Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gran Meliá Palacio de los Duques 5 stars

Cuesta Santo Domingo, 5 y 7, Madrid City Centre, 28013 Madrid, Spain

#16 of 355 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 866 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2018

    10
    Luxurious pampering in a wonderful atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was all perfect.

    Location is outstanding. The staff were outstanding, from the cleaning staff through reception through to the bar, all were happy to help and nothing was too much trouble. The décor of the hotel was superb and you really felt pampered from the moment you arrived at the door. Facilities in the room were wonderful and the size and comfort of the bed were outstanding.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    5.8
    Nice place to be but the cleaning procedures should be revised.
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They cleaned the room late in the afternoon, which was not nice, because at that time we came back from sight seeing and preferred to rest. We mentioned it to the staff but nothing changed. Prices in the hotel are high, but the quality and service is perfect.

    I liked the staff and also breakfast and dinner. The location of the hotel is very good, in the city center and within walking range to the royal castle and the plaza major

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic staff, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mini-bar was a rip off, which is a bit of an outdated way of generating profit. But it's there if you need it.

    Five-star quality without the stuffiness. Really friendly and approachable staff. The rooms were designed well to optimise the space, and were comfortable, modern, and super soundproofed, i.e. quiet. And free wifi that's actually useable and fast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Madrid is a beautiful city and the hotel is very convenient to many historic buildings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not very varied. Very little fresh fruit on offer during our stay. Also it should be made clear that you do NOT serve fresh milk.

    Liked the garden area. The spa treatment was excellent if a little expensive. Very helpful staff and extremely clean room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    A beautiful hotel with superb service located walking distance from all the major sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Leaving.....

    We really enjoyed our stay at the Duques. The staff was charming -- very friendly, helpful and responsive. We arrived early in the day and they were able to have our room ready well ahead of time and they offered us breakfast even though technically it was before our stay. The courtyard and garden for breakfast were lovely. At the end of the day, we loved hanging out there for cocktails. We had lunch one day in the patio and the food was excellent. Our room was very nice. It was quite spacious and nicely appointed. The rooftop pool and bar were a bit of a disappointment. Beautiful views, but not much shade or seating, and the bar and food menu were limited. Location was excellent. Very close to the Royal Palace and the Opera House, and easy walking to all the other major sights. Would highly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.9
    Great location ,quiet and relaxing ,but near to all the main places of interest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was rather small and the balcony was only a French window . The rooftop pool is also small .

    The location was great near to a lot of historic buildings and also bars and restaurants .The staff were friendly and helpful .The courtyard was a great place to relax from the bustle of the city

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.5
    I don’t like that hotel take from my credit card again after...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t like that hotel take from my credit card again after I left the hotel,the deal with all hotels they should checking everything before the guest Check-out of hotel and the guest he is not responsible after that, about anything and hotel they have no right to deduct any second value from the customer and this is considered misappropriation of funds without the customer's consent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel were amazing I had booked this as a honeymoon present for my Daughter and new Son in law and they even upgraded them . They were amazing . I cannot thank the Hotel enough for making there honeymoon present so wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    Lovely staff, great location, pretty building but has to tweak a few things
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from water pipes. I could loudly hear people above me showering. Breakfast was always the same, no variation

    Excellent location, beautiful dining area

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Sometimes couldn’t get a sunbed up where swimming pool was ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes couldn’t get a sunbed up where swimming pool was , not much room as there was some beds you had to pay extra for , which nobody hardly used, bit disappointing!.also might be an idea to have a happy hour in the afternoon.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Very good, will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for a bottle of cava for room when booking, fully prepared to pay for this. Hotel promised this gratis on arrival, which did not happen. Slight tinge to an excellent stay.

    Very clean and comfortable hotel. Excellent staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    Would be on my "top 10 of global hotels" if they'd improve the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Red Level (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast and restaurant clearly is the weak spot, does not really live up to the 5-star-standard the hotel has across all other services!

    Amazing hotel situated in an incredibly great building - the rooftop pool is the best spot to take a sundowner in the evening. Enjoyed the stay a lot!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful property, exceptional, very personalized service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property, exceptional, very personalized service. Made our stay in Madrid even more wonderful! Next year we are planning a trip to Rome and I already know where I’m staining- in Gran Melia without any doubts!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel with perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Family rooms should also have nice views, instead of looking in a tiny backyard. The restaurant has a nice location, but the menu for dinner should be bigger and more continental.

    Great location near many attractions. Very nice sitting and dining area in the garden. Big spacious family room. Exceptionally good breakfast, a lot to choose from. Wonderful roof terrace with a nice swimming pool area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Breakfast was exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Breakfast was exceptional. Roof terrace was just a perfect way to relax after a day sightseeing. The red level rooms were well worth booking for the complimentary snacks and drinks.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.1
    Good for a short weekend stay only
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room views were horrible - like no views... thankfully we didn't stay in the room for long as we were always out. - I am a big foodie and I know quality food, but breakfast was disappointing. It wasn't good quality and for the price you pay was not worth it. Orders we placed for omelettes didn't arrive as we requested as well.

    Location is perfect and staff were lovely Staff at the door were fantastic! Parked our car, always helpful with taxis - thank you!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic high end hotel with great facilities and super...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic high end hotel with great facilities and super nice and helpful staff! The hotel interior is superb and the room likewise. Roof top bar and pool and the beautiful garden to have breakfast and lunch was splendid!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.8
    top location, top hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    service could be improved with more coordination by a responsable. Young people very nice but still to be improve

    fantastic new structure, top location,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic Red level service, terrific location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a very busy and popular hotel during high season. There is a beautiful Asian inspired spa, which unfortunately, was already booked during our stay. The workout room access was included in the room, the steam and sauna are accessed with a spa service. I do enjoy daily steam / sauna while traveling so I was disappointed. The spa did attempt to accommodate my use at the end of the day, which ultimately conflicted with our dinner reservation. Instead, I chose to make good use of our lovely tub and exceptionally hot water :).

    Madrid was our last stop on our two week tour around Spain and Portugal. Red level was an excellent choice for a family of five. Food and drinks were available from 7-11. We were able to see the sights, walk into the lounge and immediately find a warm or cold bite and a fantastic selection of beverages. No waiting! Sara, in Red level concierge was incredibly friendly, helpful and efficient. The location could not have been better for us, steps from the palace. And, last, but not least, the expansive, beautifully manicured courtyard space and view from the roof deck for sunset were spectacular.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel, extremely service minded staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This type of hotel attracts often spoiled weahlty guests who believe they can do and ask whatever they want. Can be annoying..

    Beautiful hotel, extremely service minded staff. It deserves the 5 star rating.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, rooms were very comfortable, concierge very knowledgable and helpful and the breakfast was delicious. It also has a terrace with a pool which is a big plus when the weather is over 30!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel, lovely staff, loved the roof terrace and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very nice, but I would have preferred a few more vegetables and salad options. Also, I’m not a fan of low seating for meals, but I guess it was in keeping with the sumptuousness of the hotel style.

    Beautiful hotel, lovely staff, loved the roof terrace and the courtyard.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    A beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A major problem for someone who is salt intolerant was the excessive amount of salt in an indidually order omelet. Usually I mention salt but this was way beyond normal.

    The hotel is beautiful and an oasis from the hectic streets of Madrid. The staff are exceptional well trained. The causal restaurant is excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Loved the Gran Melia Palacio
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is such a small thing almost not worth mentioning but I’m sensitive to smells and in the morning to afternoon the halls where the rooms are located have to strong of a room freshener. I’m not sure what they use but way to strong. Needs to be cut back by at least half. Way to strong.

    Loved this hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff, excellent location, beautiful hotel that used to be a palace. Great restaurants and amenities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Staff fabulous, hotel facilities outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My creditcard was debited by the hotel prior to checking in and not as the terms and conditions on the booking.com agreement.

    Staff fabulous, hotel facilities outstanding

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.6
    An expensive hotel which did justice to the price paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much not to like

    The hotel was very elegant and balanced between the history of Madrid and modern flair The restaurant was outstanding and very good value. The staff were very helpful and the room spacious and well appointed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Just perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely gorgeous hotel, greeted with a glass of cava and a free upgrade! The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in. Every single member of staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Brilliant location, just a couple of streets from the Royal Palace. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    I would definitely recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Red Level
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel was in an excellent location for getting around Madrid on foot. The staff are very helpful, kind and really cannot not do enough for you. The hotel is clean and very well maintained. Stepping up to Red Level is well worth the extra expense as you have your own lounge with drinks and little eats served throughout the day very useful if you want to relax before setting out on your next sightseeing trip. The hotel is quiet despite being in the centre of the town. We had a junior suite which was lovely with a huge kingsize bed. The bathroom included both a waterfall shower and a bath. The rooftop bar and plunge pool are lovely on a warm day but even on a cold day just pop up there for a drink and a look at the view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Thouroughly enjoyable and relaxed experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Red Level
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really cannot thinks of anything

    Staff were so friendly and helpful, first class!! The suite we booked was superb and well equipped for all our needs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Taking Home With You On the Go ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived very late from Granada, but informed the front desk in advancdme, however hotel frontage seemed deserted, on first impression I wasn’t sure we were in the right hotel.

    Variety of choices for breakfast; room is big, very confortable and clean, toiletries provided are branded and luxurious; stuff aims to please, try to know you, they try to help with information, treat you like your family and basicalky just try to take good care of you

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    If you want a luxurious hotel to stay in with every requirement catered for, stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing to dislike about this hotel.

    From the door men to the reception staff, to the chamber maids, everyone was happy to serve. Our bedroom was so comfortable with a large bed. Each night the bed was turned down and a chocolate was left on the pillow. The cleaning of the room was excellent. It was a quiet room and we couldn't hear anything from the rooms either side of us. The a/c worked well and was easy to operate and the lighting wasn't complicated to control either. The bathroom was spacious and well laid out with a drawer under the basin to store things - why or why don't other hotels do this? The shower was powerful and the water hot. The hairdryer had a decent motor in it and so it didn't take an age to dry my hair. At breakfast, the staff said they would provide or cook anything we wanted. The staff were attentive, prompt, never got an order wrong and were so smiley and happy to serve. The coffee was outstanding because it was not from a machine! We like to have double espressos with hot water and milk provided & the staff were able to cater for us. The choice of breakfast goods was excellent and there was something for everyone.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.3
    Very nice but very expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very long check-in procedure. It should be enough to hand over your passport and get the key. Instead, I was put in an armchair while the receptionist tried to get me to buy an upgrade and promote their theatre reservations service. Although the hotel is very nice, it's very overpriced.

    Nice bedroom and bathroom, but not very big - and this was the premium room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Outstanding visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not relevant

    Absolutely everything. The staff were incredibly efficient and friendly, the service they provided was faultless. The facilities were amazing, the rooms were outstanding so too was the food. my partner and I will be returning to this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.8
    Recently refurbished throughout.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym too small. No floor space for stretching. Breakfast service was disorganised with often a long wait and the buffet was definitely not worth the €35 per head. Montmartre restaurant was OK but nothing more.

    Recently refurbished throughout. Very comfortable bed. Excellent Spa service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.8
    The staff are exceptionally pleasant and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As an international brand, certain staff's English could be improved to avoid wrong orders. But overall we were well taken care of and everybody was pleasant.

    The staff are exceptionally pleasant and helpful. We had a great stay with Gran Melia, definitely a choice for next stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.1
    It was pleasant but I didn’t feel it was worth the cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite Red Level (2 Adults+ 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff weren’t that friendly but it may have been a language issues. The lights for the entire suite were controlled by one light so if you turned on the living room the bedroom lights also turned on. There was no way to control one without the other.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    Super nice hotel, great and friendly staff, beautiful...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only real downside is that the coffee is terrible - especially for breakfast. Later the day when it is made more properly it is a little better but not where it should be for such a hotel

    Super nice hotel, great and friendly staff, beautiful location and also beautiful rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.2
    We will probably stay somewhere else next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On our second morning returning to the room after breakfast we found an envelope pushed under the door with a letter asking us to contact the reception as our bill had exceeded the security we'd left on checking in. We had given a credit card to charge but for some reson, that the staff at the front desk were unable to explain, the registration of the card wouldn't be security enough to cover the bill. As I didn't have time to make a fuss I paid the accumulated bill with that same card and left for the city but the day was ruined. I found the incident very disturbing, have never encountered anything like it during some 45 years of traveling around the world. This really does not tally with five star treatment of guests!

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Perfect location in a quiet street literally a few minutes walk from where everything was happening. Room was well equipped and very clean. Very discreet and excellent cleaning staff!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyed time with my daughter on her 21st and in comfort and luxury in the centre of Madrid! Memory
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Birthday attention for my daughter came a day late, and on the day itself, eating at a restaurant in the hotel, no special attention...and for Bfast a stale lemon pie... inedible. Better no attention that that one!

    eggs benedict perfect, twice! Great staff attention!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    excellent customer service !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i was told the restaurant was 1 michelin star which is not true, it is managed by a 1 michelin starred chef. was a pleasant dinner nonetheless

    excellent customer service ! excellent location, great sophisticated hotel .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym was small and limited equipment. Breakfast expensive.

    Staff were exceptionally helpful and nice. Modern but elegant decor. Food excellent. Rooms very nice. All in new condition, unlike many city centre hotels.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.1
    Great staff but not the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Red Level
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was dark with very small windows. There was this smell in the hotel which made me nauseous. They could improve the breakfast. We had dinner in the Montmartre restaurant in the hotel recommended by the reception staff but it was a very big disappointment.

    Initially we had booked deluxe red level room but upon arrival we were given an option of upgrading to suite for extra amount, which we agreed. We were given room 632 which was very spacious with 2 bathrooms and living area separates from bedroom. The bed was very comfortable but at night when we had the AC on, the room would smelled like sewage. The breakfast had good choices but hot cooked breakfast was not up to the standards. The location was close to major historical landmarks, making it a very congested area. The staff are very helpful but the hotel itself doesn't feels like 5 star. I don't think I would stay in this hotel next time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    For luxury and pampering stay here and choose red level.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved all.

    5 star hotels are made by the service and staff and Gran Melia provides the best...staff want to pamper the guest. All staff were positive and over the top accommodating but especially SARA, in the RED level . Sara took care of everything including printing And scanning work docs that needed attention. The beds, rooms, bathrooms, and rooftop are amazing! Thank you for a relaxing stay at end of busy travel vacation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    6.3
    Not going back there
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was surpassed to have three rooms but was one Tom with a double bed and a single bed at the foot After the first night the 2 other people went to another hotel which was a clat Had to ask for shampoo no milk for coffee replenished in room nor tea

    It was ok

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Extraordinary and worth every penny!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Red Level
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!!

    The stay in this hotel made our visit to Madrid an extraordinary one. Everything was exceptional. The accommodations, the food and the staff deserve the 5 stars or more! The location was perfect and walking distance to several Madrid points of interest. We will repeat as many times as we go back to Madrid.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    6.7
    next time in Madrid we will choose another hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    location.

    Breakfast was OK. Room was extremely small. In fact, we thought they gave us a single room, especially when you compare it with the price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    Waitress Blessie in red level breakfast area was really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Red Level
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room in 2 nd floor was this time not as nice as the room in the 4th floor which we had in our previous visit one year ago

    Waitress Blessie in red level breakfast area was really helpful, amazing and friendly. Special thanks for her! Room with red level was excellant choice. Hotel garden was very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.5
    The pool on the terrace is very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms on the 4th floor have a slanted ceiling, so you only get half a room.

    The pool on the terrace is very nice. Staff are really helpful and attentive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel, not cheap but definitely worth the money. I will go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fitness room could be larger and brighter. The noise of the ventilation/AC system when you have breakfast or dinner in the garden, it prevents you to hear the cool music.

    Great Location. Outstanding breakfast & can be taken in the garden. Staff extremely kind. Nice sun deck on the roof. Fantastic King size bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    This is the place to stay in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was luxurious with an incredibly accommodating staff. Everything was perfect from start to finish. The location was near all the sights and I would definitely stay there again! The rooftop pool was an added bonus after a hot day of touring!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.2
    One of the top hotels in Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Drinks in the minibar and at the rooftop are very expensive. However at both locations you get free water.

    One of the top hotels in Madrid. Excellent staff, great location, nice breakfast and nice view from the rooftop.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    2.5
    Stolen property do not stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other than the remarkably small room size for a hotel of this price and supposed rating, the stay at Alfonso was unremarkable and seemingly fine. However, as I was packing to leave I placed some items on the bed, which had a fluffy comforter and I did not see that my very expensive camera lens and my iPad had gotten buried in the bed. In a rush to leave since we were running late, I hadn't noticed the items and we checked out and left. Upon arriving to the next hotel that afternoon I quickly realized I was missing the items and called the hotel, assuming they would have found them and would be able to ship them back to me somehow. Instead, the woman insisted that housekeeping hadn't found anything. I asked her to check again and she said she would speak with the head housekeeper. She then called back a few hours later to tell me they "had not found any items in the room," which was clearly completely untrue. Case in point, somewhere along the line, whether it was a housekeeper or the other staff, someone at the hotel stole my belongings. Obviously it was a horrible mistake on my part to have left them behind and I regret having not checked the room more thoroughly in my hurry, but any good hotel should have the courtesy to return lost items rather than blatantly steal them. It was entirely unprofessional and the staff was indifferent and unhelpful, not to mention completely illegal. The only people with access to the room between the time we left were the hotel staff. I contacted them within a matter of hours about the lost items. If you do take the risk and stay at this hotel, you'll want to be absolutely sure that you do not let the maids into the room at all and you lock your belongings in the safe. But I would recommend you dot not stay at this horrible hotel. Apparently the staff will take it upon themselves to steal your items and lie about having ever seen them.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Best Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Everything at the hotel was more than perfect. The staff (concierge, receptionists, restaurant, housekeeping) were the most nice staff we ever meat at a hotel; they make you feel like a king. This is typical Melia's style; although they exceeded that limit at Gran Melia, Madrid. Thanks for being the second to none in making our stay the most pleasant one ever.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel that I will always choose when travelling to Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful hotel. Well designed, stylish, and the rooms are perfectly comfortable and appointed. Wonderful roof terrace with a great pool and a terrific staff to make sure you enjoy to the fullest. The pool staff is especially friendly and accommodating. Alberto looked after us and made sure we always had what we wanted.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.4
    Terrible customer service. Do not waste your money staying here. Not a 5 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Terrible staff. Gave us rooms facing the wall! We paid $2,000 for 2 nights! Not worth the money at all. Would never go back to this property at all. They do not have good customer service. We paid for breakfast on the room. We had to leave at 6:00am the hotel so they provided take out breakfast which was so below standard expectation of a 5 star hotel.

    The beds are comfortable. The products used are Clarins. Very clean property.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.1
    Waste of money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor customer service. Payed over $2,000 for 2 nights for rooms that had a view of a wall! Never received the newspaper that was promised in the morning. The breakfast to go at 6:00am which was paid for on the room was two pieces of fruit and a yogurt and a tasteless sandwich!

    The beds are comfortable. The products used are Clarins. Property is very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    A summer option for top Madrid hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace Red Level
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception phoning at midnight to see if we wanted turn down service because do not disturb was on door!😫 #travelling from different time zone so fast asleep!

    Red lounge v useful for snacks. Hotel stylish and all v new. Also roof terrace and bar works for summer months.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Travelling to Madrid for a bit of pampering? Stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything

    Lovely staff. Gorgeous building. Superb food. Plus a couple of glasses of Cava while you’re checking-in. Courtyard and rooftop pool are extra highlights. One of the best hotels at which I have ever stayed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous Hotel, great staff
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing

    This was by far the best hotel we stayed in Madrid in over 4 years of regular visits. The staff is very helpful and the recommendations of restaurants and sights were bang on ! The Hotel also has very nice food at it's restaurants with a lovely view of the city line from it's rooftop swimming pool deck. Breakfast is a treat with fresh food made to order (eggs, bacon, fruit juice, pancakes, multiple types of bread, nuts, fruits and fresh vegetables). The location is absolutely central and the Royal Palace, Gran Via, Callao, the Plaza Major , San Miguel market are within a few minutes walk. Loved it and will surely come back to this great hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Loved the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the location. Walking distance to main attractions. Hotel is beautiful and staff is very friendly and helpful! Would stay in this hotel again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    Very professional and heart warming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Red Level
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cost is quite expensive and rooms are much tighter than photos appear, these are old palace guest rooms converted to modern luxury, some of the old world building features are still attached with the modern upgrade giving you a sense of bygone era. You get what you pay for. Also, street driving is chaotic & traffic is very congested. I drove here from Spain's wine country. I highly recommend NOT driving in Madrid. If you must, there is public parking lot next to the hotel. This palace hotel obviously does not have it's own parking lot, being in such a historical district with limited space.

    Very professional and heart warming staff. Welcomes guests like part of the family, a very nice atmosphere compared to the rest of Madrid. Red level benefits are excellent and caring supportive staff. This is a former palace converted to a modern hotel, lots of old world character. A great location near the Opera house and Royal Palace grand attractions. Walking distance to many interests in the heart of Madrid. Roof top spa and sun deck a big plus for viewing old Madrid skyline. Breakfast, drinks and snacks are excellent, especially for red level (No added cost). I want to thank the great service from all the porters/doormen. The whole area is rejuvenated and cleaned up dramatically compared to decades ago. It's quite expensive, but sometimes you need to indulge in historical luxury. Metro is 2 minute walk, easy for traveling within the city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.2
    Very nice hotel with helpful concierge and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Driving and parking in this area are terrible with very rude people in the parking garage.

    The room was great, and the bathroom was nice. We really enjoyed having drinks and tapas outside on the terrace on the top floor of the hotel. Unbelievable views.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.2
    Nice and stylish place, exactly what you need for your first meeting with Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Red Level
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked red level following other travellers feedbacks, however would not recommend it from cost - quality point of view. Also I had WiFi issues at the hotel. Hotel staff assumed that the problem is with my IPhone security, however, there were no similar problems in other places in the city, even small cafeterias.

    Great location, on the one hand - in the city center, at the same time very quite small street. Friendly staff and very nice welcome when I arrived.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.8
    The property was perfectly located close to all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Despite travelling with my mother and sister and booking a family room for 3, it was only ever equipped for two people even though we repeatedly asked to have extra cups, glasses, towels, etc

    The property was perfectly located close to all the important monuments and buildings. The Red Level was also a worthwhile touch

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel with a great location right by the Royal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel with a great location right by the Royal Madrid Palace. Easy walk or bus to all of Madrids highlights. Exceptional room and staff. They even upgraded our room free of charge to a larger room with great views of the local park. Pool area at top of hotel has incredible views of the whole city. Very classy and clean and will definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    8.3
    great location, nice staff, good atmosphere....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite Red Level (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was quite pricey compared to other European cities and hotels I've stayed at, although that may be a reflection of Madrid hotels in general. The room was cleaned well but we didn't get water replaced each day and the food delivered via room service wasn't a shadow of the restaurant or breakfast area.

    On the positive side it was centrally located to some of the best tourist and shopping spots in Madrid. The room was spacious (suite) and sofa bed got a thumbs up from my son. Staff were friendly, food was generally good and atmosphere was welcoming...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    10
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel! We had a really nice and big room. The staff was very helpful and so polite. I would highly recommend this place to anyone. Also there is a really nice pool and jacuzzi on the rooftop.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    10
    Faultless!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Red Level
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Struggling to think of something but the pillows too soft for my preference

    This is the best quality, well managed and cleanest city centre hotel I've stayed in. The staff are incredible. Always one step ahead with your needs.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I went to the hotel bar for a glass of wine at 4:00 in the afternoon and I was told it was closed and I couldn't get a drink at the hotel. I had to go across the street to have one.

    Comfortable rooms. Great customer service and guidance at check in. Friendly bell staff and concierge.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    10
    A fantastic enjoyable and memorable stay at a great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing could have been better

    The hotel is amazing, the staff fabulous (caring and courteous) location excellent. This hotel is the best in all respects

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2018

    10
    Best location awesome hotel will definitely use next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best location awesome hotel will definitely use next time

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was not the best. It is central but not the best neighborhood in Madrid.

    Beautiful building. Very nice rooms. Wonderful staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    9.0
    Gorgeous, and wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.6
    Very NICE
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    curtain around the window to heavy, dusty and block out the lovely sunshine and reduce space in the room

    comfy bed, clean room

    Stayed in October 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Gran Meliá Palacio de los Duques traveller photo gallery