Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Son Julia Country House Hotel & Spa 5 stars

Crta. Del Arenal a Llucmajor s/n, 07620 Llucmajor, Spain

#11 of 24 hotels in Llucmajor

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 111 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange decor inside - felt slightly soulless. Bar area never used - this area needs a complete overhaul and would then be a really nice area to enjoy a pre or post dinner drink or sitting area during the day if not wanting to be outside or in your room. Bedrooms ok but decor could be improved if 5 star. Spa - looks great in the photos but rather dingy and again no atmosphere. Some of the outside areas looked tired and unused. If these areas could be improved it would be a proper 5 star hotel. I would say it’s a good 4 star hotel.

    Staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Large swimming pool fantastic with good bistro. Food good. Easy to get to from the airport.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    This turned out to be one of our best hotel experiences we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This turned out to be one of our best hotel experiences we have had as a family. A truly wonderful hotel in every aspect. Friendly staff, great food and a heavenly breakfast. A great poolarea both för adults and kids. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t have dinner at the hotel as limited choice and very expensive.

    Beautiful peaceful hotel with a fantastic 25m outdoor pool, tennis courts and spa. Breakfast was delicious served by the lovely Maria. All staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. Llucmajor is a pretty little town with some nice restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    A peaceful getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely, tranquil location a short taxi ride from the local town and approximately a 20 minute taxi ride to Palma. The staff were lovely and attentive although overall the hotel felt very quiet albeit it was apparently close to being fully booked. Ideal for a peaceful getaway or base to explore the island.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    The hotel is stunning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are quite thin so we could hear other guests, but we didnt spend that much time in the room, it wasnt a big problem. Food could be served by the pool, I guess the season is about to start, so maybe pool was not ready for that yet. But it wasnt big deal;-)

    The hotel is stunning! Surroundings are gorgeous, we loved everything about this place. Breakfast was delicious, Maria is so nice! And all staff were very lovely! Son Julia wine is delicious...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.9
    Don’t come here if you are looking for country house tranquility . Go to son net a different class!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Garden Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy and unruly children that spioiled the whole trip. Running around at breakfast and screaming all day at pool. No regard to couples who came here for tranquility. Also main road close by with traffic noise. But by far the biggest annoyance was unruly noisy young children !!!!!!

    Pool area Grounds Grand old building

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    2.5
    Will not stay here or book with Booking.com again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Garden Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We didn't like the quality of the place. Slightly tired looking, poor taste, lack of attention to detail. We didn't like the attitude of the staff, especially the management. We felt unwelcome and very much second class. Unless you are; a middle-aged, white, (heterosexual) couple, American or German, conservative and right wing - you're probably not what qualifies as an esteemed guest of this hotel. We were labelled by the manager as 'stupid English' because we had something to say about the mould growing on the air conditioning vent, and the damp and cold feel and smell of the room. BOOKING.COM: We wanted to leave after the racist comment, but we're told as we'd booked through Booking.com and paid in full in advance we'd have to take it up with them. We called Booking.com who said that sleeping in a room with active mould and racist comments from management doesn't qualify for a cancellation of the remaining days on the booking. When I asked to speak to a manager at Booking.com, I was told 'the manager doesn't want to speak to you, as she'll only be saying the same thing as me'. When I said I'd like to be transferred anyway, I was told 'she won't speak to you, I'm sorry'.

    What did we enjoy about the hotel? The trees, the sun, the sky, the tiny snails on the patio. Son Julia as a concept, is luxury but in reality this is absolutely not so. The building is beautiful but what's inside isn't, it's very easy to be fooled by a hotel like this, we were. Scratch beneath the surface and you'll discover that corners are cut everywhere. If you know what good hospitality looks like, if you like both the big and little details to be thought about, if you like to feel relaxed and welcomed and taken care of, don't book here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.8
    Great, comfortable stay at a nice accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The finca is located close to the road to Lluchmajor. Fortunately, it was quite at night. However, if someone likes to sleep with open windows, that might be/become an issue.

    Great breakfast, delicious meals for dinner (a bit expensive), nice as well as comfortable room, super cleaning staff, very friendly staff in general.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    perfect hide-away for a relaxing vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Garden Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    coffee could be better

    very comfortable, nice staff, great breakfast, nearly michelin-star restaurant, amazing pool area, perfect location for trips on the island

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.3
    Wonderful holiday. Warm staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jacuzzi was out of order for the entirety of our 4 night stay. The indoor swimming pool is lovely but for little ones is too cold - I took the temp using our baby bath thermometer and it was 27 degrees. In order to use steam room you have to tell staff 30 min in advance so they can turn it on. Outdoor pools looked lovely but no staff around manning them in low season ( we were there end of April) so could have been a tad cleaner- quite a few leaves/ other plant debris at the bottom of the pools. Water not heated outside so definitely could not use swimming pool. No room service menu in the room so you have to go down to restaraunt and tell them wat you want. After telling them the order they got it a bit wrong (forgot to bring our fries. Then forgot to bring ketchup. Brought the wrong dessert). No air conditioning in fitness centre as far as I could tell - or at least it wasn't turned on when I entered. Property is a bit secluded so you can't walk to a store or restaurant or anything you have to take a taxi or rent a car to go anywhere. Outside areas could do with a bit more upkeep - quite a bid of bird poop outside. Probably because low season upkeep not to highest possible standard.

    Bed was huge. Bigger than a king size bed. Fit me and husband and 10month old baby (who likes to sleep sideways!) very comfortabley. Indoor swimming pool area gorgeous and seems barely used. Breakfast was AMAZING. tastiest juiciest strawberries. Loads of great fresh fruit. Maria the waitress so helpful and lovely. Eggs and crepes and amazingly fresh pastry. Quiet property. Only 25 rooms. Delicious quesadillas and delicious steak. All staff at hotel are incredibly helpful and kind. Everyone makes you feel welcome and loved. Bed is very comfy. Other guests are classy people- no hen parties/ stag dos/ loud young people. All adults middle aged and older. Me and husband in our 30s and we were probably youngest guests there (apart from our baby and a few other little children) Hotel provided excellent baby cot. Hotel provided blue tooth speakers in room. Free wifi. Hotel provided great clean kettle for the room. Lovely outdoor patio attached to our room. Maid service/ housekeepers take pride in their job and work quickly and efficiently everyday on our room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    8.8
    Could be so much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the lack of choices or being limited to eat/drink at certain hours. For example, I like coffee in the morning. The only way to get a coffee was to wait until 8am when the breakfast was served. No coffee in the room. For a 5 stars hotel it seemed to lack on those little things that pamper the guest.

    The hotel itself is very nice, peaceful and relaxing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    A lovely week must go there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the towels could have been better in the room, a little passed being good.

    breakfast was good, Maria was welcoming in the in the morning and was a fine waitress.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    10
    We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything. Our 2nd visit. A small quiet hotel where nothing is a problem. Special mention to Beatrice and her team who organised bike hire, car hire and taxis for us. Pool areas are lovely. Food fantastic. If you want luxury and looking after this is the hotel for you!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    8.3
    Lovely relaxed few days at Son Julia
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel. Staff very friendly and accommodation very comfortable. Food was great although we only had lunch and then went out for dinner. The square in Llucmajor was busy with lots of cafes / bars. We only discovered this on the last night as had been driving to Palma for the evenings.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    9.6
    one of the best places to be in Mallorca!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For us maybe the best place in Mallorca. Fernando and bis team are doing since years an awsome job. Location, style, facilities, Food and Services are just great. Not to forget the incredible Maria who is the heart and soul of the place. We cant wait to go back...

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    It was a great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    great service and staff; also enjoyed breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Amazing breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Garden Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and drinks are expensive however the food is excellent

    Amazing breakfast Great for a relaxing holiday

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Perfect break, felt spoiled by the staff and the hotel was beautiful and food was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Garden Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bat in the evening

    The staff were great, the food was amazing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Gorgeous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful landscape in the country side. Very quiet and perfectly manicured.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Absolutely nothing.

    Simply brilliant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely. Homely but 1st class.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Replenishing of tea bags for a 1st am cup of tea. (We had to keep asking).

    The staff. The pillows. The wallights and the art in our suite.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    Luxury!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Beautiful old house and gardens! 2 swimmingpools and excellent staff! Nice big rooms and beds! Very good restaurant!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.6
    Lovely Traditional Country Estate hotel with excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable and friendly Luxury Hotel. Good location to explore Llucmayor area and coast. Good Hotel restaurant and excellent breakfasts.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    7.9
    Unique and perfect for both total relaxation and a touring base
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Garden Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The croissants WERE extra flakey! Dinner also pretty special

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    9.2
    Great breakfast, everyday new dish cooked by very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast, everyday new dish cooked by very friendly staff. Lovely swimming pool and garden, lovely settings.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff set a high level of service

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    7.9
    excellent facilities particularly the pool and surrounding...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not impressed with the food or the dining room. Traffic noise could be a problem

    excellent facilities particularly the pool and surrounding areas

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    5.8
    Good facilities but squeezed between 2 highways
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Garden Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy location between 2 highway

    Swimîng pool

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    8.8
    Style and quality of hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bit close to a busyish road Poor air conditioning in room

    Style and quality of hotel Excellent staff Lovely room and facilities Breakfast Quality of restaurant and serving staff

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    10
    Everything just .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything just ... PERFECT !

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything! Our perfect superior garden suite, the breakfasts-perfect omelettes, staff, dinner all excellent

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    9.2
    Restaurant food and service both excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A few niggly issues with lights, tv, probably down to just opened for season

    Restaurant food and service both excellent

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    10
    The Staff are wonderful, nothing is to much trouble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air con working during our stay

    The Staff are wonderful, nothing is to much trouble.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    9.2
    Fantastic staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic staff. Very close to airport.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    10
    + excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we couldn't stay longer :)

    + excellent staff + superb restaurant + fantastic pool + lovely Majorca cats

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Browse Son Julia Country House Hotel & Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: