Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Portomagno 4 stars

Paseo Marítimo, S/N, 04720 Aguadulce, Spain

#12 of 24 hotels in Aguadulce

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1804 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable stay and would stay again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast cooked food was cold and Bacon under cooked. Variety was very good though. plenty of choice. Disappointed on the evening meal. Our paperwork quoted 15 euros per head, we were CHARGED 18 EUROS per head. Took it up with reception who would not budge on price.

    comfortable spacious room. Our Dog was made welcome, given treats at reception on arrival.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you wake up at aroind 8-8.30 as in holiday , breakfast is quite cold. Would be great for cold nights to have a blanket in the dressing. We didn't have a phone to ring reception , and we had to find international channels on tv

    The position of the room... brilliant sunrise. Receptionist who welcome us was very nice and the coffee

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    4.4
    never will we stay there again.there are no dietary foods for diabetics,all you can have is bread ac
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast just awful,juice was like water,tasteless. Every day it was cold,even if you went at 8am.breakfast was cold. Balcony was filthy and scruffy.the towelrail was broken,paint flaking of and needed brushing and never got done. We booked a twi bedded room and did not get one. When one returns to the hotel in the evening the noise that greeted you was deafening,coming from the entertainment area. Bar and lounge area is very poor.not enough seating considering the size of the place.

    Good bed and nice view. Plenty lifts.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel in excellent location location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea or Pool View (2 Adult + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The restaurant was in poor condition NO mantequilla on 05/10/2019 that should never ever happen, nobody in charge to talk to about this or anything else.

    The bedroom was excellent with good sea view

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    6.7
    made the best of it .. definitely not 4 star !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated needs upgrade. Catering awful ! Limited choice .. same every day and always cold !!

    Fab location ! Friendly staff . Large comfortable room .

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.6
    Great food, good fun for kids and adults alike and very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In the Junior Suite (room 538) there was a locked double door which obviously had some sort of generator behind it. This was quite noisy at certain points during the night and emitted a fair amount of heat through the crack and we had to keep the air con on full to counter it. The only bad point about the room. Our daughter is coeliac and they catered OK for her, but I would worry about cross contamination. Was quite shocked that the chef was frying eggs and crepes on the same hot plate, using the same implements for both, and so there was no way I could give my child a fried egg which she would have liked. Please bear in mind these two complaints are extremely specific - for one particular room and for gluten free - it doesn't in any way spoil our extremely positive experience.

    The facilities were excellent. We were very pleasantly surprised that drinks were free at all meals - never had that before! The Mini Club girls were excellent and very friendly and talented. The selection of food was amazing at all mealtimes, a fantastic selection of all types of food, and very healthy too. It very rarely ran out, although we were slightly off-season. The room was of a very good quality and the staff at reception were very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    3.8
    Never ever again...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place is the worst we have stayed at. I admit it was in mid-August and a late booking for one night on a road trip. But charging 200 Euros for a place dirty like this is a robbery. The bathroom was so dirty that we didn’t even want to take a shower. The bathrooms at German motorways are cleaner. The coffee at breakfast was worse than American. The bread was old, and the environment is like a train station. We could have taken this if it would have been 60-80 Euros, but for 200 we felt they screwed us big time. Anyone liking this place must be blind (no offence to blind people) lost his ability to taste anything or has never stayed at a real hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.8
    The location is the best, just across the street to go to playa and chiringuito...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water in the room...Have to pay €20 for the safe plus €15 deposit. The elevator is so slow...The breakfast is so noisy like a cantine...There are churros but one day no chocolate...We paid for half pension for 7 night but we ate only 1 night, not happy because too noisy...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    4.2
    I would not go back
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is 'tired' the floor was coming away and he bathroom door kept sticking shut...the frame was rotten No tea coffee facilities in room Food was always cold

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.8
    Swimming pools
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was dull. The room had not been hoovered, but staff were very cooperative when told. The hotel has an overall run down appearance.

    Swimming pools

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    Evening buffet food excellent, wine and beer included in the half board package.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Massive queues at times to check in, we waited twenty five minutes to check in upon arrival only two people ahead of us, it would have been helpful if the one girl manning the desk had been given some help.

    Good value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Nice, comfort, free parking, free wifi, nice swimpools, great various food in buffet, sea view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 12 nights

    A lot of free parking around hotel in a town. We had Wifi on 8th floor...but hotel didn't promise at all. 5 nice swimpools. Our windows where on a sea and we slept with sounds of waves with sea breeze. Good food in a buffet- we had breakfast and dinner- both full and very various. Nice hotel, nice clean rooms, nice pools. Room cleaning everyday. First day of arrival we were late for dinner after 10pm and it was organized a cold dinner for us- it's was absolutely beautiful and very various and quiet big! Very friendly staff! Many thanks for great holiday!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    REALY ENJOYED OUR TIME THERE.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    UP ON FLOOR 13, MAIN LIFTS ONLY GO TO 12. HAD TO USE SMALL LIFTS, WIFE NOT TO HAPPY.BUT THIS IS ONLY A NIGGLE.

    ROOM. FOOD. POOLS. STAFF. LOCATION, ALL GREAT. WILL GO BACK AGAIN. GREAT HOTEL. BOTTLES OF WINE & WATER ON TABLE AT DINNER. NOW THAT IS CLASS !!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.9
    Bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was shockingly awful. We were in a nice room, but I have heard that others need updating. Ideal hotel if you are over 70.

    Bed was comfortable... good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    this hotel offers extreme value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the hotel was amazing.. we found the surrounding areas quite boring.. this is very much a relaxing holiday

    this hotel offers extreme value for money.. excellent and plentiful food.. great facilities..excellent relaxation

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable and relaxing just minor problems as outlined.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dining room staff and three times when we had gone to the buffet for our next course, we returned to find our table had been cleared of our drinks and they were resetting for other guests.This was most upsetting. The food was often cold on the buffet but we were able to use the microwave. Sometimes the choice of food was poor and the show cooking every time they cooked fish the chef just threw it in a pile as though he could not care about it. Very poor service from the chefs.

    The room was very good and sea view as agreed. The reception staff was very very welcoming and most helpful and efficient. Excellent location. Staff in the dining room not friendly. The Happy Team were fantastic and the entertainment was very good they do a fantastic job with children too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    3.8
    98% of all guest are old people!! And hotel is like from 90's
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was rain, and everywhere was leaking water, all reception vas fool of bukets... Didint work phone in room. Food was terible!! I never come back to this hotel, and if you thinking to stay there?? Dont do this!! Becouse you will disapointet 100%

    Good beds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    Good stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening entertainment was rubbish, but boy did we have a laugh!!!

    All was good for a 1 night stopover, great value for money, and a top location with excellent views of the beach. Dining was a bit chaotic but the food was ecxe9.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    6.3
    It is a good hotel apart from little niggles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The leek from the room above into our shower. The bedroom floors were not swept.You had to pay extra to use the safe in the bedroom.We were not allowed a couple of ice cubes, we were told we would have to buy a bag of ice. The bar staff were not friendly or helpful. My husband is dairy intolerant, doesn't like to make a fuss but the only dessert he could have was jelly or fruit.

    The restaurant staff were amazing. The food was very variable with plenty of choices. The room was lovely, plenty of room and nice decor. The balcony and view were perfect. Plenty of space all round.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.1
    Good value for money, but be prepared for mass tourism
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too many people at the Buffet. Room located in front of lift, too much noise from children and people tallking loud

    staff at reception desk was very efficient, nice and reactive

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.3
    Excellent value for Half Board option.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The gym equipment is a bit old and some of it didn't work but everything else was great.

    The food at dinner was really good. You need to be early to get the best breakfast and dinner options. The location is perfect, right on the beach with shops and restaurants around. The rooms are nice and all have sea views.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.6
    Last minute break which was good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed something like baked beans or tinned tomatoes at breakfast to add variety and a toaster that didn’t take three attempts to brown the bread and at least ten minutes to do.

    Asked to change rooms as we were put in a room at the far end from the lifts and my wife cannot walk far. This was willingly done by the reception staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.2
    Nice Sea Front Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is good but not easy to find on GPS. GPS brought us the back of the hotel and no name of the hotel on the back of the building, so we went around and around by the car.

    Buffet

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.8
    Nice location but it's an old hotel. Should be renovated.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is old and not kept up to date enough. It's time for a renovation of the whole hotel.

    Location of the hotel is great, right at the beach.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.9
    Three days of total relaxation by the sea with a lovely beach, promenade and marina close by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the staff were so friendly and helpful. Lovely large bedroom. En-suite shower was large and well thought out. Plenty of mirrors, towels and very clean. Balcony and view over pools and sea. Great wifi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    Would higly recomend worth all 4 STARS!!!!!!!.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We only had 4 nights but all 3of us really enjoyed this adventure XL.

    rather large bed staff very attentive and polite hotel well situated would recommend plenty of variety at meal times.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.3
    Stayed here for a 3 night break on half-board basis.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At the buffet dinner the ready prepared hot food and the hot food being prepared by the Chef was all in the same line, therefore, there was a needless queue by many people who may have only wanted ready prepared food but were blocked by those waiting for the Chef. The separate salad/cold entree bar was excellent.

    Stayed here for a 3 night break on half-board basis.No problem with parking which was directly outside the Hotel ( however, we didn't move it during those 3 days )Our room, overlooking the sea and swimming pools was clean and comfortable with a balcony. Buffet breakfast and Dinner was certainly adequate for most tastes.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    7.5
    Location, 4 pools, balcony with sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated, busy hotel

    Location, 4 pools, balcony with sea view

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    10
    Everythung was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everythung was perfect. 5 swing pool, but 5meters to beach. Lots of foods, music program, eveything fine

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    Amazing staff and a great location
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea or Pool View (2 Adult + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine

    Amazing staff and a great location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is an ideal place to chill out just steps away from the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening entertainment was poor

    The bedroom was lovely and large with comfy beds and nice views

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    4.2
    Location great. Facilities and Hotel Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired shabby rooms. Poor facilities. No Wi Fi or any English TV channels.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    8.3
    Fine stay. Recommend for max 3 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I recommend special materials in ceilung to reduce noise in restaurant. It was madhouse

    Nice room. Good views

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    8.8
    Excellent weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was a bit monotonous. Not enough red meat Lack of variety of walks along promenade area.

    Excellent weather

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Gem of a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like about it.

    I liked the location,the food,the cleanliness and the size of the bedroom with an excellent shower.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    Very relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfy beds

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    3.8
    Hotel needs manteinance not a 4 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No manteinance at all. Dirty hotel and rooms. Broken phone, door, tables and windows. Expensive and the staff was not friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location right across from beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to get tv fixed took two days

    Great location right across from beach. Receptionist was very helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    3.1
    never reserve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no romantic crowd soundly very old massive breakfast with low quality meals and tables

    nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value for money and a great hotel for a family holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some areas of the hotel (steep stairs up the pool for example) could be a danger to young children.

    The food was good and plenty of variety.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing i didn't like

    Very comfortable and clean for a large hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough lifts, we were on the 8th floor,

    Food very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garage parking and cost of parking

    Great location easy to access

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    View from the room was brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very poor

    View from the room was brilliant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.3
    Old but adequate.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult staff. Old approach to service.

    Old but adequate. Food terrible. Lifts slow and out of sync.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    6.7
    Vien
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    La comida regular

    En general todo vien

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.5
    lovely short break but wished the food was better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food was awful!

    location to the beach and facilities. Staff great and hotel clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    5.4
    Normal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Demasiado calor en el restaurante

    La bebida gratis en el restaurante

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    4.2
    no volveria a este hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    todo en general

    buffet pésimo para un hotel de 4 estrellas,, aire acondicionado insuficiente, falta de ascensores.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.9
    Not sure if I would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Large hotel. Very impersonal greeting.

    The proximity to the beach . The half board breakfast and dinner inclusive.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.5
    Reported broken patio lock on patio window 3 times.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reported broken patio lock on patio window 3 times. Never got fixed. But overall we had a good time.

    Stayed in June 2017

There are also 32 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: