Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya 4 stars

Avenida Roma, 2 - 4, Sants-Montjuïc, 08014 Barcelona, Spain

#186 of 516 hotels in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1465 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Lovely quick stay while passing through Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some renovation work going on around the outside of the hotel so was a little underwhelming on first sight, for such nice rooms the outside might look a bit more inviting!

    Excellent location for us as we were passing through by train. Very friendly staff with excellent language skills and the room was super clean. Facilities in the room were perfect for us!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Excellent accommodation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location and close to main Sants Estacio train station. Excellent views from 19th floor accommodation. Clean & spacious bedroom with excellent facilities.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we did not like.

    We had a lovely stay at this hotel which is perfectly situated for exploring Barcelona - particularly the wonderful Museu Nacional d'Art de Catalunya which is a short walk away. The room was stylish and comfortable and had a great view. The staff were friendly and welcoming and could not have been more helpful - even extending our check-out time at no cost. I can also thoroughly recommend dining in the restaurant on the 23rd floor. The view is outstanding - and the patatas bravas are the best I have ever tasted. We will certainly come again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    Bed size was very good, comfortable pillows, clean bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some maintenance in the lower floors, when first checking in i thought it would be a lot of noise but i stayed in the 16th floor so I didn’t hear anything, also the hot water was brownish color due to the maintenance i think, u had to open the water some time to get clean water, they took their payment for the stay in advance,

    Bed size was very good, comfortable pillows, clean bed sheets with nice scent, plenty of towels in the bathroom and changed daily, room service was very good and clean, daily coffee and tea packets added to the tray.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    Nice view and spacious rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Few steps from Central train station. Nice view and spacious rooms compared with other hotels in Barcelona. Friendly staff. Construction and renovation is taking place in some floors, but did not affect our stay. Perfect sound isolation. Had a nice stay. Thank you

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    3.8
    Outdated property, not worth 150€/night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is Outdated, Furniture is breaking apart, no moguete on the floor, Windows no termal insulation, Air condition hitting straight on the bed, so no way to use it when slipping, reading light switch located 1m from the bed....... 3 people in the chek in desk, but only 1 person taking care of guests, ather two chating between them. For this price room should be way better.

    The location of the Hotel, next to main Tran station is convenient. Rooftop Brekfast on 23rd floor offer great view oll over Barcelona.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    We loved our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a family suite which was very spacious and comfortable. The beds were comfortable. Hotel is quiet. Bathroom was large and clean. Good amenities. Nice views. Will definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    3.3
    disgusting
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff instructed me to come down and get my ice by myself cos the ice machine on the floor didn't work. there was construction noice due to renovation and the spa and other facilities did not work!!! no one told me this in advance. o and the best thing is that the towels aren't changed daly! also altho i paid extra 65ERO for late check out my key did not work and i ran 3 times up and down until it did ! would never recommend this hotel to any one ! disgusting ! this is not a 4 star hotel at best 3-

    the room is big

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Very happy, room was as requested clean with a beautiful view of Barcelona.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast could be more selective and include English breakfast in addition to continental choices. If implemented this hotel would be one of the best in Barcelona.

    Excellent location for metro use, especially traveling to and from the airport. Sants is a nice peaceful area with good accessibility to local shops, a shopping centre and walking distance to Les Courts Lilla shopping.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.7
    Functional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel a bit dated very noisy location and none of the spa facilities or pool were open as having work done which we weren’t told when we booked bit far away from main tourist area but right next to train station no sound proofing in windows and could hear people all night !

    Rooms were spacious and shower powerful and good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.1
    Centrally located stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spent 2 nights at this hotel - very functional, more like a business hotel, conveniently located close to main train station and the tube. We had to get to the cruise terminal and this was a good choice then. Lots of restaurants and shopping options around. The staff are not very helpful especially one lady who ignored us completely upon check-in until her colleague from Philippines attended to us. Otherwise the rest of the staff were courteous and answered our questions but not exceptional service and not very warm. Breakfast option is decent with really nice views from the 23rd floor. Hotel is really expensive for the value though and I have experienced much better at these prices. Rooms are big and bathrooms are well kept so was happy about that.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    Sunny with a chance of Spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa would feel a little small if there were a few couples etc using it. There was no kettle, tea or coffee in the room. Couldn't get our head around the aircon.

    The staff were lovely, kind and friendly. You can use the Spa facilities for €10 for 2 hours (at the time of writing) which is great when you've walked around the city for days and it decides to rain heavily on your last day. The hotel is a stone throw away from the over ground train services, metro and taxi rank. Also, from May, you can use the roof top pool in the hotel next door. Great Pinchos are a little walk away too!!! :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Overall experience was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall experience was great! The view from the 23floor was a real treat and the food and service wonderful. The location was excellent for getting around and a lovely walking area. No complaints.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    Used for Incoming and return journeys. Both of same excellent standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all of significance

    Friendly,Efficient Staff Excellent location for Barcelona Santsand Taxis. We will use this hotel again when in Barcelona. .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay. Shame about the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive breakfast so ate in local cafes

    Excellent corner room with interesting plaza below. Big room and bathroom with bath and separate shower. Crisp bed linen. Smiley, helpful staff. Lotsof lifts

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.6
    if i will come back to Barcelona i will stay for sure in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    if i will come back to Barcelona i will stay for sure in Catalunya hotel and no where else . i loved the location and the amazing view from my room and from the restaurant roof . the size of the room was huge ...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    Good place with some minor exceptions!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very nice but the air conditions wasn’t adequate to cool the room.....we spent the night being very warm in our room. If you ask for an extra bed be sure to check it for comfort. I started out with a futon which was very uncomfortable. At midnight I called the desk and they did promptly replace it.

    Breakfast, although a little pricey, was very good. Location is very good and located right at a major metro station making it easy to take the train into town from the airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    4.6
    Wrong location for us but overall nice hotel. Over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one contacted us to inform us the aircon would not be workinh. House keeping did not take away dirty pots.

    The room was spacious with excellent views

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't turn down heating.

    Lovely staff. Spacious room - great view. Great breakfast with wonderful view from restaurant. Extremely convenient for Barcelona Sants station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.9
    + Very convenient for travelers as property very close to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Room service is a dreambreaker. - Roof top restaurant should have offered better quality food. Couldnt chew the duck i ordered. It was full of nervs.. - No hair dryer at rooms. Dont like to call and ask stuff, it was too late anyway once i realized there was no hair dryer. - I dont like bath tubs. I prefer showers. - There is complimentary coffee and tea at room but no kettle.

    + Very convenient for travelers as property very close to Main train station + Breakfast is quite satisfactory + Clean and comfortable + Check in staff was okay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    - Friendly staff at reception.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Friendly staff at reception. - Complimentary bottel of water in room. (In the modern age, this is something all hotels should do). - Very close to BCN Sants railway & Bus station .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Great location, good breakfast and nice & friendly staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Great location, good breakfast and nice & friendly staff! I stayed here for 10 days and enjoyed my stay very much. The staff is very nice and professional. Breakfast is very good and have many a vegetarian options. It is served on 23rd floor restaurent and you can have breakfast enjoying the view of city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.5
    A big room with big bed and nice bathroom.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant facilities are quit expensive. Breakfast for 22 euro is too much!

    A big room with big bed and nice bathroom. Nearby a trainstation. Nice staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.3
    Definitely recommend this property to anyone going for business / leisure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The front desk staff has been very warm and professional. They are also very knowledgeable about local attractions, restaurant / pub recommendations and how to get around. Fantastic for a 4-star property that is located 10-15 min drive away from the tourist hub.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    ALWAYS STAY HERE IF I CAN WHEN IN BARCELONA NEAR TO SANTS STATION FOR TRAINS TO FIGUERAS DALI MUSEUM
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    COST OF THE BEREAKFAST IS FAR TOO HIGH AT 22 EUROS AND NEEDS TO BE ADRESSED BY MANAGERS SO THAT REALISTIC PRICE IS SET AND MORE CUSTOMERS WOULD BENEFIT AND HOTEL WOULD TOO

    STAFF SERVICE EXCELLANT RECEPTIOISTS AND SAFE MANNED PARKING 24HRS

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    The top floor suit view with the winter sun light will make you love the stay in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not too much food choice nearby.

    The property is not in the city center but all the transpositions are within several hundred meters distance around the hotel. Usually take several metro stops to arrive the historical sites. The room is big and top floor view is excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.8
    Good but very costly stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Irrespective of need of extra bed, hotel charges 40 Euro per day per child older than 2 years. This was never informed clearly in Hotel policy. We even mentioned this in special requests in comments but hotel management never took efforts to inform until we arrive.

    Rooms were spacious and clean. They provided Hotpot for tea and coffee. I was surprised to find electric iron and small ironing board. We had nice sleep and view from room was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities were excellent and the view at breakfast and dinner was unforgettable. We stayed on the 22nd floor and watched the New Years fireworks. Excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.1
    They used to have conceige service, but no longer now.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They used to have conceige service, but no longer now. There was a male frontdesk staff was being rude. Talking on his own personal phone while helping us with the luggages upstairs. I didn’t have enough change for him as tips, guess he was mad, and came couple of times to our room telling us it’s the Hotel policy that my visitors must leave the room within a hour. That was most ridiculous!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    A very nice surprise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved the space in the room, large window outlook, the comfort of the bed and the seating areas, and the bathroom for TWO people; two handbasins with plenty of counter space, separate toilet and bidet room, large separate shower, and a bathtub with shower it! Palatially lovely! The front desk staff were also lovely. And all within walking distance of the train station and the Museo de Catalunya. We left feeling cared for!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable for rail traveler
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath water is brown...I can’t use it.

    Space is very comfortable. In addition, night reception stuff is very kindness with warmful correspondence despite arriving at there very late.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.2
    Overall it is still a good experience and the staff at the check in counter are friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Complimentary water provided on first day only, other days not provided. Some part of the room has very poor lighting at night.

    I was staying in a corner room, it has a great view.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.5
    Two days in Barcelona
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was uncomfortably warm and the bed very firm. When we checked in, the toilet had not been cleaned. When we reported this, we were given an alternative room.

    The hotel was very spacious and there was a great view from the large windows. As the hotel was close to the Metro and main station, it was very easy to get around. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and restaurant had an amazing view.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.3
    Big, comfy beds. Quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late and there was no kettle and we had to wait 40 minutes before we could make ourselves a hot drink after a long tiring journey. The price of the breakfast is outrageous and prohibitive for a normal family.

    Location perfect for airport and rail access. Very comfortable rooms. More than adequate bathing facilities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.5
    Convenient location close to train station (Sants).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not many sockets and not located very conveniently as we needed to charge our phones, camera etc. Only one coat hanger in the wardrobe - so could not hang up all our clothes. As we were only staying one night we did not complain about these two things, but we did mention to reception staff in the morning that there was a smell from the bathroom (drain smell) - so hopefully they have sorted this out now.

    Convenient location close to train station (Sants). Lovely view of the city from the windows in the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    8.8
    I would stay again only if I needed that area but otherwise will stay at more locations.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As I mentioned only the location & house keeping but everything else was very good.

    First I stayed at room 510 which was good but with little noise cuz of construction. Then they moved me to room 5010 which unfortunately had some lights burnt and annoying voice from AC but once I complained they instantly moved me to a superior room 1806 of which was good. Overall was a good stay but I noticed whenever I have some things to be littered they don’t clean it up & keep it as is. I didn’t like this abt it. Limited room service menu. As for location u are close to the station and few other places but not loud or much activities at night like la Ramblas. Amazing staff honestly & very very friendly. Reception Speaks English perfectly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.3
    The restaurant in the top floor has an amazing view.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The lady that made the checked me seemed very annoyed. Not really the welcoming experience to expect in a, so called, 4 star hotel. The coffee machine in the breakfast room is a bit small and limited for a 4 star hotel. Why not invest in a proper coffee machine (one that makes, expressos, mochas, latte, etc)?

    The restaurant in the top floor has an amazing view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.5
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advert showing a rooftop pool which is at another hotel and breakfast was expensive

    Rooms were good but the restaurant and waiting staff were excellent, very attentive

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    5.8
    The views from room and restaurant were terrific.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A batch of little things, such as windows dirty, TV was inscrutable, and had only 4 stations in English, only one of which had stories of general interest, CNBC. Had to go to other floors for ice, and to front desk to get phone charged. Price for breakfast was over the top.

    The views from room and restaurant were terrific. Near train station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.8
    Lovely spacious hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Lovely spacious hotel. Got a huge room but could hear the constant noise of the lifts going up & down so asked to be moved - staff were wonderful, very helpful and moved us with no fuss. Great location right next to Sants station which you get to directly from the airport. Best thing by far were the staff, so friendly, they made our stay a very pleasant experience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    The beds were very comfortable and the breakfast excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect

    The beds were very comfortable and the breakfast excellent. It was very convenient to arrive by train and find the hotel right in front of the station. It is a little bit out of the centre of town, but the hop-on, hop-off bus leaves from the station as well as the metro so easy to get into the old city. The staff were very nice and helpful. the room was very clean although the windows could have done with a clean - but the windows in the restaurant were clean and offered a fantastic view. It was also nice to be able to have a nice dinner, even though we arrived late. the dinner was very good as well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.8
    Nice staff, convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reservation showed just one person although it had been made for two. Hotel staff were able to straighten this out, but it delayed check-in.

    Large clean room with extra large very comfortable bed. Right across from Sants train station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant and comfortable would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the front outlook was a bit poor with the graffiti on the tin walls whatever they were meant to be??

    The room was a nice size and bed comfy, very close to train and bus stations and our room with a view to the rear was nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location for train travelers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A less expensive breakfast.

    The Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya is located about 300 meters from the Sants Train Station which was very convenient for us as we traveled by train from Barcelona to Malaga via an early morning train. The hotel was very clean and the staff was friendly and very helpful. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel due to the cost (21 Euros per person). Instead, we enjoyed breakfast at nearby restaurants and bakeries with an average cost of approximately 6 Euros per person per day. There is a shopping mall within walking distance that is an old bull fighting ring with a variety of upscale stores. The Magic Fountain show is also within walking distance and the Hop On Hop Off bus has a stop just behind Sants station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.9
    Lovely hotel, with great views over Barcelona. Not too far from the central area. Quiet location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast service was a bit slow on the last day, possibly due to being short staffed, but all ended well.

    Great selection at breakfast, with some very nice omelettes. Breakfast room on the 23rd Floor with some amazing views. Rooms were clean and bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Relaxing and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The windows were very dirty on the outside. This made the view less enjoyable.

    We loved the convenience to the train station. We booked specifically for this reason as we arrived in the afternoon by train and departed the next day. We travelled before to Barcelona. The reception was professional and friendly. We treated ourselves to a king room with an upper level view including passes to the spa downstairs. All worth it. The room had a separate large shower, big bath and toilet. There was plenty of space. We looked out east which was fantastic. A treat was the delivery of some complimentary bottles of juice and cupcakes after we checked in. The spa circuit was a great way to unwind and recover before more travel. You could open a couple of windows in your room for fresh air. Bed was very comfortable. We walked to the metro easily from our location and also around the area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    Not what i would call a 4 star hotel but restaurant was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Security was bad in the reception area, definitely watch your bags. Also some Reception staff were awkward where as others were great.

    Hotel restaurant was fantastic with great staff and amazing views of the city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.8
    The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was a good size but in need of a refurbishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not comfortable at all I specifically booked this hotel so we could eat in the sky restaurant however when I went up to book I was told it was closed! Had I known this prior to staying I would have stayed in a location where there was more nearby as this area lacked restaurants/bars. The furniture was tired and needed replacing, location not that good for going out at night.

    The size of the room was excellent and the bathroom was huge, the pillows on the bed were more than sufficient and well filled.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    4.6
    The room was noisy, you could hear the lift all day and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was noisy, you could hear the lift all day and night. The curtains didn't fit and since we were facing East, we got woken up by the sun pouring in every morning. The shower leaked all over the bathroom floor which made it very slippery. Furthermore, our room hadn't been properly prepared and the check in was terribly slow. Despite leaving her name when we checked in, the third guest had a lot of trouble getting into the hotel at night (her flight was heavily delayed) and then justifying the fact she was staying at the hotel. All in all, not a nice experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Absolutely perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lovely, everyday on return fresh bedding made bed and topped up condiments and towels. We never sampled food / breakfast as exploring Barcelona

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful! Definitely better than those in the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a few ants in my room. But I suppose that comes with the climate.

    Staff were welcoming & helpful. Loved the room. I stayed in a double and there were two sinks, an extra shower...great if you're with someone. Nice range of options at breakfast & the view from the restaurant was breathtaking. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Big rooms, nice view, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only advice I would give is to check their laundry prices before you do any laundry! Had no idea it would be 2.50 euros for a pair of socks!

    The views from the upper floors are amazing. Lots of restaurants nearby or the train is right there to get into town, to the airport, or other cities. The rooms are clean, bathrooms are big, staff is friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.5
    Great location, but a bit pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The noise, there was no kettle in the room and although they provided an iron there was no ironing board!

    Location was brilliant! Around 15 minute walk to Espanya square and 2 minute walk to bus/train/metro stop.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    Excellent service and good for the price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The other person in the adjacent room was noisy

    Bed is comfortable. Room is big and clean. Breakfast was excellent with lot of options surrounding is nice with lot of restaurants and entertainments

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.8
    Modern hotel opposite train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very handy for those in transit travelling by train. Great views of Barcelona from top floor restaurant. Good food though the portions were small for the price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    5.4
    Room of improvement in the service of this hotel is meeded
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actual experience is out of my expectation. We booked a double bedroom for 2 days but only one cup and supply of one bottle of free water(only provided in the first day!). Milk for the tea and coffee only provided after requests.

    Booked this hotel because it's good location with 4 star rating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Next door to the BCN inter city high speed train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi sometimes dropped off as our room is at the corner of the hotel block-but we enjoy the view from the window.

    Enjoyed the stay as it is close to the train and metro station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the property was excellent. Around the corner from the hop on, hop off bus. Opposite a main train station and a short walk to the airport bus. The breakfast was really good. Lots of different options to suit everyone. The view from the restaurant was amazing. You can see the whole city while eating breakfast. We also had dinner in the reataurant. It was lovely seeing the city at night while we ate. Dinner was also excellent. The room we stayed in was very clean, modern and spacious and the staff were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    3.8
    2 star disguised as a 4 star. Dirty pit.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dusty and unclean rooms. Filthy windows resulting in the 'magnificent' view that the hotel prides being affected in that you can barely see past the dirty windows. Rude staff on reception who was unhelpful with the mentioning of the dirt.

    The spa.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.8
    Literally 100 meters from the train station - can't be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Locked out of my room at 10AM on the day I was leaving. Why? I don't know and the guy at the front desk had no explanation or apology.

    Literally 100 meters from the train station - can't be any easier. The top floor views of the city are awesome!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel near the Sants Train Station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice staff. Good location, the hotel is near the Barcelona Sants Train Station and although is pretty far from the Placa Catalunya and La Rambla it very easy to get there by metro. Nice view if you are located on one of the top floors. Good internet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.9
    Good, clean accommodation near public transportation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Little far from Barcelona's main tourist attractions and nightlife around hotel was lacking.

    Location near the Barcelona Sants station was very convenient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.8
    Bed linen & towels really great quality - divine!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shorter length of time queuing at front desk on check in & out

    Bed linen & towels really great quality - divine! Room spotless clean Excellent breakfast buffet

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    6.7
    Bad timing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows didnt seal prperly and the night we stayed was winter solstice. People were setting off fireworks until 5am in the morning making it very difficult to sleep. This is the last thing we wanted after 32 hours traveling from Australia!

    It was close to the train station

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful view, convenient location, and hospitable reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The view from my room was phenomenal! I stayed in their superior room, and I got to see the whole Barcelona! This hotel is also in walk proximity with two metro lines and a major train station! Basically anywhere in the city you want to go, there is a way of public transportation you can use, that is near the hotel, to get there. The reception people are extremely friendly and speak good English!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    Views to die for and perfect location for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought the fact that there was no discount for us to eat at the hotel restaurant was a annoying as it looked amazing up there. We also thought €10 each to use the sauna and pool was a bit expensive especially after paying a good chunk of money to stay there.

    The view was amazing and the room was very clean and nice and cool during the heat wave! The location was great for us, we walked to camp Nou, and rented bikes to get to the beach and we cycled up to the Olympic stadium! We didn't go on one of those bike tours as we felt they were over expensive for what we did for €10 each on a bike and found our own way!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.2
    Very good standard 4-star business hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The quarter where the hotel is (opposite to a main station) is not that sexy, but the view over the city is magnificant! The restaurant and breaktfast room on the top floor overlooks all of Barcelona, beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was directly across the street from the Metro station, which we used to get all over Barcelona very easily. It was also right next door to a major train station so getting to other places in Spain is very easy from this location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    8.8
    The bed was comfortable and the bath well equipped.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was not included in the price.

    The bed was comfortable and the bath well equipped. Location near the station is great and still not noisy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    8.8
    Reliable hotel near the central train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I appreciated that the bell hop came out of the hotel to help me get my suitcase us the stairs. He then took my suitcase to my room very quickly and set up my password for the wifi.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    5.0
    problems with noise
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would not recommend this hotel to those who have tight sleep since I could easily hear trains (most probably from deep beneath) coming and leaving each few minutes in my room 715. First I tried room 1401 bit it was noisy there from street traffic as well. Anyway, most people would not mind that constant noise, but for me it took days to get used to it. Therefore, avoid this hotel if you prefer silence during night, especially because doors slamming is also quite noisy.

    nice view from the restaurant

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable Stay near Train Station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 2 twin beds to make a double was a bit uncomfortable for my husband and I to share

    The room is very spacious and lots of natural light. Great access to transportation, and even though it is a busy area, the room is very quiet!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Great size room and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great size room and bathroom. The outside of the building does not do justice to the interior and the rooms. Great hotel and good location. We strolled all the way to Passeig de Gracia in 35 mins and could have stopped to some fantastic looking restaurants and bars on the way. Highly recommended. Good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    9.6
    Give this Hotel a trial.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first night we were on the 3rd. floor. It was too noisy from the train station across the street, but the desk clerk, Sonia, moved us to the 18th. floor the next morning. Wonderful!

    The food and and service was great. The hotel staff were accommodating and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    8.8
    If you're going to travel by train, this is the best...
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I hope there were more breakfast options!

    If you're going to travel by train, this is the best location since it's just walking distance from Barcelona Sants.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: