Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gran Melia Tenerife 5 stars

Avenida Los Océanos s/n, 38686 Alcalá, Spain

#4 of 8 hotels in Alcalá

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 32 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 13

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One bedroom Suite (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in several restaurants are okay (not bad!) in comparison with the price. A week only in the resort can be a bit boring, but we rented a car and found several food gems and attractions through internet ;-)

    Really nice kids facilities and swimming pools. Very good service if you book with particular Red Level privileges. This gives you access to private lounges and Red level pools. Gives you a more private feeling in this massive resort!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Cleanliness of the room, instead of making the beds and leaving the floors dirty. Food could be hotter

    there was a jacuzzi in our room but we did not use it as it wasnt clean. Red level was very good, first night we had dinner at the pangea and the food was very cold. As a red level guest, was informed that we will get priority bookings for all restaurants but this wasn't the case. we were offered ridiculous times (22:00) for dinner with kids? Apart from that we enjoyed our stay. We liked the red level lounge as we could go in there and have tea and coffee and sandwiches. I would like to thank Anna from the red level who was very kind and considerate she made our stay wonderful. We had 1hour session at the spa which was very good. Really enjoyed that. We also had a bali bed outside our room which was lovely. would stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One bedroom Suite (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of times, the breakfast service didn't seem ready for early starts when they opened at 7.

    Excellent choice for breakfast, red level service/staff exceptional, beds really comfy, suite was very spacious, we liked that you could opt for green service and save euros. Amazing honeymoon treats.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Nothing much really.

    The staff take top billing - extremely friendly, courteous and very efficient. I would particularly like to thank the Red Level Concierge staff - Anna, Paula & Dianela for being simply awesome. They were super kind and wonderful with our boys! Excellent family friendly facilities both for kids and adults; varied choices for places to eat. Quality in everything! The pools were amazing, the spa is superb and probably one of the best holidays we have had!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite (2 Adults + 4 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kids club is all over the place and broken up into different areas at different times, would have preferred more central activities for kids. I wouldn't really opt for a non Red Level room. The buffets could be better and a lot of the staff I wouldn't rate as excellent service.

    The Villa!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Red level for families by the family pool could actually be by the pool. If an area is to be off limits to toddlers under 3 years old, don't put it right next to and within visible range of the significantly larger and more entertaining area for 3 y/o + toddlers! That is just really daft toddler-ergonomics. In fact, it is like some form of torture.

    We booked the red level for families and it was good (travelled with a 27 m/o and 4 m/o). I would say it was worth the money although when you spend a lot of money for something, you're never truly satisfied. Setting of the hotel is very pleasant, with fountains and indoor / outdoor zones, making for a fresh scene from most angles. The indoor play area zone with free coffee, snacks and an open bar (from 530 - 630) was a great respite. We did not need to make use of the red level for families breakfast area and, in truth, could not see the point. We dined mainly at the buffet - it is excellent - except at lunchtime where we ate at the market grill. With full board it was a bit of a no brainer and great for kids who are fussy eaters (the kiddie pizzas are massive for example and a lot goes to waste sadly). The pirate pool for little toddlers is great fun. Our short person was up and down the big slide for hours. The infinity pool is cold so we did not really spend much time there although there is quite a nice area set aside for red level families. We did spend a lot of time at the beach somewhat ironically given it is also cold sea water! The play areas are only for 3 years and above so this was very frustrating for us. We managed to negotiate supervised access to the outdoor play area (it actually says in their in room magazine that this is for 1 yo to 3 yo but no one seemed to know what this was about). The girls in the red level area also were able to watch our toddler for a little bit. It was quiet hence this was possible otherwise it would not. The room was massive. I think we might have been in a two bedroom suite, there was a door we never opened! woops. View was great, the room caught a lot of sun and looked over the family pool. Family pool is warm although the area set aside for red level families is on a grass verge behind a pathway. Not so sure about this. The little zone for breast feeding and napping babies was really nice.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite (3 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The WiFi could be faster and better just to say something to improve a bit

    Everything was truly fantastic! The staff is marvelous and super family friendly all over. We will definitly come back next year. It is not cheap, but its woth every penny!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For families with kids it's not extremely family oriented as the family room only opens at 11am. There is not enough room at the family pool area to sit, service at the room was not fast we had to ask 3 times before they made a visit to repair the airconditioning and tv, , it's a huge and crowded hotel

    Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Suite (3 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    With the main pool being salt water, the pool the children could swim in was very busy while the main pool was largely empty as it stung people's eyes too much. Shame because it was a lovely pool.

    High standard of rooms and public areas. Red Level Staff were great with the children

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    room was very packed and too small for a family with 2 kids

    red level for families club

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite (3 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 teir system of guest

    Spotless clean

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The location. Some of the features in the room: lack of power sockets, unable to switch off certain lights The trainer at the sport hub

    The attitude of the staff The facilities in general and the details in particular: games at the red level for families room, machines in the fitness room, etc. The shows, especially the live music at sunset next to the pool

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing!

    Beautiful hotel, grounds, rooms and staff. Red level is a great deal.

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 13