Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hipotels Hipocampo Playa 4 stars

Avenida Sa Coma, s/n, 07560 Cala Millor, Spain

#7 of 37 hotels in Cala Millor

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 450 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    3.3
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old structure, the interior was with old forniture, the bed was hard and uncomfortable. Two separate beds for a couple. You had to pay if you wanted to use the safe in the room... ridiculous in a 4 star hotel that charge you 250 euro per night. Not worth the money!!! The area is not the best, there is nothing to do, the beast beach are around 45/55 minutes drive, same for restaurants.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    RELAXING MINI VACATION
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaints.

    I was there last week for a mini trip and the staff were amazing and so supportive. The hotel was stunning and the rooms are always kept immaculate. I loved the location as it was right on the doorstep of the beach and local restaurants close by.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Great Hotel in a Great Resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One small complaint is that the man at reception did not tell me that I could get an early breakfast, when he gave me my shuttle pickup time of 5.50 am, the previous afternoon. ☹️

    Cleanliness, comfort, staff, location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.2
    Shame about spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The other guests were naked in the sauna! And wandering around naked by the pool. Made me very uncomfortable the one time i went. The jacuzzi was a bit cold and indoor pool very small. All the tv channels were german.

    Great food, very comfortable, staff were lovely. Nice cocktails at reasonable prices. Lovely views.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    I spent beautiful time in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -

    Hipotels Hipocampo Playa is beautiful 4* hotel in Cala Millor. This hotel has a very good location close to the beach. Hotel room with balcony was very clean, comfortable and had lovely view on the sea. I was very surprised with restaurant. There was a huge selection of food. Food was very delicious and I really liked food styling. This luxurious hotel belong to the more expensive hotels but if you like quality, comfort, professional service and good food I recommend it for you.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    5.8
    Enjoyable but would not return in Winter due to nothing open. Had nice flat promenade to walk
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too hot in Dining room, need Air Con Lifts busy so wait a while sometimes My mum fell on marble stairs due to banister ending suddenly so she missed a stair

    Nice hotel. Good selection of Breakfast choices. Fairly easy access with wheelchair

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing.

    Excellent hotel. Perfect for a relaxing stay. Fantastic selection of food, all well cooked and presented. Staff were attentive, but not intrusive. They welcomed their guests and wanted them to be catered for.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Excellent accommodation, facilities and staff and food was outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Evening entertainment was a bit limited, but this is to be expected at this time of year.

    Excellent food selection and quality. Very friendly staff, particularly with my elderly father. Good rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.8
    Not a great choice for me
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The other guests. All German, mainly older and lots smoked

    Lovely room, with a fantastic sea view. Unfortunately I couldn’t sit on the balcony much thanks to my neighbours chain smoking. The staff were all lovely but addressed me in German all the time

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Great hotel and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet dinners were okay except for the fact that the food was over cooked in most cases, especially the roasted meat. Be careful with choice of restaurants as at the first two I tried, the food was inedible. In one case at Sa Caleta restaurant the steak was rotten, they asked if I wanted a replacement, but by then I'd lost my appetite I was not charged for the meal. In another case I was served prawns that were mushy .I could not eat them but was still charged. Didn't take note of the name of the restaurant unfortunately. On the last night of my stay I found a perfect place that was recommended by the hotel reception staff, and only one hundred metres from my hotel. Don't go by reviews alone, ask reception staff for recommendations.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.2
    Great stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Have stayed before and returned as the hotel is in a good position for visiting the area. Staff always helpful and the rooms are comfortable and clean. Lovely restaurant with a very good selection of buffet style food for breakfast and evening meal. Nice outside seating area and there is an outdoor pool. Rooms that overlook the nature reserve are good for a nice view.The hotel is just a short walking distance from the main resort centre so away from most of the noise and it is a nice flat stroll along the front of the resort. Lovely sandy beach opposite hotel. Parking is in the surrounding streets so will be more of a challenge in high season. The walk or cycle to nearby Sa Coma and then back through the nature reserve is worth doing.Good for out of high season visits as there are still places open. Will be returning again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    6.7
    Caters mainly for Germans, food and entertainment mainly for Germans. Also food not warm enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I appreciate it is a Hotel catering dominantly for Germans. Unfortunately, there was little or no consideration for other nationalities. The TV in the lounge presenting Spanish and German football was in German. Why not in Spanish? I am of neither nationality but am in Spain therefore commentary could have been in Spanish to cater for all. The TV in rooms cater for mainly German. Even when leaving the Hotel, we were ignored by one of the staff who proceeded to serve a couple who arrived after us! They were German. Neither acknowledged the fact that we had been waiting for some time before. I would like to confirm, I am not prejudiced against any particular nationality and have visited Cala Millor on several occasions without such blatant preference toward a particular nationality. Due to this, I will not be visiting this Hotel again and would recommend that it only caters for Germans.

    Christina at Reception was especially helpful .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    8.8
    Lovely short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar tends to close very early so if you go out for the evening or for dinner you cannot have a drink in the bar on your return.

    Staff are wonderful. Polite and courteous. Very good choice at breakfast and dinner. Indoor pool and jacuzzi were lovely. Ideally situated by the beach and close to shops and bars!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    9.6
    Winter escape
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Just would like to have a tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    Nearly everything was just perfect! Location is excellent. Just a few minutes by walk to the beach and a few more to reach the center of Calla Millor. Many places for car parking available just a few steps away. All rooms have balcony and face the sea which is really great. My room was very clean, modern, spacious and well equipped. Wi-Fi is free and fast, good reception. Breakfast buffet selection was exceptionally good, outstanding! Highly recommended! I’ll definitely visit this hotel again in near future.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    9.6
    Very nice hotel in front of the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking Dinner until 9pm only which is very early, especially we reach the hotel at 8.15pm. Breakfast starts only at 8am which is late, we had to leave at 8.15am....

    Very nice room in front of the sea

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    10
    Winter break made special by this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was weak where we were on the 5th floor and wasn't that great in other parts of the building.

    The food selection at both breakfast and dinner was fantastic. There were plenty of attentive staff even though this was winter time.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entertainment not great but it was out of season. Very much focused on the German guests which of course were the majority.

    Breakfast buffet selection was exceptionally good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    6.3
    lost our loyalty after staying on 4 previous years
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having my credit card activated but each time we used our room card at the bar we were told to go to reception to pay for our drinks. Totally spoiled our relaxation . Aircon heating did not work, and tv remote batteries needed replacing ing

    The good wintertime value for money

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    9.6
    Great value winter break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prefer more space between tables in the dining room and would like tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms

    Location is excellent and buffet extensive

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    9.6
    Excellent value for money and comfort in this mainly German hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were very hard ....and my husband and I both like a firm bed. So if we think a bed is hard, then it must be quite a pronounced feature ! The tables at breakfast and dinner are very close together. We were seated uncomfortably close to another couple, even though there were plenty of more private / solitary tables available.

    The hotel was very comfortable, at the quiet end of town. It takes about a 15 minutes to walk along the promenade from the hotel into the centre of Cala Millor. We had a room on the 6th / top floor with a balcony & a sea view and a bath which we had specifically requested (most rooms have a walk-in shower). The buffet at both breakfast and dinner was vast and the food good quality. Wine in the restaurant is sensibly priced. Wi-Fi is free and fast and there is plenty of free car parking around the hotel. We will definitely visit this hotel again in the spring or autumn so we can enjoy the beautiful beach which it fronts on to.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    7.5
    Great hotel, breakfast and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night staff not up to standard. Left do not disturb sign on door but still had sleep broken by reception calling if I wanted room cleaning.

    Great breakfast. Right next to the beach. Lots of shops nearby.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    10
    Everything one could wish for and more
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has no parking so it can be tricky finding a spot, especially in the evening.

    Very friendly welcome, room modern, clean and with every amenity. Bathroom very modern and well equipoed, best shower I have had in years. Outstanding breakfast with more variety of items than one could imagine, good quality too. Excellent WiFi, good sized television, indoor and outdoor pools with Sauna and turkish bath. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    8.3
    The restaurant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cold breakfast (which should be hot). People getting into lifts from sauna and not smelling nice.

    The restaurant staff. Very friendly and helpful. Very good rooms and clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    9.2
    the food was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Supper was from 6 to 9pm. We would have liked this to have been extended until 10pm as we normally eat later at home 8.30-9pm. It would have also meant we would have been given more time to come back later to the hotel after the afternoon out.

    the food was amazing! So much to choose from and all delicious

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    not many english people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    no sun beds on the beach

    not many english people

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Exceeded my expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We were there on a golf tour, and everything was first class. The choices at both breakfast and dinner were brilliant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    Great food and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff food and room of a very high quality

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.9
    Satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bread, sausages, bacon, healthy fresh juice and cakes

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.8
    Great value for money, nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were lots of unsupervised kids at the Spa area not using the facilities as designed.

    Great value for money, nice breakfast. Very kind staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    One of the best hotel restaurants that I've ever seen,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the best hotel restaurants that I've ever seen, with good food selection and day-to-day diversity.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Amazing time at Hipocampos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing time at Hipocampos. The staff was absolutely lovely.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    6.7
    Overall a good stay. Good location if you book a sea view room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa too small. Water cold in indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi. Tables in restaurant too close together.

    Views. Comfy beds. Good food. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Location, facilities, super-nice staff
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location, facilities, super-nice staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and staff

    Wonderful food and we’ve never been to a hotel where ALL the staff are so super friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    All the staff were helpful, friendly & made us feel very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the staff were helpful, friendly & made us feel very welcome.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel 👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea facilities in room

    Could not control room temp ourselves

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel with ambience and personality
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean rooms, ample space and furnishing and very neat and clean bathroom. So close to a very nice beach too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Sea view, friendly staff, cleaniless

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    10
    Just all perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just all perfect ...personal..food..service..room..absolutelly cool

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    6.7
    Not really Spanish, therefore disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not international enough. If your idea of entertainment is Bingo in German then this is the place for you!

    Good choice on menu

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    9.2
    Winter break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very clean. Lovely balcony and sea view. Long opening times for restaurant. Parking in local streets was abundant.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    7.5
    Stayed there with my family and we had very nice time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Concerege was not very friendly and helpful.

    Location, comfort & food were excellent

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    9.6
    The beds were very comfortable and very modern decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is more of a german guest hotel which is not a problem but the tv in the rooms were not set for any english stations which we would have liked

    The beds were very comfortable and very modern decor. Pool area was clean and plenty of beds and food was great with plenty of choice.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    7.9
    Ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not ideal for a solo traveller.

    Ideal location. All rooms face the sea which is great. Rooms are modern, clean and spacious. Breakfasts are the best I have had in any five star hotel in the world.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    7.9
    Beachside location is very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Twins instead of double beds Waiting staff in restaurant could have been more polite More focused on German clientele

    Beachside location is very good Very clean Great views Slippers and bathrobe supplied is a nice touch

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    5.8
    Location was hood
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I booked a double room. They do not have any. I am very tall and make a point of booking double beds when I can. They have two single beds pushed together. My feet dangle over the end and it is not comfortable. They offered me double sheets!? They blamed Booking.com for the error. Also they have sheets and blankets, not duvets!! Also although the hotel was pretty empty, as it was February they gave me a room right at the back of the hotel. The worst possible view, furthest from the sea.

    Location was hood

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    10
    Clean and large room with fantastic ocean view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amenity (shampoo and bath gel) was never refilled as the rule of this hotel. No hot water making device in room (we had to ask the hotel bar to obtain hot water). Wine in the restaurant was twice more expensive than the market price.

    Clean and large room with fantastic ocean view. Easy car-parking around the hotel. Great selection (much greater than expected!) of dinner and breakfast dishes. Good shower and bath facility. Friendly staffs. If we come back to Mallorca, this hotel would be the first choice.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    10
    Very nice & comfortable hotel with a perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very nice & comfortable hotel with a perfect location! Very friendly & helpful staff. Rich & of good quality breakfast & dinner! Very is a good children playground in hotel also you can find several along the beach. If you rent a car you can easily find a public place near the hotel - free of charge! Near the National park of dunes - must be visited!

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    9.6
    The luxurious room with front sea view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was a little hard. The pool area is a little small.

    The luxurious room with front sea view. The large shower. The large variety and quality of breakfast. Towel loans for a small deposit which are changed daily. Free drink on arrival.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    10
    Well trained staff, excellent service , spotless hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cala Millor itself is v over developed - good thing is that the hotel is at the quiet end

    Well trained staff, excellent service , spotless hotel. Good prices at bar etc. and reasonable food - could label better for vegetarian and improve veg options

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    7.5
    +Magnificent views from the top floor looking out over the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -Noise from the hallway in the rooms -Buffet dinner had limited offerings -Table setting in restaurant was a bit odd - only 10 cm between our table and our neighour's

    +Magnificent views from the top floor looking out over the medditerranean +No-hassle registration and checkout

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    9.2
    Reception staff, cleaners, breakfast, cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    more English speaking tv channels

    Reception staff, cleaners, breakfast, cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    9.6
    Traditionel Spanish food at buffet was very good, not just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Traditionel Spanish food at buffet was very good, not just international.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    10
    Good Hotel with a high priority for cleanliness and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good Hotel with a high priority for cleanliness and good food All the staff were more than helpful

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    10
    The hotel is clean with good facilities and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is clean with good facilities and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    10
    food and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    only one bus from palma to cala millor. Bus 412 which takes roughly 2 hours.

    food and location

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    9.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cleaneness

    Location

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    9.6
    High standard throughout.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As above

    High standard throughout. Not many British guests was downside

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    9.2
    Wonderful hotel facilities with very friendly and helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wonderful hotel facilities with very friendly and helpful staff. Extremely well presented and spotlessly clean.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    7.9
    ...friendly staff (helpful Max), tasty food, nice view,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    ...waiting time for lift :-)

    ...friendly staff (helpful Max), tasty food, nice view, possibility to rent electrobikes- a lot of fun....

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    8.8
    Made very welcome on arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Made very welcome on arrival. Help with bag offered immediately. Check in was completed efficiently. Room was lovely and clean and well presented.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    9.2
    Excellent sea view in most rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Long waiting times for elevator at peak times.

    Excellent sea view in most rooms. Good choice of food at breakfast and dinner.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    9.6
    The food choice and quality was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food choice and quality was very good. Spacious room.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Browse Hipotels Hipocampo Playa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: