Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol 4 stars

Urbanización La Butibamba, s/n, 29649 La Cala de Mijas, Spain

#33 of 63 hotels in La Cala de Mijas

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1553 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They take a €10 deposit for each pool towel (+€1 charge) and you must have your deposit form back to get your money back. Very inconvenient

    The rooms were large and clean however the whole decor of the hotel was very dated. The breakfast buffet had a decent selection of food. The staff spoke good English and were generally helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facilities available to shower after check out so had my last day was spent sat around without being able to do much.

    Good location and staff. Very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was very average not good at all. Some staff were great others very bad and should not be dealing with public.

    Room good if on right side not overlooking car park.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing as such, although as with everything it depends on your needs. Whether you wish to self-cater or have your meals provided for you!

    The general layout of the hotel, it's easily accessible. The cleanliness was excellent. The staff were v.helpful.. The general feel of the Gran, it's somewhere that I would recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One member of the poolside staff and the lifeguard.it was there attitude to my granddaughter after she came to visit us and was ejected from the pool in a not pleasant manner.she is only nine years of age.we didnt know no residents weren’t allowed in the pool.we saw no signs telling us.it could have been handled better.

    Location was perfect.one

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough blankets in room, was not very warm at night

    Good sized rooms, very good nightclub, legends, and excellent venue Olivia's, nearby our reason for booking the hotel, our third time there

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed really hard and uncomfortable 2nd floor room overlooked too much And noisy from swimming pool motor People smoking on balconies so that the smell whafted over Too much upgrade charged to me to move up Street sellers a nuisance as parked outside gate. 7 of them Food often cold Better quality food needed Including the bread

    Room sizes The 6th floor Reception staff very nice Cleaners nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated and needing a overhaul. Dark dingy corridors. No food or drink allowed in room. No kettles. Just a poor 3star.

    The swimming pool is no more than a splash pool for kids. Breakfast was cold every morning. Just a poor place in general. No way is it a 4star. It’s a poor 3star at best.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One morning all my breakfast was cold and on my second day my room wasn’t cleaned . It was the other 2 days . I also don’t like the often long cues at the machine to get tea or coffee .id really like tea making facilities in the room

    The rooms are basicically furnished but are spacious, lots of wardrobe space and large bathrooms. Perfectly located central la Cala and right by the beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is in need of a bit of a facelift as it is looking rather tired. The towels in the bathrooms are quite small and very thin. We were half board but we didn't eat in the restaurant as it was set up as a buffet style and reminded me more of a canteen.

    The location of the hotel could not be better as it is right on the beach and only 5 minutes walk into the town along the boardwalk. There are great bars and restaurants in the town and the beach bars are also right there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one issue I had was with a very rude lady staff member at dinner service, I was over for a hen weekend with a few friends and we stayed at the hotel on a half board basis, we had gotten ready for a night out in the port and stopped for dinner in the restaurant, food was very average, my friend ordered a jug of water for the table with a male staff member , he brought this efficiently. I had to go to the bar to order a jug of sangria , and the lady told me no and walked off...we were refused drinks and my friends water was actually taken from her mouth! I think they wanted us out of there

    Loved the location, it was in walking distance to a restaurant I had booked for a hen meal. And only a 15 minute taxi ride into purto banus. Loved how it was right on the beach and the cocktails were serious!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room in the hotel Was tired need to revamp For servicing the hotel in the restaurant was not up to scratch and the food was a very low standard

    The reception the pool area car parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Breakfast looked good but most of the days the cooked food was cold. Staff at breakfast were not very helpful. Two of my disabled family members asked staff to show them how to work coffee machine and help carry their coffee over to the table as they have crutches. The staff said no. Rooms are very basic. Water from vending machines were expensive. Definitely not a 4 star hotel. Cost of hotel expensive for what it was. Air con does not work properly. No tea/coffee maker in rooms.

    Location was excellent and sea view from bedroom balcony was beautiful. Garden was lovely and relaxing. Cleaning staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Parking is €10 a day but we parked in the side streets which is free Air con doesn't work very well TV only have English news channels so don't expect any other English channels

    Location. Good buffet breakfast, lovely pool and bar and on beautiful beach Nice bathroom with good shower and bath

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not clean, bed very uncomfortable, corridor carpet very dirty and worn, a lot of paint work required,the dishes dirty not cleaned properly, four waitresses to over one hundred people in restaurant not good, long queues at only two coffee machines.

    Staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff were not all that welcoming. Food not that good. Free drinks were watery. Cocktails out of a pump.first time all inclusive never again. Would rather pay and get better quality.

    Clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls in bedroom grubby.Would be nice to have tea /coffee making facility in bed room.A drinking water fountain in the complex would be appreciated.Tap water should be freely available in dining room for dinner

    Lots of choice for breakfast.Bed very comfortable .Nice view from bedroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the rooms we got this year, overlooking that riverbank ! Very clean, just not the best view 😧

    8 girls came on my 50 th last year, we enjoyed it that much we booked and stayed 6-9 th April . The lovely patient man on the reception 😊 who looked after us last year and this year ! Thank you ! We had great rooms last year overlooking the pool , unfortunately we was put together on the other side this time, so hopefully we will get the pool ones next year !! 😉

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival staff were unfriendly, uninformative and generally unhelpful (focused mainly on getting the money for the room). Room was extremely basic, out dated and as it was on the bottom floor (facing poolside) had no privacy whatsoever with people constantly walking past to get to the pool having a look in. No instructions were provided as to how to work the outdated air con system. TV placed directly in front of vanity mirror preventing it from being used. Lack of alternative TV channels (all mainly in native language Spanish). Free breakfast provided within price of room, not worth the time or effort - food was deplorable. Any number of cafes nearby that are cheap and much more worth while. Hotel has been given a rating of 4 stars, this might have been the case in the 90’s / early 2000’s but certainly not worthy of this rating at present as the only place that could pass for this rating is the small foyer/reception. Restaurant and bar below standard and pool area is average. Took advantage of a deal on booking.com for this booking and still no where near worth the money - cannot imagine paying full price for this.

    The location is ideally placed by the beach and is well within walking distance of La Cala’s Main Street. If you have a car it is easy to access the main road and get to other locations along the coast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    could have been a customer info file in room ,place seems a bit dated ,furniture tatty could do with a comfy armchair in room ,dont think it was value

    on the beach ,and handy for a nice walk along the board walk ,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very tired and not 4 star. The rooms were exceedingly hot and the air conditioning did not work. The beds were uncomfortable. Breakfast was not good, awful sausages, toaster did not toast. Very strange entrance to hotel away from the town with no walkway through.

    The price was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    the weather!!!! It rained a lot during our stay. Would have been good if entertainment available as it was too cold and wet to go out in the evenings

    location and food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee in the room would have been nice

    Adjacent to the beach which very clean. Staff were extremely helpful. Beds and rooms were great. Plenty of food and drink. Definitely recommendation it to any one.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed with the food, very repetative and after five days a little tiring. Salads lovely and plenty of fresh fruit but done to a budget. Sorry should have answered this question below.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not about the hotel , we were conned by a taxi driver while waiting for a bus, he pulled up to the bus stop and told us the bus had beef cancelled , he said he was going to Marbella and he would give us a lift, there was no indication he was a taxi, we did ask and he said no, just a kind passer by, there was another couple waiting to and we all jumped in. He chatted to us on the journey we all thought what a kind man. When we pulled up in a street in Marbella he parked so that the opposite side was wedged up against parked cars and could not get out, he asked us for €74 and he was a taxi, we refused and he got aggressive put his fist up to one of us, two of us managed to get out before he tried to drive off, my partner jumped out, but one guy was kept in the car, he did however managed to jump out at the top of the road when the car stopped for pedestrians, it was scary the bus fair would have been €2 . Holiday makers beware

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have appreciated UK TV. We have never favored buffet breakfasts although much was on display .The toaster took ages !!

    Room was clean and well attended to. Location and pool facilities excellent and a lovely beach just a few steps away.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a room with a connecting door, where the people next door smoked, which came through to us. Not nice. Also they coughed through most of the night. In addition we had young football team staying who were very rowdy, mainly at night, which woke us up. This was made worse through the walls being not very sound proofed.

    For what we paid it was good value. Once we worked out the breakfast arrangements and choices, it was quite good. Best part was the price €50 per night for 3 nights.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Definitely not a 4 Star Hotel. There was no information in the room. Did not know where the dining room was located, did not know the time for breakfast. No kettle in room, was not advised we could have hired one. No information was given to us, not even where the lift was located. Beds totally uncomfortable. Pillows hard as rock. Breakfast was disgusting. Order 3 fried eggs, all yolks were broken, overcooked and swimming in grease, as was the bacon. Sausages were revolting, so left all, and had a breakfast of cake with coffee instead. Extremely noisy hotel. Large golfing parties were there, totally drunk, and shouting about after 12 at night. Towels like sandpaper, and small. Balcony was not safe. Screws were loose in the glass balustrade. I advised the Hotel Manager that this was unsafe, and that this Hotel should not have been rated as a 4 Star, and he was not interested. Would never recommend this, and never stay again!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Entertainments Manager was really helpful and friendly. I asked her about visiting some authentic Spanish Flamenco dancing venues and she went beyond what was required of her to gather the information for me. Also, the evening bingo entertainment that she provided was fun. The food and the staff were fantastic.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything met our expectations, the room was lovely, beds comfy and the food fabulous,so much choice to suit every taste. The staff very helpful and nothing is too much to help you. You can park in a very close carpark just a two minute walk from the hotel if you don’t want to pay for the hotel parking. Lovely hotel we would certainly return.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining chairs could do with a thorough clean. Rooms a bit dated Travelling with family, party of 13 in total , asked for pool view rooms and beside each other, got neither

    Rooms cleaned everyday Good selection fir Buffett breakfast , even though busy always got a seat. Staff friendly and aporachable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    clealiness

    The room was o.k. but the floors in the room and bathroom could have been a lot cleaner. the bathroom towels were hard and very grey. I felt that the hotel could do with a facelift.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is really old and dated and our room was not clean. The food was always cold and not fresh. There are not good facilities at all. Definitely is totally different than the photos. We were extremely disappointed. Anna & Andrew

    The location is great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facilities in room...Could do with tea and coffee making facilities. No guide to hotel and surroundings in room..On T.V. but couldn't access it...Very basic.Have a charge to get a kettle to room but couldn't get cups..Room staff very friendly but other staff not so much...

    The location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not very positive and friendly. I paid for a premium room expecting WiFi in my room and in small print it’s only available from level 1 bar. The only differences the refurbished premium rooms have are new desk, mattress, picture on wall, toiletries, headboard, painted room and curtains. The cupboards, bathroom, sheets on bed, outdoor balcony seating are all the exact same as basic room. The premium room should be basic it wasn’t anything special. I’ve stayed in many hotels and this doesn’t meet 4* standard. No kettle or tea/coffee facilities in room, I could have BOUGHT one from reception and then went to supermarket for tea and coffee. Totally bizarre. The hotel has so much potential which is unfortunate.

    The location is excellent. The view from the room is also very good! You could hear the sea at night. The room was also very quiet and very little noise from other rooms and corridor throughout my stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is in desperate need of a revamp, it's looking very tired and old which is a shame .

    The room was comfortable and clean and location is really good as it's right next the beach. There are some lovely restaurants nearby and the pool area is nice .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really hot & no air conditioning & it was meant to be all inclusive but the bar didn’t open until 3pm so you couldn’t even get an orange juice. The food was one of the worst buffets I’ve ever tasted.. the food was the same every day & tasteless & the breakfast was cold

    Nothing The bed was really uncomfortable & the pillows were like cardboard & the sheets & blanket smelt

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff in the bar and the staff in the restaurant were very rude and not help full at all

    The reception staff where very kind. And showed. Kindness and were able to answer any questions that I had .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On the ground floor room we were in had no nets , bedding sheets were very poor , towels terrible

    Breakfast good, location good , generaly clean, staff helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need a lot work as basic and falling apart

    Took boyfriend away for a little break , the hotel is a good location. However it’s dated and needs some work . The room are very basic with little in them . We had problem in the bathroom that it flooded every time we put shower on bath on , this took the hotel serval hours to sort and constant reminders from ourselves to reception . The hotel was ok for a short break . If you hire a car the hotel charge you £10 a day but car park next door is free and safe .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine only thing is we paid via card and it should have been £45 but we was charged £46,79p,i know its only a small amount but every little helps

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disgusting carpets, terrible manager, rude and unhelpful. And deceiving pictures of the hotel. Same standard food everyday. Not great

    Beds and bed room was nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    School groups with kids playing with balls in lobbies, as the young people had no consideration for other guests teachers should have required more discipline and care from them. Hot food is essential. Wi-Fi in bedrooms is essential and provided by most other hotels these days. Bath was actually worn were the raised area for standing for a shower were.

    Room was cold, food was buffet style and 'hot' dishes were cold, equipment is antiquated, booking large school groups means meal times are chaotic - kids walking about in bare feet or with just socks on when cups are broken is bad.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I found plates/cutlery dirty on more than one occasion, in the all-inclusive restaurant. It is an old hotel that clearly needs renovation. Dinner could be better.

    Excellent location next to the beach and promenade. Clean room and friendly staff. Breakfast quite good for my taste.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No facilities in room eg no tea and coffee making, iron, ironing board, only one British TV channel. Had to pay if wanted to use the safe in the room. Ten euros a day if you wanted to park the hire car in the hotel car park. Breakfast cold and was more like the office canteen. Staff miserable. No concierge or porter. Air conditioning switched off as the Spanish were cold but we were boiling. Bar looked liked we were back in the 1970s.

    Not a lot. Bed was comfortable and hotel in a nice location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking is extra for each day, when there's free parking on the street. No indoor pool for colder weather or kids play area. The breakfast quality is really poor, cold and not much options. You have to pay for fresh juice.

    The best thing going for this hotel is its location, directly on the beach and close to other restaurants and shops. Also it's a small, quiet resort, idea to explore on foot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most staff were not very helpful and not cheery at all. The breakfast was cold and I had it once whilst I was there because it was the unenjoyable. No kettle in the room so you have to use a vending machine for a drink which is €2 for a coke a time. The heating was on (I appreciate it's Spanish summer but it's warm for some folk) and it made the bar area uncomfortable. The bar is expensive. A rum and coke and dry white wine cost over €10. A cocktail and a rum and coke was €15, ridiculous. The pool was absolutely freezing, hardly anyone used it. I can handle cold water but that was freezing cold. There was just a hairdryer in the room. No ironing facilities, kettle or drink making facilities, The heating was on when we arrived so the room was boiling. We had issues Like a shower head being broken etc and the staff weren't interested in sorting them out at all, it definitely is not a 4*.

    The beds were comfortable and the view was lovely. Fridge in the room was there but pointless really as you didn't need milk because no kettle was provided but was ok for water.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is not a 4 star , the room needs refurb and furniture replacing Night time entertainment was shocking , during the four nights stay one music quiz which lasted 20 mins then packed up . Chairs in bar / lounge appalling need throwing out , the plastic whicker style chairs have crystallised and metal showing through very very uncomfortable. Bar prices also a bit pricey 3.70 a pint .

    The chill zone area was a nice touch

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After staying here many times over the past few years,I think it could do with a bit of work on decor and the chairs in entertainment area need updating,needs freshening up all over,but still a good hotel.and I will be back.

    I have stayed here many times,staff very friendly,good buffet breakfast,great location on the beach with a boardwalk that goes on for miles,and right beside la cala village.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was inedible stone cold food even food bought straight from kitchen stone cold . Bread and rolls so stale they were like bricks disgusting. Breakfast was ok but had to warm in microwave not acceptable! I have complained and awaiting outcome

    Room was lovely but had to pay 15 euros to be on pool side and higher floor

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast at 7 in the morning the eggs were still cold !?...no tea making facilities in the room...facilities in general just about ok

    very good location, the beds were comfortable enough, staff were friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. I was in a newly refurbished room which was tastefully decorated. I was B & B only but food was good Plenty of choice. Good varied selection. Being where hotel is situated nice walK's on boardwalk are not too be missed Also short walk into La Cala which is a lovely town

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only issue was no tea facilities in the room ( my problem im english )

    Having read the reviews before departings i was sceptical , but i cannot fault anything we had a lovely weekend and the food ( which was put down by others ) was excellent and we will use this hotel again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Each time we have been before on your special deals ,we have always been more that pleased but this time we was told we only paid for a basic room, which was on the 1st or 2nd floor it was nice but not has good has before.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hotel was a little dated could do with a face lift. the price was right because it was off season but far too expensive in the summer months

    The hotel was as expected, overall was clean and comfortable and location was great. We were only B&B but the Breakfast was lovely, loads of choice, will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not like the food. Found it of a poor quality. More quantity than quality. But again compared to the low price - what may you expect. The croissants were lovely though. Also a better cleaning of the room - first of all polish of the mirrors both in bathroom and in room.

    First of all I liked the staff both at the reception and in the restaurant. Unfortunately I ended up in hospital during 2 days of my stay. They called me at the hospitalto see how I was twice and they let me have my room till I left in the evening after returning from the hospital.Travelling alone and with my sickness I felt extremely safe and cared for at this hotel. Thank you!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Those on all inclusive deals were quite noisy at times but we are not light sleepers Biggest complaint that food was generally lukewarm. Views from the lower floors on the low numbers were dominated by brick walls. Spend the extra if you are able to select rooms in the higher floors with stunning views towards the West

    Everything was as you would expect from a 4.5 star Spanish hotel - a 3.5 star elsewhere. Plenty of English guests though the majority were German or Dutch. There were hundreds of books in the library of which 10/15 were in English. No problems with any of that but come prepared Food was plentiful and something to the vast majority. Dining room staff were very friendly. Everything we wanted, superb location next to the best beach on the coast and a short stroll into the lovely village of La Cala de Mijas along the boardwalk Lot of nearby places to eat and drink, if you are not on full board and would recommend a visit to the fantastic local Music Bar, Legends

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Meals were excellent - self-service and as much as you could eat. Room was clean and spacious. Hotel was close to the town and almost on the beach. Plenty of opportunity for walking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I visited the dinning area 10 mins after opening for breakfast, food was tepid and not hot and was a little disappointed in the overall experience.

    Room was of a good standard warm and what you would expect from a 4 star rated hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 20 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No teas made, no TV only news. When you went to basic clean room there was 1 dining room chair for 2 people no little coffee table to have a relaxing drink. Evening meal every night was cold no after dinner tea.shower head would not stay up so you had to hold the the shower in your hand.just sorry we dident go B/B

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture in the bar/cafeteria needs replacing as the coatings are coming off revealing bare metal strips in the chairs

    Friendly staff and cleanliness

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No where to purchase refreshments within hotel during daytime only cabin in grounds served in plastic. 1.75 euro for coffee in paper cup !!!

    Next to beach

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    👍👍

    Everything was always very clean Staff helpful with my phone problems and checked in for my boarding pass I think wonderful value fora winterbreak

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Main dishes at dinner were not of a very high standard, lack of evening entertainment and having been twice recently to the nearby Mac Puerta Marina Hotel at the same time of year I could not honestly say this hotel was four star

    The staff were all very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything.

    This hotel is hardly 2 stars and absolutely not 4 stars. A complete disappointment. We now know that there is a far better 2 star hotel in the Town itself. If we knew that beforehand we never had booked this hotel. Hotel is completely outdated and need a complete renovation. Hardly any lights in the rooms, only one chair and everything outdated. The breakfest is horrible with no taste at all. We had breakfest included but choose to have a very good breakfest for a perfect price 5 min walking distance from the hotel. Furthermore one of the elderly man at the reception was quite unfriendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was not great. And the lighting is terrible in the evenings. Don't bother taking a book to read because you won't be able to see a thing

    Lovely rooms and view. Very clean and quiet

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    everything

    food indescribable, no coffee facilities or anything after 11.30pm even on all inclusive you had to pay . Would not recommend going BB, half board or fully inclusive. Eat else where. Executive bedrooms are a laugh,

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of communication from team members, lack of information given to guests upon arrival. Parents were ill and visited hospital so i asked at reception if i could take some breakfast to their room- only to be chased by an angry waiter because i was apparently "no allowed to take food" gent spoke poor english yet responded in english when i spoke spanish (clearly) One of the worst hotels ive been to. Poor quality food. The place is in need of an update and is definitely not a 4* property

    Location, its the only benefit of staying there

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was nothing short of dreadful The hotel rooms ,bar area and restaurant area are desperately in need of decorating marks on wAlls seats with wires sticking out musty damp smell in bar and rooms. I found this stay quite depressing we have stayed several times over the years we will not return. The cleanliness of rooms was lacking ,the bed was made the room was not cleaned, we had to clean it ourselves. Extremely dated facilities. I am still confused as to different charges based on the floor you stay on as all rooms look equally dated. Just when we thought it could not get worse the air conditioning unit for the building buzzed all night every night! When we checked out no one asked how our stay was !

    The location was good close to local amenities the staff were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was always tepid. Did not conform to health & safety temperatures. 1st floor bar/coffee lounge desperately needed updating very 60s style. Carpets on 4th floor corridor very stained and in places starting to wear.No entertainment provided. Reception area very cold.

    Location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is in a very good location, but it is looking a bit tired some areas could do with refurbishment especially in the lounge and dining room as the furniture is very dated. All staff very friendly. The most disappointing thing was the price of parking at the hotel 10 Euro a day.

    Good selection of food and drinks.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The food was more or less the same every evening with some improvement on New Years Eve. It was difficult to find hot food, this may have been due to the time the food had been on display.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.i had my disabled brother with me and the staff could not have been more helpful to us both,they were excellent

    Everything, I have stayed here a few times,and as always,the staff so friendly and helpful, rooms cleaned daily,right on the beach,stroll into the village,luvly boardwalk for miles,great location,25 minutes from malaga airport.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very aggressive staff on arrival...was going to leave but it was late...room was below standard, and cold....very very basic, bed hard, and asked for double room and got singles....breakfast very cold...and again staff miserable...

    Leaving.....

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    that we were charged 10 euros per day to park, if you wanted Fresh Orange juice for breakfast it was 2 euros, otherwise you had squash! if you had Gin and Tonic, you had to pay for a bottle of Nordic or have fizzy stuff extra sweet from a machine, there was no indoor pool or spa, no porter. This was a 4 star Hotel, it should be a 3, we went there when it was first built and it was a Saga we expected it to be equal but unfortunately it wasn't.

    The food was ok but on occasions cold,

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: