Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gran Sol Hotel 3 stars

Ctra. Nacional II Km 664, 08395 San Pol de Mar, Spain

#2 of 9 hotels in San Pol de Mar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 580 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    3.3
    Noisey and staff did not seem to care, they said it was hotel improvements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apart from the general noise of a poorly soundproofed hotel, it got worse. The following morning after I checked in builders arrived to start renovation works. I went down for breakfast to find the reception desk / lounge / lighting being stripped out. I asked the staff how long this will continue and was told a couple of days. I went out for the day until around 16.30 hoping to catch up on my emails and do some reading but too much Noise. I asked one of the builders how long this will continue he said 5 days. I was not notified of these works otherwise I would of cancelled my booking, also I was not told at check in the night before. Finally, when I came back to the hotel from a local restaurant the card entry to my room would not work , up and down to the temporary reception twice and then waiting while the door lock was re-programmed by the night porter. I told the porter to tell the manager I wanted to see him in the morning and I will be leaving. I told the manager this was not acceptable and although he offered me a different room I declined and discussed the bill. We agreed that I would only pay for 1 night ( 50% ), I had booked 5 nights. I left to find another hotel and complete my holiday.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.5
    Nice, traditional hotel. Great sea views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nice, traditional hotel. No wow factor. Being a place where chefs learn to cook, I thought the breakfast would have been better.

    Sea views, nice pool, friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.1
    This hotel is okay for a 1-2 night stopover but not a holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff didn't seem very friendly or happy. There is a busy road next to the pool and the pool toilet was not clean. Strange hotel, didn't have a 'holiday atmosphere'. Would not return.

    The room was good, clean and comfortable with outstanding views of the sea. The pool area was good, available sunbeds and the swimming pool was a lovely temperature for swimming.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - slightly older room equipment, the bathroom would benefit from refurbishment

    - each room has a balcony with a beautiful seafront view - very helpful friendly staff - amazing food served in the restaurant for lunch and dinner - close to the beach - quick internet connection

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    This hotel is in the perfect location near the beach and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower fittings were old and discoloured and I would have preferred a room on a higher level, but we booked the day before so I expect it was the only choice they had near the road.

    This hotel is in the perfect location near the beach and the room was big. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast had a good selection.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    Lovely location, quiet, clean and convenient to Barcelona-St Pol de Mar has a non-stop bus connectio
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were surly and trainees tended to be very switched off- Gran Sol is a Hotel management school- perhaps eye contact and smiling could be put on the curriculum. The breakfast was set up in a dark room at the back of the dining room even though the sales photos show the dining area overlooking the sea

    Sea view Handy train connection to Barcelona Hotel was nice and quiet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    This was a comfortable and very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Although the breakfast is very filling and complete, there isn't much variety over an extended stay, but there are many options for eating out in San Pol and neighbouring towns, which are easily reached by train, as is the centre of Barcelona.

    The room was comfortable and well-equipped, with a balcony with a pleasant view over the sea. The staff are very attentive and courteous and overall the value is very good. We were visiting to see our daughter who is studying gastronomy in the specialist university that is part of the hotel, but the town is a very pleasant place to stay under any circumstances. The hotel has a pool and is in a very attractive location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Restful and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath plug a long way in, shower wall protrudes so you have to get into the bath before you can reach the plug!

    Staff were very helpful, welcoming and efficient. Very good range of food for dinner and breakfast. The sea view from all the bedrooms is magnificent and calming

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.3
    Very basic room but cheap, great staff, good location. Did the job
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic room. Beds a bit hard but not too bad.

    Good breakfast. Nice to sit on balcony and see the sea (even though there are buildings between you and the sea). Cheap accommodation. Room soft drinks included. Lovely staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    8.3
    A welcome beach break with great food!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor was basic and dated.

    The hotel is in classic Spanish 70s style: basic but comfortable. Helped by sun and views (over the top of another building) of a beautiful bay. The hotel and restaurant are part of a training school: the food and service were very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    4.2
      under den senaste veckan
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

      the staff was boring. When we came down in the morning and sad hello or something they almost didn't look up from their computers. No service at the front desk. Just some of the younger staff was a little bit helpfully. The restaurant didn't open before 8.30 in the evening for dinner and no other restaurant in the area.

      under den senaste veckan Nice location just a few km from Calella. The breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel close the see, food and service excellent, staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    lavatory-basin too small

    Nice hotel close the see, food and service excellent, staff very helpful and friendly, room very clean, location excellent, seaview is vonderful .We' ll come back, we recommend hotel everyone.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.1
    Great seaside location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel badly needs some money spending on it. Redecoration and upgrade throughout.such a shame that a hotel with duch a fabulous position in a lovely village is stuck in the 1970s.

    Good variety of foods for continental breakfast. Excellent dinners from schhool of catering (attached to hotel.) Staff lovely. Rooms very clean and spacious. Bed comfortable and sea views fantastic. Lovely pool area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.3
    Spacious room, nice sea view, big comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mini fridge did not work but was changed after we informed the staff. It would be better if the breakfast was refilled, arriving 1 hour before the breakfast ended and some of the trays were already empty.

    Spacious room, nice sea view, big comfy bed. Friendly and service minded receptionists.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.1
    The view from the room is lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On the last day I was disturbed by a loud drilling noise that came to my room from somewhere else in the hotel or near by. That is not something you want to hear on your holidays. Since staying in the room was intolerable, I decided to go to the swimming pool. When I arrived I discovered that someone has taken my beach towel/sheet. When I complained to the reception - they where unwilling to do anything. If they know its not safe to leave beach towels on the sunbeds by the pool, they should inform the guests in advance. It might not be much, but it ruined my stay at this property.

    The view from the room is lovely. All the rooms have sea view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.3
    Good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a training hotel which means there are loads of youngsters learning the hotel trade during your stay. Of course, this is not a bad thing at all, in fact, it is commendable. But, it can get a little irksome to be hovered over all the time. The breakfast was average too.

    This hotel is in a wonderful area where you can walk to amenities close by. It was large and clean with a really nice swimming pool area. Most of the staff were attentive but the reception needs to learn a few more people skills.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    3.8
    Amazing sea view - although the hotel needs maintenance and refurbishing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very old! Not antique - just old. The door handle was almost coming off. The bathroom door handle was so flimsy that we didn't dare close it. The bath tub was super old where you had to turn on the shower in a very weird way (the handles were at the back of the tub). The breakfast was terrible - very low-quality food. The eggs were watery... The croissants were hard, the coffee was from a machine and tasted very badly. Oh and we found some hair in our pastries.

    We loved the sea view and the vicinity to the beautiful beaches at San Pol de Mar. The balcony was lovely, overlooking the sea. Thank God for the airconditioning in the room :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bathroom is pretty old, but it doesn't cause any inconvenience

    The seaview is wonderful! The hotel is close to the see, all the windows overlook to it. Breakfasts are not various but tasty, dinners was amazing! Staff is very friendly. Sant Pol De Mar is a small and cozy town, perfect to relax from the big city. Wifi is OK. It takes about 30 mins to go by foot to Calella and about 1 hour to get by train to Barcelona. In Calella you can find more restaurants and beach entertainments and laundry:)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.2
    Eat and get served well and enjoy the nature!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Walls were quite thin in the rooms, so while high season if you don't easily go to ask your neighbor to quiet don't, take earplugs just in case. There was also a bit of need for renewing or updating the interior. Still, everything worked and it was clean, so for that price, it was just fine!

    Food and service were excellent, loved the breakfast (best coffee I've had even though it came from machine), and also the dinner menu was fancy :) Dining area had huge windows to the see and eating breakfast in there was cheering start for the day. The surrounding area was peaceful and beautiful and the hotel was located so that it was easy to travel from and to by car. Train station is also near the hotel. Sant Pol de Mar is very small, but very cute town. Rooms were modest, but clean and I loved the see wiew!! No noisy restaurants or nightclubs near so it felt very private there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.6
    Great location; great service; great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The ONLY negative is that from your balcony you overlook the roofs of the complex right above the beach. Only beach views are some distance away up and down coast. Beaches are easily and quickly walked to. If you are on 2nd floor or higher, this would have less impact; we were on 1st.

    Breakfast are full buffet; good food. The small town is very pleasant to stroll through. Train station (if you wish to train into Barcelona) is 5 min. walk away just below property. The complex between ours and train precludes any train noises in our complex.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.5
    The best breakfast in Spain?
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel overall is quite 'tired', but considering it was only really used for an evening swim and sleeping it offered excellent value.

    The menus were varied and the food very good. The breakfast selection the best I have experienced in Spain so far! As the hotel is part of the hospitality and catering college it was really nice to see young people gaining experience in a working environment. The location is very good for access to the small town and beach.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.2
    Great location, excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous views from the lovely balcony, good value food, quirky hotel in very attractive village. Walking distance from the station, very close to the beach and the village with plenty of bars and restaurants

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.6
    A nice quiet mediterranean stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints at all.

    It is a nice hotel associated with a hospitality college. The Gran Sol is a classic older hotel in a pleasant seashore town just far enough away from the city bustle of Barcelona to be calming to our souls.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    9.2
    Perfect for a relaxing holiday at the seaside with possibility to visit Barcelona.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel would gain a lot after some renovation! Everything is functional but a bit old...

    Stunning sea view, balcony, spacious room. Location of the hotel - near the beach, town and the station. 1 hour by train to Barcelona. Great value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    4.6
    Sea view but not on beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sun loungers round pool. Room not totally clean. Sea view had garages in front of it. Breakfast was adequate. Overall we were disappointed

    Shower was excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.6
    A little jewel hiding itself away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lovely sea view, friendly staff. room very clean (full towel changes every day). Superb food in the restaurant. Really well placed hotel in a small town but only 5 minutes from other resorts with more going on. Suited us perfectly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    3.8
    Old hotel not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old hotel, old furniture, uncomfortable bed, terrible bathroom with no ventilation and old. Really would need to be closed and renewed. I will never go back.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    9.6
    Hidden Gem
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't use the pool as the weather was v cold so can't really comment of the pool. Everything else was clean and well presented and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Dinners were fantastic. The hotel really needs to make more of the fact that it is part of a college to train chefs etc and that they make the dinners. Can't emphasise this enough. The evening meals were superb.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    6.7
    I liked the setting of this hotel, the sea views and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms are quite old and I think because of the proximity to the see, there is a smell... hotel requires some refurbishment

    I liked the setting of this hotel, the sea views and the fresh air

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.7
    Met our needs on this occasion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bathroom could do with updating, shower dripped all the time and found bath difficult to get into

    bed comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Location parking friendly incredibly kind and helpful staff...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was excellent

    Location parking friendly incredibly kind and helpful staff great food

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Great Place, bset kepp secret in Catalonia
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful place, great value hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    Top of steep hill Climb from town and station difficult for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top of steep hill Climb from town and station difficult for elderly or unfit

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.5
    A pleasant hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A pleasant hotel. Not quite as good as it used to be but still ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    4.6
    The view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Terrible breakfast & refusal to permit a late checkout on a Sunday.

    The view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    5.4
    very old and basic hotel with a poor breakfast buffet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    very old and basic hotel with a poor breakfast buffet

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    6.3
    Food in the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not to private as you can hear rooms beside !

    Food in the restaurant

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.1
    Good selection at breakfast but we didn’t have eggs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite happy with the hotel for a one night stay

    Good selection at breakfast but we didn’t have eggs! Sorry?

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    CLEAN
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    CLEAN

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    5.8
    Calm and nice stay in beautiful Sant pol de mar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old hotel and need of new complete make over. Great view.

    Location is nice and calm.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Owner very helpful for information suggesting stop off places for our onward road trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient to main part of town walk to beach shops & Casino. Room was small but comfortable new owner doing a great job updating the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    What a diamond in the mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn't like except having to leave

    lovely staff/owners Amazing food and rooms are faultless

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    Great food both for breakfast and dinner!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great food both for breakfast and dinner!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    5.0
    Bathroom was filthy , hair everywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was filthy , hair everywhere. Trash bin was disgusting... i dont mind the hotel not being renovated , but the cleanliness is not excusable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.7
    Enjoyed the stay overall.. just a real shame about the bed so uncomfortable as rock hard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room need updating the bed was sleeping on a plank

    Pool was outstanding .. food really good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.3
    Breakfast was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was amazing!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.8
    Nice and clean, close to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior felt a bit old.

    Close to the beach, nice pool area and the breakfast was good!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.5
    Great position and staff very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was jaded and old fashioned --- badly in need of a refit

    Position and the helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.9
    Second stay here, will come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great views!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    6.7
    the sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the sea view

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    10
    The view and staff, very pleaseant and incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view and staff, very pleaseant and incredible.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    7.9
    Would stay again
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner at the Hotel Gran Sol was excellent value

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    9.6
    Brilliant place to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location, friendly staff, good breakfast, perfect (free) Wifi. And the beautiful sea view 😊

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    9.2
    Top Views and Value
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb location and great food

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    10
    Beachfront beauty
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful hotel with view of the beach and great restaurant and pool with 60s cool architecture.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    7.5
    Relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly old hotel.

    The view of the sea was beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    7.9
    Lovely location overlooking the mediterranean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Athmosphere was a bit functional. This hotel is also a training school which has plusses and minuses. Evening meal not up to the expected standard.

    Lovely location overlooking the mediterranean. A short walk to the train station with regular trains to Barcelona.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    7.9
    Catering was really good with excellent service as is used...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Walls a bit thin.

    Catering was really good with excellent service as is used by local catering college for experience. Desk staff helpful ,we were cycling and they accommodated somewhere for safe storage.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    5.0
    Location as it is on a way from Barca to France, on a main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is small-scale hotel and restautrant institute (even they call it university), where students have a good practice with their education. Wi-fi is limited for 2 devices, needs boring registration. Room was very basic and small, shower room is terrible. A lot of students in the morning and day time. No direct access to the beach. Nothing to do. Breakfst is very basic. Our choice was only because of available parking, but it was wrong move. So stay one night, forget and never back again

    Location as it is on a way from Barca to France, on a main coast road Na11. Parking is available in the evening and night time only, at other time students occupy all available parking places.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    7.5
    Perfect if you want a location near the town center with its...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The furniture is very old fashioned, but it was clean and comfortable. Not beautiful, just a functional place to sleep

    Perfect if you want a location near the town center with its own parking. We had dinner at Sant Pau restaurant and we wanted a place to spent the night and avoid driving home.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    9.2
    Location in the peaceful village of San Pol de Mar;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location in the peaceful village of San Pol de Mar; the students; the ease of getting into Barcelona by train and finally the great view of the Mediterranean.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    9.0
    The service and help from all at the hotel was the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The service and help from all at the hotel was the best. Felt at home away from home. Fell in love with Sant Pol De Mar. We will never forget that fabulous dinner at the hotel. Hope to return someday.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    8.8
    The location, the breakfast, the view from our balcony, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of information regarding a cycle race which was due to come past the morning of our departure. We were on our way back to France after a very long journey from Greece and it would nice to have known about this in advance, so we didn't rush to leave our room so we could "hit the road" - we had to wait 45 minutes before we could leave as the road was blocked.

    The location, the breakfast, the view from our balcony, the hot and good shower and the friendliness of the staff.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    6.7
    The location is great to go to the beach and town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom was not up to the standard of a 3 star hotel. The hotel is in need of a renovation. The staff were not very friendly.

    The location is great to go to the beach and town.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    9.6
    I loved the view, bathtub, very kind receptionists, Jessica...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My only complaint was a noisy neighbor (thin walls I guess) but thank goodness it was just one of the nights.

    I loved the view, bathtub, very kind receptionists, Jessica and Marciano, the breakfast, the location, the town of Sant Pol and the wonderful people in the town, the restaurants on the beach, and the fact I could jump in the ocean and swim first thing in the morning!

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    3.3
    The hotels situation was okay concerning our dinner...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The manager (Marcial) was incredibly rude and unhelpful. His colleague was not much better. I have never experienced so much unprofessional behavior from any service personal in my whole life. Above the extremely rude staff the room was dated and for a while it felt like I was back in the 80s (in a bad way). To summarize; a very bad experience and not to recommend!!!)

    The hotels situation was okay concerning our dinner reservation at San Pau.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    8.8
    Beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was as I expected.Had read previous reviews.Hotel dated in many ways but guess that's just part of it.s charm.

    Beautiful location.Very helpful and pleasant staff and amazing restaurant food and incredibly reasonable prices.Could give any top London hotel a run for their money.Excellent.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    10
    excellent service;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    as is common in spain the restaurant did not open till 830.

    excellent service; some of the hotel and restaurant staff were students at the hotel/restaurant school. they were a little awkward but the service was top notch and the food at the restaurant was excellent and very reasonably priced. the excellent municipal beach was only a few minutes walk away. we cancelled our next stop and stayed here 2 extra days. nice view of the sea.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    8.3
    Friendly staff, spacious room, near to beach and train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast needs to be refined to cater more for British and U.S. guests. There was a good selection of continental style food with plenty of healthy choices.

    Friendly staff, spacious room, near to beach and train station, sea view.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    6.3
    building dating from 1969.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    building dating from 1969... and you can feel it... clean but quite old really.... not worth 4 stars

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    8.8
    Great hotel, nice breakfast, helpful staff, free parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The place is a little old, but was very clean.

    Great hotel, nice breakfast, helpful staff, free parking

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    8.8
    Room, restaurant, staff in restaurant in particular
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mediocre breakfast

    Room, restaurant, staff in restaurant in particular

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    7.9
    RAS
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    RAS

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    7.5
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location. view ,relaxed atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    7.1
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    very old, outdated fourniture and equipment

    Good value for money. Nice sea view Good breakfast with large choice and nice quality food

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: