Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gran Hotel Durango 4 stars

Gasteiz Bidea, 2, 48200 Durango, Spain

#3 of 6 hotels in Durango

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 715 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Beautuful building, excellent facilities, food of a high standard and welcoming staff. Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    We were upgraded to a beautiful junior suite. Entertainment was excellent. Food of a very high standard. Exceptional meal with wine in the price of E29 each. Impressive building, welcoming and obliging staff. Very good breakfast selection. Lovely stay. Thoroughly recommended

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    The size of the hotel and the building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No general pc in lobby.Not enough chairs tongues by the pool area, which also needed to be a little larger. No working security safes in the room.

    The size of the hotel and the building.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely building with attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room tea/coffee or minibar facilities- just a fridge. The indoor pool and gym facilities are part of the spa- no children allowed but only a small extra charge. Not much to Durango itself for a fair sized town.

    Lovely building with attentive staff. Hotel has a quiet, small, classy feel to it. We were able to enjoy the food in the evening and a great breakfast buffet selection, replenished regularly. There are terrace, lobby bar and restaurant menus available to cater for all appetites/budgets. The metal outside pool was good fun for the family to lounge by. The hotel has very easy road access and was a 15 minute drive from a lovely mountain view point.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    3.3
    Loud and not worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not caring or tuned to hear customers Loud (live country music in full volume that can be heard all over the hotel and outside of it is far from relaxing). In addition you can hear rooms next to yours. Very very very poor wifi Pool open late (11.30) and closes relativly early for summer (19.30) leaving it open in peak heat our with only 2 shading umbrellas No flexibility at all And if you want to do laundry you can't in August... see photo

    The beds were big

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.3
    Just ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark rooms, view to a wall, triple room was small double room with extra bed. Pool opened very late 11:30, fitness costed extra and was not available for kids below 18 not even for 15 years. No help from staff when we asked for a better room. No bath robes - definitely not a 4 star hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.9
    Very bad Wifi otherwise nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi was painfully slow even not existent, Staff does not speak English (except for the reception). 12 Eur parking is a bit too much but not a surprise. The pool was so small, it was pretty impossible to find a place.

    Nice location to make the base of our Basque travel. Room was very nice and cleaned very well and the bed was quite comfortable. Only coffee maker was missing. Breakfast and dinner both great. The town itself was also great. Parking was easy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    Great place to stay when visiting Asador Etxebarri
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a wedding at the hotel while we were there that was extremely loud. Staff seem to be a little overworked.

    We came to Durango because of a dinner reservation at Asador Etxebarri. This is a beautiful hotel, very close to the town center of Durango with many bars and restaurants. The rooms were nice, modern, and clean, with a comfortable bathroom and big beds. The gym & spa costs a little extra but this has to be the best hotel gym we’ve ever seen. Really great value, and the same goes for the spa. Very impressed! Hotel food was decent (breakfast nothing extraordinary, but good bread, condiment and fruit selection). The staff was very helpful in arranging transportation to the restaurant, which is about 15 minutes away.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    6.7
    Lovely hotel but definitely not a 4* service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Understaffed team —> 30 minutes between order and our actual drinks. Superior room is an absolute waste of money. Gym, for hotel guests, costs 5€/day/person , a 4* hotel normally offers this to their guests. Check if there are no weddings scheduled when you book! No sleep till 23h30!

    Great place to discover Rioja region, Pamplona, Bilbao.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable hotel, ok location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel had a wedding booked for 1 day so pool was not available until after 3:30PM. Wedding reception was very loud, kept awake at 4AM with guests smoking outside. We wanted a relaxing 2 day and this hotel didn't allow that. If we were informed about the wedding we would have rebooked but they didn't let us know. Staff were very nice.

    Comfortable room, location ok for 1 maybe 2 nights

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    The breakfast was fantastic;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Use of gym and spa are extra charge. This wasn't clear upon booking. We were informed that there'd be a wedding on the Saturday evening so there'd be additional noise. However, we weren't told that we weren't able to use the outdoor pool area for the day, resulting in us having to find an alternative pool in the town.

    The breakfast was fantastic; the Spa was great quality & the rooms were well air conditioned.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    An outstanding hotel in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    The size of the superior room was amazing, as were the two bathrooms. The quality of the food in the restaurant was superb and the breakfast was plentiful. The hotel was spotlessly clean and well kept. The historic old town has much to offer, as does the location. All in all a memorable two night stop over.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Great stay and beautiful facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Prices for gym use are excessive and prohibitive.

    We had a junior suite upgrade, which was truly huge and beautifully decorated. The breakfast was very extensive and great quality.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    This is a lovely hotel in a Basque town full of ancient and modern buildings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to ask at reception to get any service in the Lobby Bar. There were no tea and coffee making facilities in our room.

    The spa was relaxing, clean and modern.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    Good-sized comfortable rooms, with very comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spa and gym cost should be included in the cost of the stay. Seems strange to have to pay extra in a decent hotel for the facilities in the hotel.

    Good-sized comfortable rooms, with very comfortable beds. Good buffet breakfast. Durango was a charming little town with good daytime transport links to Bilbao. Hotel gym and Spa are very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant , Glad we got “The last train back to Durango”after our evening in Bilbao !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absence of an actual bar /drinks availability . Early closing of ‘bar’ at 11pm. No bottles of water in room .

    Pleasant helpful reception staff , and waitressing / waiter staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel in cute little spanish city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Aside from the staff at the reception and that one cleaning lady no one speaks english. Like, not at all. Ordering food was quite challenging. The offered beers are terrible (aside from the german Weizen). The indoor pool is gated by the spa access which is not included but costs 15€ a day. The gym is also not free and costs 5€ a day. This is not ok for a hotel of this category.

    Great Breakfast, fresh fruits, good coffee. Garage is great but slightly expensive (very worth it though). Restaurant offers typical basque cuisine. Lobby Bar offers an assortment of international food (Burger, club sandwhich, steak). The hotel is close to the city center. WiFi is decent enough to stream netflix/prime.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.1
    The room was clean and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived to the hotel around 11:30pm on a Sunday night from Bilbao. We asked could we have a drink and the guy at reception told us the bar closed at 11pm and he didn't offer to get us something. He wasn't very friendly or helpful. One would expect to be able to have a drink of some sort when arriving at a 4 star hotel, even if the bar is closed. We felt the hotel was a little overpriced. We stayed at a 4 star hotel in Bilbao for 2 weekend nights and it was actually cheaper than 2 week nights in the Gran Hotel Durango. It wasn't even busy at the hotel either.

    The room was clean and tidy. The hotel itself is very nice and well kept. All but one of the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    8.8
    Relaxed and luxury feel to the Hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately on a one night stop over , the restaurent was fully booked . I think the hotel and the facilities are well used by local people and for special occasion occasions.

    Luxury style hotel with top quality spa some off which is run as a concession . Warm and comfortable room .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    6.3
    Clean hotel but disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed at the Gran hotel Durango for the 13th to the 16th of October. Extra costs for spa, gym and parking even though they are photographed on the booking pages. No access to outdoor pool (with 29 degree heat outside). Why are photos of the pool advertized when making the booking if it is not open. I understand it is seasonal but this should be stated when making the booking what these seasons are. I have been in outdoor pools in December in Italy and Austria when it was 5 degrees outside so I can't see the excuse. This is false advertising. I have spent time in Durango on 7 occasions for work and business, I have friends in Durango and it is one of my favourite places to visit. On this occasion I bough 20 friends and family (with children) from the UK for my 30th birthday and we all left slightly disappointed with the service. It's seemed Spanish clients were getting more attention when being served outside. It was only when they realised I speak Castillano that they became more helpful. This left me personally very embarrassed as it was myself who recommended the hotel. The staff at reception were very nice but an apology should be sent to myself and my friends for some of the other staffs attitudes towards members of my party. I will be visiting Durango on many occasions for work in the future bringing many other colleagues and friends but I will probably not choose to stay at the Gran hotel Durango. Mr Joseph Smith

    I liked the rooms, very clean, great food, good hotel location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.5
    The decor, general aesthetic and layout was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked because of the pool, which when we arrived was closed. The staff were at times stretched, especially in the bar, and when handling our grievances were apathetic at best. I paid for a superior room which was inferior to the room of one of my fellow guests.

    The decor, general aesthetic and layout was good. The position in relation to the town was perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.3
    Nice stay at Gran Hotel Durango
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room with no view, small window to backyard = concrete wall Pool was closed

    Gym is very good but cost you little extra Dinner in the hotel restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.8
    Excellent hotel, fantastic staff, amazing gym
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Parking is €12/day at the hotel, but you can find parking spaces outside - which is what we did- but be prepared for a 10 minute walk if there's no spaces nearby. Durango is also quite relaxed but not anything particularly special.

    Amazing gym - €5 per visit, but well worth it - top end equipment and instructors and good atmosphere for training. The staff are also excellent throughout the hotel- always helpful. The hotel is quiet and the pool area is also a bonus provided you have the weather.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Charming, lovely hotel on the edge but easy walking distance to the old city.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wish the restaurant was open earlier, 7:30-10:30 serving is hard on us Americans.

    Nice variety for breakfast, always appreciate pineapple. Every meal, whether bar or restaurant, was generous in portion, very well-prepared, and expeditiously served.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    6.3
    Very good hotel - shame they charge for ALL EXTRAS
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charge extra for absolutely everything. Parking for a motorcycle is 12 euros which is disgraceful. I have stayed in many hotels which don't charge for bikes. They even charge 1 euro to borrow a towel for the gym in addition to the 5 euro entrance I will not use this hotel again

    It is a lovely hotel and I stayed here in 2016. They have a lovely leisure centre. The food is good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.8
    Good location, nice property, clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not enough chairs around the swimming pool. People (including ourselves) left as we could not enjoy the outdoor swimming pool. The hotel could easily move the big vases and double the number of chairs, to allow for people to enjoy the swimming pool. The indoor swimming pool was too expensive for a family.

    Good location, nice property, clean rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is very very bad. Couldn't bring my 16Y old / 187cm large son to Spa & Gym. Minimum is 18Y No laundry service in August. High season!

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.8
    A pleasant stay and would use again but not with younger children because of the pool restrictions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We originally booked the hotel for the pool and parking as well as location but the pool was not child friendly and geared to adults although also on the small side. No inflatables or toys and only open from 11.30 to 19.30. It did have a lifeguard even though a constant depth of circa 1.3 metres. Understandable reasons for no toys or games etc as guests sunbathed next to the pool and would be splashed but this was not made clear in the hotel literature. So for children the pool was a disappointment if very safe and they still enjoyed it, but would have normally used a lot more.

    The food was good with a menu the children were also happy with and at a sensible price (for us). Staff generally very friendly with only one exception but even they were polite. A little quirky in style but we stayed a few days and once we were used to it everyone was happy - there is no bar - waiter only service, but a comfortable seating area. We used it as a base to explore and found it convenient to drive to San Sebastion, Bilbao airport and Vitoria. We are on a European tour and of the wide range of hotels we have stayed in including some 5 star the breakfast has been the best selection on offer - very good with a lot of choice fresh and cooked. Miss it now, even in Italy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    The pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stench in the air. It was all over town. It smelt very chemical.

    The pool. The beautiful big clean luxurious room. The gym (although it was a bit smelly) so close to town, easy to explore from the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Good hotel which is well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You have to pay 12 euros per day for parking on-site or get cunning with the local parking charges.

    We had a restful and comfortable stay. We enjoyed eating and drinking on the terrace, swimming in the pool. Helpful staff. Very happy with the room. Really liked the local village.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    6.3
    Hotel is fine if you must stay in Durango.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Housekeeping was quite noisy in the morning. We were disappointed in Durango, the town (not that this is the hotel's fault). It is more modern drab then medieval and there was a potent, unpleasant smell permeating the air. We were told it was from a paper factory. Not really a holiday destination.

    Rooms were clean. Bed was comfortable. Hotel restaurant was closed but we were able to eat at the bar. Expectations were low for hotel food but the burgers were good and reasonably priced. Did not have breakfast there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    5.8
    Very expensive and not child friendly very disappointed experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival staff not very informative or friendly. I felt like I was imposing on them. Nothing offered about the area or the spa facilities. We had to wait 50 min to be severed at the bar restaurant food went cold whilst waiting for sauce which we had to ask for 3 times which never came so gave up and went to bed. Overall a very negative experience for this hotel. I felt I was an inconvience although they said children welcome this was not the case. This was not cheap for 2 nights but supposed to be a treat for the family a little luxury for us all. We will not be returning. The only positive was the day we were leaving as we expressed our poor experience to reception she let us off the parking charge of 24 euros for 2 nights. Considering we had just spent over £300 for a very disappointing stay although since gesture it doesn't make us want to comeback.

    Large room good comfortable beds. Pool attendant very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Wedding stay with family and friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing!

    The staff are amazing. The rooms are big and beautiful. The area is amazing. The kids loved the pool. We booked 20 people, for a wedding, couples and families all enjoyed the week stay!! Great food!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    International standard hotel in small Basque town
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to complain about

    This is where Lionel Messi stays when Barcelona have a match at Eibar, about 20 minutes down the road. The outdoor pool is modern and nice to hang out at even if you're not planning a swim, the restaurant has a tasting menu at a very reasonable cost and the rooms are modern and tasteful. Staff were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    6.7
    Couple going for a day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking you have to pay 12€ per night. You have to pay extras for the gym and spa area. The pool area is very small and crowded, therefore we had to place ourselves in the patio, where we were told to cover ourselves once dry because it wasn't the pool area. In addition, the rooms are noisy, in the sense that you can hear other room-doors slamming.

    The breakfast was very good. The room was modern, within a well kept older building.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.3
    Great choice at breakfast and top quality food.
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming Pool was not open the first day and was not made clear when booking. We arrived 19th June and the weather was really hot so was shocked about the pool.

    Great choice at breakfast and top quality food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.3
    Very nice hotel with many facilities, but ask on the reception for conditions and prices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not posible to use outdoor swimming pool for two days, on third say it was open to late for us - at 11AM. Indoor swimming pool is payable for each visit. Hotel has parking places just in garage (payable), but parking on the street few minutes away is free of charge.

    Very nice hotel in old palast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.6
    A lovely little gem of a place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This is a small family run hotel on the edge of a medieval town. Breakfast with fresh cooked omelete on lovely terrace, fantastic view. Staff couldn't have been more helpful when my husband suddenly needed a replacement part for his hearing aid. Although it is in a Medieval street, it can be accessed by car to unload. We were then helped by the owners son to find the car park.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel and beautiful town of history
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, the staff were friendly , rooms very nice. The setting and area the hotel was located is ideal to wander and see the history in the town square Nestled in a Plato surrounded by mountains.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel in an amazing town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having been in many four star hotels, I don't find it value for money. Receptionist was correct and polite but not very welcoming on our arrival day.

    Beautiful hotel in a beautiful town. The ladies that served us the breakfast were an absolute gem. Thank you!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    8.3
    Good price / quality ratio
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No coffee maker in the room.

    Kind and attentive staff, spacious room and large bathroom, very comfortable bed. Seemed to have a great spa and gym, which unfortunately I missed! We stayed here before dining at Etxebarri and was about half hour drive. Had previously stayed at 5 star hotel Ercilla López de Haro in Bilbao and Grand Durango (only 4 stars) was far better!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    Great boutique hotel in a lovely location in Basque country
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great boutique hotel and Silvia on the front desk was very helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.3
    Grand hotel, lots of space, refrigerator, BREAKFAST, terrace...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell from the paper factory, payable parking,

    Grand hotel, lots of space, refrigerator, BREAKFAST, terrace bz the pool, open bar until 23h

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.3
    Hot water didn't work for one day morning
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot water didn't work for one day morning

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    We will return to this area as there is much exploring to do!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good choice for breakfast, room was extremely comfortable, staff very friendly and helpful and area is exceptionally beautiful. We will return!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Posh Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The garage

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Relaxed hotel, great staff, good rooms, excellent gym. Duarango is a lovely little town and easy to get to Bibao on the bus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    - very nice and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - nice looking SPA but massages have to be booked much in advance

    - very nice and clean - big rooms - good price - good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Passing through this hotel was great for one night. Would have happily spent a week here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying extra to use the spa and gym.

    The reception area smelt wonderful as soon as you walked in. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.6
    The best place to stay in Durango
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Classy building, classy rooms in the heart of Basque country, away from the big cities. Nice location for exploring the old town,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    great location for visiting the region
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking should have been included in the normal price.

    Nice place within driving distance of Bilboa and San Sebastian.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    7.9
    Spa i gimnas
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    El bar no existeix com a bar. Has de demanar al salo i venen....

    Spa i gimnas

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    5.8
    disappointed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a service-prone hotel. Clients will decay if they're not the priority.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    Friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Everything was nice.

    Very Good Breakfast. Friendly Staff. Swimming Pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.6
    Great location and amazing breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, very nice and helpful staff, one of the best breakfasts I have had in Spain.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.8
    Ok but smelly and missing tea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of drains that whafted out of the air conditioning. No tea available in the room , no room service in the morning .

    The beds were comfy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.9
    Clean comfortable hotel we would of liked to maybe stayed a few more days to explore the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was on the road nearby or 12€ per night.The hotel was particularly easy to find

    Very friendly and helpful staff.A good selection at breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    the rooms are perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the rooms are perfect!!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    5.4
    Extra fee for Spa & Gym (€15)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra fee for Spa & Gym (€15)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    The SPA of the hotel was worth the trip to Durango.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The city sucks! I'm sorry , but we didn't like it at all.

    The SPA of the hotel was worth the trip to Durango.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.1
    Good but very expencive hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price

    Good breakfast Conditioners

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    5.0
    3 night stay disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly supercilious staff, small cell like room. Had to pay extra for car park, indoor pool (even in the rain) & a towel

    Nice building

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic gym, excellent food and comfortable bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic gym, excellent food and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.9
    Great location for visiting the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool wasn't open. Charge to use spa area.

    Great location for visiting the area

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.9
    Durango only for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to say

    It looks like an ancient castle, but is a quite modern and functional hotel. My room was well clean, good mattress.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    7.5
    great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was way too soft

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    6.7
    the elevators the it s noisy during the night
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the elevators the it s noisy during the night

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    10
    It was a wedding celebration and the children played outside...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a wedding celebration and the children played outside our window. The front of the hotel can be somewhat noisy. festivities are over by 10 o'clock. The hotel staff bends over backwards to make you feel comfortable

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    8.3
    The spaciousness and beauty of the downstairs, the exterior...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The prim breakfast lady could smile like the evening dinner staff. That's all.

    The spaciousness and beauty of the downstairs, the exterior settings, made one feel like a millionaire. Great!

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    8.8
    Service food bedroom decoration throughout, storage for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Getting heavy bags up steep steps in to reception. Reception staff could be more welcoming

    Service food bedroom decoration throughout, storage for bikes fast lifts to all floors bar service and staff

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    5.8
    Tried to challenge the rate that had been agreed and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Tried to challenge the rate that had been agreed and confirmed via booking.com. had no confirmation of our reservation on arrival. Were uninterested and unfriendly after a long days journey to get there.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    7.5
    The hotel is well appointed and clean and situated only...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were looking for tranquility. While we could thole the night time chimes of the local iglesia and the roosters on a nearby property, the mechanical noises produced by equipment at the hotel really require to be attended to. The first room we were given, on the third floor at the rear looked on to a steep hillside with gabions under which was a service road. We got little sleep that first night since with the air conditioning in the room not yet turned on for the season (despite temperatures of 22 degrees plus), we had to have the windows open. This exposed us to the intermittent noise of the kitchen extractors on thge ground floor and the ventilation/air conditioning system for the public areas of the hotel. We were given a change of room for the second and third nights and had better sleep. The selection on offer for breakfast could be improved, however, the breakfast area was well decorated and pleasant

    The hotel is well appointed and clean and situated only minutes from the town centre of Durango and the Euskotren station with hourly trains to Bilbao (39 minutes) and San Sebastian/Donostia. The national park area immediately to the south of Durango is a gem. The staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    7.1
    Off road parking, good location to explore city centre only...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    In need of some money spending in bar area, its not nice and encourages, staff was polite, but English speaking level was quite low

    Off road parking, good location to explore city centre only 2 minute walk away , room was clean and tidy,

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    6.3
    Convenient and nice people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stuck in 1982

    Convenient and nice people

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    10
    Has old time charme and modern convenience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    leaving

    Has old time charme and modern convenience. The staff is very caring and kind, the go out of their way to make you at home

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    9.6
    Great hotel in Durango.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great hotel in Durango... super clean, spacious parking, lots of amenities, elevator, perfect location..will be back ...

There are also 38 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: