Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort 4 stars

Urbanización Guadalmina Baja, San Pedro de Alcantara, 29678 Marbella, Spain

#38 of 59 hotels in Marbella

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1002 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.1
    The huge room and bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite far away from Marbella town, dinner buffet closes at 10.30 pm and we had to rush to get dinner. Spa not included in the booking

    The huge room and bathroom

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Breakfast wonderful, pool and beach facilities excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all fabulous. However, 4pm is a late check-in, even by Spanish standards and you are asked to leave promptly at 11am

    Breakfast wonderful, pool and beach facilities excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.0
    Pool and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a superior room, very basic! No kettle, no wifi, no towel rail, no loungers on terrace, no bath robes. They gave us a kettle, however cups at a charge of€5 per day. This was to make you use the restaurant. On request they gave us a bath robe and put a router in our room. For the price we paid, we should never need to ask for these things!

    Pool and breakfast. Gardens are lovely

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.4
    fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    beach facilities like you have to pay for beach chair , bringing food to table in all restaurant is slow

    food is nice , views is nice, reception people nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.1
    The location was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV channels, wasn't good, they're all in Spanish, while should be some in deferent languages, English, Arabic...etc...

    The location was amazing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.2
    Nice family place to spend one week.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The sunbeds had a retractable shelf underneath. But most sunbeds were missing this shelf. At dinner having food a-la-carte is a bit confusing. The beach has a large set of free peebles, making it adventurous to go into the sea.

    The hotel was very nice, and pleaseant, and the employees were excelent (specially on the breakfast). Rooms were spacious and beds confortable. Breakfast was good, with nice juices. The pool was long but easy to play in, which is a plus! There is a nearby great restaurant!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Paradise by the Sea 😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed mattresses are hard.

    Everything. The Staff - From the moment you check in all throughout your stay whether it be by the pool area/bar, restaurants, reception and cleaning ladies they are all very helpful, smiling and making your stay one to remember. Selection of restaurants and times of opening and closing are very convenient to adapt to everyone's needs.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.5
    The view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the restaurants was a bit overpriced for what it was, everything is charged, f.e. we asked for additional two hour check out, which they had to charge even though the hotel wasn’t booked. In this sense they could have offered a courtesy late checkout at least in one of the two rooms. Another issue, the late opening of the towel service. They would open only at 10:00, so you would need to be creative and ask for clean towels the previous day so that you go to the pool and/or beach early in the morning.

    The view! Just loved it, the breakfast was good as well, rooms were comfortable and sufficiently clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice quite place with very good food and excellent service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Family Room with Sea Views (3 Adults + 1 Child or 2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    .nothing in the neighborhood to vist just by walking a short distance, nothing else but the hotel.

    Nice quite place with very good food and excellent service

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.8
    Bed was comfortable but breakfast wasn’t great and the staff...
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was comfortable but breakfast wasn’t great and the staff was the worst we paid through booking and when we checked out they asked us to pay for the room even tho they knew we paid 2099€ for the room via booking it was the worst experience ever and booking didn’t help at all they took forever to answer. They didnt let us leave and threaten us to call the police if we didnt pay 1800€ for a room we already paid 2099€ through booking. Never coming back

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Would repeat any day, perfect stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, all perfect.

    It was my husbands birthday and the room was decorated which was such a nice gesture, also a cake with a candle was brought in, amazing. Staff were exrememly helpful and friendly in the whole hotel,,porter reception pool bar restaurant.Loved it

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Great place, literally can’t say anything negative.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place, literally can’t say anything negative. The staff is extremely professional and kind, the whole place is a paradise. I only wonder why is it 4 stars and not 5.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    5.4
    Pretty good but poor lunchtime menus along with increased prices around pool being too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices of soft drinks and bottles of water way to expensive along with ice creams and the like. The lunch menu up at main building was very limited and too expensive

    Rooms great. Breakfast super. Pool great but a little too strict on kids playing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    4.6
    Nice hotel shame about thr service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful waiter and waitresses. A smile goes a long way. Order was wrong and they were ryde when this was explained to them.

    The facilities around the pool were modern and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    The pool area was lovely, the food choices excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. I didn't want to use room service

    The pool area was lovely, the food choices excellent. Fantastic breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    5.0
    Disappointed this time
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room no 11, was dated and in dire need of a refurb..Staff were different to last time I stayed. Quite poor English...Had lunch one day round the pool which was very poor..Second time I've stayed here and this time I never enjoyed at all..Totally overpriced..

    Nice pool and location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful beach side location in quiet residential area 20...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The additional charge for use of the sun beds and Bali beds on the beach front directly in front to the hotel especially as touts and peddlers were ever present and not discouraged by the hotel staff

    Wonderful beach side location in quiet residential area 20 mins taxi ride from Marbella.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Perfect. Exceeded our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only small criticism would be nice to have tea/coffee facilities in room.

    Beautiful hotel. Great location right on the beach. Plenty of room & never felt overcrowded. The breakfast was exceptional, best breakfast I’ve had in a hotel ever. A little way out from Marbella or Peurto Banus but short taxi ride so not a problem. Will definitely be back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    5.8
    Nice pool and lovely view of beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel itself was as expected but it was expensive for what you got and understaffed - service was poor only because they didn't seem to have enough staf

    Nice pool and lovely view of beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.3
    Location good, hotel is now old, has its style but rooms smell of drains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled of drains and was very basic considering we paid for a deluxe room. Soft pillows, bed not good.

    We chose the hotel due to the location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    A lovely situated and comfortable hotel, would like to stay...
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast was very good. One evening we had dinner at the restaurant. Unfortunately, the food was a real disappointment. Improve!

    A lovely situated and comfortable hotel, would like to stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    An excellent relaxing hotel with superb facilities and restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Late check in at 16.00 hrs on day of arrival was a little bit inconvenient other than that there is not very much at all which I didn’t like .

    The layout of the gardens and all the available amenities were excellent and in close proximity to our allocated room which had a magnificent view over the gardens from the outside terrace ...Overall I found the whole experience to be very relaxing 😌 and this was the sole purpose of our vacation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Always great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is our 3rd time here in 2 years, I absolutely love it here and so does my wife. Very relaxing, beautiful views over breakfast, everything you need.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    The staff, the pool area, loved that it’s beach front so you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a double bed but 2 singles put together

    The staff, the pool area, loved that it’s beach front so you can look out over it at breakfast. Great choice of food at breakfast. Large bathroom Comfy bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.8
    The hotel has beautiful, clean gardens and swimming pool ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the way to my room there was an old rusty door and it got stuck sometimes but they told me they would change it soon...the bed looked old.

    The hotel has beautiful, clean gardens and swimming pool ,the staff were kind .. my room was clean and warm ,the breakfast was so good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.3
    Very good golf hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pool wasn't heated but as we visited in April it wasnt really warm enough to use. Not much to do for our 11 year old as too old for kids club. Only there for 4 nights so not really a problem as we went out some days.

    Location was lovely but really only accessible by car. Beach was clean. Rooms big and comfortable. Right on the golf course.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.9
    Great breakfast - friendly staff - unfortunately too...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Given information mentioned that the hotel has immediate access to the 9 hole golf course but that is not true. You had to drive to the clubhouse to register and to start playing there - so you need a car to be able to go to the golf club.

    Great breakfast - friendly staff - unfortunately too isolated - you need a car to go to other places, restos, bar, nothing in the area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.5
    I would stay again but come prepared with my own hair drier & toiletries!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No decent hair drier No slippers or dressing gown No baked beans at breakfast No atmosphere in the bar area Residents have to pay to park Toiletries not great quality Tea & coffee facilities in the room

    Hotel was nice but I expected a little more luxury. Unfortunately the weather was awful so my impression is maybe not the best. The rooms were nice but the mirrored wardrobes were a little painful when opening & closing. Toiletries were plentiful but shower gel thin & runny, shampoo, conditioner and body lotion were pretty basic. No slippers or dressing gown which would be nice in the poor weather. Worst comment has got to be the horrid hair driers - surely a hotel like this would have powerful up to date driers. No alternative could be found and apart from me calling house keeping twice, nobody went out of their way. Took ages to dry my hair! Wasn’t impressed! Atmosphere in the bar was zero and snack food rather oily. Breakfast fine although no baked beans which isn’t a huge problem.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Communications between person in hotel doing golf bookings and the very nice people in the pro shop. Girl in hotel very unhelpful and didn't give us proper information. Girl in pro shop fixed it for us

    Nice staff, very professional.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    5.8
    Ok, but may not come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The parking cost for 8 euro a day is too much. Usually the resort like this which is in a location must driving car to go is provide free parking.

    It is not far from Marbella by driving, in a peaceful location. Have nice view to the sea from the restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    Good value for good money
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    it was impossible to take a small dog (5 kg.) to the breakfast even to the terrasse! We can understand about the main restaurant but terrasse.. Luckily, we were 2 couples, so one stayed with the dog in the room, another went to breakfast. And afterwards we changed. But we never could have breakfast or lunch together.. Also, it is prohibited to leave a pet in room..So what is the solution for two people who come with the pet? One will enjoy the breafast/lunch/dinner, and another will be sitting with pet and waiting his/her turn in the room?

    breakfast is good (+ Nesspresso coffee)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.2
    Lovely location and enjoyable trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room needs tea and coffee facilities. The distance between the dining area and pool and reception was quite long and you had to go back to reception to get a pool towel even though the dining was beside the pool.

    Lovely room and public facilities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.9
    Lucky with the weather and location. Food nothing special apart from the buffet breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very disappointed that there were German football teams staying and they took over the buffet dinner to which we were not allowed to enter. The restaurant food was fairly mediocre.

    Good buffet and location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    6.7
    My wife and I stayed in the hotel in late October ,we had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    My wife and I stayed in the hotel in late October ,we had some some cash and a debit card stolen from the bedroom, we didn't discover the loss until we reached the airport ,I rang the hotel and spoke to someone in Reception who said they would get management to contact me. I was not contacted by anyone. We would have gone back to the hotel again but this incident and lack of contact from the Hotel is disappointing to say the least.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    8.3
    Breakfast = 100%
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is noisy. Parking is to expensiv! Should be free! Golfgreenfee is too expensiv. In 2016 we paid, via hotel, €55 . In november 2017 €80 !! In other golfhotels they offer better golfconditions of packages for the hotelguests

    Breakfast = 100%

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    8.8
    Dinner in the restaurant was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast buffet was extensive, but the quality of food wasn't great. The doors to the verandah and golf course were stiff and difficult to open and close.

    Dinner in the restaurant was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Had a fab time with my sisters celebrating two significant birthdays
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is a little at from shops and commercial areas but there is a bonus in that too. Considering shops are a distance away essential things like still water were very expensive

    Everything at hotel is just perfect

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful resort and beaches for any type of get away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Please do not change a thing!

    There are not enough wonderful things I can say about this hotel. From the beautiful beaches, to the property's pristine upkeep and cleanliness, to their food and drinks, and lastly to the absolutely AMAZING staff, this has to be, by far, the most amazing property in Marbella. The hotel room was beautiful and exceptionally clean. The front desk was extremely helpful in helping recommend the best ways to get around, where to go and eat like a local, booking taxis, etc. The entire staff, bartenders, waitstaff, room service, cleaning, etc., were helpful, friendly, and genuinely cared that you were 110% satisfied. The food, particularly the hotel main restaurant with the option for buffet or a la carte, (as there are multiple restaurants to visit) was also amazing and the best we had in Marbella. We are in the hospitality industry and know food and quality well, and this was not good food for being a hotel or a buffet, this was exceptional food and service for any establishment. I highly recommend this property for couples or families, as there are daily activities for adults and kids such as aerobics, dancing, food tasting or drink tasting by the pool, and more. We will be going back again next year.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    5.0
    Too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Except the beach restaurant the 2 others are not good and staff is not welcoming. You have to pay for the transats on the beach which is not fair due to the high price of the hotel. Thermal spa in addition as well! Very expensive place where everything is "in addition"...

    Nice view from the rooms but we paid in addition for that (sea view). Beach restaurant (sushis and grill) is good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    joyful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would like to express my gratitude to the kind geste of the manager who sent a cake with kind note to our room on my birthday that happened to be the first day of our stay, thanks a million!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    spacefull rooms, professional service, good restauration,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    far away from the city and shops, you need to take a car to get anywhere, quite expensive for such outside location

    spacefull rooms, professional service, good restauration, front of the sea

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    8.3
    Love my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice sea view with beautiful garden and swimming pool,clean and nice food, staff one of them was rood,big rooms .and bathrooms

    Nice view and big rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.9
    Beachfront hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel needs renovation. Especially toilet, floors and balcony were quite old. Also hotel little bit outside the centre, you'd need a car. No tea/coffee facilities in the room.

    Overall the hotel was nice. Superb location near the sea and has a fantastic swimming pool. The room was good with excellent sea view. Beds and pilows were very comfortable and clean. Breakfast buffet was very rich.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.2
    We had a geat time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cold plates in the dining room. That's it.

    Very comfortable hotel with friendly staff and good facilities, and good for relaxing. The hotel was obviously very grand in it's day and now, although a little tired in it's décor, it is still a classy place to go. I would definitely like to go again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.3
    Good if you want to be alone!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though we had paid s lot to have a suite we were really far from the beach! This hotel has no central area where people go in the evening to have a drink and / or socialize! The only entertainment was a jazz band on Saturday night- then nothing the rest of the week! We found it slightly strange never bumping into anyone if not at the pool. The spa was very amateur and not at all appealing. We are twice in the restaurant but found it expensive and typical buffet food

    We had a junior suite that was very nice and spacious. The hotel is in a very quiet area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.6
    Love this Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Day beds cost 90 euros more than some beach clubs

    We had a fantastic suite over looking the pool one side then the golf course the other - breaks fat was great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    5.0
    Poor to average and not worth the money we paid for it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort is extremely expensive The attitude of the staff was poor No local shop to purchase imenities Need a taxi everywhere Taxied take 20 minutes each time on request

    The Spanish look

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    2.9
    Not guadalmina at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to pay €6 per person to use the beach!

    I am a honeymooner guest and booked a king size bedroom, when they gave me the room it was two beds separated !!!! I complain and told them that I booked a king size bed, the reception response was very very very rude!!! &Quot; sir, we are overbooked and I can't change anything today, I'll do my best tomorrow " then I said , no, I don't want to wait till tomorrow , I'm in a honeymoon and booked this 2 months ago, his rude response was " if you can't wait till tomorrow, you can go and find another hotel"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!'

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.9
    Lovely hotel,hhave been visiting it for over 35 year,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spoilt by large groups of British male golfers ill mannered, foul language, spoiling the amenities for all other guests

    Wonderful pool and glorious panoramic views of the sea

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    2.9
    The first hotel I've walked out of in 30 years travelling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed half board but as their was a wedding party in the main restaurant on our first night the only food available was overcooked brown mushy broccoli, shrivalled new potato's rice and pasta which looked disgusting and inedible and a smsll selection of desserts uncovered and being sampled by the local birds, we ordered a pizza off the bar menu which was also poor. Hotel has a burger caravan by the main pool which is just awful. we wanted to leave on the first evening and find another place to stay but as all the management had left and no one else was particularly interested in our complaints we had to stay. Reluctantly had to pay for one night even though we had no choice and were offered no compromises as we had booked through Booking.com, the staff are not interested, the hotel is isolated, food is poor, drinks and bar snacks are expensive please be aware before you book.

    Nice sea views

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.1
    Overall a nice stay. Location of hotel is a bit far from civilisation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Much development happening on the beach during our stay. This type of development should be done during the off-season months if at all possible.

    Bedroom decor was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.9
    Great facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only regret is having taken the half-pension. The food was good but there was little choice for the main course and variety at the buffet.

    Beautiful facilities, great pool and access to the beach. The rooms are modern and very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    7.9
    Only worth a stay if discounted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A lot of additional fees not included in the booking: i.e. additional fee to use a computer for 10 minutes, SPA fees, fees for sunbeds near the see. These should be transparent at the time of booking. Beach is stony making it not very pleasant and unbearably hot. Staff was not aware of the discussions with booking.com we had and added extra fee with us having to prove we should not be paying it, i.e., administration should be more organised as it should not be our issue.

    The swimming pool was great with the sea water in it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    6.7
    SPA CLOSED and not informed!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were extremely disappointed to find the Spa of the Golf and Spa hotel was closed during our stay. We had specifically chosen this hotel as a spa break and would have changed the booking had we been informed before travelling. We complained to the hotel but they said they had informed booking.com well in advance and the spa had been closed for 2 weeks prior. We were a group of 4 girlfriends going for a pre wedding spa break which didn't happen !!!

    Comfortable beds. Good breakfast with plenty of choice for all. Quiet and safe location. Good sized rooms and bathrooms. Beautiful views.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.2
    I will come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    if you want to stay on the beach, you need to pay extra for the sun lounger, which is pretty strange since you are a guest in the hotel. They also have baldaquins on the beach for an extra fee, but at least the price includes champagne and fruits.

    I liked almost everything, perfect location, amazing breakfast with sea view, pool area is great, staff very friendly and helpful. Although hotel parking is 8 euro/day, you can find free parking just in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    5.8
    The sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed with room, vey basic, supposed to be a superior room. Could hear everyone else in their rooms. Spa out action, wasn't told that before we left!

    The sea view

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    7.9
    Room Spacious also the terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The charges for sun beds on the beach ..also shortage of nice restaurants in the area!! When I showed the Booking .com documentation stating I had already paid, the person on reception argued and tried to charge again.. Then when he did accept it .. He still added an extra night on ..I had to point out we had paid in full. He adjusted the account but still overcharged for the minibar by €7.50 .. I couldn't be bothered arguing anymore.. He was unfriendly...also we were not shown around the hotel ..to show where the facilities were.... Beautiful hotel .. Those points led to disappointment.

    Room Spacious also the terrace.. Most of the staff friendly!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    5.0
    Great location but failure for service and cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately you have to pay to stay in the suncahirs on the beach (I wasn't told until I was well seated in one of them!), the food is terrible and I was sick for 2 days (the staff did not care at all when I let them know). The rooms are old and not well cleaned. So if one only cares about quiet and location this is good, but for a bit of comfort is a no-go

    The hotel is directly on the sea

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    5.0
    Poor sleep quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked an upgraded room. The bed was horrible, the mattress was an old sway back mattress. When I complained they had housekeeping come to my room to investigate. Their suggestion was to add "padding" which had some benefit, however it did not change that it was an old sway back mattress. This hotel does not have self serve in room coffee, but will gladly deliver coffee to your room for 6 euros. Also they do not offer self serve ice machines but will gladly deliver ice to your room for 8 Euros. This hotel wants to charge as a luxury hotel, but offers a low budget sleep quality

    Breakfast was basic, I am not interested in an all you can eat buffet. Lunch was good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    9.6
    Your wonderful staff and bedroom view onthe golfcourse was very special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    The buffet was excellent. There was too much fish on the Christmas Eve menu. We were not informed we could have booked the Christmas Day buffet in advance. It was booked out when we arrived so this was disappointing. We would have paid the extra money for it.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    7.1
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't particularly like the surrounding area outside of the urbanisation and also had to take our car to the the golf club. Also felt disappointed that the beautiful spa was 20 euros per head for hotel guests to use.

    Beautiful hotel situated on the beach overlooking the golf course

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    5.8
    Dont bother with this place unless you are a total golfer
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No in room tea & coffee ? Bed was was very basic & hard, bring proper golf shoes & your handicap degree or you cant have a hit on the golf course Way out from the lovely town of marballa

    Very nice pool , good breakfast nice room & bathroom ,

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    8.3
    Great hotel and location, add free car parking and tea and coffee facility in room to score a 10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee making facilities in the room. 8 euro per night parking charge when they have a large car park and this is not an inner city hotel. It should be free to residents.

    Location fantastic, right on the ocean and just far enough away from the really busy areas.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    8.3
    Nice relaxing break away from the hustle and bustle of Marbella and Puerto banks
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa could have been a bit warmer, the gym could have more equipment, and was not a fan of the sausages or bacon that was served at breakfast. Note there is an additional cost for the spa when u book the hotel

    The staff were fantastic , very friendly, very accommodating and very polite - loved the views out to the sea from the breakfast area.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    8.3
    Hotel located literally on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Swimming pool area open at 10AM only (you can use it earlier, however there is no possibility to get towels). The beach itself not so nice (send mixed with stones, you cannot walk with bare foot) but obviously it’s not hotel’s fault.

    Hotel located literally on the beach. Very nice, spacious room with quiet air conditioning. Nice pool area overlooking the sea. Good breakfast served in the restaurant with the terrace. We have not eaten dinner in the hotel, but we have found a great restaurant nearby - El Cortijo de Ramiro. It’s definitely worth going there, if you are staying in Guadalmina.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    9.6
    Relaxing hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far away from the city center.

    All facilities as a luxury hotel was amazing, the staff was so helpful, we forgot important things with the taxi who brought us to the hotel and the reception take care of this matter very well, they called the the taxi company and asked them to bring things back to us following day. Thanks!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    7.5
    Lovely break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a little small in comparison to other hotels I've stayed at in Marbella - the bedrooms and balconies were quite basic and in my opinion more 4 star than 5 star - the hotel is a tad bit pricey for these rooms.

    The spa access is well worth it - really nice beach club! The staff at the hotel are really friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was very, very good - as was the dinner buffet (we had half board). The hotel is a bit far out from town so this hotel is more ideal for if you want to stay in the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    10
    Beautiful hotel and setting, staff were all friendly and helpful, would definitely recommend 😬
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect for us. We were there to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary and we had a bottle of bubbly on arrival and a lovely room. Staff were all very friendly and helpful and the setting was stunning . Nothing was too much trouble and we would 100% recommend 😬

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.8
    all fine would go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    staff

    location and pool excellent ,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.3
    Good for families, big rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff don’t know good English but try their best to help

    Good for families, big rooms

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Great place to stay and enjoy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to stay and enjoy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.9
    quite good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    cleaning in the gym and air conditioning was bad

    Very good food at breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    Great stay can't wait to be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great pool View from the room Breakfast was great

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.8
    Service baaaaaad
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Single Use
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service baaaaaad Poor English

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Really relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine

    Beautiful views. Lovely hotel and food excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: