Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hacienda de San Rafael 3 stars

Carretera Nacional IV (KM 594), 41730 Las Cabezas de San Juan, Spain

#2 of 4 hotels in Las Cabezas de San Juan

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 55 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Paid WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 33

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was on 2 levels. The entrance small with a narrow steep flight of stairs leading to the openplan bedroom and ensuite. There was a narrow walkway from the bed area to theensuite and we were anxious we would fall over the handrail which was either side or down the stairs which we had to pass across in the night to use the bathroom. Being 70 we would have preferred a room on one level, however there were no other rooms available at the time. The room was also fairly dark. But the bed was very comfortable.

    The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. Ensuite and toiletries provided excellent. The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. Beautiful gardens too with pretty seating areas. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast choices were limited. Was also charged for extra coffee and eggs! A bit disappointing for a place like this. Signage for the property is very inadequate. You suddenly come across the turning on the highway - easy to miss.

    The whole place is amazingly lovely! Beautiful bougainvilleas and oleanders, olive and promegranate trees. Al fresco dining under the starts and trees. Romantic, serene and peaceful, yet only half an hour from Jerez.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Flies everywhere in July! This spoilt sitting by the pools. Food in evening expensive extra, especially as no choice of menu. Felt staff services at evening meal should have been more professional, very amature. Felt weekend weddings and preparations were more important than guests staying during the week.

    Small number of guests so quiet with lovely swimming pools

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dreadful service and no one in charge, not a five star boutique hotel more like a badly run B&B, on checking in the girl at reception looked at us like a rabbit in the headlights, no idea at all, no people skills, flies round the pool making it impossible to relax and got stung twice by wasps as counted around 12 nests in the trees. Slow service waited an hour for lunch and a bottle of wine. Over priced for the quality and service. The bar opened at 7pm but no one was there to serve drinks. The breakfast was awful 2 crossoints some cold toast and a flask of coffee. Dark and small rooms nothing like the pictures , we were upgraded to a Cassita but very basic, tea and coffee but no kettle just an old coffee machine no milk just a few cans of pop in the fridge and a cheap bottle spainish plonk. Presume these were complimentary along with a can of olive oil but no idea as no one told us anything really. No Management in charge just a few girls looking very miserable and hardly speak to you. On checking out we paid the bill and left not even - did you enjoy your stay - nothing. Would never recommend to anyone or return.

    Good food in the evening when it eventually arrives an explanation of what it was would have been nice even when I asked the waiter he didn't know. Very slow service and on the last night most of the guests needed up helping themselves to wine as got bored of waiting for someone to appear and pour it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed 1 night as a special romantic treat and that was great, but there were wedding preparations on the day we had to check out (a Friday). So instead of a nice quiet breakfast, a swim and lunch before checking out, there was a lot of fuss all morning and some sound checking and we were kindly asked to leave before lunch. For us it meant that our romantic stay was cut short a little bit. We did enjoy our stay very much, but would have appreciated to know about the preparations in advance, then we would have chosen a different day.

    The hancienda is absolutely gorgeous! The atmosphere is peaceful and romantic, the room was very comfortable and beautiful and all the staff was very kind. The homemade food was delicious! We loved this getaway and the surrounding fields.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No refrigerator in the room (at temperatures above 35 degrees Celsius this is a must!). No television and safe (didn't need it, but would expect one at prices >300€ per night). The "continental breakfast" was very poor. It included toasted bread and one low-quality croissant together with butter and two kinds of jam (actually, the orange jam was very good). You could get an omelette or fried our scrambled eggs our some fruits on request and if you paid extra (5-10 €, which was not really expensive but just annoying when you pay more than 300€ per night). Breakfast was served on a terrace in front of the room. The staff arranged coffee and some plastic-packed cakes at 8 a.m. with unnecessary noise in front of the door. Coffee came in an old, very used 80's-style plastic thermos. As mentioned, the "deluxe" room was spacious but dark and not very practical. There was only a small wardrobe. The bathroom was integrated into the room, only the toilet was separated by a door. However, it was so narrow that you had to leave the door opened when sitting on the toilet. The room was not really clean. There were several cobwebs in corners, one hanging from the ceiling in the shower. With the showerhead fixed to the wall you could not avoid to get rinsed with cold water until the water finally turned warmer after a quite long time. In summary, this was not what we expected from the very positive ratings and from the price we paid (768 € for two nights).

    Calm and very beautiful place. Very nice pool area and garden. The room was spacious. However, there was only one window, through which not much light came into the room. The service was very friendly and helpful.Dinner (a three-course menu) was excellent but rather expensive (55 €). Unfortunately, the wine (which was included) was not really good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing! Only could help to be a little easier to get - taxi, uber or transport would be nice.

    Fantastic, warm, friendly service from the delightful staff! Cozy, relaxing, beautiful home ranch property in a wonderful setting.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It didn't pose a problem for us as we only stayed for two nights and wanted to eat in but there is a set three course dinner with no choice and the nearest restaurant is a good drive away.

    Blissful setting surrounded by quiet and flowers. Amazing food. Stylishly decorated. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much to do or see in the area. The bathrooms could get an update, the shower wasn't comfortable.

    It is a great place if you'd like to relax enjoy the pool and walks around the hotel and that's about it.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to leave

    Where do you start with this place? Stunning! The thing we noticed the most was that everyone is cared for equally in the most VIP sense. The staff are the stars here, the backdrop is gorgeous, the accomodation beautiful. A truly stunning and relaxing place to stay. A big testament to the owners, who know how to offer the best service. Unforgettable in the best sense. We will return.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner in the evening was wonderful, but just a little too expensive for me to justify eating there every evening (which we would have loved to do). We splashed out on staying there, so our budget was a little tight! However, the quality of the food was incredible, seasonal and freshly prepared, and also included unlimited wine, so if your budget allows, I would definitely recommend it! Would have been wonderful to have lighter meal options in the evening (such as the fantastic house salad, or burger!), then we would have eaten every meal there, as we really didn't want to leave!

    Nothing was too much trouble. Freshly made lemonade when we arrived and flannels to freshen up. Fabulous home pressed olive oil, lavender on your pillow in the evening. Staff were attentive but not in your face. Rooms were beautiful. Lunch by the pool, fresh fruit smoothies brought to the poolside. Completely spoilt. Left utterly relaxed. We will return!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect taste of decoration

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a beautiful, sophisticated, quiet place! And impeccable service and food. Would certainly recommend!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could be more variety with the breakfast

    Environment, the peacefulness, the outdoor dinner and the service

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner should have some options to choose from.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peacefull location Beautiful gardens. Better than web site photos Delightful and helful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower in room 11.

    Service and food

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unique property, very nice garden and pools. Nice food. Our children loved it and cannot wait to visit this hotel again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect Excellent dinner Amazing hacienda and équipments Very calm Thank you so much for the expérience and kindness

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Peace and quiet calm and relaxing staff seemed to know when they were needed

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The need of a car as the location is quite isolated

    Great personalised service

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The good food served too expensive.

    Beautiful Hacienda with a warm and welcoming atmosphere,lovely decorated,comfortable and clean,friendly and attentive staff,peaceful,we will be back.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Need a car to explore during the day, the activities offered were numerous but expensive.

    Lovely accommodation, with amazing first class food served each night. Worth staying for the food and peace and quiet alone.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit remote, depends what you're looking for. Food is expensive, and breakfast was simple and cold, and eggs cost extra. Overall I'd say it was a place lacking value.

    Comfortable, clean, beautiful property.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were incredibly welcoming and went above and beyond to assist us. The hotel itself was unique and had a familial atmosphere. The setting was beautiful and the decor was stylish and retained real authenticity. We loved our stay here and would definitely recommend to family/friends.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Food has some room for improvement. Extra charges sum up (in our case ended up paying more than double of the room rate with all the extras)

    Great service, very nice gardens, very relaxing. One of the very best country side hotels in Andalusia.

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing...a great place.

    Beautiful property and decor, huge rooms, excellent hospitality...we will return!

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were so helpful in helping to suggest and plan excursions. Perfect food, facilities & staff.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very helpful staff. Anything you asked for dealt with immediately. Delicious dinner every evening.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautifully designed accommodation. Perfect for a relaxing break.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic setting with beautiful room on a courtyard. It is off the beaten track (but when found which is not easy!) it's worth it.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Owners dogs in pool and disrupting sports activities

    Location, setting, space.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Set amongst fields of sunflowers this historic property maintains its charm with a contemporary undertone.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 33

Guests also reviewed these properties: