Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gran Hotel Sol y Mar - Adults Only 4 stars

Benidorm, 3, 03710 Calpe, Spain

#1 of 13 hotels in Calpe

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1627 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pool area was a very crowded and a little small but we are beach people so didn't affect us .

    Everything was great staff couldn't do enough for you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything

    Love the size of the rooms power shower cleanliness clean towels etc Enjoyed going yo sister hotel suite AAbs being able to put on room bill

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Infinity pool was always busy so went in late evening, where we had to ask for clean towels.

    For us, a perfect mini break. Spa and treatments were lovely. Staff friendly, restaurant good variety, even for vegetarian and gluten free, room spacious. Lovely touches such as pillow spray and take out breakfast box for early flight.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is nothing negative I can say about the hotel.

    The rooms were luxurious, spacious and had a complimentary fridge that was replenished with water, cans of coke and cans of lager every day. The location was perfect and the breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy and crowded breakfast. Ignorant staff who doesn’t take care about guest. I was waiting for coffee half an hour and didn’t get it. Very disappointing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent Hotel cleaniness excellent food excellent Staff excellent if you want a relaxing holiday this is the place to go,Can’t wait to go back September.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of ordinary English tea. Coffee machine difficult to use for tea drinkers. Water needs to be. Oiled. Needs kettle in.bedrooms j

    Good atmosphere Cleanliness. And beds were. Very comfortable overall satisfaction

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Although the room was on the 5th floor there was still considerable noise (loud shouting - possibly from people who had taken drink) from Calle Benidorm (the street below) at around 01:30 to 02:00 in the morning.

    Friendly Staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 16 nights

    The dinners are all based on the buffet principe, we tried it only once, and there were several different dices to those from, but in general we prefer single menus. One thing is hand sterilisation before entering the restaurant. The equipment is there in a hidden place, but the staf do not promote it, with buffet it should be mandatory to sterilise hand before entering, just like cruise ships. This is not good enough. We did not see any security people, and everybody can walk direct in and take the elevator up in the hotel. There were cameras but if they are used I do not know.

    We appreciate very much their Adults Only concept, we will be looking for that next time. Breakfast capacity is big, we did not experience any waiting time in the morning. Very close to the beach and the city. Breakfast was very good, with everything you could wish. Bed standard very good, and cleaning the same.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower screens too small so the next person in the bathroom has a soaking wet floor as the water went everywhere. No mirror at the desk for makeup etc. The perfume aroma in the reception area was far too strong, I have asthma and it made me cough a lot.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. The location to the beach was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wanted to use the amenities in the health spa, the pool and sauna etc, we had to pay the fee of £20 Even though the hotel was 5* , you'd think it would have been part of the facilities. And even worst they expected us to wear a swimming cap which we had to purchase at £2 each.!!!!! If we wanted to use it on a Saturday it would have cost £29 each!

    It was spotless, food was 1st class. Room was outstanding. Bed was comfy. Hotel was practically on the beach. Staff were very friendly. Especially Felix at the reception, he helped us with a query at the reception desk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some shelves were dusty, so we had to clean them by ourselves to put our stuff on them. Personnel at the bar (as in the lobby as in the pool) was speaking much better English rather than a receptionist. When asking questions we couldn’t get enough information because it seemed that a girl, who was attending us in our check in day, just learned all the phrases in English by heart and that’s all.

    Wonderful location. Great swimming pool and bar selection. Every evening entertainments. Little details like chocolate for new coming guests with ‘sweet dreams’ note, etc. We would definitely come back to this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit expensive room with see view, and cheap room with patio view (which is not nice view)

    Good value at Money, realy nice hotel with super friendly stuff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff's attentions to us were great: first, we were given a better room than we had booked, with a balcony instead of an interior room, with no cost (more surprising given that we had booked a special offer). Secondly, it was my wife's birthday and the hotel left in the room a happy birthday card along with a bottle of champagne and two glasses. Later, we were given a nice box with chocolates. Yes, I know it is marketing, but other places are not so attentive. The room was very clean, the bed was very comfortable and there were two sets of pillows, one smoother than the other, but they have a "menu" of pillows you can choose from. The bathroom is clean, nicely fitted and has enough amenities (shampoo, soap, conditioner, body milk). What's more important to me: the toilet is separated from the bathroom itself. The beach is just a few meters from the hotel, and it's nice, with a beautiful view of the Ifach's rock. We didn't try the restaurant, there are many others around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the doors that was directly outside the pool to go to the beach was shut so we had to walk all the way round and out onto the street to get there...

    The showers were very powerful and amazingly comfortable beds!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both my husband & i slipped getting in the shower of the double superior room with sea view

    The spa is incredible and the view from the hotel is spectacular....mesmerizing! The staff can't do enough for you...so professional & caring. The little extras in the room...pillow spray, foot cream, fresh apples & chocolates..very clever! Something so simple yet so appreciated by the client.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just a small thing but noticeable and easily fixable: the quality of the fixing of fixtures. Where a larger whole than necessary has been made and not filled. The tap over the bath for example.

    This hotel provides a cloud to sleep on, a breakfast you would dream of, whilst looking at my idea of paradise - the Mediterranean and Calp's rock (the local way of spelling Calpe). The room is of titanic size: the corridors smell divine, with music floating through them and reception has a spa like atmosphere. Shops (including a supermarket), restaurants and the beach are right outside the door: front door for shops and back door, which you reach via the elevator by the restaurant, for beach and restaurants. We were here for a wedding, it was the perfect setting and exquisitely executed. As photographer, I found the wedding crew easy to work with and extremely accommodating. Thank you.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ‘entertainment’. The singing was rather bad and the song choice poor. Although saying that, she’s a better singer than I am!

    The sun beds were super comfortable!!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking! Street noisy

    The shower with the view to outside was amazing. The view from the balcony very nice. Breakfast was first class! Nice touches - water when you leave and apples in your room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was the choice of colours - too much black and brown used in interior and exterior design for our taste, we would have preferred white in combination with brighter, happier colours.

    Excellent new hotel, more 5 star than 4 star. Our room was much bigger than expected. Free water and drinks in the minibar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The floor of the douche was very slippery. When we told that at the reception when we were leaving, they told us to say that in the beginning of ouer stay because there is a solution for that problem.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not as quiet as some reports suggest. You can hear your neighbours quite well.

    Great sea view. I moved to an apartement on the other side after a couple of days. Street view was not quite the same.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That you have to pay to swim inside as it’s part of the spa. The outdoor pool is fantastic but very cold in March

    The view of the sea from the balcony was magnificent. Breakfast was beyond all expectations... fabulously

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are so comfortable. The cleanliness and fragrance of the rooms are amazing! The sea view spectacular. The breakfast caters for everyone.. vegetarians, vegans, gluten free.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fried breakfast is very disappointing, the bacon and eggs were left too long on the hot plates, could be a lot better

    the Beds are very comfortable, the rooms are lovely, it’s a great hotel, prime location next to the beach

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Spa is dissapointing and does not give value for money. The facilities are small and overall the atmosphere is not one of relaxation but rather one of a public swimming pool. Calpe as a town is a bit outdated and lacks quality and soffistication.

    Cycling heaven with great tours in the direct surroundings of Calpe ! Awesome view from the balcany when you book a seaview room. The breakfast buffet is very generous and good value. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Parking under the building with direct access elevator makes it very easy to go in and out. Presence of Baguet cycling centre for bike rent and guided tours is something I found out to late but a big plus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    We have stayed a number of times in the past and each time it is excellent. Position in relation to beach and town very good. Lots of places to dine out if a change from hotel dining is wanted. Birthday/anniversary break, having put birthday cards up in the room on our return to it there was a bottle of bubbly in the fridge. Nice touch. Discount because we have stayed previously and also being able to use the room until evening on our last day, at no extra cost. Flight home was an evening one.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found the room too hot at night. The heating controls were not easy to control. We could however open windows.

    Good selection at breakfast . We were left a bottle of cava in the room as it was my birthday. Lovely bathroom. Lots of little extras

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ONLY thing I was disappointed with was the fact that there was absolutely NO availability for the Spa during the whole weekend. We arrived at 1pm on the Saturday and left at 1pm on the Sunday and we couldn't enjoy a spa circuit or have a manicure or a treatment in the whole time we were there. Appointments should be saved for weekend arrivals and if this isn't possible then at the time of booking you should advise that PRE reservation of the Spa is necessary!!!

    The hotel is a wonderful weekend retreat for busy mums and dads to escape the "routine" for a couple of days!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilet seat set higher than normal up on wall. Didn't object to paying for parking. Perhaps it could have been included in hotel tariff. (Just an observation) Would loved to have been able to stay longer!

    Location was stunning, right near the beach. A Standard twin room was exceptional. ( all the complimentary shower accessories included) Service and helpfulness of the staff was excellent. Weather was Awesome. Well worth the money. (In other words- Everything!)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 9 nights

    bar drinks expensive but there are plenty of other bars

    Excellent location. The adults only policy made for a very quiet and relaxing stay. We stayed over Christmas and particularly appreciated the very low key approach to Christmas. Rooms and beds very comfortable and clean Food good with lots of choice Good gym with all equipment working.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - add on expensive parking. - very few english channels on tv - view from the rooms other than "the sea view", they just directly face the other appartment buildings.. Advise: pay extra for the view or choose other hotel to stay for the price. - we stayed in December, it means too cold for the sea, and outside pool/beach club is closed. So pool/sauna should be included in the room price you would think? now it adds up to 60eur for a couple just for entry. I would go there second time --- but if you add sea view room, parking, spa entry price --- I might as well choose other hotel in the class/price range as this and get more value.

    +breakfast selection was one of the best I've seen (even if you end up eating same food in all hotels anyway :)) ), but nice touch on fresh orange juice mashine, smoothies, egg benedict and ice-cream selection. +lobby bar with the view. +room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first night we were quite disapppointed with the food but on the second night it was in a different dining room and a completely different experience, very strange. Breakfast was very good with a great choice to pick from.

    The room was very nice with a great sea view , very comfortable beds and english tv channels. It was my husbands birthday and the hotel delivered a bottle of cava to the room which was a nice touch. Used the spa for a massage which was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area was dirty with broken and scruffy beds. Towels were torn and scruffy no food available except for a turned up cheese and ham sandwiches Free sun tan lotion! The hotel was virtually on close down the day after we arrive We have stayed a number of times to finish our holiday from our own apartments just so my wife can rest from making beds etc This was definitely our worst stay there The Bahia next door is also nice and much cheaper but the facilities are not as good as the Solymar have been in the past!!

    The room with sea view

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is lovely. On the beach and an easy walk to the flamingoes, rock and other beach, or up to the old town at night Great views from bar, restaurant and pool areas Comfy sunloungers and excellent cocktails Room well furnished and perfectly clean every day Terrace enormous for room facing the mountain/ city with partial sea view Staff friendly and helpful So many breakfast options - hot and cold- egg options, fried potatoes, mini pancakes, savoury and sweet pastries, cakes, cereals, fresh fruits, variety of breads and cheeses, good pots of coffee, fresh juices and cava! Literally the best hotel buffet breakfast ever !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    on our first visit there was a bottle of cava...slightly disappointing there wasn't one this time.but it will not stop us visiting again

    overall-everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We paid extra to have a room with a balcony but not seaview and did know from website that view over looked city? It actually overlooks a street which was noisey from bars and traffic. Also had bin collections early in morning. Either pay for room with a sea view and balcony or otherwise an inside room with no balcony. The inside rooms are quiet. We didn't sit on balcony once during our stay! Would liked to have seen more vegetable choices at evening meal.

    Hotel is very modern , exceptionally clean and staff are all very helpful and friendly. Position is right on the beach and and the pool area is very relaxing. Plenty of food choice. Good gym and view from infinity pool is beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room's were clean but very dated they badly need a make over, the parking is expensive

    The location, having lifts with access to a supermarket and carpark was very convenient

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the best hotel we have stayed in.. I play golf all over and have stayed in a lot of 5 star hotel's, that wouldn't come close to this place.. can't understand why it's only a 4 star.. quality hotel quality staff.. we will be back

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked to eat on the outside terrace but on 2 days of our stay it was closed for wedding. Definitely preferred eating outside, it all seemed a little hectic inside the hotel restaurant.

    Lovely room with sea view and balcony. Staff helpful and friendly. Rooms were immaculate, cleaning staff were very friendly throughout the hotel and kept all areas sparkling clean, well done to them x

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the alcohol prices were a little high - such as 12 Euros for a gin and tonic. Glad I don't drink a lot

    Awesome place. Facilities are brilliant, Staff amazing. very clean. Everything about it is 1st class. Will be going again at some point

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the hotel itself have too many rules! eg. breakfast outside was at 9am, do not try and take a table to wait at 8.59am!! the pool opens at 9.30, do not try and get in at 9.29! honestly this was like being in school. also the lighting in the corridors, although very trendy was very dim, just a fraction brighter would have been better. the toilet was too high for both my husband and i. i am 5ft6in and hubby is 5ft 11in so we are not particularly short but we both found that our feet would dangle!! amusing at first but soon wore off.

    breakfasts were great with a very good choice. there was pretty much everything that you would want. loved the bed, firm and comfortable. probably the best hotel bed that we have slept in. we enjoyed the music at the pool, right volume and classy tunes, very relaxing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception Staff caused unnecessary fuss about my original debit card I booked with having expired therefore my new card had a new number (same account), however I had proof of identity with a passport and my booking was paid in full in May!! :-(

    Lovely Pool area & very Spacious room with Comfortable beds

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool restaurant -opening hours unpublicised & service not slick. All pool loungers should have option for raised back Inability for grandchildren to enter hotel

    Breakfast superb Open 24 hours Staff helpful over extra day in same room Left luggage facility ideal; cases delivered to room Daily newsheet in English Very quiet Bedroom air conditioning - many options Free pool Towels

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We had booked before hotel became Adults only and so our grandchildren (staying elsewhere in Calpe) could not enter the hotel.

    They were able to provide another night in the same room (booked via Booking.com).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Absolutely everything !! We would revisit this Hotel time and time again. It has a 4 star rating but the entire trip was 5 star excellence. The Hotel go above and beyond to make your stay even better than you could possibly imagine. We were there for two special occasions in one, my 50th and our Wedding Anniversary, and I'm so glad we chose the Gran Hotel Sol Y Mar. I just can't wait to spread the word on how fantastic this place is. Well done to all the Team, we were very impressed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People at reception desk are not friendly, tried to ask them about some good restaurant, didnt get any help or advise. The only kind and friendly was Pepi! She was veru helpful. 2 young girls are not willing to help at all. The pool is small and was not very clean. Poor 4 star hotel.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We really loved the hotel and the area so after 6 days we decided to extend our holiday and stay in the hotel for 4 more days. We went to the reception and spent 45mins queuing. We extended our stay eventually but that morning we missed a breakfast so we asked if we can get a ticket for lunch. The receptionist after consulting it with the reception manager said that it is not possible to issue the ticket. I think that was a very poor service considering that we have spent a lot of money and service at the reception was very slow. In fact I know that in this situation other 4 star hotels would issue the ticket for the clients to keep them happy, especially if the client already paid for the breakfast. It would have been a very good gesture and we would have nothing bad to say about the hotel.

    The swimming pool was amazing and staff very friendly. We loved the area and the view from the top of Calpe Rock.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited bar food at certain times. Pool area crowded at times.

    Great selection for breakfast, lots of bars and restaurants also within walking distance. It was our wedding anniversary and the hotel left us a bottle of Prosecco to help us celebrate. Hotel bar staff were very friendly. Hotel was clean and rooms were comfortable. Nice location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that was an issue - you had to pay to use the indoor pool in the spa.

    Staff were amazing, lots of little extras. Breakfast caters for every need. Relaxing hotel for a sun break.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were poor, didn't seem interested and not helpful as such just doing the bare job. I needed a doctor on sunday they were not helpful in my plight. Also we wanted to get the hotels recommended bus to airport. They had no times , no help, gave the phone number and you had to do it yourself. Not speaking Spanish was a hindrance, have never had this problem before. All other staff were very nice though.

    Location, facilities, adult only.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    One complaint would be that the pool size and seating with shade was inadequate for the volume of people that were resident. I had to spend all my time on the beach, there was no shade on the grass area overlooking the sea. The pool size appears a lot larger then the photos show.

    Everything was excellent and the staff were very friendly, nothing was to much trouble. I can't wait to return, hopefully very soon.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was very clean and first impressions I upon arrival in hotel were very good. There is a lovely aroma in reception and the staff are very good and infirmaries.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small pool area. If you wanted a sunbed you had to be there early. On the plus side you could get towels for the beach.

    Very modern. Great buffet breakfast. Right on the beach and within walking distance of the old town and good local restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The person that checked us into the hotel was not very welcoming, firstly they could not find our booking, then they continually yawned throughout the process. Perhaps it was the end of their shift as the hotel was busy, just not the customer experience one would have hoped for.

    Excellent location. Very good buffet breakfast - lots of choice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This time the serving of the Coffee was slower than usual.

    Thiso is the 3rd year I'very been at the Gran Sol y Mar It 's an excellent hotel The rooms are fabulous and the Pool with the bar is fantastic There's also great entertainment in the Main bar every evening.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The friendly receptionist talked far too fast, could not therefor understand all she said.

    great location. Good breakfast with excellent choice of food

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    pool freezing ☃

    Ideal location, excellent food we were half board and swapped regular Lunches instead of evening meal, our room had everything we needed , views of the Rock and beach , water in the room daily and two cokes every other day. The one one niggle was the pool not being open till 10am we were only there 5 full days and wanted to get there early and enjoy the pool and when we wanted a small walk or we had lunch we worried about the 20 minutes before he took the towels away , we didn't abuse this and understand why this set but maybe an hour would be easier when lunching in the hotel , we never did see any towels taken and some people Did abuse it but everyone had a bed , the pool is freezing probly one of the coldest but the pool area, beds, bar and views make up for it, the pool area is quiet small and can't imagine how full it must of being when kids were using it. Thus is now a fab adults only hotel and would definitely stay again .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite hilly. Corridors in hotel were dark

    Breakfast had excellent choice both for hot and cooked breakfast Location on beach and many restaurants/cafes close by A short walk to the old town where there is many restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only disliked the fact we only booked a week and not two!

    Great hotel right on the front of the beach. Loved everything about the hotel. Food was excellent, although quite a lot of fish, but lots of meat too. Cold meats and healthy salads if you wished.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely hotel. Very clean. Large spacious rooms and modern bathrooms. Would definitely recommend this hotel as a good base to visit the surrounding areas.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A victim of their own success, there were sometimes lengthy queries at reception

    Breakfast buffet was excellent. The maintenance team response was very quick and efficient when we had a water leak from upstairs. It was great that we could use the spa to freshen up after a day in the sun on checkout day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay 14 euros a day to park our car. When we'd already paid for our room. 4 day parking 56 euros. Far to expensive 😤

    Great location friendly staff, sunscreen by pool, bubbles at breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    After an excellent buffet breakfast you can step out of the hotel onto the promenade and stroll to the marina or the base of the mountain or look at the Flamingo's and walk the length of the adjoining Calpe beach/promenade. Stopping for a drink on your way and stopping for a bite to eat on your way back in one of the many restaurants or bars. Spend the afternoon relaxing around the pool to relaxing music on very comfortable sun loungers until 7pm. In the evening you can walk up to the old town where you will find some very nice restaurants to sit outside or you can walk 100 meters to the main strip of restaurants or choose one of the restaurants overlooking the sea. Ideal hotel and resort for families and couples of all ages, but the resort is not ideal for singles.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard room is 2 single beds pushed together The staff spoke little english

    Half board stay- the food variety was great Lovely pool area and view to the sea Easy access to the beach Sun cream available for everyone to use

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, the hotel made our trip much less stressful

    Because our trip was stressful ( sick relative) the hotel was an oasis to come back to. We even got offered a bottle of water at reception when we checked out.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The no smoking policy in the rooms needs to be made very clear on all bookings.

    the staff were very helpful at all hours of the day and night, the hotel was very clean 24hrs of the day, the breakfast was excellent location excellent and the accommodation was excellent (we upgraded to a sea view)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The tourist information centre off the beaten track, just like the main bus station.

    Excellent choice for breakfast. Comfortable and clean bedroom with fabulous seaview across the bay, as on the beachfront. Excellent pool area. Very helpful reception staff. Amazing choice available at the bar with very helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea coffee making facilities which is generally available in that standard of hotel - especially in Superior Sea View Rooms.

    Excellent selection of breakfast food-cakes amazing.Plus Cave available daily unlike many other hotels.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The reception staff were welcoming & friendly. They recorded that we had stayed there before. All the facilities in the room were excellent,especially the bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were bed and breakfast - the breakfast superb. We travel a lot but we have NEVER been asked to pay 60 Euros per head for an evening buffet that also excluded drinks. We consider this tariff to be daylight robbery and although we have the money would NOT ever consider paying this ridiculous amount for a hotel buffet!

    Everything excellent especially the staff!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't fault anything

    Fabulous big bed. Brilliant shower and a fantastic view. We're booking again for another short break at the end of January. Oh and the burgers were fantastic!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Additional parking charge.

    Excellent run hotel, friendly staff, beautifully run breakfast buffet, with a wonderful selection of food. Attention to detail in all departments of the hotel makes this a hotel you will want to come back to.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Service was lacking, especially at breakfast, terrible service. Only got given coffee 2 days out of 7, very rarely any tea bags available, average tasting food but very plentiful supply of everything. Our garden view room was incredibly dark and dingy, we upgraded to sea view for the last couple of days and it was so lovely!

    Lots of little extras like free bottled water, juices every afternoon and some average tasting pastry things.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was not cleaned very well. We complained and they did offer us another room and a box of chocolates was left in the room.

    The hotel is in an excellent position right on the beach. The food was also excellent with a hugh variety at breakfast and dinner. The staff were very accommodating and friendly. Will definitely be returning again later in the year.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: