Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Marina d'Or® Hotel Gran Duque 4 stars

Vial 2, sector R5A, 12594 Oropesa del Mar, Spain

#44 of 89 hotels in Oropesa del Mar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 860 hotel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.3

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    6

  • Free WiFi

    6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.0
    slightly disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel looked tired ! in the whole area in fact. buffet was boring and the fact that the choice of fresh fruit was 0 shocked me - I do not eat tinned fruit ! there should be 2 pillows on each bed not one !

    For a hotel that is meant to be 4 star one pillow on the bed is not enough , no blanket / duvet were not supplied in our room but in my sons it was ! buffet same as last year - food a disgrace tinned fruit !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.3
    if you want activities avoid it in non summer period
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Wellness Package (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything was closed, half of activities included in the packages, were not available. You must go only during weekend or summer. Wifi free in the rooms but very bad Food quality sometimes very limit

    Big rooms, good beds, nice emplacement, should be nice in summer

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    Overall my parents had a really good time and enjoyed their stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I needed a smaller hotel as my parents aren't too mobile. Also, the hotel complex is geared to kids and there was a lot of noise in the restaurant. However, its my fault as I hadn't realised that it was a Marina D'Or complex, which specifically caters for families with young children.

    I travelled with my 90 year old parents in order to give them a change of scenery. The staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble. The room was big enough for the three of us and the food was good, with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    5.8
    The room was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was 24 degrees when we were there but the swimming pool area was closed. There was nothing to do all day, so we went to Peniscola for the day. Hotel swimming pools still open with beds,etc. Food was poor.

    The room was good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    7.1
    Nice Break but not as good as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in room, although digital tv the remote was disabled so as not to allow language change on programmes. Very little in the way of bars or restaurants in the area. Boasts 8 parks to visit but they were not open often.

    Comfortable beds, spacious rooms, well equipped bathrooms.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    7.5
    - Rooms have an excellent turn down service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Food from cafeteria is horrendous - Located in exceptionally touristy (overpriced, low quality) area - Staff seem quite disorganized - Location is a pain if you are going to FIB

    - Rooms have an excellent turn down service - Staff are friendly - Pool availability on day of check out - Decent last-minute pricing

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    4.6
    Horrible hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where to begin...firstly, the hotel was dirty. We found ants in our fridge, which was no surprise as the cleaners made minimal effort at tidying the room. For the duration of our stay they sheets were not changed. The staff were unfriendly and provided us with no help when we needed information on taxis and local buses. The breakfast was one of the worst I had ever had. How the hotel is rated 4stars is beyond me as I would not give it more than 2!

    The only good thing about the hotel was the closeness to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    5.8
    Room was modern and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Full of small children couldn't get near the pool very confusing layout and inedible breakfast massive chaotic canteen couldn't get taxi to or from benicasim festival for ages!! Very very overpriced would not return !!

    Room was modern and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    8.3
    Excellent Hotel would definitely go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough parasols round pool too many broken. Had to ask for large towels for my room but none of these spoiled my holiday.

    The staff at reception were very helpful even although they were extremely busy. Food was also very nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    6.3
    Ok hotel, not great for benicassim festival
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lied about transferred to benicassim festival, does not drop off anywhere near the site have to buy another coach. When complained the following day the staff replied with a shrug.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    5.4
    Very rude reception staff but good hotel facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff in reception are incredibly unhelpful. I was shocked by their rudeness on several occasions. I know that the FIB festival is a busy time and I'm sure that they are working hard but there is no excuse for such a terrible attitude.

    The overall facilities are quite good and it seems to be a nice place for young children to play.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    4.2
    Do not go there in winter, there is nobody around and no restaurants are open.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV poor quality. The TV downstairs at the cafeteria did not work at all.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.1
    Very nice hotel but not for spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Beauty Treatment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spanish food is not my favorite, i didnt like the pools

    Staff very nice, room was nice,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    Short sunny and sweet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Busy at reception all the time

    Good selection at breakfast, clean rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    6.3
    Nappies and rubbish on the first floor roof which we could...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nappies and rubbish on the first floor roof which we could see from our balcony

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    5.8
    Pools and restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed (3 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No halal food

    Pools and restaurant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    4.2
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To many children it was like Disney land Micky mouse and Donald Duck it was like a children's holiday camp

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    6.7
    Outdoor pools
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdoor pools

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    6.7
    Breakfast a lot of options
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Halloween and all the children

    Breakfast a lot of options

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    5.4
    Only for families with small childrens
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too big, breakfast low level quality, poor wifi

    Good for kids

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    7.5
    Very good gluten free breakfast options
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff short changing in the restaurant and bars, staff not calling taxis for guests

    Very good gluten free breakfast options

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    9.2
    The location to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't very nice

    The location to the beach

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    6.3
    The own hotel, location and easy parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Poor restaurant service. Kind staff but no many things to choose for eating, no quick replacement of food. We traveled this last Easter during an international football event. There were a lot people. It could be something to do.

    The own hotel, location and easy parking.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    10
    All inclusive buffett was amazing lots of choice for kids...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All inclusive buffett was amazing lots of choice for kids and adults unlimited drinks, pools were all nice and clean, staff were helpful, parking on street is free and close, shops and restaurants all close by!

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    7.9
    Spacious clean rooms, good air con, large pool area, managed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Transport is difficult here. Limited taxi service, buses unreliable, we did travel during the FIB music festival so expect it would be easier in other periods. It is a family resort so bring ear plugs if you're looking to sleep past 7am!

    Spacious clean rooms, good air con, large pool area, managed to get a sun lounger even at busy periods

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    7.9
    The rooms were very nice and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The food was not very nice from the cafeteria. The staff were ok they don't speak much English which is difficult but if you make the effort to learn some Spanish it's fine.

    The rooms were very nice and spacious. We went to the fib festival which was only a 15 min taxi for around 15 euros or the shuttle bus around the corner !! We were glad there wasn't too many crazy people keeping us up at the hotel we had done that at the festival so the day times was a very chilled out vibe with a big pool area.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    5.8
    The food buffett was a disgrace , cold and hardly enough...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The food buffett was a disgrace , cold and hardly enough selection, the fizzy coke machine failed to work and you hard to walk a mile to get a drink, the staff didnt really want to know. But you can not serve cold food to cleints

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    7.9
    Party city, lots of family and children activities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No WIFI in the rooms Fire alarm in the middle of the night with NO STAFF response.

    Party city, lots of family and children activities. The nearby gardens for the children were great.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    8.3
    Swimming pool was fun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast was not or favourite. It had a taste of margarine (instead of butter).

    Swimming pool was fun. Kids loved the programs (face painting, parade etc.)

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    5.4
    Pool and sauna
    • Family with older children

    Dirty bathroom , given 2 broken irons to use and bar staff ignorant

    Pool and sauna

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    3.3
    nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    everything. Overrated, run down facilities. Expensive poor costumer service especially from the front desk.

    nothing

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    9.6
    Great value and clean and nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great value and clean and nice staff

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    8.3
    Food was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Water in swimming pool and spa was cold compared to other spa hotels.

    Food was excellent

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    10
    eL HOTEL EN GENERAL Y SUS INSTALACIONES
    • Couple

    eL HOTEL EN GENERAL Y SUS INSTALACIONES

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    5.8
    Weather and beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wifi poor Parking full

    Weather and beach

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    3.3
    The wifi was horrible, and the staff worked very slowly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wifi was horrible, and the staff worked very slowly

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: