’d forgotten just how hard work it can be 😐

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Great, relaxing, would come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Loved this place. Hotel facilities were fab. Everything clean. Great pools, great room, great food. Really good to go to properly switch off and do nothing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic first family holiday, would have no hesitations recommending or returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps the dinner times could be brought forward as 7pm is a little late for toddlers to be eating dinner. My daughter often struggled to stay awake so dinner was a bit of a rushed affair.

    This is a 5 star hotel for children. Staff were fantastic, rooms were huge and the entire hotel was exceptionally clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    Great family holiday - not a 5 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Merlin Kids Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Exposed sockets in childs room, one beside the bed. Mould in the shower. Two tier "all inclusive"

    Fantastic family resort, great food, staff and facilities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Overall total relaxation and money well spent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Ocean View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    We enjoyed every aspect of our stay, except for the weather, but it did not mar our pleasure. The variety and presentation of the food was excellent. Probably go back again and again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.3
    fantastic staff, great for small children, hotel in need of re furb, we wont be going again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    3rd time at Dream Castillo, but now geared up to young families, around 90% in our opinion! There are adult áreas but we found it too much! something to think about if your looking for a bit of peace and relaxation. Fantastic if you have young children.

    staff are very friendly and accomodating,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.0
    Booked into dark room with no balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (4 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Booked into dark room with no balcony. Moved the following day and requested the mini bar that was stipulated. This was not honoured along with the late check out. Even though staff were not rude they would not offer us anything extra for our upheaval. I wont be going back

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.1
    great food & staff, fab for family (not 5 star though) and seriously needs to use less plastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Comfort Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    its a very lovely hotel, but its not really a 5* hotel by international standards - the range of facilities is extensive, but the room whilst clean wasn't well maintained (lots of damage made it looked well used - cracked tiles, stained sofas, chips to furniture). Also, the use of single use plastic is obscene!! The amount of landfill this hotel must create is the worst I have ever experienced. So much so that we want to contact the hotel to advise they do something about this asap - the modern customer is more responsible than this hotel is.

    Very family friendly, lovely staff, decent food for an all inclusive and beautifully planted and in a wonderful picturesque location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic stay and very family friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Confort Double Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The shower could have been more powerful for a five start resort. Also food choices could be increased.

    Fantastic location. The beach nearby though not sandy, is very picturesque. Being right next to a shopping centre was very convenient. The kids disco was fantastic. Both our kids (ages 7 &4) loved it. Its a really kids friendly place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.5
    Second visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Merlin Kids Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to go to reception to book restaurants other than buffet a pain. Only allowed to book 2 days in advance so have to be down early to book a decent time. Food in 2 themed restaurants average. Probably better in buffet restaurant but v busy there.

    Second visit. More like a 4 star. Facilities good though. Pools good but cold in high winds most of the week. Plenty for kids to do. Worth a visit to volcanoes etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Castillo Tagoro
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (4 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In my opinion it’s more of a solid 4star hotel not 5. The hotel is a bit dated and doesn’t give you a 5 star feel.

    Entertainment was brilliant, every night something different. Staff working very hard, always happy to help. Lovely views down the coast line. We’ve had a car which was very handy for shopping and exploring the island.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely amazing place, heaven for kids and parents, huge variety of entertainment for all , delic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely amazing place, heaven for kids and parents, huge variety of entertainment for all , delicious food, friendly staff. Everything was just perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    Pure relaxation and enjoyment and nothing annoying or pressurising!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Ocean View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I could think!:) Great holiday !

    Nice walk along the sea - no cars, no sales, o beggars ....nice walk without any pressure ... Great shopping area and restaurants ... Nice not expansive beauty salons for nails and hair ....

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic fun and relaxing all in one
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (4 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quality and vast choice of food and drinks was excellent. All staff from reception, cleaning, animation and bar staff were brilliant very friendly helpful and fun. The facilities are brilliant and the children are the main focus at this hotel which is what we wanted so much for them to do and be entertained with the added bonus of adult only chill out areas whilst the kids are busy having fun we had a truely fun and memorable holiday and will definitely go back and highly recommend to friends and anyone reading this review.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Wonderful week. Would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The bed was incredibly comfortable . Everything impeccably clean. Excellent quality and variety of food. Polite, friendly and helpful staff. Although there were many babies and children in the hotel, excellent provision was made for adults only with designated restaurant and pool.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.8
    Overall, we had a very pleasant stay and hope to return again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Ocean View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We ate in the sansofe adult only restaurant and the food was very bland. We also ate in the portofino restaurant, the food was good but it was very noisy because of all the young children on vacation, it would be nice if they had an adult only zone.

    We liked the adult only eating area in the dining room and the adult only pool. We also liked the terrace near the reception overlooking the sea. The room was very nice and the staff were really friendly and helpful. The location so close to the beautiful Papagayos beaches within walking distance was a major plus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.3
    A good all round family holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (3 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food on the snack bar was disappointing ( especially the chicken nuggets ) but the food in the restaurant was excellent

    A very chilled holiday just relaxing by the pool

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.3
    Very good all round
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Comfort Double Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was horrendous very slow took over a hour they mess about giving you a welcome drink any other time would be great but it slows down the process also but this is booking.com fault we had asked for three proper beds as three adults didn’t receive got a put up bed no good for a grown adult spent another 20 mins to sort they wanted €50 more each night but stuck to my ground and said no they agreed eventually and gave a two bed room couldn’t fault entertainers all gear kids would have liked something for adults overall nice place and would go back as the drinks were very good no watery soft drink that you can’t drink after a day give this place a go

    Food and drinks were very good for a all inclusive proper bottle beer and bottled soft drinks plenty of sun beds very good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.3
    Not a 5 star but a wonderful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Ocean View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel rated as 5* but is more like a 4* hotel. We knew this before arrival so we weren’t disappointed. The hotel is very clean and comfortable.

    The staff on arrival were very friendly and helpful. We were waiting in a queue at the reception desk and one of the porters brought us over to a seating area and offered us a drink. From there the reception staff member came over when he was free and we checked in from there. Very good selection of food at the buffet. Not a whole lot of vegan options but some good vegetarian options. I travelled with my mum and 9 month old daughter and it was wonderful to have all the baby facilities on hand. We never had to ask for a high chair at meal times, there was always one available or brought straight to us. The staff in general were lovely. Anyone we walked past in the hotel complex said hello. Facilities were clean and tidy. Unfortunately the weather wasn’t good while we were there (end of January) so we didn’t have the opportunity to try the pools.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Comfort Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to complain about. The beds are rock hard & uncomfortable. Found it difficult to book the oriental restaurant in time (was fully booked before 8:30am). Pools quite cold (was February). Some rooms a little tired. Even with above we stayed last year and it didn’t stop us returning.

    Perfect for families. Lots to do for younger kids. Staff very helpful and polite. Entertainment team very good. Waiters never stopped! Room cleaned daily. Good selection of food. On sea front & nice walk to marina and beach (20-25 mins). Bike hire place & supermarket in complex next door.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    5.4
    The kids had a great time, adults not so good due to noisy room and ants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Ants in the room every day. Mechanical humming which disturbed our sleeping, we turned the AC on and off but it didn't make any difference. Tried to book Italian and Oriental restaurants but all fully booked through the week we stayed.

    Plenty for the kids. Restaurant food was good, as was the selection of drinks. Sunbed towels free of charge and can be exchanged daily. Staff professional and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel to stay in just need some TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Ocean View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Italian restaurant was poor, it was trying to be two types of restaurant at once. The service was confusing and the food was disappointing; both me and my partner found that our pizza and pasta was salty to the extent it was barely edible. The beds were ok but didn’t attach together so we kept sinking through the gap, despite asking reception to put together.

    Food was very good in the main restaurant and the staff were very attentive. special thanks to the Swedish chef and the waitress in the adult area. The hotel was kept very clean and tidy. The evening events were entertaining.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.2
    Really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (4 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No indoor pool for cold days. Nearest sandy beach is 30 min walk away.

    Excellent facilities. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Lots to do for all ages. Food was good and varied. Only a cheap taxi ride away from markets and town. Free bus laid on for Rancho Texas.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.6
    Very good for what we paid and the bathroom was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Family Room (4 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Snacks get cold almost instantly. The reception staff was not helpful. The Italian restaurant is a joke. Our food was flooring in oil. There was no organisation we had to ask to get our order taken.

    Very good for what we paid and the bathroom was fantastic. The room we got was 2 rooms with 1 main door and a very large terrace. All the staff was great (except reception) food was great 90% of the time. Would recommend the walk ( ant train) into playa Blanca also go to the Dubliners pub. Highly recommended

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    6.3
    It was pleasant enough but lacked adult entertainment very little to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As already explained poor initial room

    Check your allocated room before you unpack. We were given a room that had no or little view of the surroundings as specified on booking and it had a very large air conditioning unit right outside the patio doors. We insisted that we should be given another which we got.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    Excellent food, great entertainment. Overall great stay for both adults and children alike.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I could say that I was disappointed with was the temperature of the pools. It stated that they were heated and provided the pool temperatures on a daily basis. However, they certainly did not feel that warm. The weather was a little colder than expected on the first few days of our trip and the children went swimming but had to come out of the pool as they were shivering with cold. Warmer pool temperatures would have allowed them to go swimming a lot more often.

    The quality and variety of food was amazing. The beds were extremely comfy and staff were extremely friendly especially towards our children.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    8.3
    Fantasic stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Merlin Kids Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The pools were a little cold and children weren't allowed in any jacuzzis even though there is a separate adult area.

    The buffet has an amazing selection and the suite for families is really spacious. Also the view is beautiful and the cliff path great for walking and cycling.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.2
    Had a wonderful stay with my husband and two year old. Lots to do for children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Ocean View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The children's pools were not heated.

    Great apartment overlooking the sea. Fantastic food selection during the core breakfast, lunch and dinner service (NYE was impressive!). Fabulous staff who loved children and always extremely helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel especially for kids would recommend and would go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Merlin Kids Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit away from the town would def need a car which we had so was fine for us.

    Excellent friendly staff went out of their way to help you out. Very family friendly. Heated pools were great for decemeber. Great choice of food and drinks.plenty to do in the resort and has a supermarket on site. Also had entertainment for kids at night and a creche.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    2.9
    Come here if you want a tan, don't expect the best service
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No special treatment, no out of the world service, all restaurants booked up so stuck at buffet all the time - this was our honeymoon and it was as if we had to fight the staff to make our experience enjoyable- the All inclusive but just old and over fried nuggets and chips and basic sandwiches at the bar, buffet food was ok though. Pizza was nice. The Chefs were lovely very welcoming. The room keys constantly didn't work and the staff did not explain that it deprograms next to mobile phones Advice Room keys - don't keep next to your phone On your first day book out the restaurants so you don't get told constantly every day it is fully booked The spa is nice - book that you would want an hour there you get a complimentary use and the treatments are good too Do the 5D cinema experience and use up all your tickets it is really good - do the Horror Park or the snowboarding one as they are best If you have kids, they love the kids club If you are at adults pool- the bar doesn't have food - talk a little stroll to the kids area, grab food there and bring to the pool my life hack for you

    Mojitos were nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.6
    Would really recommend to anyone, no matter what your age/group size! Everything you possibly need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff were amazing, constantly working so hard, going the extra mile and always polite and friendly. As a really fussy eater, the food was fabulous, huge amount of choice, lots of options cooked fresh in front of you, and I loved the touch of the fresh fruit juices/smoothies made in front of you at breakfast. The cocktails were great too, made with proper alcohol and fresh juices, not just out of a machine. So much for couples, kids, families, older guests. Just amazing. I loved the Christmas touch they had too! Decorated trees, lights, playing Christmas songs. Just lovely. The sports bar on site was a great idea too, and the entertainment really good and not repetitive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.2
    The rooms are amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (3 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar staff were quite moody :-( Pre-made cocktails ??? Not acceptable for a 5* hotel

    The rooms are amazing! Lovely variety of food! The kids could NEVER be bored in this hotel, rain or shine! The pools are super! And heated! !!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    5.8
    Quality of food was very good in the buffet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Merlin Kids Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very large so walking from reception to our room or from one pool to another took a long time with a tired 4 year old. Not a problem if kids are buggy age My 4 year old was 1cm too short for the 5D cinema. Many tears!

    Quality of food was very good in the buffet Branded spirits included

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.3
    Family friendly with nice area outside the hotel as well (beach, port nearby reachable by car)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Merlin Kids Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    For us it was very good, but I would likely not recommend it to adults w/o kids even though there are "escape" places (Adults only area, separate restaurants that can be booked) The Hotel bikes / rental service is not 5 stars - the E-bikes are old and worn out (brake pads gone, quite miseable condition, only one support level worked on mine) - cost of 9 Euro/h is not a funny joke, service should either be for free or not offered at all if in that condition.

    Very nice & big Hotel area, greatly embedded into the landscape. Family friendly, very big buffet area (but also loud/many people), you can find quiet spots though. Breakfast is served in two different places within the hotel area which is great. Merlin room and the location of the rooms was fantastic, huge room / highly recommendable. Next to the hotel is a nice beach which is not crowded. Sport bar & many different pools where kids can play/enjoy, lots of food and drinks offered everywhere.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.2
    The whole experience of Gran Castillo is positive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It was quite a way out of Playa Blanca although the hotel provided everything for a top notch holiday.

    The whole experience of Gran Castillo is positive.The roms,the staff,the food ,the atmsphrere.Perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    A beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed for 7 nights at the Gran Tagoro in Lanzarote 15-22 September 2017. Reception The reception checked us in very quickly as we arrived late, and asked us quickly to follow her to the restaurant as if was to close @10pm. Following this back to reception who finished off the check in. We went through the welcome brochure, and was told about the pre bookable restaurants, which ones were free and included , and which were not and would be chargeable. The Room A lovely porter took us to our room 1113 and explained basic features, lights, AC etc. The room was lovely and spacious, with a clear bedroom area and sitting area. The sofa that was also a sofa bed was comfortable to relax on. The Bathroom was of a high standard and thoughtfully laid out. There was a separate toilet and bidet, shower, and bath and sink. The bath was deep and the complimentary toiletries gave a luxury bubble bath. The shower had various massage heads and easily adjustable temperature gauges. The only difficulty with the shower was that the door was not well sealed so the mat and a number of towels had to be put down every time it was used. Another couple of problems occurred. One was the closet where the safe was . It had a very musty odour which just wouldn’t shift despite how much perfume I used trying to remove it. It is possible that it was from the blankets that were in there. I never got to the bottom of it but asked the chambermaid to remove them or change them. The bed itself was quite comfy, but the pillows very uncomfortable. I ended up using the cushions to bolster my head. Our room actually overlooked the pool which was beautiful in the night the looking at the water and lights. Surprisingly in the daytime when the pool was busy, the noise level was not noticeable to be an issue. The patio was spacious and shady to sit out all day, and cool enough to chill out in the evenings and night time. Tea and Coffee facilities were available, along with water. This was topped up...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.9
    Nice spacious room,lovely part of the island and quality food served great variety.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like to have seen strawberries and grapes or cherries , didn't see on any day,small point Good to see the variety of freshly squeezed juices.

    Good variety of fish served through the week and omelettes were delicious too for breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    6.7
    enjoyed the rest, hated the food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Ocean View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The amount of screaming kids, (not your fault). The food needs to be upgraded in the 2 restaurants which you need to book (Italian and Asian). Absolutely terrible for a 5 star hotel!!

    The sea view from the room was fab, and the staff were great, lovely people.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.9
    Short but enjoyable stay in an impressively run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Ocean View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very spread out property on many levels so not suitable for people with mobility problems.

    Good variety of buffet food. Enjoyed both the Italian and Chinese restaurants. Spacious and comfortable room. Swimming pools.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    Bed room was very clean and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast time queues were rather long (especially waiting on fried eggs?) Quality of drinks good but cocktails disappointing.

    Bed room was very clean and welcoming. Beds were very comfortable and toileries were excellent! Very good range of food and of a high quality. Loved the choice at pool bar (especially toasties and burgers for kids!!) Quality of drinks good. 5D Cinema was a huge hit with my 9 & 10 year old.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.6
    The staff were increadibly friendly and will go out of their...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Ocean View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was unreliable and at times slow. The beer and wine was a little disappointing but all of the rest of the food and drink more than adequate.

    The staff were increadibly friendly and will go out of their way to help you. Facilities were good, rooms clean and spacious, quality of the food and most of the drinks excellent for an all inclusive. Over all great value for money and a very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    4.6
    Defiantly not 5 star won't be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food! There was no iron just one in the whole hotel and it had a cockroach dead in the room

    Food was horriAble! Couldn't book into chinease restraunt until last night, all the pools were cold. There was nothing near by.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful surroundings but four star service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Ocean View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff were quite rude, the drinks available on an all inclusive basis were limited and the cocktails were poor quality. I would say that it is closer to a 4 star resort than 5 star.

    The food was varied and good quality and the hotel was visually stunning. We were given a free upgrade to a suite which was huge and beautifully decorated

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Was wonderful.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The oriental restaurant,the food was old, the fish,very dangeours...we didnt eat nothing that day that we booked to have dinner. Was terrible. And about the company that you indicated to get a transfer to get to hotel. LAST MINUTE. They are terrible, dont join your name to them. In the route from airport to hotel the mini bus was very hot inside, the driver dindt help us with luggage.The men drives very fast and not carefully, up.to 140 km and tour back to aiport yesterday , the driver almost cause an accident .My little girl was sleeping on the child chair, using the belt and he presses the break hard , i was panic wacthing him driving,she nearly broke the neck.he was very late to collect us the time that we booked. And when this is happened when he almost cause a big accident we asked him to stop the minibus and we got out to the bus in the middle of the road. Lucky us that a woman there was driving saw us and give us a lift for the airport. They are irresponsable.be carefully

    I really enjouy everything. The pools, the staffs,the food the place at all...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    2.5
    Parking provided which wasn't much
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like anything, the breakfast was ok but not much option! Croissants were not fresh at all though good bread! I also didn't like the way we were treated. I had booked a room for two adults and one baby and one 5 year old but the hotel said the child's not paid for all inclusive and charged us 260 euros more. The dinners and lunches were all the same and not much difference between them same thing every time. The kids club was the worst as they only left the kids to wander around and no specific plans for them ( ridiculous)! All in all not a good experience. Not sure why it's rated so high as the rooms were not clean and the sheets never changed and water was not provided once finished.

    Parking provided which wasn't much

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.3
    Very nice stay for a week.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Signposting around place is not clear. Booking for restaurants should be done over the phone and not in person at 08:30 am - just to get a booking. Italian restaurant very good. Chinese poor.

    Friendly and helpful staff - varied food./Clean Spacious rooms Nice location close to the beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.9
    Great fun in the sun!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Comfort Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to call reception 3 days in a row before they sent someone to fix the air conditioning in the room.

    Staff very friendly. Always pleasant and smiling. The entertainers were very engaged with the children. The entertainment, especially the magician was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.1
    Adult only pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    does need adult only bar/entertainment Italian restaurant is open for breakfast but British guests not made aware of this Used by mainly Spanish guests and far more superior than main restaurant

    Adult only pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.3
    Booking was inaccurate
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Comfort Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived there was only 1 child on our booking although we booked for 2 adults and 2 children We were charged another €283 on arrival This was very frustrating

    It was safe and friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.9
    Mixed feelings..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Merlin Kids Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The pools - very cold. We first stayed here in November and the pool was too cold to use (with a toddler). Although it stated that the pool was heated, I put this down to it being out of season, less guests etc. However, it was the same during this stay in June. The weather was cloudy so not as warm as usual which didn't help however, we only used the pool twice during a weeks stay and probably only for 10-15 minutes as it was so cold. For this reason we won't be staying again. Otherwise a great family hotel.

    Second stay at this hotel - it is extremely family friendly, very geared up for toddlers with plenty of activities and a mini disco each evening. The indoor play area for children is very good. The rooms are a good size and very clean. Nice bathroom facilities. There is a lovely beach (approx 5 mins in a taxi away) which is also very family friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.2
    Good holiday :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Ocean View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food 5 out of 10,some days was good,but sometimes I couldn't find what to eat

    Nice place,great entertainment,clean,friendly staff,hotel is really really nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    A fabulous family holiday, can't wait to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Merlin Kids Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't the most comfortable :( but we survived and had lots of room at least.

    We hired a car from the airport so found travelling to and from the airport, to the Marina and to Papagayo beach very easy. Therefore the location was absolutely ideal! We enjoyed free parking at the hotel too. We loved the choice of restaurants and the food was freshly prepared. Not what we would entirely consider 5* but still very good quality and plenty of choice. The staff were all fantastic, we were very impressed by their service and hospitality. Staff also helped with booking excursions for us; We highly recommend the South Tour and Cesar marique as it was amazing to see so much of the beautiful island. We stayed in the Merlin room which was brilliant for our little boy as he loved how it was decorated and had plenty of room to play with his toys. It also meant we had some privacy at night when he went to bed as there was a slider door to our room. We were right next door to the portofino restaurant for breakfast which we loved. Loads of choice at breakfast and a proper pot of tea! Loads of swimming pools and our son loved the slides. Overall a clean and friendly family hotel in great location on a beautiful side of the island. We would be happy to return. Happy holidays.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Comfort Double Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some miserable staff (a few were brilliant). Food cold, restaurant chaotic. A family friendly Hotel that wouldn't let children use inflatables! Poor quality food for snacks.

    Excellent room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing stay for a few days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Ocean View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no beach here by the sea,In the buffett could be a more varied selection of meals

    Italian and Chinese restaurants with great food,Cinema,Wellnes,very friendly staff.Beautiful, clean and modernly furnished rooms.Bathroom with bathtub and shower,Daily hygiene and clean towels are provided.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    Amazing relaxing family holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, all great!!

    Really enjoyed our time in the hotel , got everything you need. Kids club , baby club are great gives you some adult time in adults only places everyday. Everybody had a great time:)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Hotel unwind
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Comfort Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The children screaming and crying, that can't be helped! Maybe separated restaurant

    The food was superb, everything you needed was on site, the gym and adult pool only 1 minute from 6444, I must say it is a top class hotel and I would highly recommend it to anyone and been there before and will definitely return.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    10
    Very good relaxing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Poor waiter in the restaurants and buffer, waiters have to serve the drink and can take a while, didnt ruin the holiday at all,

    Excellent trip all round, very good value for money, wide selection of food

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    Perfect for families with young children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towel change times were a little inconvenient. The Chinese restaurant was fully booked for the week. In the evenings the bar was quite loud so kept us from an early sleep with noisy guests late at night, kids running around the hallways and landings at gone midnight and parents shouting at them. Not very considerate, but this is not the hotels fault this is the other guests who have no consideration for others.

    Staff were amazingly helpful all the time. You cannot feel unwelcome they were so friendly. The site was very clean and good choice of facilities around.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic family fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was often luke warm and not well cooked. Always had a good range of salads fruit ham and cheese though.

    The petit spa was fantastic. The heated childrens pool was great. The rooms were very spacious with robes and slippers and lots of lovely products. Towels for pool could be changed daily. Entertainment fab

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    9.6
    Great holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Ocean View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pools, food, rooms, everything :) All staff in restaurants, bars, reception, pools, especially animation team and kids club. Greetings for animators Michael, Andrea, Chip, Salah and others, thanks for great holiday. Enjoy your time.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    5.4
    Enjoyable week
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (3 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Half of the staff were rude and arrogant, spoke only spanish. The room was dirty and we experienced something that has never happened before, the cleaning lady has collected and rearranged everything in the room, including clothes and stuff in the bathroom. Though she forgot to clean the floor. My feet were black after walking through the room. At checkin they said they have 10 pools.... well if you count the duck ponds perhaps. Food selection is ok as long as you like eating pork and it's products. The main restaurant was like a zoo... food at your feet, stained napkins, dirty table cloths. The waiter literally threw the napkins in front of me as well as the plates. All-Inclusive is not all inclusive because there is a bunch of things you have to pay for like, bali beds, mini-bar, wine. The 5 star on this hotel is way way overrated. 3,5 star max.... the only thing was 5 star in this hotel is the pricing. So if you want constant yelling, shouting and wild nights because of the kids having pillow fight in the room next to you it's the place to be.

    We liked the atmosphere, some of the staff's friendliness and the location. The kids program were great, our son really enjoyed it. Special thank you for Barbi.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    6.3
    Great for families with small children but not a lot of variety otherwise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Ocean View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This resort seems to be in the midst of a brand change and some (not all) the staff are just a bit confused about service, etc. There were no chairs the 1st 5 days are were there - it felt so crowded. Luckily there were lots of places to escape to very close by.

    The location is GREAT! It's easy access to playa blanca, the rubicon and Playa de Papagayo beaches.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel, good location with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although better than most all inclusive hotels the buffet meals in the adult only area were limited, a wider selection was available in the main area. This is not a complaint just an observation on buffet meals in general, you spend a lot of time wondering around looking for food rather than enjoying it!

    This is a family / child friendly hotel that caters very well for families, as adult couples we were very glad to see lots of adult only features such a pool, bar and chill out areas for those not travelling with children. Overall excellent hotel and holiday!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Look no further - fantastic holiday hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Merlin Kids Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Pools, though heated, were still a bit cold but overall everything was good!

    Staff fantastic, hotel beautiful, food good. Overall don't look any further if you want a family holiday with young ones (mine is 7 but lots of little ones) - fantastic value all round

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    10
    Perfect location, staff, facilities and food.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing at all. 100% full marks. Very well done.

    The location, staff, meals and facilities were excellent, best hotel I have ever stayed in. The staff were so friendly, helpful and informative. The choice and quality of the food was spectacular. I will look up this hotel group whenever I plan my next break.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: