Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Helios - Almuñecar 3 stars

Paseo San Cristobal, 12, 18690 Almuñécar, Spain

#2 of 16 hotels in Almuñécar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2823 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were not very friendly, in particular the night staff when we checked in at midnight they were rude and not welcoming

    Comfy bed, very good value for money, clean rooms, great location, close to lots of restaurants

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff brilliant. Hotel facilities great and comfortable beds And great bedroom overall. Would recommend to anyone. Breakfast too was exceptional Kim & Andy Warwickshire UK

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The smell in the room. The deodorizer used in the rooms is very toxic. Wife had allergic reaction to the odor and strong smell. Front desk personnel need to be a little more friendly. Beds are hard.

    The beaches are beautiful and the sea view rooms are very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t dislike anything!

    The staff were helpful, very friendly and most of all very happy! The old town is only a short distance away, but would recommend a taxi to get there , about €6 and walk back to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing to dislike really - for the price, the hotel was excellent.

    Stayed here for three nights, in two rooms, with our adult son. The location is excellent and we ate at this end of ton all three nights - the chirringuito with the charcoal cooking in the boat was really good, with lovely staff and location. The hotel was perfect for our stay with a pool, nice bars and very friendly staff. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would have been nice to have tea/coffee facilities in the room.

    Very friendly and cooperative staff. Buffet dining was excellent. The hotel is adjacent to the beach and within a stroll of shopping, bars and restaurants. Overall - a great holiday and will visit again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing of any note

    Hotel is easily of 4 star standard. Reception staff were very professional and extremely helpful ( particularly Emilio). The hotel is spotless including the pool and sunbed area. The food - breakfast/dinner was of a very good standard. Location is great only a 10 min walk to the old town area and directly across from the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent

    great location right on the beach; many shops. I rented a bike for a nice little spin. Very good half board meal and excellent breakfast with many many hot and cold choices. We would happily stay here again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very few people can speak English so it can be difficult trying to communicate. On street parking is hard to find near the hotel - they do offer a parking garage but it costs 5 euros per day.

    Breakfast is good, there is a large variety of options to choose from. Quality of the food is top rate.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel at the beach area. Big room, nice staff that took in account our size in view of the room we were given (both 6" so a big bed was much appreciated). Nice bar at the hotel. Pool looked great but haven't been able to try it out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seemed like there were no soundproofing in the hotel at all, but luckily our neighbors were really quiet.

    Great breakfast! Very clean and nice hotel, more than we expected. The staff were friendly and helpful. Yoga in the morning was a plus!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures on Booking.com do not correspond to those available in the Hotel. We booked one of the renovated ones(light colours, white wooden furniture) with sea view. We got however the older ones(70ies, dark wooden)without sea view. We had to pay at the Check-in before we could see the room. We first got a very small one, with backstreet view. After several compliants we finally got a sea view (we had booked and payed for it!), but was still an old room. They Said me they just put the pictures of nice rooms as eye-catchers online, but have only a few available. Total Rip-off. We left the Hotel after that Night and went to another one in Almuñécar, where we stayed further 3 days. Such bad experience, After 2 Weeks of travelling around Andalucía. Sad for my holiday. I never experienced such treatment as hotel guest.

    Modern Hotel on a side Street, 1st row on sea side , with view- if you’re lucky!! . On the quite side of Almuñécar. 15-20min to the center. Ideal for elderly people and all-inclusive holiday tourists. Clean Rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    La ubicación insuperable, un personal amable y servicial. Las habitaciones modernas y limpias. La terraza de arriba incomparable, con vistas espectaculares

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are English and had to watch all TV channels in Spanish. We did ask at reception but hey couldn't advise about English TV chanels.

    Exceptionally clean, safe and friendly with a superb choice of breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in bath lethal ...needs a walk-in put in or at least a grab rail. Do not know how to make cocktails in bar ! Drinks expensive for the area

    Excellent breakfast ....very modern hotel ...comfortable beds Excellent location within walking distance of old town ....

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having tea /coffee making facilities in room. Cheaper room safe.

    Vegetarians very well catered for. Lovely pool and sea view room. Helpful,friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was really lovely. Gorgeous pool and bar area and the rooftop bar is amazing. Hotel and rooms are immaculate and staff are very friendly and helpful. Location was great for us as is set right on a beautiful beach and also only 30 mins to the mountains.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small TV with one English language news channel (CNN). Just one pillow, no spares. Beware of the 'Short Change Scam' - At Lunch/Dinner time payment for drinks must be paid to the Maitre'd on leaving. The well known mis-direction scam was performed by the Maitre'd himself - shame on him! - the majority of the hotel guests are a lot older than us as it caters for SAGA holiday makers both British and foreign and may fall victim to this.

    We are resident in Spain (inland) and often take one/two day breaks to the coast. The resort of Almuneca is pleasant and quiet. The Helios hotel is quite nice and well located with on road free parking and walking distance to the town centre. We paid an extra 10€ for a sea view upgrade. Breakfast & Dinner very good. The room was average with a small TV, Fridge was a bonus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super friendly staff helping you to get around. The buffet breakfast and dinner were varied and tasty and the whole kitchen staff extra caring for the clients. Special thanks to Juanjo from the "kitchen team" for explaining us more about the area :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything perfect

    very nice hotel with all rooms with sea view. Diner buffet was great, enormous choice of food, same as the breakfast. Heated swimming Pool

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was exceptionally clean and welcoming! The food was excellent and the staff were all very friendly. The location could not be better as it is right on the promenade and has excellent views. We were on the 8th floor in the front and had 180 degrees views out over the beach and the ocean! Would recommend this hotel to anyone!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    can't think of anything

    Loved the welcome and all the staff were very friendly. We were celebrating a special anniversary and there was a bottle of cava on ice and strawberries in the room on arrival. A lovely gesture.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was some noise from the other rooms however this was not the fault of the hotel or staff. Drunk people make noise, fact!

    Bed was very comfortable and for a 3 star hotel we were very impressed. The Staff were very attentive and friendly. The breakfast was brilliant and the facilities to relax and enjoy were great. Our room had a great balcony and the views over the sea were beautiful. We couldn't have ask for more.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only shorting coming was the lack of lighting in the bathroom.

    All of the staff were excellent, attentive, efficient and very professional. We were give a free room upgrade on arrival which was a great start. Great location, right on the sea front. The nearby parking was only 6€ per night, but wasn´t under cover. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service and hospitality of the staff. In the reception as well in the restaurant very helpfull. Food was of very good quality and plenty choice for all preferences.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    move breakfast area from downstairs to upstairs so guests can appreciate wonderful views while having breakfast!!

    location of hotel and overall style of hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom sink wasn’t very good - much too big for bathroom but with no space to put toiletries etc

    Excellent refurbishment of this hotel. Excellent shower & very good bed. Everything was very well thought out. Food was v good & staff friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The restaurant is to crowded and placed at the -1. could be decorated more cosy!

    Nicely situated by the beach and promenade San Cristobal. Nice view from the room. Heated swimmingpool and nice jacuzzi. Very clean rooms. Very friendly service: reception-restaurant-bar. Very good buffets.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel caters for large coach parties. There was noisy entertainment on an evening that kept us awake until after midnight.

    The rooms were immaculate. All the food was buffet style with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one slight negative. As we had booked “standard side view” rooms, the bathrooms were very small. Avoid rooms 619 & 620 if you want a larger bathroom.

    The beds were huge and very comfortable. The friendly staff and excellent food, quality, quantity and choice far exceeded our expectations for a 3* hotel. Everywhere was exceptionally clean and we would thoroughly recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only things l did not like so much was that the WiFi was poor on the 7th floor. Very bright light on our terrace that was kept on till the very early hours and l would have like to turn it off as we did not have a black out curtain only a privacy net and a normal curtain that didn't quite stop the terrace light coming through to our room. The air con was not available during our stay only the heating which made for a very hot room at night.

    Refurbished hotel that has a very bright, clean and fresh appearance. Our room on the 7th floor had side sea view and was exactly as shown on their website photos. The room looked and smelt delightful with everything new looking and spotlessly clean. The empty mini fridge was very useful. The food at this hotel was excellently cooked and presented with a good variety of choices. I would go as far as to say, one of the best hotel buffets l have had. Unlike many other hotels, the food was actually hot and hot plates were also available. Usually stay at four star hotels and was a little dubious before but on arrival was very happy. Liked almost everything about this hotel, would definitely use this hotel again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi reception was terrible in the room more often than not non existent, it was better in the reception area, bar, lounge.

    Hotel was lovely rooms comfortable and well appointed, right on beach front with nice bar cafe. Breakfast selection very good, as was evening buffet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 815. Soundproofing non existent. Could hear everything from neighbouring rooms. No instructions for setting air conditioning or operating the TV, so unable to cool the room or watch much (even Spanish) TV.

    Excellent breakfast, great choice. Staff, very friendly and helpful. Generally, unable to fault anything (but see other comments). If in the area, will definately use this hotel again. Thoroughly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from next room - walls not insulated enough, no tea/coffee making facility, no tissues, no shower cap.

    Cleanliness, good staff, good location, easy parking, good breakfast, quick checkout.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about the Helios exceeded our expectations. Breakfast was amazing, lots of choice. Staff were friendly and efficient.Very good value. Almunecar is lovely. We definately recommend!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When the hotel is full the dining room is inadequate, very crowded with tables close together. Bit chaotic especially at breakfast. But the value for money can't be disputed with steak, salmon and lots of other choices on offer. More potatoes/chips/rice would be useful, they kept running out.

    Have stayed several times here. The reformation of the whole hotel is impressive. Paid a little extra for a sea view. Lovely rooms and beds, slept very well. The food is always good quality with good choice. Enjoyed the music at night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    meals, service, comfort

    All, the hotel is perfectly situated, staff is very friendly and efficient, buffet meals are great and the rooms are just perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could not find anything to fault this hotel

    This is a top rate 4 star hotel situated right adjacent to the beach and lovely promenade. It surpassed all our expectations having been given a beautiful recently refurbished room, the food was good and the service excellent. I cannot rate this hotel higher as you can see from my comments, especially when I paid only 68 euros for my wife and myself for dinner bed and breakfast which included full English breakfast. I would like to give a mention to Manuel on reception, he met us when we arrived and we found him to be very polite, helpful, nice disposition and a credit to the company employing him.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the tv didn't work. The bed had a plastic mattress protector which made it too warm! The pool had limited opening times - you couldn't swim before breakfast!

    the breakfast and the very friendly staff ; view from balcony

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn’t like.

    Everything about this hotel was excellent. From arrival, when Alicia at reception showed me various different room options, the room I chose was wonderful with a private terrace overlooking the bay, the bed was very comfy, lovely bathroom, the room was modern bright and very clean. I was amazed at the breakfast! The biggest choice I have ever seen, including champagne, all included in the room price. Before I left I made use of the outdoor heated pool, jacuzzi and sunbeds!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been a great stay if it wasn't for the unsupervised children in the next room who were shouting and banging around til 1pm when their parents came back.

    Breakfast was excellent, hotel was above expectations. Staff were good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room No iron No tea making Noisy heating Rattling windows in high wind No food in bar after 3.30 Small tv and not enough English programs

    The staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent value for money, good location, easy to park. The room was very comfortable and huge bed. The staff where very helpful, a good selection of food for breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    All the staff were welcoming, helpful and cheerful. Breakfast offered a much wider choice than I had expected and the quality was excellent. The hotel is modern, bright and very clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a room with sea view asked for one in an E mail

    Breakfast beautiful plentyful Stretching class excellent Louise was very good Blue Room fantastic wonderful view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The dining room was not big enough for the number of guests. and the way the buffet food was set out was poor. The Salads were excellent but all other food was at a very low standard.

    The room was comfortable but no balcony and facing onto another hotel. The salads were excellent but all other food was very poor.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a splendid stay. The room had a great view over sea, was newly and good furnished. The reception was very helpful during check-in and accommodating all the time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from workers renovating rooms near us - the drill was extremely loud and it was difficult to hear anything or take a rest. As an on-line worker, this was an inconvenience.

    Excellent breakfast buffet with huge variety. Friendly bar staff. Daily activities and entertainment at night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room comfort, extra Small and noisy at the seaside. No free parking from hotel.

    Kind personnel at reception desk and in restaurant. Clean and updated room. Wifi available.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. I requested a double bed but got two singles 2. No room service 3. Restaurant opens 7 - 9 PM only (had to go outside hotel in the rain to get something to eat.) 4. No drinking water in room. 5. No room bar service yet room had a refrigerator. 6. TV very small 7. Only Spanish speaking TV channels no English speaking news channels 8. No iron and iron board to press cloths for my meeting next day. 9. Workmen banging in room above until 6 PM

    Reception check in staff very good, room heating worked well, view very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls, so noisy neighbours. Wasn’t informed about refurbishment of rooms above us. Requested a quiet room when booking but it was ignored, but would still return as lovely facilities, good food and polite staff.

    Very comfortable hotel, excellent staff - very helpful. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fitness would be a great addition.

    Beautiful sunny terrace on the top of hotel (10th floor) overlooking the see. Great location for walking along the promenade/sandy beaches. Very good breakfast and dinner, much better than average 3star hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not all rooms have a bath and shower. this could have been made clear.

    Beds were comfortable. Everywhere was clean. Views were fabulous. Happy HOUR every day!!!! . Staff very helpful. Buffet breakfast huge. Many surrounding restaurants and cafes good. Sea and beach clean. Herminia Diaz made our stay exceptional.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked a bath.

    What a fantastic hotel, I have never been to anything so clean. We had a superior double room with a large balcony overlooking the sea, worth the extra money and would re book without hesitation. The location was excellent and breakfast had every option you could ever want. Almunecar was a really nice Spanish Town with everything you need. The old town was like the lanes in Brighton with exceptional bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An extra pillow would have been nice. English people like tea and coffee making facilities, this is a custom that doesn’t seem to be important in Spanish hotels so I brought my own cup and purchased a kettle from a nearby supermarket.

    The room was very comfortable and clean. The staff were absolutely delightful and very helpful. The location is very good and the breakfast was really good catering to all tastes.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not good if your a light sleeper as all the bedroom doors are metal which people find unable to close quietly. Very annoying especially late at night and early in the morning. The hotel in December was predominately taken over by 'Saga' residents. and noisy Scandinavians. Mini-fridge ran warm and no tea or coffee making facilities in the 'Basic Rooms'.

    Perfect sea and coastline view from one of the 'Sea View' rooms, if a little noisy with late night revellers walking by. Breakfast is exceptional, although a little congested at peak time (around 9am). Swimming Pool and Jacuzzi were clean and open regularly, even through late December. Very clean throughout the hotel. Staff were helpful and friendly on a daily basis. TV has the ability to select Spanish or English on most channels.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The quality of food was not as I expected. Because many people rated its buffet high, but it was not real. The food was not so fresh, and one night we could not even find food that we like. The cocktails and coffees of the restaurant were awful and expensive, and I recommend to go to another place for having coffee. The entertainment was horrible and just a guy was there with a Piano and a recorded song all the time without singing. So boring. I do not know if I am going to repeat this experience.

    We had a car and there were always spaces in front of the hotel to park. Moreover, I really like the outdoor swimming pool and jacuzzi since it was really heated and we could swim even in the cold weather of December. The staffs were so kind and responsible and always try to help you. Additionally, this hotel is well located and you are so close to Paseo San Cristobal which is nice for walking. The beach is in 2 minutes walk from the hotel, and a big supermarket "Mercadona" is so close to the hotel so you can buy whatever you need.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything.

    Location great @ we had free parking outside hotel.( It is nearly Xmas!) Great breakfast spread with everything you could wish for.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    fraudulent towel practice-next day after I left I received an email (You have to pay the amount of EUR 22.45 for the towels you have taken with you). Of course I left both poor towels in the hotel. I called at the reception immediately,The receptionist told me that it was a misunderstanding, and I forgot it,but in few days they deduct 22,45Eur from my account.

    Good location, right on the beach,free parking in front of hotel,friendly english speaking staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Wi Fi in our room was very hit and miss but did not detract from our stay.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Good entertainment provided and the room was excellent. There was plenty of choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No hot water the first evening but this was due to a pump problem which was soon dealt with. Don't like those coat hangers that are one in front of the other instead of on a horizonal rail. Almunecar very quiet at this time of year.

    Have been here three or four times. Hotel has had a makeover, and is very stylish. We were unlucky with the weather so didn't use pool or outside areas. Beds very comfortable and rooms very big. Lovely view from 8th floor. Food is always good but hotel had been taken over by "vikings" and dining rooms were overcrowded. Enjoyed the lively dancing at night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We upgraded to a suite on arrival as whilst the standard rooms are clean they are small and in need of an “update”.

    Excellent hotel, staff were incredibly nice and helpful. The arrival gift of Cava was unexpected..... very nice touch! Food (breakfast, lunch and dinner) excellent; lots of choice and all delicious!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly. Food very good. Position of hotel excellent. Very clean.Caters more for retired age group, yet this has advantages if you like a quiet relaxing holiday. Most nights have dancing or singer or dance show. Weather was hot for the end of October.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lunch buffet was changed to bar food for two days which gave fewer choices for the coeliac and vegetarian guests. Not a big deal but we missed the expansive buffet.

    Splendid location on the beach.friendly staff at reception at the bar and in the restaurant as well as the cleaning staff. Great food and accommodated a coeliac and a vegetarian very well with plenty choice and quality meals.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The town was quiet and fairly empty with many shops , bars and restaurants closed. Expected for this time of the year I guess.

    Comfy bed , good range of food for breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Having returned recently from a week's stay with my family at this hotel we can honestly say that this was one of the most enjoyable holidays that we have ever had. The Helios Hotel exceeded all our expectations. It was spotlessly clean and the staff, in the reception, restaurant and bars were at all times helpful, courteous and smiling. Our rooms were bright and spacious, the beds super comfortable and the views of the bay from the balconies were spectacular. There was an extensive choice of well prepared and healthy food at breakfast and dinner. We particularly loved the location across from the beach and a lovely wide, flat promenade for enjoyable, crowd-free walks at any time of the day - perfect relaxation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    you would be hard pushed to find fault at this three star hotel.

    We upgraded our room to a panoramic room which was fantastic. There were lots of little details at the hotel that made the difference. 4 or 5 different types of milk for example for people who prefer soya or lactose free. The staff could not do enought to make your stay very enjoyable. The location is second to none and all the rooms have their own loungers on the room's balcony.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from nearest buildings, possibly outside parts of condition systems. A lot of people and very noisy and uncomfortably during breakfast.Light at the balcony switched on during the night.

    Big, clean room with side sea view. Quality breakfast. Quite new furniture.Sofas at top floor with good view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay the (€10) deposit for towels to use by the swimming pool

    Staff were super helpful and friendly.Our room had an amazing balcony & view. Breakfast was a massive smorgasbord- so many options!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would not recommend the menu del dia but the other snacks looked the better choice.

    Very comfy beds, room spacious with very good view and balcony,and all staff very considerate. We would certainly go again. Breakfast was excellent and the tables cleared very quickly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We requested twin beds but got a double that wasn't ver.y comfortable.. we did ask twice to change beds but it didn't materialise. Also the bathroom had no bidet and we though the room was on the small side considering the price we paid.

    Clean and friendly hotel. Very well appointed in lounge and outside seating.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The fridge in the room is not functional if you are not in the room. Kind of, there is no point to have it if you can`t really use it. The jacuzzi by the pool should work all day, not just for couple of hours, always busy and you hardly can get to use it.

    Perfect location for solo travellers, very helpful staff, great food, high speed Wifi! :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Whilst the hotel was good, we had a bad smell emanating from the bathroom. Despite telling the management, very little was done. On leaving the hotel we again made our feelings known and the reception took all our details and told us the manager would contact us. We still have not heard anything.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bike rental expensive and not available in the evening

    Bed was super comfy and very clean rooms. We had a very nice beach and sunset view from our balcony. Pity that the rooftop bar- Blue Bar closed for the low season in October. Such a nice spot and excellent cocktails.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike - perfect hotel

    This hotel is simply amazing! Upon arrival we were greeted by such helpful, friendly reception staff who truly couldn't do enough to assist. We booked at last minute for our wedding anniversary and found fizz and treats in our room as a gift from hotel. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the breakfast was so extensive with choice of hot or cold options. The swimming pool and sun beds were well appointed and beach just across the road from hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: