Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Gran Versalles This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Covarrubias, 4, Chamberí, 28010 Madrid, Spain

#128 of 327 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 4658 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    8.3
    Great location, decent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Facilities seem a bit too basic for a 4-star hotel. No water offered as part of the room service.

    Location is very good, one block away from Metro and close to central transport hubs. Room was small but clean. Wi-fi was good. Breakfast has good variety.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    7.5
    Great location , comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We would have appreciated some assistance in getting luggage to the room on arrival after just getting off long haul flight

    Great location , comfy bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    6.7
    Good location. Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could use a more modern decor and a little more lighting.

    Great location: a few metres from Alonso Martinez metro station. The bulding itself may be old and so the bedrooms, sporting a 70s look, but they did have all the comforts. Bathroom was spacious and clean. A goodie bag was awaiting us with some toiletries. Breakfast had a good selection.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    10
    Very clean, spacious room, reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, I've stayed here before and will stay here on my next trip to Madrid.

    Very clean, spacious room, reasonable price. pleasant staff on reception. Great location in Madrid, next to Alonso Martinez metro station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    4.2
    Outdated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel has an unpleasant smell, probably from the carpet. Needs some serious update, probably ok some years ago, but you can find much better 2* hotels and hostals for the price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    10
    Great hotel and walk to everything in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful hotel and friendly staff. We booked for one night as we made a mistake on our other hotel and couldn't add a fourth night. We have checked in the second hotel and wish we would have stayed all four nights with Gran Versalles.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    4.6
    Do not stay here. You will lose your money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For the first time in my life, a hotel refused to move our pre-paid dates. Instead of just moving our dates, they took the money and offered us a reduced room rates on the new dates. If we had cancelled and not arrived, then they deserve the pre-paid money. But we were asking only to move the days to time when their own website showed many available rooms. Never happened in my life before. DO NOT STAY HERE.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    5.0
    Would not recommend. Location is convenient to subway but nothing else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Front desk staff were not friendly. Minimal responses to questions. Condescending attitude, especially female evening clerk. Hotel overall is dated. Cushions on couches in general area were lumpy, decor overall was old and tired. 1 elevator of 2 did not work, the 2nd one had a toxic bleach smell.

    Breakfast (not included), was decent. Bathroom amenities were modern. Housekeeping and restaurant staff were friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    2.9
    The hotel charged me 45 $ extra, beyond the required charge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The hotel charged me 45 $ extra, beyond the required charge. Not only that they refused to return me the overcharged, they even blame me for this (with a ridiculous explanation). In addition, they changed their versions twice: they explained me one thing, and told the BOOKING representative another thing. I have never received such a shameful treatment.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    7.9
    Lovely hotel and staff 10 Min walk from hop- on- hop -off and 30 min walk to get to centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    we chose to have a meal on our last evening and the restaurant was empty thought nothing of it so carried on to order food ... We heard the waitress put in and take out our food from the microwave! It was quick and convenient but that is all we can say!

    The breakfast was very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    6.3
    Good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even having turned off the air conditioning, a constant flow of air came into the room through the ventilation system, which was noisy and annoying at night.

    Location is excellent. Close to a metro station and to busy shopping/restaurant area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    6.7
    Good location, nice decor and very friendly staff who tried...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Facilities are aging; 3rd floor air con doesn’t work - changed rooms still didn’t work; mechanical door lock jammed constantly, light bulbs missing, toilet that was broken. Mediocre breakfast.

    Good location, nice decor and very friendly staff who tried to help.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, kind staff and good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room furniture is ok, but may be time to updated

    The staff is very gentle and prompt to assist you. The lobby is very wide and plenty of couches, it gives you the chance to comfortably meet with people for a chat

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent Hotel in the lovely Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The size of my room was small.

    Extremely clean. Amazing bathroom. Rich breakfast with high quality and big variety. Good location near the subway and buses. Pleasant and well trained staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    6.7
    Disappointingly noisy but an otherwise OK city hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rather noisy, there are no carpets or anything else to absorb the inevitable sounds made by guests coming and going throughout the night. The breakfast room is too small and became overcrowded most mornings. The bar was soulless.

    Pleasant & helpful staff. Good breakfast with a wide range of choices, the best toaster we've ever found in an hotel! Located in a nice part of the city

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff and excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old furniture, the beds were not that comfortable

    Friendly staff and excellent breakfast. Not that far from the city center, everything is in walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    8.3
    Quiet and beautiful neighbourhood, rich breakfast, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise from the adjacent rooms due to thin wall.

    Quiet and beautiful neighbourhood, rich breakfast, friendly staff. Two metro stations away from city center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    7.5
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel completely lacks acoustic isolation and everything that happens in the rooms next door and above can be heard. After being unable to sleep due to the noise in the room above us, the hotel staff kindly moved us to a room on the top floor. However, the problem remained as the noise in the room next door was just too loud. We were basically unable to sleep the three nights we stayed in the hotel.

    Location is great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    4.2
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I specifically booked a room with a bathtub. It even stated so on my confirmation. When I got to room there was no tub . The staff didn’t really care at all they said oh sorry we already gave those rooms to other guests. The point is I booked the one with the tub so it never should have been given to another guest. I also booked a double bed not two twins and I got two twins. Again no care at all from the staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    10
    The hotel provided us with a great home base to explore a vibrant and exciting European city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no electric jug for making a tea or coffee in the room. The bathroom did not have a functioning extractor fan.

    The room and bathroom were spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast included in the tariff was of high quality and provided a wide range of culinary options. The hotel was in easy walking distance of restaurants and the No 1 Metro line.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    9.2
    It was fine , the location was great , close to my favorite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the staff were fine but they were not very welcomed ,maybe they’re are shy ..... they did not say hello or have a good day or trying to help u . And the others rooms were very nosy figuring the night .

    It was fine , the location was great , close to my favorite nigbourhoods,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    7.9
    Good choice to stay for a few nights.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slow speed Wifi on second night.

    Good standard rooms, no modern interior but in the quite recently renovated bathroom. Clean, quite, spacious rooms. Rather cheap minibar. Average selection on breakfast compared to other international 4 star hotels. High speed Wifi on first night. Close to the subway, easy accessible from airport on train.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    6.3
    The hotel is good because of the location and the staff.
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The smell in the room. At first i thought it is just the room they gave me. I asked to change it and they did immediately. The second room still had the same smell though. No tea coffee making facilities No slippers or bath robes which is weird not to find in a 4 stars hotel

    The location is perfect. It is just across a metro station..so very easy to get around the city. Also the staff are friendly, helpful, polite and professional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    10
    Nice buzzy neighbourhood not too far from the main attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was fine.

    Nice location in a smart residential/ business district on the edge of the city centre. An easy half hour walk to the Zona Touristica but a pleasant neighbourhood to relax in after a hard day on the trail. The restaurants we tried in this district were much better and more local and authentic than the ones in the centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    7.5
    Really good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It's ok........ Great location....15 minutes easy walk to Gran Via.....two minutes from the metro station (Alonso Martinez) Rooms a little small but clean & beds very comfortable, memory foam pillows. Fantastic shower. Towels changed daily. There is a fridge in the room.....charges apply for everything in it but we just emptied it to store our shop bought wine & beer. Bar staff In the hotel were happy to provide an ice bucket & glasses. Breakfast is good but hot food was often cold. There is a microwave but it's nowhere near the food.....it's placed on a cupboard around the corner at the back of the restaurant and if tables in front are occupied its hard to get too. (Might be an idea to move it closer to food.) Air conditioning temperamental. It can blow out hot air. It's also very noisy. I had to turn it off when we went to sleep. The sound proofing isn't good. We could practically hear our neighbours whispering... the people above us (29th & 30th April) in room 605 made an awful racket......this is not the fault of the hotel, just those guests. When we reported it to the hotel front desk they were very helpful. If you are a light sleeper this might be a problem. Free WiFi in the rooms was mostly good. Had a few occasions when it didn't work but it was ok most of the time. Staff were friendly enough...the housekeeping staff in particular were always cheerful. This hotel served its purpose and if I return to Madrid I would definitely consider it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    8.8
    Overall good value for money and well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Walls very thin, if the neigbours were noisy you heard every word. Breakfast repetitive and limited.

    The Luxemburgo cafe was superb, although appeared very under utilised. Attending staff, Marinara, extremely pleasant and efficient. I think the hotel could do more to promote this facility.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    9.2
    Good location for seeing the sights of Madrid and very nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not much, walls a bit thin could hear the people in the next room if they spoke loudly or were laughing, but didn't affect us really.

    Good variety of foods for breakfast. Good location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    9.6
    Great value with excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have liked better bed linens and better pillows.

    Room was nice, Location is excellent, right next to the Alonso Martinez metro station with access to three Metro lines (4,5,10). Room was very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant, but would look for another hotel next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hotel advertises it has parking, however when we arrived non was available. after enquiring why, we were informed there are ONLY 4 SPACES. For a hotel with 60 rooms that is silly.

    good breakfast, comfortable beds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    9.5
    It is where I will stay my next trip to Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was clean and comfortable and the staff was more than helpful and friendly. Very easy to get to Metro, which is truly key to getting around Madrid.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    3.8
    not worth the money, full of drugs and noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We chose this hotel based on reviews and regretted it: 1) Hotel is old and facilities need renovation - interior, staff and policies are very outdated . 2) Staff members are old, not tech-savvy and speak poor English - bad attitude and not helpful at all. 3) We requested a double bed with a smoking room - and weren't given this upon check in and were given a smaller room at the end. 4) Beds are uncomfortable and make loads of noise when you move + zero soundproof, so we could literally hear everything what was going on in the rooms next to us. 5) At some point, our entire floor smelled like marijuana which is not ok (someone was smoking nearby) - I didn't expect this in a 4-star hotel 6) I made a local phone call using room phone, and got charged for it upon checkout - seriously, which hotels still do it these days? 7) Breakfast was ok - again, nothing special and you'd expect better for a 4-star hotel

    Location is the only good thing about this hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    9.6
    For what I paid, I will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room wasn't so big, plus with the cot for our little daughter, space was scarce, but we only stayed one night, so it was manageable.

    I love the area and staying in the Versalles made it possible for a very nice price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    7.5
    The location.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We asked for an extra pillow at 9 pm and the person at the reception desk told us he could not give us one because the service (cleaning) people were gone already. For me, this behavior does not comply with a 4 stars hotel.

    The location. It's exactly where I wanted it to be. Everywhere is reachable within walking distance and you have the metro station right in the corner. The size of the room was correct. There were plenty of options to have breakfast, both salty and sweet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    5.8
    Overall was a good hotel and very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On our first day there was a power problem and the lift did not work but was ok as these things happen however next morning there was another power problem and breakfast room was closed until about aorund 9am therefore when they opened the bfast room people had to queue outside and up along the staircase . There was a girl at the door of the bfast room who was not at all friendly and she was in charge of letting people in as people left and this was not being done in an organised manner. Also I have to add that the website says that hotel is 150m away from centre . I disagree as I felt the centre is around Plaza Mayor and the hotel is further away . It was about a 20 - 30 minute walk.

    I especially liked the bathroom...very spacious and modern and his and her sink.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    6.7
    Superb location for seeing Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location of this hotel is superb. A 3 minute walk from Alonso Martinez (Metro). The room was clean and tidy. The staff were friendly and helpful. The only downside was the walls were “Paper thin”. We had a noisy neighbor and had to complain 1 night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    7.1
    Talked also to several colleagues, the rooms seem to be...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls are not very sound proof, you can hear activities of your neighbours. This was a problem as it seems that there is frequent check-in and check-out during the nights.

    Talked also to several colleagues, the rooms seem to be equipped with recently renovated bathrooms. The rooms are still in an 80s look but OK. The staff is very helpful and the location great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    6.7
    Very good location . Extremely uncomfortable beds which hurt my back and left me in pain .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds were extremely uncomfortable and gave me a very sore back I also left my kindle behind and when I called the hotel they told me they would not post it to time even if I offered to pay the postage , very disappointing and left a my holiday on a bad note .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    8.3
    Great choice for families and not only near the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Probably as a consequence of continuing cold season, air conditioning was not an option and the heater was always on, so it was a bit too hot to our taste. One of the mixers in the bathroom was delivering only hot water, good thing there were two sinks:) Child's bed was too high for the little one safety-wise.

    Super friendly staff, especially for children. Great location: right beside a major metro station and also a walking distance from city center, but still in a quiet area. Great variety of choices for food for breakfast: from yoghurt and bread to some serious meals.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    9.2
    Hotel based in the centre, 4 metro stops from Opera station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wish to have more varieties for breakfast such as fish, vegetables. It was fasting week so could not eat meet.

    Hotel based in the centre, 4 metro stops from Opera station.All station is very short so could be reached by foot. Quite,safe and clean area. Will stay again. Clean, comfortable rooms. Hotel interior is beautiful. Enjoyed the fish meals in the hotel restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    9.6
    Overall a lovely hotel..I would stay there again..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was way too warm even though heat was turned off..walls, ceiling need soundproofing as could hear many noises from other guests..

    The front desk were very professional, very helpful and personable. The breakfast buffet was amazing.. so many choices!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    7.1
    Good location and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms are noisy with poor sound insulation. Room 102 is not acceptable since it is above the lobby and you hear slamming doors.

    Good location very close to subway station, friendly staff, rooms with good size and good / tasty breakfast with a good selection

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    10
    A great choice of base to explore the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room very warm on the first night because air conditioning was not on. Much improved when we spoke to staff and they adjusted heating.

    Excellent location. Easy access from airport and into the city by metro. Also walking distance to central sites. Breakfast excellent, wide variety of choices.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    10
    Perfect location, superb breakfast,friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Soundproofing was not great. Noisy people in the room above were disturbing.

    Superb bathroom with large shower and double sinks was excellent. Breakfast exceeded expectations, providing something for everyone. The hotel is very well located, near to a useful combination of lines including one connecting to the airport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous stay in Madrid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were no tea/coffee facilities in the room.

    We had a problem with water coming through a wall in our room soon after we arrived, it was dealt with quickly and efficiently which was brilliant. Great breakfast selection and the staff both at breakfast and in the restaurant were lovely! The beds were super comfy too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    7.9
    I like the location, staff, the room, and the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only negative was the noise of garage trucks early in morning, but that is not controlled by the hotel.

    I liked the location, away from the hustle bustle of the city and it was easy getting around by foot. The bathroom was great. The bedroom was convenient. The room was clean. The breakfast was great. The staff was very helpful and spoke English very well. This is the second time I have stayed at this property.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    5.0
    Will never stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room temperature was terrible and had to change rooms at 2:00a.m. The ac and heating system were not functioning properly and nothing was said. Breakfast was not included in the price and was expensive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    10
    a beautiful hotel in a beautiful city .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i liked everything .

    perfect from our arrival to departure . room was excellent , clean, well presented, tidy, the toiletries were extra special , food was excellent and plenty of choices . location was great too . will definitaly be returning

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    5.8
    The hotel was nice and great location. Shame about the overall customer service which is lacking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very noisy through the night people coming and going at late hours. No tea or coffee in the room. Tried to get breakfast in room next day but only got coffee/juice/toast!. Staff were not the most helpful

    Bathroom was excellent. Location right next to the metro

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    5.8
    Good location for short break in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hard beds and very hard pillows. Still got a stiff neck as a result of using them. Noisy returning guests first night 1am, second 2.45am. Fault in lobby resulting in digging up the floor - noisy

    Buffet breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    8.8
    The stay was very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was very helpful and being my first time to the city, they helped me with suggestions of good places and things to do. They also booked me tables which was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2018

    9.6
    Really great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The lighting was not that great (had to turn on several lamps instead of one main one).

    The breakfast buffet is excellent. The room was clean and neat, bathroom was also clean. the staff was very helpfull and very nice ! The hotel is ideally situated near a metro station, and walking distance (10-15 min) to the Gran Via and many interesting places.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2018

    10
    The very good hotel in the heart of Madrid! Recommend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no such thing.

    The hotel is very clean, the bed was very comfortable, the breakfast was rich, everything was perfect! The location is very good, 50m from the metro station and 500m from Plaza de Colon.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    8.3
    Nice room: quite, clean, slept great .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ... but breakfast was a disappointing: cappuccino did not qualify as such, fruits were harder than stone, chocolate croissant tasted really bad, so were the bacon & scrambled eggs ... Too bad they save every cent on quality of the food, so until they improve, do sleep there but take breakfast somewhere else.

    Nice room: quite, clean, slept great ...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room temperature was set to high and when we had the window open during the night, we were awakened by neighbouring bar or restaurant owners who dumped their empties in the 4 bottle banks next to the hotel.

    The bathrooms were really great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    8.8
    Location of the hotel was good enough - not far from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air extraction in the bathroom does not work.

    Location of the hotel was good enough - not far from the main attractions. We have easy check-in - we have come in 2 hours earlier than should, and we've been in our room in 5 minutes after some formalities on the reception. Room was not very big, but comfortable enough. Breakfast in the hotel was very good: rich choice, even for vegetariants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    7.5
    Good enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast: a bit disappointing. Not that much choice, and everything is just plain basic. I expected more from a 4 star hotel in terms of food. The breakfast is actually what makes this hotel a 3 star hotel for me. The restaurant at the hotel is virtually non-existent: there is a very basic looking cafeteria. The furniture is really old.

    The stuff is very friendly and helpful. Location is nice: a metro station 50m away, Gran via and city centre is a walking distance (15 min). The rooms are tidy and quite cosy. The bathrooms though are awesome. Price - quality wise the hotel is totally worth it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    8.3
    - good position for travel around touristic attractions...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - little outdated rooms decorations , but clean rooms. Generally very good hotel , correct rating is about 8.5.

    - good position for travel around touristic attractions and downtown. Everything is about maximum 15-20 minutes by walking. -close to metro station ( 50 mtrs ) -receptionists very polite and helpful people -good breakfast quality ( but little too expensive ) -clean rooms. Quite surroundings position ; inner yard view rooms are very quite ( for light sleepers ) , but view is not top rating . Street view is nice , but little noisy ( not too much , hotel is about 30 mtrs for from main boulevard ).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2018

    7.1
    Excellent and modern bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room has old furniture and bed is a bit too hard. Room temperature was boiling. Reception staff were not that friendly.

    Excellent and modern bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2018

    7.5
    A very nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The walls in the room are very thin so you can hear when people walk around and talk in the rooms next to you and above you. Only a very hard pillow available, would have been nice with a softer choice.

    Location of the hotel is very good, close to a metro station and within walking distance to many sights. A nice neighbourhood. Wonderful breakfast buffet. Staff in the reception very kind and helpful when adressed, but otherwise they didn't greet you when coming and leaving the hotel. Internet fast and reliable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    6.7
    Average
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There is no slippers! You can find even a sponge in the bath but no slippers. So it is quite uncomfortable about this. The phones wasn't working because of technical problem so I needed to go downstairs for everything! The furnitures and bedding is very old and outdated. And the lady in the caffeteria should be a little bit smily.

    Breakfast is very good. Lots of things to eat, different options, suitable for everybody. Beds are very comfortable. Staff is very helpful and professional. You can get free hot water from the caffeteria.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2018

    8.3
    A very nice hotel, pleasant staff and good location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a little on the warm side. But this was easily changed by opening the window.

    Breakfast is served in the dining room. It has a good selection of freshly prepared food with a small selection of hot dishes. Other meals can be taken in the Cafe/Bar. This is a little basic, lacking in decoration and the meal choices are limited. However, the food is well prepared and perfectly adequate. It is also not expensive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2018

    7.9
    great location in central madrid near subway bars and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You hear all rooms around you - above below and next by

    great location in central madrid near subway bars and restaurant, easy to navigate to wherever. VERY friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2018

    8.3
    Its in the city center, you can access everything too easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bedsheets were not so clean. Everything else was very good.

    Its in the city center, you can access everything too easy. Breakfast is very good and the toilet is superb.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2018

    7.1
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The central heating system was too hot to be comfortable, and the ac didn’t work . The parking was full , we had to park at another place around 10 minutes walking.

    The location is quite center , and easy to reach everything by walking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    7.1
    Okay for short term.i.e. one day!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room. Although the shower was lovely it was dark and felt very inposing. Also at 8.30 a.m. a man who obviously worked at the hotel entered the room without knocking and muttered somthing and left!

    The room was dark as the view was of a tall plain white wall which prevented any sunlight coming into the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    8.8
    A very nice hotel for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We wanted an early check-in because we were landing quite early in the morning (6:00 a.m.)which the hotel wouldn't accommodate; they stored our luggage though Breakfast was an average buffet style breakfast- expensive for what's on offer.

    The staff were vey nice; location was good. A generally quiet location but within easy walking distance of the metro stops.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2018

    10
    Recepcion como Siempre, friendly and professional.
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Recepcion como Siempre, friendly and professional.cleaning staff and bar staff too. Bed v. Comfortable and pleasant quiet room. Will definitely repeat (this is our fourth time here)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    4.2
    Very old, very noisy , staff not nice , outdated and pictures super enhanced. I don't recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was not nice, they harassed me for check out as I was only few min passed check out time. The pictures are way more enhanced, it's super old hotel, furniture are dated from 1980s. Very noisy, you can hear everything from the adjencent door, even when they sneeze. Very loud cleaning lady with her vacuum at 9am.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2017

    10
    The hotel is located a short distance from the main shopping...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is located a short distance from the main shopping and entertainment venues. The room was clean, comfortable and the staff are very friendly and professional. The breakfast was good. Would not hesitate to stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2017

    7.9
    Perfecta ubicación y ofertas geniales
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Decoration of the room (a bit old-fashioned), problems with wifi (they were solved)

    Location, the super offer I got, staff helpful, refurbished bathroom, quiet for the super central area where is located, lobby with comfortable sofas

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2017

    10
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rather warm in the room, but not a great problem as it was chilly outside!

    Excellent location for us, very near Museo de Sorolla, good restaurants, metro stop and walking distance to the Paseo de Prado. Staff friendly and approachable, breakfast good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    9.6
    Various breakfasts with Spanish touch, lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Various breakfasts with Spanish touch, lovely. Gorgeous lobby! Very helpful staff and free maps with excursion suggestions. Bed SO comfy... Will gladly come back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2017

    5.8
    Short stay, comfortable room, very good location but windows badly need repairing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Windows creeking a lot (very strange!!) when I looked at them you could see they were not well sealed, flaking concrete over them & windows actually moving!!

    Very comfortable bed, everything you needed I.e toiletries were there

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    9.6
    Perfect place to start visit Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The cabin gone a bit out, flood the bathroom floor from the glass partition. Lack of a hanger at the entrance.

    Clean, quiet room, quiet air-conditioned to heat the room , friendly stuff , ask and they will do all possible to answer your question and help. Internet very good all over the hotel and steady. Very good breakfast, own evening restaurant and many options in the area. Metro station 100 meters from the hotel and a 7-minute walk from Grand Via.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    7.1
    Spacious room, nice big modern bathroom, lovely breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The decor and furniture in the room is outdated. Too expensive for this type of hotel.

    Spacious room, nice big modern bathroom, lovely breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Gran Versalles Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: