Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of NH Collection Ría de Bilbao 4 stars

Campo Volantín, 28, 48005 Bilbao, Spain

#19 of 47 hotels in Bilbao

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2170 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Locarion, comfort, facilities. Great spot on the river, nice area for a morning run. Easy walk to the old town and to the Guggenheim. Parking at hotel. Room well equipped. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Children out of control in the bar on a Saturday night. Parents did nothing, hotel management should have stepped in to stop. It was very intrusive Hôtel did knock e50 off bill when we complained on checking out

    Soft bed, good location, very helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower head is above a whirlpool tub and it does not accurately drain.

    We were only there for one night (flying back to London from Bilbao Airport after a quick weekend getaway), but the staff went above and beyond to make it special. We were upgraded (for a small fee) to a suite that had all of the amenities you could want (including a balcony that overlooked the city). Clean, comfortable and everything you would expect from a NH property.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    I hate having to pay for parking, but this is a city hotel, so that's a normal thing.

    The room was small but extremely comfortable, with lots of charging outlets (including a USB port by the bed), a desk, and a coffee/tea area. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the towels were super thick and heavy. Breakfast was phenomenal. Parking, though cramped, was nice to have. Staff were extremely kind and helpful. I had to have a bag delivered to the hotel, and their late check-out time made that much less stressful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable, and the location was central and scenic. The towels and bathroom supplies were very high quality. On site parking was convenient but expensive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no air-conditioning ("too early in the year") and as a result the temperature in the room was too high - unpleasant, especially at night.

    very good location (for what we wanted to do), breakfast was good, staff was very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room, the one with 1 double bed was very small and the temperature of the room was impossible to control, it was always very warm.

    Very good location, close to the Guggenheim, the purpose of our trip

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What we did not like was the fact that we had booked breakfast for the price that appeared on the page and, when we arrived at the hotel, they told us breakfast was NOT included so we had to pay an extra 34 euro for the breakfast. The booking confirmation had not been received by us yet so we did not have proof that breakfast was included. When the confirmation arrived did not mention breakfast at all. Wish there was more transparency on the issue of breakfast from Booking.

    cleanliness

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect

    Great design hotel, in front of the Guggengheim Museum. Beautiful style, big rooms and bathrooms and great service. Very good value for money!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing that would have helped me, and it was minor thing and not the hotel's fault, was that booking .com never used the title of the hotel which is Hotel Hesperia not the NH Collection Ria di Bilbao. I was therefore looking for signs for the latter when infact the hotel is signed mostly using its real name Hotel Hesperia. Please could this be included on the information at booking. com as it was difficult for both me and the taxi driver to find it as the NH Collection sign is only on the road by the river not the side road where the hotel entrance is. but a very minor point as the whole experience was fabulous at the hotel Hesperia and i loved it very much

    It was brilliant! I loved Everything about the hotel! The location is great just a few minutes walk from the Guggenheim, really kind and helpful staff. Very comfortable. Spacious room with really great design and details. Just so peaceful and wonderful I want to return!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The coffee tables tin the reception are had many peeling paint areas and scratches. I don't think that the decor was "shabby chic."

    Locations; help from the staff for locations and directions of places to visit

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room slightly on the small side with thin walls as sound of people in next room having shower and opening drawers/wardrobes could easily be heard.

    Excellent location within walking distance to all major attractions. Room clean, modern and comfortable with much appreciated coffee machine as it was really cold and wet during our February stay. Lovely bar facilities too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the restuarant was unusable if you are vegetarian.

    Very comfy bed, great location on the river if you go for a river view room. Clean and generally a great place to stay and easy access walking everywhere

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. I was 100% satisfied.

    The beds were particularly comfortable, the hotel was very central and convenient yet remarkably quiet. The bathroom - always something I find important - was sparkling and spotless.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar itself was a bit clinical with too much stainless steel. It needed to have a warmer feel to it.

    The staff were super friendly and could not do enough for you.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything this how all hotels should be comfortable clean and fantastic friendly. Hotels in Germany should take an example of Spanish hotels they know how to treat a guest!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very good hotel just across the river from all the sites. Very comfortable and underground parking. Good value for money bearing in mind the location. Lots of bars around for a Spanish breakfast plus good restaurants within an easy walk. The city is fabulous much nicer than we anticipated. We were delayed here due to non sailing but this meant we had time to enjoy the city, sites, fascilities, and shopping. Highly recommended for a city break

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is 18 Euros per night. Breakfast was good - they made fresh eggs and bacon and there was a buffet but at 19 Euros per person, I think it is expensive.

    They upgraded to us to larger room with view overlooking Ria and Guggenheim at no extra cost.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were in an attic room and it was very hot, even turning off the heat and was just as hot, to the point that we could not be in the room any longer and it was difficult to sleep.

    It was a very nice, clean and at a great location. The staff were very nice, the people at the restaurant were very nice as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room didn't have enough lights (with curtains closed, I would say it was semi-dark). There was also a lack of plugs (2 in the room, 1 in the bath). At the wall, in the bath/shower and in the room etc. there were signs of use and wear. The breakfast selection was standard, not more. It would be better to select a room without breakfast option and eat Pintxos at the next best bar. All in all, the hotel was below our expectations.

    The location is in walking distance to both the old city center and the Guggenheim Museum, which is convenient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately our room was very small and very hot and there was no air con available at this time of year , only heating! We were told to leave the window open all day to keep the room cool, which was fine but very noisy at night. Due to this we did not sleep very well.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. location was great and the breakfast was 5 star .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Access to the Underground car park is quite tight (typical for Northern Spain) and spaces are limited, although I managed to find one on both days.....

    Great location with easy access to all that Bilbao has to offer. Comfortable room with modern bathroom. Extensive choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    From the moment we checked in to when we checked out, this hotel was perfect! The staff, all of them, were just amazing, friendly, chatty and could not do enough for us! The room was big and the beds were amazingly comfortable! Everything was gorgeous. The breakfast buffet was the biggest I have ever seen and it was constantly replenished. I could not recommend this hotel enough! Even the bar is fabulous!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only parking available was street parking which you had to move at 9am and also private parking which cost €18 a night.

    The rooms are modern and immaculately clean. The reception area is snazzy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved everything about this hotel. So beautiful, classy and clean. The coffee was sooo good and so was the food. The rooms were spotless and loved the bathrooms and the toiletries. We had two sinks which thought was great given I was staying with my partner. The whole hotel felt very luxurious but the most remarkable thing was their staff. Can't remember being at a hotel where from the concierge, to the bar staff to the front desk staff and the cleaners were so incredibly nice, helpful and friendly. Also, you cannot beat the location. It is in one of the most upmarket streets (Campo Volantin) in Bilbao and walking distance to everything. Loved being by the river too. Definitely recommend this hotel! 15/10

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had an early flight on Sunday and nearly missed out on breakfast. Tour group had preference 7 till 8 am and we needed to leave at 8. Luckily staff let us in.

    Standard room was small but had everything we needed. Staff were excellent. Really helpful. Room spotless. Brilliant location city all walkable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked to move rooms as we were close to the generator and it wasn’t very pleasant - but the second room was perfectly fine!

    The hotel was located right on the Ria with views of the Guggenheim. It’s a short walk to the Old Town with plenty of restaurants and bars. We decided not to pay for breakfast and went for coffee and croissants at a local cafe along the Ria - great food for a fraction of the cost! The staff were ok, one receptionist wasn’t overly friendly but it didn’t impact our stay. The hotel had bikes which you can rent and they were well kept and reasonable in price. Overall great stay - brill location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall the price was expensive. We ate breakfast out at a local cafe and although the car parking was convenient, the spaces and driveway in the car park were extremely tight for a large car. Also, although we arrived after 3 pm, our rooms were not available for check in.

    Our evening meal in the restaurant was very good and reasonably priced. There were welcome cool drinks available in the foyer when we arrived and the staff were friendly. The hotel is a ten minute walk from the Guggenheim Museum.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a very small in comparison to photo on the website Shower could have had more pressure

    Bed was really comfortable. Staff were very helpful and friendly Coffee was very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't get towel warmer to work...wish we had tea kettle in our room as our friend did in her single room

    Every amenity available...staff very helpful...our room was spacious and comfortable...nice restaurants...excellent location to the Guggenheim Museum

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel bar one guest was asleep with his feet on the table we walked out of the bar without buying. Very cold an uninviting.

    Very comfortable hotel in an excellent location easy walk to the Old Town. Friendly and efficent staff. Good buffet brekfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a room with view in the fifth floor with a view on the trees in the other side of the trees!? A lot of things were damaged and need renovation.

    Professional welcoming at the reception. We had a room with view. The room was very big.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms tend to get street noise through the aging windows, try one that's at the back. Towels could look more attractive than soiled.

    It has a great location. The staff are very friendly and polite. Open buffet breakfast was very satisfying. For those travelling by car there's a car park at the basement. The hotel can't guarantee a spot but I had no problems finding one.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Kleenex! Bathtub was slippery, no mat, no facial wash cloth Breakfast buffet was very varied and copious...but found taste lacking. Wound up only having a boiled egg and plain yogurt every morning. Pastries and bread strangely not good. Disappointed.

    Comfortable bed, spacious room, double sinks! Coffee and tea in room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apart from above comment all was good?

    Hotel position was excellent for sightseeing ,being a short walk to the Guggenheim,the old town and many good eating places Pleasant to sit outside with a drink overlooking the water. Staff were generally helpful except for once when in the empty bar we sat for 15 minutes without being served.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problem but breakfast not being included was a nuisance as their are very few cafes in the immediate area.

    Great position close to the Guggenheim and nice and quiet. Good staff , and the room was modern and roomy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room had the most awful coloured film on the windows to keep out the sun and give the hotel a colourful look outside. It made the room dark and really odd. This might make it worth moving to a rear room even if smaller and lacking the view. In addition the lighting in the room was patchy - good to read but poor in the edges. Not cheap!

    The car park is easy to find around the back, you do have to pay for it though! Staff here as in others of this chain are very friendly and helpful and describe all the eating options to each guest as though it was the first time anyone has asked! We booked an upgrade and the room was a decent size as was the bathroom. Breakfast is especially good in this chain. Location is just opposite a pedestrian bridge to the Guggenheim so it is perfect for a first visit. Despite being on the road, the room is quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little bit on the small side and walls too thin - some noise from other rooms and corridors came in.

    Breakfast buffet was excellent - variety and taste. Liked the option of local choices. Room was comfortable & clean. Location was perfect for Guggenheim and old town. Beds were comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning wasn't functioning with room at 29 C all night. Staff declined our requests for a room change, so it was probably hotel wide. A manager did come to our room to check the AC settings & thought the best solution was to open & shut the window quickly. Lack of grocery or tie date nearby. Did find a nice, local bar/restaurant for morning coffee, fresh orange juice, tortilla & croissant in the block behind the hotel. Much, much more affordable than the 18 euro for the hotel breakfast

    Proximity to Guggenheim

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The car park is useful but extremely tight for space. In a larger car it is hard to manoeuvre. Breakfast good but for the price I think that the drinks i.e.. the coffee should be freshly made not from a machine.

    The bed was very comfortable. The staff very helpful. Good breakfast. Great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not like the blue window. I would ask for a room with a yellow or orange window next time. The room is long so a bit dark. Than again, as you do not spend a lot of time awake in it, it's ok.

    Very nice 'roomy' room. Design hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All great!

    Great stay here. Got a fantastic room on the 7th floor with a bonus of a balcony! Great location as 10 min walk to the old town or Guggenheim museum across the water. Would highly recommend!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking garage is a disaster. You must have a small car, steady nerves and a lot of luck to find a parking space and to be able to drive into and out the garage.

    Guggenheim museum just in front of you, comfortable beds, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To charge almost 20 euros for breakfast pr person is a ripoff given the price of the room itself. In Norway you almost always get breakfast included when you book a room. For me it's really bad service to try to make so much money for something that should have been inclusive. We had very nice breakfast in local cafes for under half the price of your hotel breakfast.

    Location and good standard of the hotel and room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking very very tight, difficult to enter even with a mid-size car. not possible to reserve in advance and it was full when we arrived as it's a public car park. hotel rooms very modern and well-equipped but not very large

    Very modern hotel, stylish. Great location in the centre of Bilbao close to river.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facilities for making tea or coffee and no ironing facilities in room - have never had this issue in a hotel before.

    Very helpful and friendly staff, they happily solved our problem of arriving a day early in error!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was expensive. Would have been nice to get a discounted or free rate considering we were guests at the hotel.

    Great comfortable hotel. Huge comfy double bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was small and gloomy with dated decor. The pillows were uncomfortable

    The location of the hotel is good and it is not too expensive. The room was functional.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location for walking into city and old part of town. Good tapas bar 200 yards from hotel with restaraunt on site. Ideal location for our needs.ideal hotel for city break.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor customer focus.

    Position and cleanliness. Really have to wait at reception because staff always hidden in a room to the side and they'd rather you wait than come and serve you.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lighting was poor - eg. there was nothing at the desk. The parking place was gambling - and the hotel's information wrote "there is no possibility for reservation" - although the parking lot belongs to the hotel (???)

    Location is excellent - the main attractions are in walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The superior room size wasn't that big and that was only main thing.

    The breakfast was simply amazing, the selection of food and drinks incredible. The stuff was really helpful with preparing anything you would need.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was turned off which resulted in an uncomfortable couple of nights sleep. When I asked at reception they told me it had been turned off because it was cool the previous weekend. The breakfast selection was not to my taste and whilst the staff were pleasant they were not very helpful. Over all the hesperia was expensive for an average experience.

    The hotel was in a good location close to the centre of Bilbao. The room was clean , modern and a reasonable size.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, nice rooms, firm mattress, toiletries, breakfast. We received complimentary tickets to the Guggenheim (hence decided to spend the money on the breakfast). Front desk person was very helpful, gave us tips on what to visit!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    A small number of culinary options around the hotel. You need to walk a little bit to explore foods.

    its modern hotel that is super clean, comfort and near to the main tourism area. You can see Guggeinheim museum from your room and enjoy the river that is located exactly in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room could have benefitted from an extra set of towels. Take care in the parking as tight turn to exit.

    Great location on the airport side of the river less than ten minutes walk from the Guggenheim, the old city and the nearest metro stops. We stayed for two nights in mid-April, enjoying sunny, dry days and a welcome break from Belgium. The hotel is modern, stylish and provides all necessary facilities. The breakfast was fine. The room was spacious, but be aware that riverview rooms spend most of the day in the sun, so can get quite warm, but that was more than manageable as the windows open. A particular thanks goes to Pol on reception, who made some excellent suggestions for dinner on both nights, as well as general guidance about where to go and how long it would take to get there. But all the other staff made a good impression too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Packing garage cost 18 euro.

    We had a room with spacey balcony with table and chairs. view to the Guggenheim Museum Bilbao and sunset. Bed and pillow very comfortable. Location close to the museum and walking distance to the old city . We got 2 tickets to the museums as present.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a bit worn out/ overused. It can be cleaner, carpet is a bit dirty, sheets and furniture looks old and worn out.

    Staff and friendliness of the staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No privacy between room balconies in superior rooms at front. Bed very hard. No tables outside. Tied up despite hot day on Sunday. Bar shut early on sat evening. Very little choice of dining in hotel. Not a 4 star in my books

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent location right on the river just 10mins walk from Guggenheim and old town.spacious room with side river view. Good size bathroom with bath.no noise.straight forward check in and out.good value

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is right across the Guggenheim museum, room was beautiful, staff helpful, they have free parking. We arrived late and had dinner at the hotel restaurant, it was beyond our expectations, excellent food, proper basque) breakfast brilliant: had vegan options, smoothies and superfood toppings + plenty of traditional options, best breakfast we had in the whole trip around France and Spain

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. service at counter. not nice, but trying to helpful. You have impression that you are interrupting 2. problems with booking.com reservation lost lot of time searching reservation. 3. I've received bill for breakfast even though it was unclouded in price. Mistake was quickly repaired

    fruits and smoothies for breakfast. Breakfast is great.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tinted/colored windows on the main facade. Funky at the beginning, they are too strong inside the room

    Walking distance from both the Guggenheim museum and the city centre

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    underground parking accomodation of the hotel takes cool nerves and some driving skills! very small spaces, tight corridors.

    Great breakfast with a lot of options. perfect location! only 5 minutes away from the Guggenheim Museam and 5 from the 'Casco Viejo', the old centre with a lot of typical restaurants. Wifi is of good quality.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice hotel, just in the center of the city, close to Gugganheim Museum and close to the old city. The breakfast was amazing: Rich, fresh and tasty. The staff very polite and competent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only small disappointment was we thought there was access to the rooftop but this was only if you had booked that particular room. The pictures gave the impression we could go up to the roof.

    The staff were extremely hard working and attentive. Rooms were immaculate.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good! Our only regret was that we were unable to stay longer.

    Front desk staff were great. We were upgraded to a lovely room with a view of the river. It was comfortable and relaxing. The hotel was also in walking distance to the Guggenheim Museum- the reason for our visit to Bilbao.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My partner and I cannot think of anything that that could be improved.

    The staff were very welcoming, friendly, polite and really willing to help. The hotel was minutes away from both the vibrant old town and the new town, with a view to the Guggenheim accross the river. There are also several bars and a mini market round the corner, litereally two minutes from the Hesperia. The room was cleaned on request and the King Sized double bed provided maximum comfort.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Weather let Bilbao down - it rained heavily.

    Staff were very helpful and location was excellent - on the river midway between Guggenheim and the old town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well located relative to City Centre and Old Town including Bilbao's wealth of parks and magnificent buildings, old and new. Very comfortable and clean hotel with excellent views over the river towards the Guggenheim and newer part of City

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The "single" room was very spacious; enjoyed the luxurious bed & linen. The location was perfect; easy walks to many attractions, the Guggenheim Museum, restaurants & sights. Also the front desk staff was friendly & helpful. My entire Bilbao vacation was perfect!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi not available till 2 days later, not as near to old city as some other hotels, it's always necessary to cross the bridge for the Guggenheim or the Museo Belle Artes, breakfast exorbitant for very ordinary spread so we didn't take it

    Room available for us though we were early, pleasant reception though not particularly warm, no map of city provided but helpful in getting taxi to bus station which is quite a distance away

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The underground hotel car park is very tight on space and difficult to use.

    Nice hotel in a very good location for visiting the city and within walking distance of the main sights.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The superior rooms with a view to the Nervion river are quite noisy (we stayed on the fifth floor) and ours had an unpleasant smell of cigarette smoke, perhaps due to the carpet. Room doors automatically slamm if you don't hold back, ...

    We liked the large bed, the room also has a good size. The staff was mostly friendly and helpful. We also liked the view on the trees.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's one gentleman on the front desk who is unnecessarily surly. Also, you can't get a coffee unless you pay 18€ for a full breakfast.

    Great room on top floor, clean, quiet, own outdoor terrace.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: