Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia - Gran Lujo 5 stars

Avenida del Oasis, 32, 35100 Maspalomas, Spain

#2 of 115 hotels in Maspalomas

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 116 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.6

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    This is a wonderful small luxury hotel and a real oasis...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    This is a wonderful small luxury hotel and a real oasis where you can switch off from everything! The spa was fantastic, especially the salt water pool. The gym was excellent, with sufficient equipment. The staff were so friendly, and nothing was too much trouble! The food was superb, and we especially enjoyed the BBQ! We will be returning to this little gem very soon!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    An excellent, friendly 5 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing. Everything was excellent

    A small hotel of 100 rooms which makes it easy to make friends with like-minded people, if one wants. This is a five star hotel in every sense. Most guests have been returning for years.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    Perfect spot for a luxurious vacation in a beautiful, charming and calm surrounding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant service somewhat slow during dinner.

    The hotel is a pearl in many aspects: location, architecture, customer service, comfort. It is an oasis in a crowded touristic area. Beautiful swimming pool, excellent food and most of all very friendly customer oriented attitude.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.8
    Breakfasts were excellent, could have stayed on the terrace...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    SNo facility to have snacks or simple food at dinner time so we had to go out. This was a problem for us as we have our main meal lunchtime. You could choose just one course at the hotel but it's smart sophisticated food, not simple or snack. Or, you can have room service but we didn't want to eat in our room. Nothing wrong really, just our preference.

    Breakfasts were excellent, could have stayed on the terrace all day

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    excellent stay, great staff, clean rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like that when I arrived for dinner I was told I needed pants and dress shoes to eat, there was nowhere on the initial booking that said anything about that, so when I arrived for dinner I felt completely embarrassed that I didn't pack accordingly.

    The welcoming of the hotel staff was excellent, the spa was very nice and clean, there was a great breakfast selection.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    A slice of luxury in a sea of tourist mayhem
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a true oasis as Maspalomas is rather overdeveloped and a true tourist Mecca. Maspalomas is more attractive than Playa des Ingles, its vibrant but tawdry neighbour, but the developments still sprawl over w wide area and "quaint" isn't an adjective that you would use to describe the town. It is a matter of taste, but if you like all that and still want a stylish hotel where dressing up for dinner is a treat - no shorts allowed in the restaurant after 7pm - then Grand Resedencia is an excellent option.

    A true oasis in the tourist mayhem of Gran Canaria. The hotel was lovely and the staff a true delight, with genuine warmth and great service. I am lucky enough to travel a lot with work and experience some fantastic hotels, but Hotel Grand Resedencia stands out as one of the best for the quality of staff. The rooms were spacious and beautifully appointed, with a balcony on which to relax. The food at the hotel was excellent and, again, the service a delight. It is not cheap by island standards, but the quality is very high and you do have the choice of other local restaurants if you want to venture out; eating in shopping malls is not my idea of heaven. The hotel is a short walk from the dunes and the beach, and a quick taxi or bus ride will take you to the throbbing her art of the nightlife. It is also a short walk to the local restaurants and shopping malls (if you must)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Luxury resort in fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our second visit. We love the hotel, it's luxurious. The staff are wonderful. The food is exquisite. The location is perfect as the nature reserve and dunes are nearby, and there are also shops, restaurants, bars, etc in the other direction. A really good place to recharge batteries.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    Superb, just superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps the rules surrounding 'no reservation of sun loungers' could be better defined. If you simply drop your books/towels on a lounger, then expect them to be confiscated and the lounger 'lost'. But if you ask the pool attendant for towels in person, then you can reserve and leave it unattended - often for hours at a time; *particularly* if you tip them. There is a sort of 'sun lounger bribery' system taking place that is unspoken and unchallenged. A small criticism. Also quite amusing to watch.

    Staff are what make this hotel. They are, to a man/woman, absolutely excellent, by all definable metrics, and go miles out of their way to make sure you have a relaxing and enjoyable time. A lot of hotel reviews seem to miss the point in their criticism; one must judge the hoteliers by how well they execute their strategy and fulfil their (obvious) goals; do they achieve what they set out to? Here, in sum, the answer is a resounding 'yes'. Gran Residencia is clearly aiming to please a mostly older, well-heeled, predominately European crowd, and they do it extraordinarily well. Superbly run from top to bottom.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    8.8
    Very relaxing and lazy holiday - not my usual type of holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Not too keen on the immediate area i.e. Irish Bar, tacky shops and restaurants close to the lighthouse, nicer shops and restaurants further away along the promenade. Although single occupancy of room, I would have preferred a double bed and not one of twin beds.

    The comfort, service, pool, food, peace, being able to eat all meals outside with wonderful view of the mountains. Enjoyed the nature reserve, walks along the promenade, nearness of the bus station (took bus once), lovely views of the mountains which we visited by car with driver.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service around the pool at the hotel end could be better - the pool bar staff should walk around the perimeter checking to see if anyone requires drinks etc from the pool bar.

    Everything about this hotel, size, location, facilities. The food is superb the attention to detail is excellent. The staff are well trained and nothing is too much trouble .

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    9.6
    A wonderful hotel for a relaxing holyday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The only improvement we can see, is that the dishes sometimes were served too quickly, and at other occasions we had to wait very long.

    A wonderful hotel for a relaxing holyday. The staff is outstanding, being continuously helpful and very friendly. The area was very clean, even during the windy days. Excellent rooms with all you need including fresh fruit every day. The food is indeed very good. We chose half board. The breakfast was overwhelming, and the dinner was a lovely end of the day. A good variety of dishes.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    8.3
    Lovely hotel to stay, probably best to eat elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast buffet was superb - excellent choice of dishes, breads, jams etc., great breakfast cook on the hot dishes that were made to order; however, the catering went downhill at lunchtime with expensive menus & very average service, deteriorating further at dinner with a long wait for a bruschetta starter - 45mins - & main courses that we considered were not commensurate with a Michelin starred chef or the 5* cost. When there was obviously a problem with the kitchen one lunchtime, communication with guests was non-existent (despite a senior staff member being present) & we ended up walking down the road for food. We dined at the tapas restaurant of the sister hotel one evening - Seaside Palm Beach - where the service seemed much better (food was good also!). Lots of good places to eat within walking distance so don't be discouraged from staying here just because of the catering issues that we experienced as you can easily work round them by eating lunch & dinner outside the hotel.

    Beautiful hotel, exceptionally clean, helpful & courteous staff. Good location near the nature reserve & beach. Relaxing ambience. Lovely afternoon teas with dinky home made cakes served twice weekly. Live (but not loud) music every night on the terrace that was not intrusive for us but you may find it so if you choose a pool view room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    10
    Amazing holidays in an outstanding hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    It would be nice if the hotel could have an area in the beach with some umbrellas.... In the bar, the selections of cigars could be better.

    A true oasis in the Island. Excellent hotel accommodations, properly maintained, with amazing gardens. The service is outstanding, with very professional and amicable staff (all of them from the management level to the cleaning staff). In the main restaurant, the food is just amazing, with amazing and tasty new menus, every single night. The restaurant service is outstanding with very amicable staff with impressive expertise, to welcome children. It is absolutely amazing the commitment of the hotel to positively surprise its customers, all the time. The pool is very well designed and the water amazing in terms of temperature and cleanliness. Very nice SPA. The beach, located about 300 m away, is rather good and the water temperature at around 23-24º Celsius was fine. I wish this owning family and its staff, all the best and success.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    8.3
    Very quiet and comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Fitness area is very small and not well equipped. Lack of service at Pool Bar.

    Not big but very comfortable and well equipped spa centre. Very kind team at front desk.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    10
    It id really five star gl hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I booked five day stay only there😀

    It id really five star gl hotel. Do not hesitate to try halfboard formula, their Master Chef knows his job for sure

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    9.6
    Overall a good holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 12 nights

    The outside dining room and lounge are split in smoking and non-smoking areas, but what affronts me is when smokers in a non-smoking area proceed to the entrance at the top of the stairs to have a quick cigarette. Why cannot they go downstairs to the smoking lounge and have their cigarette there. The entrance is near the non-smoking area and during breakfast and the excellent twice weekly buffet part of the food distribution area. We would also advise customers to avoid room 213 as this room faces the restaurant and in the morning one can see the clients eating breakfast so you have to keep your net curtains shut and the door closed to evade the cooking smells. Unfortunately, the peace and tranquility of this hotel relies on the other clientele being responsible and considerable which didn’t happen the last few days of our holiday. Patrons were using mobile phones around the pool area, including video conferencing. Sunbeds were rearranged blocking walkways. And finally one family brought a full sized pram into the already tightly packed dining room and then a table was added to our table for purely for their use as we did not have one and the waiter did not even say anything to us as he was setting it up wanted to use our extension table to hold their wine.

    The Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia – Gran Canaries is a luxury hotel with service to the highest degree. My wife and I arrived late on our first evening missing dinner, but the hotel had provided a cheese and meat plate in our room. Nothing was too much from all the helpful curious members of staff. The garden area and pool are delightful although I felt a little crowded with sunbeds very close to each other. And the restaurant is excellent, we went half board and grateful for that adoption, the food was outstanding with a good menu selection including a vegetarian choice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was amazing. Staff very helpful and friendly. Nothing was a problem.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.6
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.1
    Suggested only for people from 60 and more
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Suggested only for people from 60 and more

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing , maybe price

    Overall ambiance

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Everything was excellent we could not fault it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was excellent we could not fault it. Hope to return. Would definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.2
    very friendly staff and management, very good Dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very friendly staff and management, very good Dinner

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    Paradise found in Gran Canaria!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing- it was all perfect!

    The rooms are beautifully furnished but it is the staff who made our stay so enjoyable!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    Eden on earth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Best Hotel on Gran Canaria
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything!

    The staff are simply outstanding.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Relaxing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    fantastic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing

    all excellent

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    9.2
    A nice week in Gran Canaria
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hit and miss in housekeeping at times

    Restaurant

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    9.2
    Fabulously
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was superb

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    10
    Can't wait to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    9.6
    Superb service, great facilities, very good food, nice sized...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool management of beds.

    Superb service, great facilities, very good food, nice sized rooms.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    9.6
    Overall quiet ambiance of hotel and attention to detail...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Service in restaurant was slow on a couple of occasions but was rectified immediately.

    Overall quiet ambiance of hotel and attention to detail stood this hotel apart from all others. Food was superb.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    9.6
    Service,ambiance and overall quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food at dinner tended to be over complicated by trying to put an extra twist on dishes.

    Service,ambiance and overall quality. Breakfast excellent as were the pool lunches.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    10
    Everything great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wine and Champagne.. Very overpriced for actual bottles offered. No problem about spending lots of money on a really good bottle bu not on inferior ones

    Everything great hotel

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.6
    Beautifully appointed boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    All excellent, our second visit and we will return

    Beautifully appointed boutique hotel. Service is discreet, friendly and totally professional. The food is first class --- when we went there first with friends they booked half-board and we raised an eyebrow, not being used to restricting our choice. But they were 100% right. The whole property surrounds an excellent swimming pool ideal for a totally relaxing holiday. Best rated hotel in Gran Canaria and it is obvious why

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    9.2
    Service standards, food, great location, nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Maid came storming in to our room at a quarter to 10 in the evening to clean it. We were asleep ... with a 4am taxi to the airport next morning. She was in the room about a quarter of a second after she knocked the door .... very disturbing.

    Service standards, food, great location, nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    10
    It is so quiet and comfortable in the hotel near the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None.

    It is so quiet and comfortable in the hotel near the swimming pool, that we haven't swimmed in the sea at all. And we felt like special guests during all period of stay. Everything was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    9.2
    Location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Our room was cleaned late every day. Had one poor service experience with delayed meal in restaurant but this was isolated.

    Location is excellent. Attention to detail is top class. Service exceptional except for a single incident. Food excellent.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    9.2
    Everything about the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Didn't like the maspalomas area much. Not very picturesque and beachside cafés not good.

    Everything about the hotel. Plenty of flowers and plants, design of hotel in keeping with gran canaria, not too big, lovely view on dining terrace.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful small colonial style with flowers and palm trees...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Local golf course at Maspalomas(not part of the hotel) is simply not up to standard - nearest great course is Anfi Tauro - a 25 EUR cab ride away - although the course is sensational. All courses are costly at about 100EUR although why they are all the same price I don't understand. The hotel should try to put golfers together that are travelling to the same course at the same time.

    Beautiful small colonial style with flowers and palm trees everywhere. Staff were faultless through our stay and exceptionally helpful all the time. Very traditional styling with classic Spanish ceramics and furniture. More than enough room for all guest to have a great spot near the large pool with lounger and always a good table at dinner, cuisine was excellent with mainly Spanish food cooked and served to perfection. Leisure facilities - gym, spa and additional spa pool were excellent. Room was elegant and spacious again in a traditional style although the rooms face into each other and not to the coast which means you don't really get a great view from any room. All round a top small resort for our New Year getaway. Tip:the hotel do a private airport transfer at 48 EUR in E class Mercedes which is not bad value. Also you can use the facilities of the Palm Beach Hotel next door which is owned by same company

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    10
    It was PERFECTION in everything- service, food, setting,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was PERFECTION in everything- service, food, setting, management. Keep up the good work and thank you for a fab holiday!

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    9.2
    Good food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Service in swimming pool area

    Good food

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    10
    everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    everything

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic service, great food and great facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds a little hard

    Fantastic service, great food and great facilities

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very crowded beach

    BBQ on Sunday's and Wednesday's, heated pool

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    10
    Perfect hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing could better this hotel

    Perfect hotel Staff superb

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    9.6
    Service unbelievable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    everything was perfect

    Service unbelievable

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    10
    Stunning hotel, excellent service, impeccable atmosphere,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stunning hotel, excellent service, impeccable atmosphere, lovely spa and fine dining. We loved everything !

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    10
    The staff are amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The staff are amazing..vip service all the way!

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    3.0
    Great Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great Location...perfect size for hotel....service food etc brilliant

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    Fantastic service, very formerly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Fantastic service, very formerly staff. Great facilities and fantastic location right near the shops

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    10
    The standard for all to follow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The standard for all to follow

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    7.5
    Its not a resort for young couples or party people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Its not a resort for young couples or party people

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    10
    Superb hotel and service, food was excellent , and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Superb hotel and service, food was excellent , and the sunshine great

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    10
    Peace and tranquillity
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Peace and tranquillity

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    10
    The hotel and its staff know how to make your holiday...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing - all good!

    The hotel and its staff know how to make your holiday special.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    9.6
    Luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Luxury

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: