Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Petit Palace Tamarises 3 stars

Muelle de Ereaga, 4, 48992 Getxo, Spain

#2 of 8 hotels in Getxo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1364 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    We had a very good time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (1 or 2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location was interesting. Beautiful beach. The staff was pleasant and nice, but not well informed about the goings-on in the area, and could not give good information. The breakfast was excellent and what a choice of foods! Altogether we had a fun time here.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful location on the beach, really nice area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room Interior ( 4 Adults )
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows with internal view only in our family room. Only family room in this location, this date that was available to me on booking.

    Beautiful location on the beach, really nice area. Very helpful, friendly staff. Room very clean, good linens and towels. Excellent breakfast and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Excellent if you get a beach view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 or 2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could only pre-book a small rear view room but achieved a big beautiful beach view room with reasonable upgrade cost, after a cancellation. Staff were very friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    Right across from one of the beaches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 or 2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee in room. No convenience stores close by. Only a few restaurants in the area. The room was very small.... okay for 1 person, but tight for 2.

    Right across from one of the beaches. Nice breakfast. Great staff. WiFi.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    good hotel and staff were good. all in all worth a stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    My lack of Spanish limited communication with bar and restaurant which was overcome except for the ability to question the bill after dinner. We were very surprised at 3 women chain smoking at the next table for an hour while we ate dinner. They drank but didn't eat. Nobody commented on this staff or other and we assumed it must be acceptable for people in this place and possibly elsewhere in Spain. It's been a lot of years since we had that and it doesn't happen in France or Germany in our experience. The drive to the port during morning rush hour despite satnav was an exciting/nightmare experience depending on your ability to concentrate and avoid pinball with commuters and so wrong choice of location if you have a boat to travel to at Bilbao Brittany Ferries.

    VG hotel with relaxed atmosphere and check in was no prob with hotel parking across the road and next to the beach which our veranda overlooked and so a great view if slightly industrial over to the left. Bar and restaurant attached with nice food, tapas and dinner menu all reasonable prices. We had a large comfortable suite and two toilets. the shower was excellent. 2 small bottles of Cava and chocolate were in our room free apart from stocked fridge.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location interior of hotel and room finish exceeded to outside decor which does need a make-ov
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking but it’s not too busy this time of year next couple of months would be a challenge I guess.

    Parking was a little confusing but as much due our language difficulties. Although there is free on street parking it is a bit manic and many cars are parked within inches of the next.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    On the sea front.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 or 2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not dog friendly beach..

    On the sea front. . Had great airy comfy,modern clean room with balcony overlooking the beach. Pet friendly. (Beach doesn't allow dogs). Fantastic breakfast.(friend is a vegetarian.).😨//. Lovelly helpfully staff.. Definitely stay again. Car parking available. On sea front.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Hotel is nice, quiet in the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative thing is, that the beach and hotel are facing the industrial Bilbao port.

    Hotel is nice, quiet in the night., very close to the beach. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was worth the money, great variety of healthy food. Only the coffee was an average quality (no frothy milk available).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Love coming here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love coming here. This was the second time that we have used this hotel and will continue to use in the future. Very pleasant stay. Wonderful staff 👍🏻

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Excellent rooms with awesome views right on the ocean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Street parking is congested but the the hotel does offer private parking across the street for a fee.

    Great room with awesome view of the ocean! Absolutely blew us away! Staff was very easy to talk to and even though my daughter is fluent in Spanish they spoke English to. Free bicycles available. Right on the coast with walking and bike lanes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Great stay in friendly,comfortable hotel for Rugby Finals, exploring Bilbao and San Sebastian
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast was lovely but as we didn't want the full works we didn't have it everyday as it cost 12 Euros.

    4 of us stayed here for the European Club Rugby Finals in a family room which was good value and felt very comfortable. Staff were friendly and very helpful and the rooms and hotel were spotless . It is a short (10 mins) hilly walk to the Neguri metro station and the regular services made it easy to get into central Bilbao . Arriving after 11.30 pm we had to get a taxi from the city which cost 25 euros . The taxi driver was friendly and helpful even though most places were closed by the time we left town. The taxi was metered and we paid a similar price on another night. Transport was easy on the Sat because the metro was open all night - a great boon! After spending the day in the fascinating city of Bilbao it was good to be by the beach and though it rained quite hard some days we were able to enjoy the location of the hotel on the Sunday. We also took a day trip to San Sebastian which was easy and well worth the approx 21/2 hour journey - taking the metro to the central bus station and a bus from there. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel, if the location suits you, and Bilbao.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Directly opposite the beach
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 or 2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach itself is great, the industrial activities nearby do not improve the view

    Directly opposite the beach Tastefully decorated room Very friendly stafg

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    Always a pleasure to stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather Lol. better than UK even so !

    Excellent position not just for the port but the lovely town of Algorta. Fantastic bars and restaurants. Wonderful architecture. tremendous REAL tapas. Lived there over 30 years ago it gets better each time we visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    The staff are super friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 or 2 adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s a dead cockroach in the stairs. And they did not replenish the toiletries in my 5-day stay in the hotel. 😞

    The staff are super friendly. The location is great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Super friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly and helpful staff. Family room great with balcony and beautiful bathroom with everything provided. Good location with metro station near by. They also offer a free bikes but unfortunately with no kids seat to attach so we wasn’t able to use this.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.1
    We spent an hour to find this hotel as the council put...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 or 2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We spent an hour to find this hotel as the council put excatly the same post code as the residence a half mile away, look, the hotel management should really need to do something about it by not let the customer down !!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    6.3
    OK for 1 night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room with sea view needed an update.. furniture looks worn and .. Also, it would be nice if the door to the terrace could be opened a little bit. Just enough to hear the waves.. without being blown out of your bed.

    Good breakfast and great view over the Atlantic and port of Bilbao

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is very well located, just near the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very well located, just near the beach. Rooms are clean - may be not too spacious, but please note we took rooms for 4 - with 2 additional beds, so for 2 would be probably perfect. braekfast was just fantastic, wide choise of dishes, both cold and warm, everything was fresh and tasty. Must add that breakfast service was also fantastic - the lady who works there was very nice and helpfull. other staff members in the hotel was helpfull as well. It was really good to spend there a night and a morning with so nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    O almorzo foi do mellor que tenho visto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 or 2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    O pouco uso que fan no hotel do euskera, deberían valorar máis a cultura do lugar.

    O almorzo foi do mellor que tenho visto. O trato do persoal tamén xenial.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    6.3
    When I had a problem with the creaking bed they changed the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The original room was like a rabbit hutch with a small window looking onto an internal well. AND the bed creaked so much it would have been impossible to sleep. I did not realise there was no restaurant but the one next door was excellent.

    When I had a problem with the creaking bed they changed the room for one with an outward looking window and were very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.6
    Superb and a great location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked to have been able to buy a coffee in the hotel.

    The staff were very helpful. The receptionist was superb on check in. The pet bed, food and bowls were an excellent idea. The breakfast was excellent and there was an extremely good choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    We wanted relaxation and we got it.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 or 2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t find any fault. The reception staff were so friendly, helpful and efficient. Would certainly return.

    The nice touches made it special. Dog bed, food and water dish.. Great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    It was Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 or 2 adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smoke detector flashed every 5 seconds throughout the night. When drew this to the attention of the desk was told this was normal. It disturbed our sleep and impacted on our stay.

    It was clean but a bit small although bathroom good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.5
    OK for an overnight wait for the ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 or 2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of drains in the bedroom.Sensor in the ceiling intrusive and flashed very brightly making sleep difficult.Well located by the beach but in a very built up area of Bilbao ,traffic a nightmare .Spent ages trying to find the place.

    The bathroom and the staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.8
    Unbelievably good for the price, very forthcoming and...
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the couch at the entrance would have been a good idea, if it was not for the doors opening and closing all the time when anyone sits there. Ventilation and air conditioning in the rooms without windows proper could be improved, though it was decent.

    Unbelievably good for the price, very forthcoming and thoughtful stuff. The hardware sometimes was in need of minor repair - which was promptly provided. Nice location, ease of access to many interesting places. The hotel bicycles are in perfect condition and come very handy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    Good food, good weather, Hotel well situated and friendly staff. Also kind to my dogs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast the best I have ever had. Buffet, hot food, cold food and a healthy options. I had them all. First time in a long time I could have bacon,sausage and scrambled eggs. I started with that then went onto the healthy option. It was great. I came with two dogs. When I got into the room there were, two dog beds, two drinking bowls, two food bowls and a packet of food for each, how good was that. On the mirror in the bathroom was written " Welcome and Merry Christmas". Can't get btter than that. The staff were great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    Very nice except for position of room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was completely internal, so no way of seeing what the weather was like. Felt very claustrophobic. Other rooms would obviously be fine. Will definitely stay there again, but will ask for an outside room.

    Breakfast marvelous with plenty of choice & lovely views of the beach. Staff very friendly and helpful. Supplies in room amazing - everything you could want.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    6.3
    Very close to beach.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is not luxury like expected. Rooms are partly modernized,water stains on the walls,lamps are dusty. Very loud during the night. You can hear people yelling in the floors. Air conditioning was not manageable. For business trip and 1 night ok.

    Very close to beach. Staff was helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay for a long romantic weekend
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 or 2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only the rain during my stay.

    Personnel was very helpfull, the location of the hotel is excellent and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The area around the hotel is great too, the hotel is located near the beach and it takes only 10 minutes to walk to the centre of the city. You can find nice shops and restaurants (pintxos) nearby.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.8
    Small, trendy hotel with nice attitude to offering services...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was an odd smell when we arrived but I think it was to do with carpet cleaning products. It had gone by morning but it was very off-putting on arrival.

    Small, trendy hotel with nice attitude to offering services that are thoughtful. For example it's dog-friendly, the ensuite bathrooms are great and the breakfast buffet is fabulous with loads of choice and healthy options including superfoods. The rooms however are quite small. It didn't matter too much for us as it was one night only before flying out from Bilbao the next morning. We recommend requesting a beach view room as I think they are larger (hotel needs to confirm this). Getxo was a surprise - much more there and prettier than we expected with wonderful long walking pathways - perfect for an early morning run. A great stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    6.7
    Liked the resort and hotel, but the parking problem spoilt it for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking! On street is impossible during the day and evening. Car park across the road is not easy to access., one has to contact the concierge to open the barrier to enter. Hotel has only 7 allocated spaces in a shared car park. the spaces are at the end and narrower than others. Our car was only just an inch or so within the white lines on both sides. Impossible to open the doors unless the adjacent space was empty.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel on walking distance of the beach and great restaurants
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 or 2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cannot thing of any criticism. We really enjoyed our stay.

    Breakfast was superb! Everything you can expect in a luxurious hotel and more. There was even a wide choise of 'superfoods'. The personnel was very kind and helpfull. The room was clean, well decorated and quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.2
    Great alternative to more expensive, hectic Bibao
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The exterior is drab, and the corridors are somewhat tattered. Garbage trucks made a huge noise at 7:30 am, followed by noisy beach cleaning machinery.

    We loved the terrace and the wide sea view, the sound of the waves, and the promenade of people below us. The restaurant had both good dinners and tasty, inexpensive breakfast options. There is a speedy lift. It is close to metro stops for a cheap direct trip to the Guggenheim. The nearby waterfront has fascinating architecture.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.5
    Premium location with a premium price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like the family room being in the basement. A lot of traffic jams around the hotel at weekend due to its seaside location. Parking would be near impossible if you don't book one of the 7 parking places. Breakfast is extremely expensive and not premium as the price suggests.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. After a night in the basement and some negotiating, we were given a sea view room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.8
    Great place with great view from balcony on seaside.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 or 2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great place with great view from balcony on seaside. Breakfast is also very nice. Comfortable beds a very clean rooms. Been there couple of times already and will come again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.3
    A very good choice of hotel and well worth visiting to take in the surrounding interesting sights!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 or 2 adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little and not worth mentioning.

    Hotel,Staff,Location,Facilities are all excellent,My stay of 4 nights here in September was a most enjoyable experience and one I will repeat soon.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.9
    An ideal stopover before catching early morning ferry from Bilbao.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 or 2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was quite small and dark, with no view which was a bit claustrophobic. However the bathroom was spacious and good standard. Wide sandy beach in front of the hotel, but austere view of quays, cranes and commercial ships which was OK for one night but not for a holiday.

    The staff were very pleasant and helpful from the moment we arrived and the hotel was full. VIP treatment for the dog, who had a rubber mat with dishes, dog bed with complimentary food. Location was good as approx. 20 minute drive to ferry at Bilbao.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.3
    The room was quite nice, sizeable and with a sea view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a certain smell of humidity in the room. The hotel is located on the beach promenade and the area gets pretty full with people if the weather is good. That is why we found it difficult to park.

    The room was quite nice, sizeable and with a sea view. The young lady at the reception was very kind. Location wise, it is away from down town but within walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.8
    The big rooms that are in fact real flats.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 or 2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not good to check-in. No place to park well in front to drop the luggages

    The big rooms that are in fact real flats. The position at the shore. Thank you to the staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Very good beach hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 or 2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is easy to find, located very close to the beach, in a nice part of the town. The room was large and comfortable, with a mini fridge. There was a balcony with a table and a chair, very useful for hanging wet bathing suits. The bathroom also was comfortable, with a large shower box and lots of amenities. The staff was nice and gave us a room upgrade to sea view without even asking (we really appreciated it). The breakfast was a little bit expensive, but there were lots of choices both sweet and salty (but if you go after 10:00 not all the food is replaced). The parking was close and convenient. The wi-fi was very good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    A lovely hotel I would certainly book a longer stay in when next visiting this area.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, this hotel is almost perfect.

    A lovely little boutique hotel right across a minor road from the wide, sandy, beach. Rooms are very comfortable, soft beds, big pillows. Shower room is one of those fancy modern things with extra spray jets and a waterfall shower head - just awesome.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.1
    Great modern style hotel in a good beachfront location in a pleasant resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much - no bar or restaurant in the hotel. The photo on the Booking.com app is misleading, it is not the hotel! This caused an issue when we were looking for the property.

    The balcony sea view, modern bathroom, good size bedroom, comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.6
    A great friendly and value for money hotel in Getxo!!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1 or 2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not have enough time for two nights!!

    As always, the hotel and staff did not disappoint. This is a great value hotel, with an excellent location in Getxo. The rooms are very comfy (My upgrade was very much appreciated). Breakfast was very good, and the high point is without doubt the helpful, happy staff at the desk (Gari). We were here on business and will most definately rebook for our next trip to Bilbao from NL/GB. We certainly recommend eating at The Tamarises restaurant next door - Delightful food and Tapas!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.1
    Nice enough hotel but parking a nightmare!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was an absolute nightmare to find parking. Took us about 30 - 45 mins driving around and eventually found something about 1 km away from the hotel.

    Good location and friendly staff. Great breakfast spread.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    5.8
    Good small hotel but could do with a facelift
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a little shabby in places and there was a very unpleasant smell coming from the drains

    The staff were very helpful and friendly and spoke very good English.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    6.7
    Great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 or 2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a leak from the ceiling after a heavy rain, around 5am. The bed was wet!!! We checked out early and they paid us the money back. The receptionist at the night shift does not speak english:( The room is extremely small but has a great shower

    Great view

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.2
    Amazing stay in bilbao
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (1 or 2 adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dry air in the room because difficult to alter the heating

    Super friendly staff Breakfast buffet had a lot variety and was very good. Beach view was amazing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    10
    Superb hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (1 or 2 adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is superb Has everything Would recommend to everyone, so freindly, breakfast has superb choice and rooms and facilities are wonderful 5 star Thankyou hotel tamarises

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    6.7
    OK, but not for non-smokers!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a strong smell of cigarette smoking throughout most of the hotel, even though the hotel is supposed to be non-smoking. The hotel and rooms are otherwise clean and seem to be well maintained. To some extent the hotel is a triumph of style over function. The shower was one of the best we've ever encountered, but the design of the shower area (with a partial partition but no door as such) means that the use of the shower causes a small flood in the rest of the bathroom! And no, it's not supposed to be a wet room. Although we paid an additional charge for off-street parking, it is not really any more secure as it is just in a small area in front of the hotel but on the other side of the road and with a barrier to prevent non-payers entering. In view of the extreme smell from smoking, we would not stay here again.

    This hotel is in a beachfront location, though with views of industry across the bay. There are restaurants nearby. The area is popular and busy, but it felt safe to us. The hotel staff are particularly helpful. The breakfast buffet was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    7.1
    Dissapointing with lack of bar and restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 or 2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant mo bars and local restaurants very expensive

    The photo displayed on your site shows a large red old castle looking building however this is misleading because it's a modern glass fronted building.also it is not clear.on your site that it dies MOT have a restaurant or bar

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    5.0
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room was not suitable for two people, after a big fuss they did give us a much better room. The glass door on the bathroom made the room smelly after the loo was used. IWe would not want to stay there again. Booking.com gave a good price, but when we booked in, we found that the price had increased by 10% for vat !

    Breakfast, but no croissants

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    8.8
    Very enjoyable would certainly go again
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 or 2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two things firstly our dog was not allowed in public areas and as the restaurant was a separate building made it difficult had to put her in the car Secondly wonderful breakfast on our first morning but had to order on second day as their were few people for breakfast but they did supply a reasonable meal

    The location was brilliant especially as we had our dog Lots of good walking The staff were very friendly and helpful when we found out our ferry was cancelled they helped us so much checking routes to the port we needed to get to and letting us keep our room for the night

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel, perfect
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 or 2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A tiny silly thing really but it would have been helpful to have a coat hook in the room (other than just the wardrobe)

    The Location of the hotel and the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff - particularly Santi

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    8.8
    You won't regret staying there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 or 2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms can be cleaner, walls are a bit thin, bathroom heater was not working (only AC heater) but it was end of February. Bathroom privacy if you're not a couple can be an issue given the glass bathroom door. Rooms are a bit small.

    Great location, fantastic staff, free bicycles!! Really good and delicious breakfast (even better than some 5 star hotel breakfasts!), Affordable, and again, what a lovely location. We enjoyed every second of our stay and we'll come back again soon.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    6.7
    Short and sweet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 or 2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was a bit hit and miss,luckier enough found a space close by.The standard rooms no space or outlook.

    Booked standard room which would have been dire,moved by management to a superior room which was very comfortable.The breakfast was superb with much variety.The reception staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    10
    A great hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Getaway
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was great. This hotel (and I guess the whole chain) goes the extra effort to help a guest enjoy their stay. The rooms with an ocean view are just fabulous. Comfortable bed, quiet room. Excellent wi-fi. Good breakfast and assistance if needed. We had booked the romantic package and it was a nice little special touch. A special thank you to Karmele Abarrategui (the General Manager) and Maria and Laura on reception.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    9.2
    Great location, all you need by the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 or 2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only BUT would be the mattress (not very firm; maybe a bit old) and the lack of a capuccinatore to foam the milk at breakfast. However, there was hot milk.

    Right opposite the beach; 10 min walk up a hill or taking an elevator right to the city centre. Very helpful and friendly staff; very attentive personnel when they noticed I was sick with a bad cold. Quiet room as I had asked for. Spacious room and bathroom. Good selection at breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    8.8
    Very good small and friendly hotel on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 or 2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Comfortable hotel with good facilities and friendly helpful staff. As they had rooms available with views of the beach they gave us two of these for no extra charge.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    9.6
    November stopover for Ferry Crossing to UK
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 or 2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Satellite English TV Channels in room. Restaurant was a separate basis from hotel & had to travel outside hotel & walk next door. Direct access would have been better as Weather was bad while there.

    pet friendly with pet bed & feeding bowls in room a nice extra touch. Directly across the road from the beach. Local free parking outside hotel on a first come basis, this was not a problem due to time of year.Used hotel as an overnight stop before getting ferry from bilboa to Plymouth. suited needs perfectly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    10
    Great Hotel in Getxo, Bilbao. Highly recommended!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 or 2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heating at night was pumping hot, too much for me, but I did not see how I could switch it down so I opened the window for most of the night. Not a big deal! Also breakfast does not start until 7.30am so a bit of a pain for the business traveller that needs to leave earlier. However, they offer a take away breakfast which is basically a take away coffee and a biscuit or croissant, so at least you do not need to leave with an empty stomach!

    I liked many things about this hotel, great location, super attentive reception staff, loved the deco and the room, bed very comfy, bathroom beautiful with massage shower, breakfast good with lots of variety. This is a lovely, lovely hotel in a great spot of Getxo, I would highly recommend it.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    10
    Beautiful view of beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 or 2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rental car did not have GPS & we kept getting lost coming back to hotel. This was not the hotel's fault!

    Santi & Iruna were so patient & helpful! Location was fabulous! Great view from the room balcony. Food at restaurant was very good. Alicia

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were allowed to bring our bicycles upstairs to the balcony in our bedroom, this was good but storage downstairs would have been even better.

    Reception staff extremely helpful, breakfast expensive but delicious.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    10
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1 or 2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only stayed for one night and did not have breakfast. However, if it is as good as the rest of the hotel facilities I am sure it will be wonderful. The seaview location is perfect to walk along the beach and explore the fabulous fishermens' cobbled village.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    Perfect for our purposes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room Interior ( 4 Adults )
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room had no windows.

    Room was clean and modern

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    The rooms were comfortable and clean.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1 or 2 adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We have no complain.

    The rooms were comfortable and clean. The breakfast was variated. The staff was welcoming and friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel and veey kind staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    Location friendly staff and pleasant breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location friendly staff and pleasant breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast too basic and expensive

    Comfort

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.3
    Paid €400 for nice seaview room but did not include breakfast. Expensive for 3 star hotel which was
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception dirty and needs decoration

    Good location close to beach

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice balcon in front of the see and beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive.

    Nice balcon in front of the see and beach. Wonderfull breakfast. Very confortable bed. Nice staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    beach was the only if as there were not allowed for dogs but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    beach was the only if as there were not allowed for dogs but i manage to take my bog and stay just at the edge of the beach by the wall

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    4.2
    Not happy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 or 2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    noise from other clients.

    The breakfist

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    The beaches and the coast nearby are marvellous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beaches and the coast nearby are marvellous!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    Super staff at the Petit Palace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1 or 2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super staff at the Petit Palace.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Tea and Coffee Kettle not in room would of made the stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tea and Coffee Kettle not in room would of made the stay even better

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: