Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime 4 stars

Avenida Del Hotel, 22, 08860 Castelldefels, Spain

#21 of 51 hotels in Castelldefels

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2707 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Ideal place for a family reunion of 11 people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The pool bar/restaurant had good drinks but the food quality was actually under all expectations although prices were on the higher level. The dining restaurant with the beautiful furniture is very classy and the service quite good. The food is tasty but the portions are "mini " with all my respect to the " nouvelle cuisine ". We left the place still hungry. The breakfast room was quite fair with all necessary variations, the service was excellent.

    The pool area is very pleasant and the view to the sea impressive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.1
    It was a pleasant short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to rely on a car or taxi. The hotel is on a hill and if you want to reach the beach or have a walk, it is difficult, because of the highway. The room was rather small: good for one night, but not for a longer stay.

    It is a beautiful oasis once you are there- very nice outdoor pool, well kept area, a very good restaurant in a villa.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.1
    The pool area, room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa facilities weren’t working. Bar was extremely expensive and breakfast was expensive also for what it was. Food served at bar wasn’t great choices and quite pricey too.

    The pool area, room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.3
    Cosy atmosphere and great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not comfortable and not recommendable for families with baby strollers and bigger luggages. Too many stairs at different locations without ramp ! Very nice restaurant but limited and unattractive menus card over priced !

    Cosy atmosphere and great view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Amazing place, loved every minute!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was on high standart! Staff extremely nice, breakfast amazing great choice of everything - fruits, desserts, delicious coffee! Dinner in the Restaurant was lovely too. Room nice and clean, big enough. We had with balcony :) Amazing sea view! Swimming pool area very nice! Hotels Location is perfect! Definitely will be back!!! Thank You to all Staff who made our visit welcomed and unforgettable :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Absolutely brilliant hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Amazing view, 15 mins of walk to railroad station, very kind personal, breakfasts are amazing, swimming pool is in excellent and relaxing, good restaurant in hotel and a lot of good restaurants nearby. Soul is resting there, thank you very much!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.8
    I would stay one more.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything is nice but the location. You must have a car or pay for a taxi every time. Although there is alternative if 7 min walking up to hotel do not scary you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    4.6
    Dissapointed by location and overall approach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking this hotel was my biggest mistake during my stay in Spain In two words: 1. Awful location 2. Very noisy at night 3. Overpriced 4. Bad communication After travelling to Paris and Barcelona I decided to stay in some quiet and comfort place in order to rest and prepare for my certification exam. As my trip was a bit unscheduled I have booked stay in Casteldefels in last minutes. Therefore almost all rooms near the beach were not available. I had choice between Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime (****) and Ciudad de Castelldefels (***). On the map first one looks like a little bit further than the second one (and in reality it is not at all). Just in case I wrote to the Don Jaime regarding the distance to the beach and had no any feedback (I guess I know why). As one of my requirements was comfort I have chosen **** hotel. And here goes the total disappointment: 1. Hotel located on the mountain with quite hard slopped road AND on the opposite (to the beach) side of a highway. Crossing the highway is limited to several places in whole town. So the only way to get to the beach is a taxi (around 10 euro one side). Transfers are not provided by the hotel. 2. Only after the first evening I found out that this hotel is popular as a place for outdoor parties, weddings and teambuilding. So to the half of the hotel territory I (who paid for the stay) had a restricted access while some other people were enjoying hotel facilities . There were no room in the restaurant at all due to this events. And the most annoying part – it is a noise till the late night and the smoke smell. Both nights it was a music, shouting and other load sounds. Taking into account that my room (336) was facing the restaurant and conference room entrance – it was a real nightmare. So my plans to have a rest dramatically failed. Hotel personal refused to change my room for free in the first day but I insisted and second night was a lot better 3. In general sound insulation is very poor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    A surprising find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much, maybe too many young families with kids running around but hotel can't control that.

    Great price and value, we used it to for one night as it's close to the airport and it was a really nice surprising find. Great staff, very nice views and the room was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    2.5
    Not a 4 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not clean. Full of dust. I was expecting a room that can fit 3 single beds or 1single bed and 1 double and we got a room that barely fit the beds. No bags on the trash bins. Cleaning staff ignored the do not disturb sign. It's a good walk uphill to get to the hotel.

    Food was ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.3
    Very tasty breakfast, small candy ate the reception, very...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Too much noise from outside, from other rooms. Too much noise from WC. Hot water flows after 2-4 minutes. Light emitting around the closed doors. Squeaky beds.

    Very tasty breakfast, small candy ate the reception, very kind personnel, good parking with free slots and for free outside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.3
    Room was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After I left and arrived at the USA I noticed three more small consecutive charges to my credit card (?) very unprofessional and not a reason for them.

    Room was ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    The view from the "Castle" near the pool was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything. ( Perhaps the full breakfast being a bit less expensive) Oh the indoor pool and Hamman are still not fixed. This didn't effect my stay.

    The view from the "Castle" near the pool was great. The room was a good size. The bed was super comfortable. It was a great value in May on a Thursday night. Great location for the airport. We even walked to the beach 20 minutes over the pedestrian bridge. The parking is the huge plus. You can find a hotel close to the beach but you won't find parking. The staff was polite and efficient. My husband liked the jelly candies at the desk. Lol.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.1
    The staff was friendly and professional.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had a booking for 2 nights and upon Arrival I have been informed that the Hotel was overbooked. I have been transfered to another Hotel of the Group for 1 night. The staff handled the overbooking in a professional way and the Transfers were paid by them. They offered breakfast free of chare as a compensation. A bit strange that it seems that there was a high number of other guests (at least 10 ) in the same Situation - I wonder how this can happen.

    The staff was friendly and professional. The view is very nice from the garden.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.0
    Poor hotel not even 1 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor breakfast dont even dare to open to take the rice in the morning really smelly if you want to sleep at night dont dare to book weekends you wouldnt sleep with the load music noise we booked this hotel as location wise it appeared to be a nice quite relaxing area the hotel is also a reception for wedings and it feels like you are in a disco where they clearly knew that we had a flight early morning as booked the taxi with them when you phone them up they say there is nothing they can do and close the phone on you if you are looking for a relaxing place or sleep at night its not the hotel for you really dissatisfied

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent service, will come back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel. The restaurant is very good, with very wide menu and excellent service. The staff is very knowledgeable. It looks traditional, but it really is a very good hotel to go to, much better than newer and more flashy hotels but with not so professional staff. You come to appreciate the very good service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Out of this world location, view and hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Indoor swimming pool closed

    Beautiful views, iconic image of bridge next to pool. Great location, price and opportunities for spa, restaurant, outdoor bar, and close to beach (20 mins) walk with access to nearby restaurants La Bottas and Casanova restaurants nearby. Would visit and stay again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.5
    OK stay because of nice location, clean facilities, and a very good rate for that.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Most staff were more formal than friendly and did not seem to care much about customer requests. No air-condition available in rooms (before May) exposed to direct sun all day, so it was very hot and hard to sleep despite of open windows. Food and service at pool bar poor, but restaurant OK.

    Very beautiful surroundings, nice pool area, overall great location. Very good and clean bathroom facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.5
    OK for a night stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked a casual restaurant on the premises to have a coffee and toasted sandwich. To order this from room service was exorbitant.

    OK for a night stop close to the airport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    6.7
    3-star rooms. Non-friendly and expeditious staff at reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the very expedient reception desk pretty unfriendly .... just a supermarket shelf. An ad on a paper that the indoor pool is not available. I said I do not know another alternative. At the reception there was a 60-year-old gentleman who was very expeditious. Clean room but with small old furniture for 3 people. If you do not have a car, the location is harder to reach. A 3-star hotel at least in the area where we stayed and we had no alternative . We agreed to pay upgrade to another room, but I did not get another option.

    Positioning in a quiet area and restaurant and garden side .The cleaning staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Pretty much everything, very nice breakfast with a big...
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far away from the airport yet not that far as the city of Barcelona. Still be ready to pay at least 30-35 EUR to get there by Taxi. Furniture a bit outdated.

    Pretty much everything, very nice breakfast with a big variety of local meat delights. Nice village nearby with wonderful beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night

    All in all, a really good hotel with a lot of friendly staff. The restaurant has an amazing view on the city of castelldefells. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.7
    Ok for one night stay, but wouldn't stay longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was little windy and the wind was whistling round the windows so much that we couldn't even sleep. It was really hard to find anything to eat from the menu. We all chose tuna as a main course, but it was not available. So most of us need to have 2 starters instead of a starter and a main course. Also the price - qualitys level was not so good.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.1
    Great location but basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms clean and comfortable but basic and noisy. Would have appreciated basic facilities in the room, like water boiler and coffee, ironing board etc.

    Great location and the old part of hotel it stunning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.1
    No pool, being renovated
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive to return.

    Beds really comfortable. Charged €10 for one portion of rice. No kettle or boiling water available for duration of stay, really needed for some health conditions etc. Staff were very nice and as helpful as they could be. Up a very steep hill, terrific view but impractical for us going back and fourth.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    5.8
    Position, breakfast, the restaurant, free parking, free WiFi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning off ”in winter time” although it was 26 degrees at night. The inside pool was out of order. The standard of the room was not of a 4stars hotel.

    Position, breakfast, the restaurant, free parking, free WiFi.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel, good room but party all night under our window ruined our sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very noisy all night under our window, we did not get any sleep at all as young lads were partying until 3am in the morning

    Nice hotel overall, comfy bed, good breakfast, lovely food in the restaurant,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    Very satisfied after our stay in this amazing hotel. Looking forward to a next time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Without a car will be difficult to reach the hotel situated on the hill. The Indoor pool was out of service during our stay what disappointed us :(

    -Delicious Breakfast -Cleaniness top -Comfortable beds -Spacious Bathroom -Great View -Very friendly stuff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    5.8
    We were looking for a hotel close to the airport with free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was one of our last nights after 2 weeks in Spain (off season) and I'd been spoiled with every other hotel upgrading my room at no charge. Even though there appeared to be very few people staying, there are no free upgrades (the clerk asked if I wanted a balcony and said it would be 15 Euro more). The hotel is a fair distance from restaurants and there are no stores within walking distance. It was an OK stay, but rather generic and unmemorable.

    We were looking for a hotel close to the airport with free parking, and this fit the bill. The building itself is rather old and looks slightly run down, though it's nice enough inside. It's set high on a hill and there are nice views of the sea, plus breakfast was tasty and plentiful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.9
    Our stay was just for one night, as we were heading off on a cruise the next day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very neat and tidy on arrival. Everything we needed for an overnight stay was there. The staff were friendly and helpful. Both the dinner and breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    2.5
    not pleaseant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff, no conceirge, swimming pool not functional, dated furniture and bad smell in bathrooms.Very cold marble floor and no sleepers provided. Poor service and overall not a 4* hotel. Maybe they should review their stars and is such a shame they did not invest in quality and happy customers as Castelldefels is a great area and location is superb.

    Breakfast was not bad

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    2.5
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not properly clean, staff very rude, no concierge service, baby was sick and we had to arrive one day later. They did not even care and charge full price for not show (could do a discount rate, did not expect full return). Booked a room with a double bed and extra bed and they offer 3 single beds). Very noisy you could hear what next room will do. Did not get any sleepers and the floor was just marble, very cold during winter. Pool was not functional and staff was very rude saying we are free to use the one outside (cold water and 12 degrees outside)just to get the irony. Overall not a 4* at all. Rooms are very small with old furnishing. Bathroom with mold on and a disgusting smell. Very disappointed! Don’t waste your money going there.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.2
    Relaxed weekend trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fast breakfast came with one mini crossiant which I thought was a bit cheeky as it was 5.90 euros for one tea one OJ and one tiny croissant!

    Setting and style for the deal I got was fabulous.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.1
    okay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night

    indoor pool was closed, "old" part of the hotel: room poorly isolated (noise from corridor reaches almost unfiltered the room), door posts in the room too low for tall guests

    good restaurant, good breakfast, clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    Happy but VERY disappointed with late notification of indoor pool being unavailable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar meals could have been warmer. Could have been allocated a room with a better view given that Hotel was not at all busy on 6th January. Not at all happy that Indoor Pool was not in use during our stay given that we chose the Hotel primarily on the facility being advertised. No forward notification given thereof. Only indication thereof was on morning of our arrival by which time it would have been too late to cancel. (Still pleased with Hotel but there is a need for more HONESTY here).

    Very good breakfast. Staff pleasant and helpful. Hotel lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing we did not like.....was that we only had 1 night ;-) wanted to stay longer!

    We were on a road trip, compare to the other hotels this one was outstanding!! Definitely the price versus accommodation!! We will go back there for sure!! And what a surprise to have nespresso coffee for breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff! absolutely perfect!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.5
    Nice stay with great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sea view is okay but it shouldn't be charged extra as it is not outstanding.

    It is a good hotel with a nice breakfast. But it needs some updates as it is old in many details.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.2
    An enjoyable Christmas break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confusion as to reserving a table for Christmas Lunch, no problem once we were at the hotel. Patchy meal service over the Christmas period, bar meals not exciting.

    This was the second occasion we spent the Christmas break at this Hotel. So we new what to expect. We were given the choice of a room and beds. We chose the modern as opposed to the traditional wing, giving a fabulous view towards Barcelona with twin beds. The room was comfortable and warm, restaurant excellent and comfortable lounge area adjacent to the restaurant and bar. Staff were very caring and service excellent. No problem parking, and whilst set high above Castelldefels taxi service was easy and the train station very convenient with easy access to Barcelona or points South. Many good restaurants in Castelldefels a short drive/taxi away.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Adjoining room bathroom backed on to our room and the noise from toilet and shower was loud. People in the adjacent room were getting ready to leave at 5.30am and so bathroom noises for about one and a half hours with hairdryer very loud.

    Bed was extremely comfortable and room spacious. Reception staff very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    4.6
    A lot of potential to get better! Now old and unfriendly location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel need renovation - rooms are terrible! Service need training - no smiles for the customers. Missing sun chairs and no service at the pool.

    Restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.9
    A quiet, comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was definitely NOT what I would expect in a 4 star hotel. Absolutely 3 star level. The orange juice had come straight out of a carton, instead of being freshly squeezed. The coffee was from a MACHINE!!! You pushed a button to choose, just like the awful stuff you get in offices. I would have expected a barista making proper espresso and cappuccino coffee; it would have made an enormous difference. The only way to make a vaguely decent latte was by using the coffee from the Nespresso and filling the rest of the cup with the hot milk provided. The bread shops around Barcelona all sell pretty decent croissants, so I don't understand why there were none on the buffet breakfast tables. Very disappointing.

    The room was well furnished and the bed was huge and very comfortable. Staff were helpful and friendly. The restaurant, bar, pool and "party" area are separate from the sleeping area, so when you wanted to sleep it was lovely and quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Very happy I choosed that hotel for my stay, no regrets.view from my room still pops up in my mind..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surprisingly nothing.

    Stuff was super friendly, almost made friends:) view from the room made my day. enjoyed breakfast & restaurant menu had good celection.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.9
    It's a safe place with a beautiful view and free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    See above - also The mirror in the bathroom looked like it had not been cleaned all year. The rest of the area seemed clean - air condition was not working well and very loud. Indoor pool was being repaired - kids were so looking forward to it.

    I like the location and view, however I think it's a out of line to charge for children for the buffet 18.00 euros - the 2 year old and 6 year old hardly ate anything - this is a rip off. Adults - ok - selection was ok - nothing to write home about - the selection has become less over the years - we have been staying at this property since 1986 and seen a significant change in the amenities - not even kleenex in the room - had to use toilet paper to blow my nose. We will go to Castedfels to eat breakfast in the future

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.8
    Good base for Barcelona airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioner fan rattled a little when run at high speed In one of the rooms.

    The hotel is conveniently located to El Prat airport and, can also be a base for day trips to Barcelona for travellers with cars. Car parking is free, plentiful when I was there and the bays are wide. The basement car park has a number of electric vehicle charging stations. The hotel has lifts and this goes to the basement, making it easy to load and unload our luggage. The beds were very comfortable, without the memory foam mattresses that seem to be very common elsewhere. The shower was hot and clean. The room is large and there is ample space to work on the supplied table and We were so happy with the facilities and the rate that we extended our stay at this hotel from two to four days. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant nor use their swimming and other facilities. The WiFi strength was good from inside our rooms and was not slow.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.8
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurants and the beach are a bit far for walking, we preferred to take the car.

    Our room was clean and quiet. The hotel has a nice view of the entire area because it is located on a higher level. Breakfast was good. The pool looks nice and has a good bar. There was more than enough free parking available.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.3
    Could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Indoor pool was closed ,no spa! My upgrade to a room with a view was of a quarry through very dirty Windows! Extra 11 euro a night!

    The pool is good,and also the snack bar by the pool.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    6.7
    Mosquito lovers will enjoy staying here.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not the fault of the management exactly, but the rooms was mosquito infested (not just a few), the shower tray wasn't up to the job, so the bathroom flooded in seconds- not a great design. There isn't much in the way of services (food etc) around the locality.

    its local to the airport and easy to access.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.3
    Helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms near restaurant very noisy when functions on. Hotel is wedding venue. Too many stairs to access older rooms, only a problem with heavy cases.

    Helpful staff Good location for airport access (by car) Lovely views from some rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    6.7
    Good but I won't be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There should be more information about hotel facilities in the room. The courtesy transport to the beach / railway mentioned on the website was not available - this should be made clearer. It is dangerous to walk up/down the road at night time and only for the very fit (with suitable shoes) during the day

    The pool area was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.8
    Nice hotel but the Customer Service could of been better!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location......I didn't expect to walk up a very steep hill up to the entrance of the hotel with our cases....!!!

    The rooms were comfortable and the swimming pool and sauna was nice also.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.9
    Very good short stay at amazing beach near Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Early morning noise from deliveries and noisy staff Bed needs new mattress. Shower over bath floods floor.

    Set menu dinner when booking half board astonishingly good.Each course had three choices and all were exquisite

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    We only had 2 days but if you had longer there are numerous places to visit by car or train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shuttle bus from the hotel to town was excellent during the day but we would have liked a shuttle back to the hotel a little later. It was no problem as a taxi was available.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    All staff were amazing, in particular the front desk,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 23 nights

    The bar fridge in the room had bottles but no bottle cap opener, so had to walk all the way to the bar to get the bottle opened. No childrens play area at the hotel.

    All staff were amazing, in particular the front desk, housekeeping and restaurant and bar staff. We were impressed at how pleasant and helpful they all were to us and to our little boys (one year old and four year old). The room had a proper cot, not a portacot which was important for a long stay. Hotel provided a free shuttle service to the beach which is needed as its a long way to walk especially back as its all up hill and there is no footpath so not safe for strollers.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.5
    Good price/quality performance if you have a car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only half of the bath tub had the shower cabin, so all the bathroom was wet after a shower. Although the bed was sufficiently large, and not too soft (which I like) There was no cover for the blankets. I hate naked blankets.

    The hotel was clean. If you have a car, nice location. Nice view near the pool. The shower has a steady and strong water. The old building is nicely renovated. No strange smell or anything. Silent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Charming hotel and I would use it again arriving into Barcelona airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some noise reached the bedrooms from bar/ lounge and continued until early hours. There are no corridor doors. Pillows too thin

    Great view from bedroom window over the sea because hotel is on top of a hill about 1 km to the sea. Very good value (half the price) compared to hotels nearer to the airport, also more character. Hotel is charming with several lounges with comfy chairs. Bedroom was a good size and bed was good comfy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    This hotel was lovely, the room was wonderful and the bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a little far away from the beach and restaurants. Around a 25 min walk through busy roads.

    This hotel was lovely, the room was wonderful and the bed was SO comfortable. The pool area is so pretty and also very quiet which I liked.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No atmosphere

    The hotel is in a good location to look down at the Mediterranean sea from the pool area. The pool area itself was very good with a large pool and eating and drinking facilities all day and night with waiter service as well. The breakfast was superb with a vast selection of food but the restaurant at the hotel was way overpriced in my opinion hence there did not seem to be many people there. A 5 minute taxi drive to town will give you a vast selection of restaurants. All in all we enjoyed the stay but there was little to do in the evenings with nothing going on not even live music like a piano player in the background so hence no atmosphere. I would rate the hotel a 3 star

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.6
    luxurious and very enjoyable . spot on location for barcelona .
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    shame all rooms didn't have balconies .

    we loved the massive bathroom and the large single beds which were extremely comfortable , we had great sleeps all week. such a luxurious hotel , really impressed . the pool side bar / café was really convenient. fully recommend stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.5
    Marvellous hotel with a nice view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The food in the bar restaurant is mediocre, I would not recommend it. We never tried the restaurant! There is a rather long walk uphill to get from the beach or the railway station to the hotel.

    We were lucky to get a room having a marvellous view of the ocean as well as Barcelona. For being in Spain very comfortable! The cleaning was very good every day. The breakfast had a large variety & can be recommended. Very nice pool. There is also a van that takes people to and from the beach every day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel and location for a beach/city break. I would like to stay in this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice if they offered a shuttle service from the airport (especially when arriving late at night). However there were plenty of taxis waiting at the airport so this wasn't really a big problem.

    We got a good deal on a suite which was very spacious and comfortable. Also had a bath which was much needed after some long days walking in the city. We did not opt for the breakfast which was an additional €14 per person per day. There is a cafe by the pool if you just want a light/cheaper breakfast. There are also other cafes on the way to the beach about 15-20 min walk away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    6.3
    Good for its purpose, and good on price vs quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our rooms were further away in the hotel and not all of the hotel was well maintained.

    We were there because of the location and vicinity to where we had to be that day. The pool and garden area were nice, as were the rooms, all good, positive about price vs quality.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely Hotel Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Lovely hotel excellent value for money - breakfast choice was great and very tasty and the Nespresso machine with a huge choice of capsules absolutely made my day! Pool bar food was fine. didn't eat in the restaurant as it was really quiet and I like atmosphere. Great location for Barcelona and Stiges.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    5.8
    great views from the outdoor swimming pool which itself is a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    located high up in the hill so not ideal for walking but no problem if you have a car. no kettles in the room and if need hot water to drink, you need to go the bars which is outside the hotel and ask them to give you hot water. we had parents with us who need to drink hot water all the time so in the end we found the bar staff not very happy to help us with hot water. This is really a huge disappointment. Not very friendly front desk staff overall so I don't think we would come back to this hotel again for the future.

    great views from the outdoor swimming pool which itself is a beautiful scene and it is really a pleasure to swim in the pool but can be chilly and windy due to it is located high up in the hills. There is also a nice indoor swimming pool which the kids like a lot.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Splendid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the distance from the hotel to the beach do not fit what it is written on their info. the hotel is on a top of a hill and to get to the beach you need 25 mns walking down in a forest, to get back it is worst u have to climb to the hotel. the only solution to use a taxi. if u have a car life is much simple the hotel is great in all way. Train station is down the hill, but better when coming back to hotel with train is not to exit at Platja de Castelldefels station since one over 4 train serve this station, so better to go out at main Castelldefels station where u can find easily a taxi to take you to the hotel, the price will be the same if u exit at both station but at Platja de Castelldefels station u cant find a taxi u have to call him and he will come from Castelldefels center and he will charge you same as u exist at Castelldefels station and maybe more since you can't control the metering board. the price is always between 5 and 6 euro, i think it is affordable trip.

    The location is great the pool is wonderful the staff are more than lovely. if u have a car this is the best location u can have. blindly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.3
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very far from everything. Very bad service in the bar, personal don't cares so much about customers, when you order something you have to wait too long time. And the food is very expensive and absolutely not good.

    Comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel. 2nd time there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Train line to Barcelona or west. Hotel shuttle to excellent beach...10 mins with pick up. Up market restaurant at hotel plus various high end or Turkish choices in town. Good rooms with or without balcony.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.1
    Sea views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On a very steep hill so not really suitable for walking back from beach.

    Lovely pool and plenty of seating.Excellent food in restaurant.Very clean . Good choice at breakfast. Complimentary minibus to beach on a timetable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Ok, but I would prefers something closer to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location can be panoramic, but it's a bit an outing to go to the city if you are going out of the time when the shuttle bus is driving. It takes 15 minutes to walk down to the beach. Longer on the way back considering also that you have to go up the hill. Going down by car an be annoying when you have to look for a parking spot in the city, when it's packed with people

    Nice hotels. You can get really nice view on the town and the sea if you are on the right side. Totally boring instead if you are on the back. Poll is nice. Rooms big enough.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.8
    Very nice hotel :) with questionable bar-service :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food and the service in the bar is catastrophic. I am not a waiter but I would recognize immediately once the guest sitting at that table assuming she/he has a good reason for it (drinking, eating). You need to look for a waiter to make an order. Asking a pizza for 2 , served with one knife 2 forks and even it was mentioned earlier coming only one plate !?? Does not make any sense. 50% of cases not noticed you are at the table. The system in the bar is not organised at all. I was not in the main restaurant hopefully it is better. It was definitely clean and beautifully prepared tables inside. The bar is the only bad exception.

    The hotel has really good terrace and bar next to the pool. Garden is well maintained watered fresh green. Good sunbathing facility. Pool is clean with a beautiful castle tower. Receptionist are really helpful. Shuttle bus between hotel and beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice place on a hill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Its on a hill, so no walk with luggage here. Pool could be cleaner.

    Ok breakfast, ok reception, nice staff in bar and pool area. clean spacious room. fantastic view of beach at one side and city on other side. A nice walk to beach and restaurants, train station is a short walk away. Nice area to sunbath around the pool. Ok A/C

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.3
    As some people have stated before me, the hotel is in need...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    AC had trouble adjusting to temperature I wanted, view only comes with way higher prices (understandable though), bathroom very old and run down - water switched between hot and cold so my shower was a little uncomfortable.

    As some people have stated before me, the hotel is in need of renovation and update and can in many ways not be considered a 4 star hotel. However, I paid less than most 2 star hotels in Castelldefels would have wanted for the night - and the cheapest rooms in Rey Don Jaime are still way better than those AND you have the beautiful garden with the pool. Staff speak English fluently and even knew a little German, beds are huge and comfortable, good TV/cable selection, ok air condition, good private parking, nice early check-in at 2 pm which gives you ample time to enjoy the garden and the pool. Place is quiet - I slept very well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.2
    Try it, you won't be disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    On check in - the initial conversation with the desk staff was a bit lacking. He was curt and made a number of assumptions about me without allowing me the opportunity to even speak. I had to be rather rude back to get him to listen. However he seemed to be the exception and everyone else was most helpful.

    What a find. Gorgeous views over the Mediterranean, large hotel with just the best pool setting of the whole trip. Had to leave early the next morning so could not try the breakfast. Wish we could have stayed another day or two.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.0
    Good place for a "one-night stay"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Rooms are quite far from the parking 2. although there is an elevator, to reach some rooms, one have keep going upstears

    1. spacious room, with comfortable bed 2. nice surroundings 3. polite and helpful staff 4. free parking 5. descent restaurant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value for a break here in Casteldefells, lovely location, great pool!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Pillows, very hit and miss, too soft and maybe old..

    Nothing was too much trouble to ask of the staff, very helpful. Good quality breakfast, hot and cold. Facilities provided on day of leaving as later in the afternoon. Lovely pool and views. Lots of children, so bare that in mind if you want a quiet pool experience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.3
    Gorgeous location with helpful and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Driveway to get to hotel rather steep.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Cleaning staff do an amazing job and are also very friendly. Pool area is beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: