Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gran Hotel Lugo 4 stars

Avenida Ramón Ferreiro, 21, 27002 Lugo, Spain

#12 of 18 hotels in Lugo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1296 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 69

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.5
    We recommended it to our friends who were equally impressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately it didn't have a bar in the hotel or USB charging in the room but it was close to the old city and very convenient location

    I was very impressed with the look and feel of the hotel it was very clean and professionally run

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice and friendly stuff, huge reception, clean room. We didn't use the hotel parking, on the street there is a free spot for handicapped close to the entrance.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.0
    Although it was a good offer No where it was written that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it was a good offer No where it was written that there would be bluse from 8 Morning to 8 Evening due to refurbishing. Would have been Nice to know when booking

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel! Great location! Will definitely stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a little difficult. Some parking on the property. Street parking nearby can be a little hard to find.

    Beautiful hotel in Lugo, A few blocks from the old city which was nice so that you did not have to drive your car to visit there. The room and bathroom were beautiful and beds very comfortable. We only stayed one night so were not able to access all of the amenities offered at this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    We were greeted by the warmest lady at the reception desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient to the Cathedral.

    We were greeted by the warmest lady at the reception desk. They held our bags so we could site see and when we returned the room was ready early and they welcomed us to our room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We liked everything, no complaints at all.

    Lovely breakfast good value for money. Beds were super comfortable, good size room and all staff were very pleasant and helpful. Very good location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.8
    Tired hotel in convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above. The main issue was the musty smell in the room.

    Hotel is undergoing major renovation with work taking place from 8am to 8pm. Our floor (second) smelt musty and so did the room. We think this is mainly because the windows can’t be opened so the rooms don’t get the chance to air. The hotel is very conveniently located for the old town, the car park is under the hotel - try and park on the lowest level as this is closest to the lift and stairs to reception. The breakfast was very good with a wide range of hot and cold food. Very large breakfast room so no wait for tables. We ate in the restaurant El Campos in the old town and had an excellent meal. There is a supermarket next to the hotel and we had a small fridge in the room although this was not on the list of amenities. We only stayed one night but this was plenty of time to take in the main sights.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    4.4
    Pleased to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is tired and impersonal. The breakfast is poor set in a poorly decorated over sized room, stains on table cloth, barely laid tables with loud dated music. Refurbishment work daily, 08. 00 to 20.00 hrs daily

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.7
    Location good suited me for 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Bar, beds not comfortable , breakfast poor never seemed to have enough food in ban marie people queuing and waiting For food

    Hotel dated needs remodel beds not very comfortable breakfast just alright

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.1
    OK for a one-nighter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovation work is being undertaken, despite which we were allocated a room right next to a work location and had to request a move to a quieter room.

    The location is good, but I would not rate facilities as more than average

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    Spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs some maintenance, which was commencing during my visit. Hotel staff are working hard to minimize the disturbance. Saggy beds are being replaced. I would stay again.

    Front desk/Reception very helpful and friendly. Spacious room, good location for easy 5 min walk into the old walled town, quiet at night, great breakfast selection, large lobby and generous open lounge area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    6.3
    We enjoyed the city but alas not the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel lacks a lot of facilites for a hotel of this size no bar, gym, swimming pool etc The rooms are not soundproofed and it was very noisy in our room we could hear what the neighbours were watching on television at 1PM consequently we will not be going back

    the breakfast was good and plenty of choice and the hotel was in a good position for us to visit the old city at night

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    6.3
    Its an OK hotel...a bit dated. Contental Breakfast seems a little expensive at 7 euro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No restaurant facility available to us upon arrival. We asked for adjoining rooms ...we did not get that

    Hotel was clean ,warm but the decor is dated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.1
    Perfect location, very close to the city center;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Soundproofing - the hotel is old and there were lots of noise from the surrounding rooms. The hotel was not fully booked, so the staff could have taken into account this soundproofing problem when placing people into the available rooms.

    Perfect location, very close to the city center; some parts of the hotel still have a beautiful vintage décor

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.1
    This has been a grand hotel one or two decades ago but now...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This has been a grand hotel one or two decades ago but now it feels like travelling back in time. It is still a fine hotel, but quirky eighties electronics etc. give a slightly outdated feel. However, the rooms were spacious and clean and especially the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.9
    Easy to find and park hotel right near the walls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They charged us more than the booking.com price we had on our reservation (we had 65€ including VAT and they charged us €73 claiming the price we had didn't include VAT but when I double checked it did. Also at €14 the parking was a bit steep. We didn't take the breakfast as there was an excellent coffee shop just a block away.

    Location was great, 10 minutes from the Roman walls. Hotel was fairly elegant, a bit dated but not too bad, clean and comfortable and huge room and bathroom. Parking underneath was pretty easy to use (glad we had a small car though). Hotel was easy to find on one of the main roads coming into town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    fine hotel and lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I cannot think of anything, and that from me is unusual as I can be quick to complain when things are not up to my expectation.

    the reception staff were more than helpful, even arranging for me to get a dentist when I had a mishap with a tooth,the girl also spoke very good English.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    8.3
    Dated decor!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was terrible, coffee undrinkable. Would definitely expect better from 4 star hotel. Very dated, needs refurbishment!

    Close to the Roman wall, staff in reception spoke English.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    5.8
    Good location for the walled old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was no longer grand but tired and old fashioned. The air conditioning didn't work. We were disturbed by others slamming the heavy room doors leaving for early coach departures.

    Good location for the walled old town. All areas clean. Ok for one nights stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    8.8
    Does exactly what it needs to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Haven't seen a crt tv for a while which confirmed a feeling of tiredness to the place. Breakfast is woeful. Eat at the bakery next door

    Secure underground parking, location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    9.6
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a good hotel. Located 800metres from walled town. Ideal for us. The rooms are a bit dated with old style TV etc. Not 4 star but for 50euro great value

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    4.6
    Choose a different hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is not at all inviting, with a large dark reception area. The room offered smelt of smoke and was dreary - we complained and were given a marginally better one - still very tired; the breakfast was almost inedible. This is supposed to be a 4 star - it struggles to make 1.

    Nothing apart from location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.5
    breakfast room designed for large groups;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast room designed for large groups; noisy doors

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel. Comfortable rooms and great location for getting into town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel. Huge rooms. Quiet and very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.5
    Walking distance from historic center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very old fashioned, installations feel very old. would be great if they refreshed the overall look of the place =)

    helpful staff and great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.2
    Next to the centre area, great option
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rest of the hotel it´s a little bit old.

    The room was awesome!! It´s really close to the centre area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    Very nice rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby pretty old style

    Very nice rooms

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.3
    OK for overnight stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast so-so. Car parking under hotel very narrow turns and tight spaces.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.3
    Overall a very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the lift and banging doors. The carpark access.

    The large bed and large room size

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.3
    Está moi ben situado.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gustaríame q o persoal da recepción utilizase a lingua galega cando me dirixín a elas nesta lingua

    Está moi ben situado. Os cuartos son moi amplos

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    Staff and location
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.2
    A nice hotel. Good location and secure parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little outdated.

    Very comfortable. Great breakfast. Excellent location. Great parking with a lift to the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    Comfortable, quiet and always helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable, quiet and always helpful. Fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel for short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating system was extremely too hot, we need to shut it down and open the window in the middle of night.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.6
    Rooms are a bit outdated but other than that fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a bit outdated but other than that fantastic

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.3
    Restaurant is closed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant is closed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.1
    The furniture is getting really old.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture is getting really old. In need of renovation

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.2
    great value for money, in the center of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decoration is a bit old fashioned, but rooms are very wide and comfortable. Very clean and the staff was very helpful and nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.6
    Convenient when staying in Lugo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large and impersonal, but efficient, clean, comfortable, very good breakfast buffet and very close to city center.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.2
    No habia nevera
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No habia nevera

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.3
    Very accessible by car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very accessible by car. Walking distance to the walled city. Spacious lobby and wide corridors. Definitely a first class property.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.6
    Good Choice for Lugo
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very kind and professional staff. Excellent value for your money. Very comfortable. Great Location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    7.9
    The breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If a bar was available it would have added an atmosphere as hotel was very dead

    The breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    7.5
    A classic big hotel in the centre of Lugo
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price of breakfast. Restaurant and bar closed.

    Comfortable, clean rooms.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    5.4
    Oldy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too old...Need an urgent refurbishment

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    10
    Hotel near the fully roman walled inner city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Wonderful Location just outside of the roman walled inner city. 4 Star Hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    6.3
    A Hotel that has seen better times
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness. Found a bug in my room.

    Classy although a bit old fashioned. Central

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    8.3
    Location terrific for festival & close to old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location terrific for festival & close to old city. Parking below was very useful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    6.7
    No so good for a gran hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned

    Localisation

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    7.5
    Underground parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Faded splendour

    Underground parking

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    7.5
    This "Gran Hotel" is a grand hotel of days past.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This "Gran Hotel" is a grand hotel of days past. The spaces and rooms are grand but in need of a modernisation. Everything was clean and well arranged. The value for money was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    7.5
    The hotel is in a great location to be able to walk to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The air-conditioning did not work right and all six of us had a very uncomfortable night! We had the window open; but,did not realize the thin shear drapery prevented air from coming in (It usually allows air in and bugs out!) Also. we had requested non-smoking rooms and all three of our rooms were smoking rooms with strong smoke smells! Hotel rooms need refurbished!

    The hotel is in a great location to be able to walk to walled city of Lugo. It has a nice lobby with a bar area off to the side.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    6.7
    Gran Hotel is neither good nor bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Coffee served at breakfast was perhaps the most disgusting I have ever tasted.

    Gran Hotel is neither good nor bad. It is average. Comfortable if a little worn. Staff particularly at Reception were friendly and helpful. It is quite near the entrance to the old city. Views from the upper floors are magnificent. Breakfast is ample and varied.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    6.7
    The room was quiet at night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    In the non smoking room asked for there was an ashtray in room and a smoke smell. The pillow was very lumpy, poor quality. Room had not been made up by 3.30 when i returned for a rest.

    The room was quiet at night

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    6.7
    The hotel is close to the centre of the city - just outside...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The service (with one notable exception, a Colombian barman who tried to make up for things) was gruff and quite a bit of the info given was wrong e.g. restaurant not open on a Sunday night; how to get out of town on the right road &c.

    The hotel is close to the centre of the city - just outside the walls which are spectacular.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    7.9
    The hotel is located in a great place, 5 minutes walk from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The free WiFi was abysmally slow if indeed it worked at all. The reception staff had some difficulty understanding our English but we managed. Breakfast was very sparse.

    The hotel is located in a great place, 5 minutes walk from the walled town of Lugo. It is large with a bar and restaurant. It has it's own underground parking.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    8.3
    Good location just outside City walls, especially if you are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Good location just outside City walls, especially if you are in a car and don't fancy driving through the old town. Just a five minute walk to Medieval centre. Staff helpful, despite my limited Spanish. Decor somewhat dated but all spotlessly clean, a certain old fashioned charm.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    7.9
    Location - only a short walk from the Roman walls
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is a bit cavernous and institutional, but the staff are great on the whole.

    Location - only a short walk from the Roman walls Large comfy room Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    10
    Staff were helpful and pleasant, and location just right for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioning in bedroom was poor. More like turning the heater down to minimum, but could not compare to proper air conditioning.

    Staff were helpful and pleasant, and location just right for going into Roman city.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    8.8
    Staff were very friendly & helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms were not very well sound proofed and we could hear a lot of noise from neighbouring rooms. Wifi wasn't very good.

    Staff were very friendly & helpful. location very good and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    10
    en general.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    en general.todo.to

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    10
    Location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing of note.

    Location was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    8.8
    The price is right for a one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very plain. Breakfast not worth 9 Euros. Go to a Café.

    The price is right for a one night stay. Good location to historic old city and bus station.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    8.8
    Convenient to the historic area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Convenient to the historic area

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    7.5
    Interesting city with lots to see.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Interesting city with lots to see.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    7.1
    location, price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    old fashioned room

    location, price

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    5.4
    Casino just below our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Casino just below our room. Noise from the street all hours thru the night! Were not told this at check in.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    7.9
    Not too far from the town center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to say here

    Not too far from the town center. Helpful staff. Supermarket right next door if you need something!

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 69

Browse Gran Hotel Lugo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: