Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao 5 stars

Alameda de Mazarredo, 61, 48009 Bilbao, Spain

#2 of 47 hotels in Bilbao

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2017 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room Guggenheim View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Bistro experience is well below the standard of Beltz Restaurant and breakfast on the rooftop terrace.

    Architecture and decor. Dinner at the the Beltz Restaurant was enjoyable. Excellent breakfast on the rooftop terrace with great views of Museo Guggenheim. Friendly, attentive wait staff. Sauna and steam room are an added bonus. Good gym and spa facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our only criticism is of the Terrace staff. We tried to go to the Terrace twice - once for coffee, once for drinks. The first time we were told that we could only have breakfast - the second we were told there were no tables. On neither occasion did the staff offer us an alternative, such as encouraging us to come back at a less busy time or suggesting that we waited as a table was about to become free. It's not so much what they said as how they said it. We were made to feel that we were a nuisance rather than welcome guests.

    We loved the design of the hotel, the art work and the comfort of our room. The bed was as good as our bed at home so we slept very well! White Company products in the bathroom were a nice touch and the white local wine served in the bar was heavenly! The location was also great - very peaceful yet close to the centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was poor- we had to repeatedly ask for coffee and water for our room. There was also a plug socket hanging out of the wall in that bathroom which was obviously unsafe.

    Central location just opposite the Guggenheim

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    absolutely nothing!

    This is a fabulous choice for Bilbao and worth the extra for a room with a view of the Guggenheim and the famous Koons puppy. However don't worry if you feel you can't stretch to that (altho Booking.com do offer excellent rates) because breakfast or an evening aperitif on the 7th floor terrace allows for a even better view of the two iconic sights of Bilbao.Everything is within easy walking distance , the staff are friendly,extremely helpful and efficient, and our premium room exceeded expectations in comfort and design. Added to that the airport bus ( 3euros )makes its first city stop less than 5mins from the entrance, so its only about 20mins from the airport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location and had a wonderfull terrace which you can see Guggenheim Museum directly. Rooms are so clean and bed is so comfy. The guy at the reception whose name is " Edel " very friendly and professional. Everything was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Weather....but one cannot control mother nature.

    Great staff, great location. For fitness freaks, the gym is great and the sauna option is perfect. The location is perfect! Easy walk to old town. One can practically walk everywhere in the city. The food in Bilbao is great....people are nice. The city design and architecture is very unique. The Guggenheim museum is fabulous. The weather is not the best friend of the city unfortunately. Mostly cloudy and rainy. But then its mother nature.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The upstairs terrace was closed off during the day (except for breakfast) it would have been good to be able to access in the afternoon as a lounge/bar

    The location was great and had a view just across from the Guggenheim, the room was spacious and comfortable, loved the artwork throughout the hotel - the downstairs bar was stunning and a great place to relax quietly with a cocktail or coffee at the end of the day - some interesting art books made good reading too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I am being very picky, the beds were a soft to my liking.

    The hotel has been totally refurbished recently, looks fantastic. The location is marvellous, right opposite the guggenheim museum and centrally located to the rest of the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked to be moved from room 412 to another because the noise of the cleaning staff was too much in the morning. Also the airco blew cold air directly on our heads. When in the new room this was all forgotten.

    Location, location, location. Design and style of the rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had fits with the Internet, unfortunately. Plus, it was expensive and I'm not sure it was worth the price. I think they can demand the $ because it is right across the street from the Guggenheim. Easy to walk everywhere, and the neighborhood was nice and felt very safe.

    We didn't eat breakfast, so I can't comment on that. The room was very nice - good bed, nice bathroom, good amenities, one bottle of free water each day. Nice big desk - two could share. The location was great, altho it was a bit difficult to get on the freeway from the parking structure (not the hotels's - there was one just a block a way that we used). We never did find the hotel's parking, but the other garage was very convenient and probably cheaper. Bar and restaurants on property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was over the bath with a fixed screen and you had to step into the bath to turn it on.

    Fantastic location opposite the Guggenheim. Perfect base for walking round Bilbao. Hotel is very modern with plenty of interesting art and unusual corridor decoration. Room was internal looking into a central atrium shaped like La Pedrera in Barcelona. Room was large with plenty of wardrobe and storage space. Loved the modern clock at reception, mesmerised by it changing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were upgraded to a museum facing room, which was lovely. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was superb. We had one meal at the hotel's new restaurant which was very special. The hotel itself is a work of art. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Wonderful, very comfortable rooms with fantastic, freshly redone bathrooms! Staff were friendly and very helpful at every opportunity. Even turn down service was a joy and pleasant surprise each night. Location was perfect for visiting the Guggenheim and Museum of Fine Arts, and relatively easy to get around the rest of town, either walking or by tram. Would absolutely recommend and stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was charged € 26 for breakfast but I had one bread roll jam and coffee 😧😧. It was not made clear to there was just one charge no matter what I ate. It was set up as though there was continental (usually included in the rate) and cooked at extra cost. I was very disappointed and asked for the charge to be removed. I was refused. Very disappointing end to my visit Brian David

    Very comfortable bed . Food was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air freshener used throughout the hotel was intrusive and unpleasant.

    The staff were excellent. Helpful and friendly. The breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guggenheim museum An insult on people’s intelligences great weekend

    Beautiful hotel Amazing restaurants all around Bilbao was much better than expected A beautiful city with friendly and generous people

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room Guggenheim View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensice Put itd down to the locatoin.

    We loved it and we are fussy. Every staff member was charming particularly “Eder” So helpful. Room was good....nearby restaurant was good. Walk to the Gehry was short and pleasa. I would definitly recommend our friends to come here

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is excellent and the view of the Guggenheim from the breakfast terrace is stunning. All the staff were lovely and friendly including the maintenance man who provided superglue to mend glasses twice. Watching bar staff making cocktails is like watching a moving work of art.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Parking (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower, everything else in the hotel looked pretty new but the shower needs replacing

    The room was lovely, very comfortable The staff was very friendly and helpful Breakfast was pretty good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing .... we'll be back again for sure.

    The staff were very friendly and super-efficient. Even though the hotel was full, nothing was too much trouble, the service provided felt personal - the Chef was even happy to prepare a Tasting Menu that was not otherwise on offer. In a town where there are many good restaurants the in-house offering did not disappoint. The prices of food and drinks are tolerable too. Lasting memories will be The Café/Bistro, The Beltz Restaurant food, The Rooftop Breakfast Terrace, Valet Parking and the convenient location. The beds are most comfortable and supportive we've experienced in any hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our non-city facing room had no natural light and no view at all due to its angle/ perspective in the room

    All of the staff were extremely friendly and outstandingly helpful. The breakfast - content, variety and location on the terrace was stunning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely designed hotel (fitting for such a cultural city), extremely friendly and accommodating staff (great recommendation for dinner), rooms immaculate and very comfy, amazing view from the terrace for breakfast. Perfect place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Healthy but not variable breakfast. You can choose one option from menu, no sliced ham or cheese. However great choice of smoothies, fruits, pastries.

    Location, beautiful view, staff care about guests. Next time will stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room Guggenheim View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Location, location and location with a direct view and access to the amazingly beautiful Guggenheim museum by Frank Gehry. Loved the spa like bathroom and shower with glass view to room and window. Food and service was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar closes too early, breakfast is much too expensive for the usual cup of coffee we have, bathroom has not been entirely clean, Google Maps does not give the location properly where to arrive at the hotel by car, no helpful signing at the hotel about the proper arrival door.

    Excellent location, Concierge Service, Modern Cool interior, superb bathroom, quality bar

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room did not have a window and this says it all. Besides, my friend arrived before me and the reception staff refused to give her the key, although usually it is not a problem at all. The hotel is a bureaucratic nightmare without any light (none of the description mention that windows are not guaranteed).

    The hotel is right in front of the Gugenheim museum --- a splendid location. It is also relatively new, even if somewhat cramped.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room Guggenheim View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only one thing I didn't like: i tried omelette and poached eggs during the breakfast and eggs could be cooked better, though all the food was very delicious.

    I would say that this the best location in the city. Easy to reach old town, restaurants in walking distant. The view from my rooms was absolutely stunning. Very good bed and pillows the room is big and clean Room service works very fast. I really loved terrace, really breakfast is with the best view in Bilbao.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had a window facing the hallway. If you don't like sleeping with aircondicioning it's not the greatest way to air your room.

    Very nice staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor things: Although the a/c worked well, it still would have been nice to be able to open a window for some fresh air and not have the a/c on (it doesn’t have a fan mode). Confusing lifts, you have to press all the buttons until one shows up and then it stops on every floor.

    We absolutely loved this hotel. The location is perfect, comfiest beds, staff is very professional, brand new facilities (gym with view on the museum). For this money you will expect a lot but it will not disappoint!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Leaving! Fin our dog did not like the glass lift......

    Location of the hotel opposite Guggenheim and Puppy! Valet parking was very quick and extremely convenient; professional but very friendly staff.....architect designed modern hotel, bar, restaurant and lovely rooftop area for breakfast. Breakfast was good, nice selection on offer but also offered a variety of freshly cooked to order hot meals which were excellent served with some very good toast! We upgraded to a suite for views over the Guggenheim and Puppy and for a special occasion the additional costs were justified! The hotel is also located close to a variety of bars and restaurants and a short taxi ride to the old town - about 25 minutes walk. Loved our 3 nights with our pet dog (who received a lot of pats from staff and guests!!!)......unfortunately the hotel no longer accepts pets!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was great. Location was amazing. It was right across from the Guggenheim and near the Museum of Fine Arts. Old Town was a 25 minute walk by the river.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    all was okay and nothing to say

    nice location with friendly staff. the rooms are comfy and spacious. It is just opposite of museums and close to center. Breakfast was delicious. The top floor breakfast halls wiev was very nice. Hope to visit this place again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was awesome! We got upgraded for free from standard to junior suite with a breathtaking view of Guggenheim (literally 10m away from the hotel). Small Details make the difference: cleaning twice per day, spray for fresh pillows in the night and little notes to cuddle customers all the time. And don't miss the Spa: we got 1h massage that brought us back to life!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location - right opposite the Guggenheim Museum, walking distance to the shops. Wide selection of breakfast. We loved the churros and omelette. The concierge was very helpful. The restaurants they recommended were excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roof top terrace was still closed also according to the information on the hotels website it should be closed during January and February only. We were in the hotel second week of March and it was still closed. Breakfast concept in general should be thought over. It has a small buffet with fruits, yogurt and sweet things. The salty things are to be ordered from the menue which is ok, but than bread and butter are automatically brought to table. This is not always required and could be asked before to avoid waste of food and to be align with the concept that you have to ask if you wish more than what is available.

    The hotel has a perfect location and can be easily reached from the airport by public transport. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room Guggenheim View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slight disappointment as the restaurant and terrace were closed, both due to reopen on 1st April. We ate in the Bistro cafe which we felt was expensive for the menu being offered.

    Location immediately opposite the Guggenheim and close to other things to do is excellent. Hotel is well appointed, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfasts were delicious, but because the hotel's main dining room was closed (for renovation or because of the season) the breakfast room was a little stark and a bit too functional for my taste and for such a classy hotel.

    The bed was extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast terrace was closed for renovation. The bar area was quite cold (temp). Food and drinks on site were wildly expensive compared to local prices. Hotel staff gave us poor advice with driving directions.

    Breakfast was excellent but quite expensive. Location is superb. Art work in hotel fits nicely with Guggenheim locale. Sheets and towels of very high quality. Lighting in the room was very good but confusing to use.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Amazing hotel with great rooms and very comfortable beds. Very attentive staff. The fitness facilities are very good with great machines. The location is great, just in front of the Guggenheim museum and a few minutes walk to the centre shopping area and many restaurants. It was a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    At the moment they are doing a refurbishment on the 7th floor which hindered the roof top they have and also the breakfast. They had a temporal location for breakfast. To be fair it wasn't on par for a 5 star hotel.

    Location was great. Right in front of the Guggenheim. We also got a free upgrade on the room which was great. The airport bus leaves your 100m. away from the hotel. Big king sized bed and really nice bath tub.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t sleep very much but my wife slept well. So I think that it was more to do with me and not the bed.

    Big choice for breakfast all we tried were excellent. We had food in the bar two nights of our stay and it was also excellent. The bar staff were friendly and helpful at all times. Great choice of Gins and Wine. We also dined in the bistro one night and as expected very much enjoyed. The desk staff all very friendly and helpful. When checking in we were upgraded to the front of the hotel with views of the Guggenheim which we appreciated. The room was very clean and well equipped.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast

    I was stayed at Gran Domine Hotel twice before January 2018, and this time breakfast, the hotel's best thing , was not only not good as expected , place , quality , price, quantity , ... were not good and if I come back to this hotel, I will not pay for breakfast. With best regards, Mercedes

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist could have been more knowledgable, she suggested a metro ride to the bus terminal to catch a bus back to the airport, when there was an airport bus stop almost opposite the hotel.

    The glass lifts, the unusual sculptural feature in the lobby, the clear large scale floor signage, the mustard yellow corridors, the minimalist moving clock in reception; it all had a beautiful aesthetic. The bed and bathroom were spacious and inviting. Wish I could have stayed longer than 3 nights. The hotel smelt nice. The White company toiletries were a sense of luxury.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room Guggenheim View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of breakfast at 26 euro , and the breakfast room which looked like half a conference room .it didn't have the look or comfort of a 5 star hotel.

    The staff were excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have been more milk in room. 2 servings for two people for 24 hours a little skimpy.

    The beds comfy. Room spacious. Cafe lovely. Good bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The temperature inside the hotel was very hot. Also in the rooms.

    I already knew this hotel from a previous stay of 5 weeks, so going back to Bilbao, this was the hotel I wanted to stay. Everything is excellent there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    stayed before and great for the Guggenheim this trip only an overnight stop as snow had blocked our planned route. They looked after us well very nice supper in the bistro

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast of the second day, when the waiter asked “Tea or Coffee?” we said “one tea and one coffee please”, and, the tea never arrived... never... We actually asked three time afterwards to two different waiters. As you’ve asked, please serve.

    Great location facing the Guggenheim! Very artistic hotel, very modern and clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a bath in the room, u need to “climb” to access it. Its nice to have a bath but also a shower at floor level. The cleaners talk super loud in the morning when they start, some guest are on holidays and dont fancy to wake up at 7 or 8.

    The pillows are great. Food very good and the staff fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We needed to return 1 day earlier than planned due to health reasons Our previous booking was from 28/12/17 to 02/01/18 Wanted to change to 28/12/17 to 01/01/18 The reservation system of booking.com requires to cancel the existing booking and to make a new reservations but at very different conditions. More expansive and standerd room exclusive of breakfast Our original reservation was superior room (guggenheim view and inclusive of breakfast) I think next time I will book directly with the hotels

    everything No remarks at all for the hotel Not satisfied from booking.com

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its location right across the Guggenheim Bilbao Museum is the major plus. The rooms were spacious with fluffy pillows. The amenities in the room were complete. The breakfast on the 7th floor terrace overlooking the Museum is a great way to start the day in Bilbao. Service of staff was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was on the edge and I could hear sound every time. I think the room could not block the sound very well. Part of the floor in the restroom seemed to have stain.

    Well-designed interior, close to guggeheim museum and the center. Masterpieces along the hallway was impressive

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the quality of the food at the restaurant

    the position is very convenient the staff wonderful and the service very nice. breakfast very nice but a little bit too expensive. restaurant with a very poor wine...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could have been a bit more stable.

    Convenient location immediately adjacent to the Guggenheim and riverfront walkways. Modern spare style with some nice design details.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing except to not stay more.

    Everything was more than perfect. We enjoyed really so much. The breakfast in the terrace of the hotel at the 7th floor is wonderfull with a direct view on the Guggenheim museum. The internal architecture is very interesting. All the staff is just perfect.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom wasn’t as clean as we’d have liked and would have liked a room with a view of outside rather than of the lobby area.

    Stylish hotel & liked having a bathtub

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall only a minimal complaint, the hotel is somewhat far from central Bilbao and old town Bilbao. However, it is directly across from the Guggenheim, so this may be a benefit for some.

    Quality and comfort were top-notch here. The room was very clean and pretty spacious. The free wi-fi was fast enough. The bathroom particularly was very large and nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    super room with comfortable bed, crisp linen, great view,really good spec, hot water tub fills quickly, great lighting , smooth lift, very helpful staff, great design and a lovely smell all around the hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao is an excellent hotel right next to Guggenheim Museum. They gave us a complimentary tickets to the museum. Staff are very helpful and courteous. Highly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Guggenheim Package
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Operating the lighting in the room was a bit of a brain puzzle we could have done without – too many independent switches, to much fiddling about to find out what turned which light off/on and not very logical positioning of them! This was important as our room had an interior window looking down onto the centrepiece sculpture in the lobby. I'm a fan of daylight so it would have been nice to have this information clearly when booking - whether you are actually booking a room with an exterior or interior window.

    Very nice hotel, luxuriant interiors, very clean, nice toiletries, robes, mini bar selection (if pricey!) and hot drinks in room. Lovely breakfast with good options on offer, nice service. Lactose free milk available, not sure about other dietary requests but plenty of variety so can cover a range of needs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would prefer to have gender separated sauna and steam. No pool.

    We stayed in a great 1 bedroom suite overlooking the Bilbao Guggenheim. Staff was very friendly and helpful and the room was well appointed!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the best features , the rooftop terrace with view of museum , was only accessible at breakfast time. Access to the hotel was impossible due to a local Marathon , would have been good to have been warned by the hotel. Service efficient.

    Room and bathroom both nice , art and interior design of the hotel was good. Location superb.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were fantastic and the service was great. When we were leaving hotel, valet loaded luggage in our vehicle and placed two bottles of water in the cup holders of the vehicle. Classy touch. Definitely 5 stars in my world!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room Guggenheim View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Choices of food for breakcast were quite limited, though the foods, such as Iberico ham, yogurt and eggs, were of good quality.

    The location of the hotel was perfect - just opposite to the Guggenheim museum. I could view the museum from our room and at the breakfast lounge on the 7/F terrace. The hotel was close to the airport bus stop as well as a tram station. Our room is very clean. Bed is big and comfortable. The down pillows and blanket helped give me a comfy sleep. Bathtub was big. Shower was powerful. I particularly liked the provision of lip balm. Wifi was fast. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. Thanks to one of them who gave us good restaurant recommendations.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked an English tv channel Wished we could have stayed longer😞

    Bedroom overlooking the Guggenheim. Stunning views. Great reception welcome. Great local advice for food and places to visit. Beautiful quirky interior details. Amazing clock that turned an art piece in to a time piece and back to an art piece. Views from roof terrace incredible.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can imagine some rooms would be noisier but ours was fine. Didn't need it this trip, but couldn't find if there was a fitness center there or not.

    Comfortable firm bed, very clean, pitch black when trying to sleep, mostly quiet, great room temperature controls, very helpful and friendly staff, great breakfast with variety of options and great view, and great location for walking the city.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I loved my premium room overlooking the Guggenheim!! I don’t know if I would have been as impressed with the regular double room that overlooks the central atrium. The glass wall (with blinds if you so desired) between the sleeping and bathroom areas made it feel even more spacious and beautiful. The free standing bathtub and open shower were brilliant. Bed and pillow was the best I’ve had in months of travel. Front desk were friendly. Housekeeping was very attentive and ensured everything was stocked and good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    needs to advertise clearly which rooms have no windows to the outside. My room was going onto the yard and felt very claustrophobic despite being large. It wasn't clear at the time of booking that this was the case. Also, it was loud during the night with all the noise and the piano from the reception and bar area; Ridiculous design of the bathroom taps - not clear what tap is for what and how it operates. The design was sleek & modern at the expense of comfort Pillows very hard and uncomfortable

    convenient location, large room, tea facility in the room, that was good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room Guggenheim View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    Very luxurious hotel, spectacular design, fab view of the Guggenheim. Most interesting and impressive interior design of any hotel I've stayed in. Staff were very professional, nice and helpful. Great location within walking distance of old town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb location, just next to the puppy! Chic decoration. Just 1 stop from the airport shuttle bus. Staff are super friendly and helpful. Toiletries are from The White Company London. Le Cafe on ground floor serves good lunch. Comfortable lounge where you can kill the time while waiting.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was great! Useful feedback could be - a hand grip or two for the bath would have been useful. The terrace lights were not working. Ask the concierge to work on the instructions to get to the Guggenheim restaurant with a wheelchair. They were misleading! And, by the way, the nearby Guggenheim Museum Nerua Restaurant was daft & disappointing. No atmosphere, the wines tasted cheap and the experimental food was, at times, actually distasteful.

    Fantastic Guggenheim views. Loved the room upgrade to terrace suites. Lovely, spacious, modern design rooms. The big bath. Easy valet parking. Would stay longer next time.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Centrally located, the recent refurbishment has made a great difference. Staff were extremely helpful at all times. Price of breakfast on the high side

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything

    the bed was extra confy. We had great time there. The service was on very high lavel, the location of the hotel gave us the possibility to walk and see the beautiful night lights of the center of the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked everything.

    From the bell boy, to reception to the hotel room, everything aspect of the hotel was excellent, the staff were very accomodating and friendly, the dining options were plentiful and the location of the hotel was perfect for visiting the museums and the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt a bit like an airport hotel having an internal window only.

    Friendly welcome. Helpful staff. Lovely large clean room with lots of little extras.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: