Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gran Hotel Victoria 4 stars

María Luisa Pelayo, 38, 39005 Santander, Spain

#6 of 28 hotels in Santander

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1402 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great - especially the staff, and food in restaurant was gorgeous/ fantastic quality

    The hotel has some huge balconies that get the sun all day - great when you head back for a rest during the day :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to do with the hotel but taxi prices to and from airport are ridiculously expensive at €25 each way for a 10 minute journey.

    This hotel is fabulous. It is in a perfect location and the rooms are large with very comfortable beds. Bathroom also large and good water pressure with the shower. The staff are very helpful and the breakfasts are excellent and the menu of the day is terrific value. Would recommend this hotel and Santander itself. It is clean with wonderful beaches and lovely walks. The bus network is punctual and cheaper if you buy a card which can be loaded when required with a minimum €10. We took the bus to visit Bilbao and Guggenheim which is recommended but we are so glad we stayed in Santander and not Bilbao.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor service and food. At weekends they had what they call communions 60-80 children running around with their parents relatives etc. Bedlam! Guests could not use the facilities. It cost us £1000 to move to the Sardinero. The manageress ms Guardelupe may well be related to Fagin or indeed Ebenezer himself.

    The view was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    no problems perfect for our needs

    Stayed here before which speaks for itself. If you have an evening ferry arrival this hotel is perfect.Excellent staff-waiters are top notch! A bit out of town but easy in and out-locked under cover parking-.Comfortable rooms with views. Restaurant serving regional food brilliant value for the set meal with a bottle of decent wine and coffee included. Fine breakfast.We will-need it be said-return-yet again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room for Single Use with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's quite loud, the walls are really quite thin and the doors make quite a racket when closing and woke me several times.

    Location, view, staff were all great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being unable to get ANYTHING to eat until 8.30pm. We had left Home in England at 5.30am and apart from a snack on the aircraft had eaten very little. I understand the Spanish tradition of eating late but there was nothing. We were told by the receptionist room service was available at 8pm but when we tried to order the kitchen flatly refused any service until 8.30.

    It’s location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room for Single Use with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Understaffed, maybe because it was only April so not quite in season. Often difficult to find anyone serving in the bar. Big problem with the poor sound proofing. Kept awake by snoring from next door and heard noises from other folks' bathrooms that I really shouldn't have heard! Shame. Otherwise an excellent hotel.

    Location close to the beach was excellent, made better by the huge wrap-round balcony. All rooms have a balcony but best to make sure that the room faces seaward. Extremely comfortable garden furniture for an evening drink. Staff friendly and chatty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not enjoy the meal in the restaurant. Breakfast very basic for €12 compared to other hotels we stayed in.

    Secure parking. Walking distance of promenade. Lovely room from balcony.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Our room was rather small with a tiny balcony, we were originally given a very nice room with a large balcony, but on the 1st floor, we always ask for high floor because usually quieter. Breakfast was good staff very friendly. If we return to Santander we like to book there again but for a longer period, our recent visit was only for one night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing at all

    This is the fifth time we have stayed here which says it all really. It is well situated, the rooms are lovely, staff are friendly and efficient, the breakfast is a delight and it has private parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room with a lovely balcony with a view to the sea. The hotel is very Closed to the beach so a nice walk made the evening memorable.The room came with a decent spacious bath. It was a pity that the bed was not that comfortable but we stayed there for one night only .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no use of an iron which meant paying for this service to be done. There was noisy building work being done in the gardens directly below our room. This carried on from early morning until evening, the work was done on Saturday and Sunday too. Whilst I appreciate this was essential upgrading to the outdoor space and not a building site, I would have liked to have been informed.

    Great location, close to the beach, shops, bars & restaurants with great public transport links. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There was a large terrace from our room with great views. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room for Single Use with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    SOUNDPROOFING!

    It was a nice hotel, clean and tidy rooms...but....NO soundproofing! I could hear children playing, someone taking a shower, toilets flushing etc.... That's a shame as an otherwise lovely location and hotel were spoilt by the noise coming from other rooms....

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really , except we do miss Tea and Coffee making facilities in the rooms. Overall our overnight stay was very relaxing

    The room was well positioned with lovely sea views and large terrace. Internet good, Evening meal was excellent and the waiters were very attentive. Breakfast was of a good standard with some hot food available, Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Car parking in garage was a bonus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed and Terrace (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sofa is really uncomfortable. You get plunged.

    Distribution like a small apartment with a single room and terrace included. Spaces are wide. Very large bed. Good state of rooms and furniture.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed and Terrace (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No views of the sea from rooms for three people in first floor. Not sure about the others since there are two buidilngs between hotel and sea.

    Nice parking. Very close to see and El Sardinero beach. Friendly personnel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The split and toasted croissants were gorgeous and my wife loved the coffee, we had 1 meal in the restaurant which was excellent with generous portions. The area near the hotel is beautiful with a fine sandy beach, it's an easy pleasant walk into Santander or there are buses every few minutes. The staff were very polite and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel facilities very good. We did not use underground car park as there was space on the street outside without any problem. Location near the Sardinero excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice new shower but lacks a place to put soap/shampoo except on the shower floor. A grip rail combined with a soap holder would be ideal (used these in other hotels)

    Big room with balcony, safe locked parking in garage, close to El Sardinero beach, mini fridge in room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The offer was a complete misunderstanding. I booked a beautiful room with a huge terrace and a sea view. I got a cramped room with a tiny balcony facing another building. We staff was very nice but "they could do nothing about it". The walls are so thin that you can hear other guests snore as hell from another room through the walls. I had 2 sleepless nights because of this. Leaking shower. Breakfast for 12 EUR per person. Not worth it. I am not happy and wouldn't recommend.

    Quite clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast confusing. 3 different rates of menu and not clear about the price of the full buffet one.

    Close to beach for walks. Lovely views. Hope Staff very good. Restaurant evening meal excellent and good value.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Avoid the restaurant at all costs, service terrible, food over priced, no wine list - asked Red or White - Glass or Bottle, Bottle put on table - 2 glasses poured - €15!! - Bread rolls offered then charged extra at €3 - terrible, single starter ordered, but Wife's main course delivered with my starter, my main course - Monkfish at €21 - 2inch cube with a large prawn on top - no trimmings, no sauce, compliant totally ignored by staff, take it or leave it !! Also no room service for tea or coffee and no facilities, This is NOT a 4* hotel, might manage 3* at a push

    Room was good with nice balcony, but picture on web site taken from rear and excludes all the buildings around and in front, there is a restricted sea view between the buildings to the front of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We booked this hotel because we were getting a ferry on the Monday and wanted to visit the newly opened Centro Botin which was closed on Monday leaving us Sunday as the only visit option. We also needed secure parking as the car was full of wine that we had picked up from a Rioja Winery. The hotel is on the northern end of Santander within a short walk of the beach, beach bars and local restaurants and proved an ideal place to stay. We arrived on Saturday with a wedding in full swing and luckily we had packed earplugs. That finished around midnight and our stay after that was very peaceful. We had a view of the sea from our balcony, the room was clean and comfortable and the parking was in the Hotel garage . It was a quick and cheap cab ride into central Santander for a great tapas dinner and easy to get a cab back. On Sunday we again got a cab to the Centro Botin for a great visit followed by a short walk to lunch. We had intended to eat in the hotel that night but did not book and were faced with a 40 - 60 minute wait for a table.. Instead we had a short walk to a local restaurant for an inexpensive but excellent meal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TV was very old and the remote didn't work very well, breakfast provided was very average for the cost. Also thought parking was included in the overnight price but got charged for it.

    Good location, nice grounds.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    - ceiling in suite rooms shower is very tilted - big no go for these rooms - hotel should be refurbished in the next years - far away from the centre (tapas area ) by feet

    + breakfast and dinner really good, kitchen is excellent!!! + parking at the hotel garage is easy, also outside for free when you will arrive later + big room + view from the op rooms to playa sardinero

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was marketed and priced as having a balcony but in reality it was a tiny area with just 2 plastic chairs which took up all of the space leaving no room to sit comfortably or walk around them. It was unusable to us.

    The hotel was very well positioned in a nice location. The room was comfortable and clean. There was a good choice of breakfast. Some staff were helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom and bathroom not at he level of a 4 stars hotel. Needs renovation. Other hotels in the area are much better (gran hotel sardinero). There was a wedding celebration at he hotel and he noise was excessive.

    Location and common premises

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Once we ordered a taxi to go into town (there's a cab rank v close) and it came in 2 min but when urgent at midday to catch a plane from Bilboa airport, were told would be 10 min, then after a few min seeing other taxis passing nearby street corner on way to rank, a cab arrived dropping someone off but driver was told he couldn't take us. Finally after 15 stressful min we gave up and wandered off to flag down passing cabs. Think was because hotel trying to find private car that would give them a cut of the approx E150 fare -left a bad taste after otherwise perfect service.

    fair value room with great beach view from balcony

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed and Terrace (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee making facilities.

    Rooms modern and clean, fantastic balconies. Free WiFi, friendly and helpful staff, great onsite parking, though parking outside the hotel isn't a problem. Great location close to beach. Lovely gardens to relax in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room for Single Use with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to grumble about

    Location, easy to find from the ferry, which arrived in the early evening, and an ideal stop over for anyone in transition prior to heading south. Nice clean room and a pleasant dinner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Considering this was, for us, a fairly expensive hotel, and by far the most expensive of the hotels we stayed in in Spain, there were little niggles such as no tea/coffee making facilities in our room.

    A very convenient hotel for the Port of Santander

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first room we received was tiny with a terrible terrace. Fortunately we were changed to a bigger one, but the smaller rooms in this Hotel are very bad for definitively with a poor value for the price. The amenities in the bathroom were low standard for a 4-start Hotel.

    The location of the Hotel is excellent with a short walking distance to the beach and good restaurants. Front desk staff was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bright, spacious hotel in a quiet street near the beach. You can walk down to the beach in a minute and there are nice restaurants in the evening (Maremondo was great). The staff were polite and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When is a terrace a balcony, and vice versa?!

    Location is perfect, not only for the Brittany Ferries port but also for exploring Santander. Staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast excellent. Lovely seating areas around the bar and in the garden. Peaceful and relaxing. Good, safe parking if a little expensive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I would have liked was the possibility of making a coffee in room

    Exceptional hotel in a wonderful location with sea views. Staff wonderful helpful & professional, have to mention Jose who was so efficient & had our coffee & croissant on our table without even having to order!! Cleanliness outstanding in room as well as hotel public areas. Will definitely return

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic this was highly rated on your site but cannot be the best hotel in Santander The food was terrible very poor The two men on the re ception desk watched me struggle with my cases on arrival service patchy at best

    The room was clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I e-mailed them before we arrived with questions about the room but beger got any response.

    Near the beach, friendly personnel in Front Desk when we arrived.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and the furniture didn't work, difficult to get around the bed. Room service was very poor, expensive, cold, and got the order wrong. Underground car parking was expensive as was the room.

    Breakfast was good, as was reception staff. Hotel was clean and modern

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar service a little slow, but whole atmosphere was really nice.

    The whole experience was excellent and the evening meal one of the best I have had in Spain.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed and Terrace (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit overpriced for the location and view. Far away from major attractions to see.

    It was in a nice setting, lots of selections of meats, pastries, and beverages.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed and Terrace (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    JUST BUSY BECAUSE OF SAILING WEEK NOT HOTELS FAULT THO

    COMFY BEDS NICE ROOM GOOD HELPFUL RECEPTION NO MESSING STRAIGHT IN AND UP TO ROOM GOOD BREAKFAST FAST AND EASY CHECKOUT

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This a bit far from center but cheap to take a taxi or a bus. They are rentevating the next building so bit noicy during the day.

    Rooms where great, large with good view. Beds where good, excellent shower.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A pool would be nice

    Storage for cases until 8pm great for ferry. Able to leave motorbike in locked garage until we left for ferry at 7.30pm so spent day on beach.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We have stayed here before and the fact that we returned shows it was good. Only staye 1 nightr on this occasion. Dinner at the hotel was good and staff were helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed and Terrace (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive car parking and room and room service

    Beautiful hotel in good location 2 miles from passenger ferry, good parking, friendly staff, well fitted out room, good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would not book this hotel again

    We stayed here one night as we wanted to visit the Playa del Arnia, but due to the heavy rain we had to skip this. We therefore did not visit anything else in the city as well. The rooms are nice but you can hear everything during the night from other guests. We had lost of noise from people in the room above and next to us like you could hear the doors of closets and chairs.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The coffee at breakfast. They have a Nescafe machine and we did not rate the coffee at all.

    This is our fourth visit to Santander and the fourth time we have stayed at Gran Victoria. It is well placed, the rooms are very comfortable, it has lovely views and the staff are welcoming and warm. It has good private parking and the breakfasts are excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The hotel was exactly what we were looking for. It was a stopover ahead of a ferry crossing and the secure car parking was excellent. Easy access and plenty spaces. The room was comfortable and clean with a great balcony and sea view. I was impressed by the reception staff who were very helpful and spoke very good English.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot comment on buffet breakfast at €12pp - just had coffee & toast at bar.

    Nice views towards ocean in pleasant residential area. Internet good in large comfortable room. Beds firm but comfortable with bolster type pillow. Found 2 English speaking channels on TV. Pleasant staff spoke English. Very clean and light. Nice for beach walks.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower had a mind of its own. Constant noise until early hours by other guests hammering on door of next room. Generally too noisy which spoilt the experience.

    Reasonably priced restaurant with option of half portions on selected dishes nice staff and good quality.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed and Terrace (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant staff were too frantic, watching every mouth full and whipping the plates away. Not relaxing at all. Was the same last year but we hoped that had been a one off, unfortunately it wasn't.

    Stayed here last year after crossing from UK. Liked it then, so stayed again. Even better room this time.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of an English speaking channel like BBC news.

    The room had a large balcony with sea views. The bathroom was very up market Dinner 3 courses for 21e with wine was very good Beds very confortable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room had two full beds pushed together instead of a queen/king.

    Fantastic Location, great bathroom, balcony to see the bay and beach. Huge, modern bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room coffee or tea making facilities.

    Great hotel with good balcony and sea views. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Nice feel to the hotel and room of a good standard.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Menu del Dia: We stayed here last year when we found the food excellent and plentiful. However this year we were very disappointed with the food.

    Hotel: Situated in a quiet part of the Town yet handy for the Ferry Port. Room: Large and clean. Staff: were professional, attentive and pleasant. They were forthcoming with local information and advice. WiFi: Free and worked well from our room. Car park: Secure underground. Safe and refrigerator in the room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wedding party dominated the entire hotel, and room soundproofing was unable to cope with the noise. This review might have been better on a day when the overnight guests had been given higher priority.

    Secure parking. Good breakfast. Close to beach but outside town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast choice was excellent. The location is perfect for ferry passengers and the hotel architecture is lovely. Already booked again for the return trip.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist was very unhelpfull and unwilling, he would not give indications or try to answer queries or help solve any problem. The photos of the website seem a lot nicer than the hotel actually is. It is a non descript unwelcoming sort of hotel.

    Location in front of the bay. Quiet neighbourhood.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Couldn't fault this hotel. Secure parking, bus service every ten minutes to town centre, bars restaurants two minutes' walk. A great place to stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More like 30 minute walk to city centre Balcony on standard rooms are very small -they are wide but not very deep - just the depth of a chair to sit at (just)

    Close to beaches Bright clean room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed and Terrace (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Relatively far (2-3 km) from the center and, as a result, from all the entertainment and food. We only found few relatively expensive restaurants and fast food nearby. There is a public transport connection, though, but we always walked.

    - Great location in a calm, quiet district of Santander. - Only few hundred meters from the beach. - Very close to Península de la Magdalena, where you can find a mini zoo, a park and a large playground for children.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff (some) could make more of an effort to make guests feel as though they're welcome at the hotel. A smile from time to time would certainly help.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Tea and coffee making facilities in room but that is just an Irish/UK thing !

    Lovely big rooms with terraces over looking the sea.(photo) Excellent staff most of whom spoke English. Great location, hotel very clean and tidy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hanging space in our bedroom was abysmal. Badly designed storage area. While the breakfast was very good the evening set meal was very very poor. After the first night we chose to eat at the 'El barque de Trubea'. This is an excellent restaurant at opposite end of beach. Walk or take No.2 bus.

    The location close to beach and bus stop to both city and opposite end of beach ( No.2 bus). The Sardinero beach, gardens and beautiful buildings. The hotel garden is a wonderful sitting out area.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the restaurant was very bad and expensive compared to the NICE restaurants in town. The lettuce was brown and old, the bread was stale, the portions were miniscule. My roast beef was sliced so thin you could almost see through it and only 3 very tiny slices . The waiters were great but unfortunately we had the maitre de and he was grumpy and cheap, only giving us one stale roll. The front desk staff was friendly but the hotel wasn't full and instead of giving us the ocean view room pictured, rather a backside room looking at a wall.

    The waiters were very good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty much an average hotel even for the price. The location is a little out of the way but accessable enough by bus. Would have been a good hotel 30 years ago.

    Clean enough, comfortable enough just nothing special.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little disappointed as had booked a terrace room but only got a tiny balcony

    Lovely location and a nice room, staff very friendly and spoke fantastic English.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Balcony was filthy on arrival. Restaurant staff uncouth and food lukewarm on arrival. Very average though substantial buffet breakfast. Typically Spanish awful acoustics/soundproofing.

    Superb location in salubrious area, within 2 minutes of glorious beach and bus stops, and 5 minutes of casino. Comfortable, well-appointed room, though in our case small. Efficient, friendly reception staff. Lovely garden/outdoor seating area. Very good value menu del dia.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    We were pleasantly surprised by our stay here. Friendly staff, excellent, secure parking and walking distance to the beach, cafes and restaurants. The facilities in the room were very good, huge bed, fridge,large bathroom, balcony. Thumbs up from us, pity we only stayed one night!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast and breakfast room was a little basic but fine as it was included in our overall price

    Great location - lovely roof terrace - lots of space and a modern bathroom with nice hot water and complimentary toiletries

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I thought the room was a bit small for a four star hotel. There was very little shelf space and I was disappointed with the size of the balcony.

    Location was excellent. and the garden a bonus. The staff could not have done enough to help in every need. The standard of cleanliness was excellent. I would recommend this hotel and return to it.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed and Terrace (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee was luke warm. The toasters were not switched on. The choice of breakfast was limited. There was no atmosphere in the dining room.Taxi's were expensive.

    The gardens were pretty. The staff helpful (particularly Fidel) Location was good. The big terrace was a bonus. The beds were comfy and rooms spacious. Garage and parking facilities onsite and secure.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Balcony was really tiny. Hotel perhaps a bit outdated, but lovely anyway.

    Beautiful sea views. Perfect location near beaches and Magdalena. Good wifi. Friendly and most helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food could have been better, got the impression that it was not prepared freshly, certainly sometimes microwaved.

    Within easy reach of the beach, located in a quiet area. Hotel really clean, with friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed and Terrace (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be included. Car parking was a little expensive on top of an already fairly expensive room.

    Nice big room, great for 3 of us. Beautiful big balcony with sea views through other buildings. Clean & tidy, neat gardens. Pity the weather wasn't better so we could really enjoy them!

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: