Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Hydros Boutique Spa & Wellness 4 stars

Avendida del Sol, PK 215.6, 29630 Benalmádena, Spain

#57 of 238 hotels in Benalmádena

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 137 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    dressings gowns in bedrooms especially with hot tubs....perhaps a teas/coffee maker in rooms.....and maybe a small step for hot tub as a little high to climb in

    the evening dinner was excellent both evenings.....hot tub lovely....staff very pleasant and helpful......beautiful sea views......lovely pool area....very peaceful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints really , however as constructive criticism we would have liked a kettle in the room and bathrobes to have been provided for the hot tub.

    Spacious, private balcony hot tub , privacy, friendly staff, excellent views . We will definitely be back soon!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of water cooler drinks and food a little expensive

    Beautiful hotel , fabulous views and facilities. Food a little expensive so are drinks . You can use other hotel facilities only fault is that it’s a bit away so it’s a taxi to where you want to go otherwise highly recommend and would go back in a heartbeat

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard uncomfortable bed. We had dinner one night in the restaurant which was not good. Waiter asked if we wanted our fish rare, medium or well done! Potatoes were from freezer, still frozen when they served them.

    Very nice relaxing hotel, nice suite with hot tub on terrace, beautiful views, lovely wellness area and friendly staff , pool with few people.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave to come home!

    The hotel was first class from the minute we walked through the door. The staff were all so friendly, hotel clean and tidy and quiet for a great relaxing break.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's hard to reach - if you use navigator (you should go through the territory of two other hotel (the same group of hotels)/ But when you are there - you will never want to leave))) Butick hotel with jakuzzi on every balkony, excellent food and fantastic SPA

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need more options on the bar snack menu. Only 4 options. Especially when out of season most of the restaurants in the next door hotel were closed. Had to keep using the bar snack menu for dinners and the restaurant is more for fine dining and no options for just a normal meal. The restaurant was completely empty but we still had to sit on the chairs in reception to eat from the bar snack menu for dinner. The charge for the spa is 15 Euros for 90 mins however being a spa and wellness hotel guests should be free or at least 1 session free?! All staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the beach club is free to use. really clean hotel and free bus down the hill is good. Very relaxing just need more food options.

    Nice and peaceful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is continental only; would have expected hot food and Cava. Limited choice of food. Dinner was disappointing; quality and quantity didn't match price. Spa needs some TLC i.e cracked and stained windows, bits of tiles loose inside pool. Loose broken tiles on room balcony step; cut my tow. Hot tub on balcony very temperamental and was set up too hot. Location is a bit out of the way and taxi needed for most journeys.

    Staff was excellent. Building itself is beautiful with tasteful decore. Very secure place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The facilities and the room were quite old and very much used. The hotel urgently needs to be refreshed as many things are excessively used and broken in the room. We only tried the breakfast which was mediocre. The staff was kind and helpful with the exception of the manager who was aggressive, rude and made a nice presentation of his muscles (literally) as we had an argument with him. He was at least not professional, couldn't really help it with his temper and spoiled our experience.

    Excellent outdoor swimming pool with view and comfortable sun beds. Nice bar by the pool as well, but unfortunately it was closed for most of the day. The views from where the breakfast is served, is pretty impressive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Spa Access
    • Stayed 7 nights

    minor points: noise coming from the 2 other big hotels close by but luckily it stops after 11.30PM. we had an overbooking issue but the hotel manager dealt with it efficiently and everything was great afterwards.

    It was exactly what we were looking for: quiet, nice view on the sea, very clean, personnel very helpful. The spa at the hotel is great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Spa Access
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Location. Out in the sticks. Closer to Fuengirola then Balamadena. you need to bus or taxi to both. Cavajel was in walking distance and had great restaurants & bars. Try Marinos Jose and Marinos Pacos & Oasis.

    Wonderful hotel. Great service, really comfy. Only 28 rooms which meant plenty of room by the pool. had daybeds. Total relaxation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our children were on holiday with their grandparents staying at PlayaBonita hotel, our children came to visit us at the Holiday Hydros for lunch and an overnight stay in the hotel. The hotel staff did not make us aware that we would be charged 30£ per child each time they visited us in the hotel, even if they did not stay or use the facilities. When we were checking out we were hit with an unexpected bill of 285£ for the times that our children visited. Staff member, Manuel who worked at reception was extremely rude and stated it was not his problem, it is ours also, in front of other hotel residents he repeated that he would call the police if we could not afford the extra charges. My husband and I missed our flight due to this and waited for money to be transferred from America to pay the unexpected bill. Worst experience ever, rude staff a total embarrassment.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Isolated location. Beside beach but with no access to beach (long walk through compound) No restaurants within walking distance, no food available to buy in hotel throughout the afternoon. Not much atmosphere or furniture around pool. Beds very hard. We left behind some cards (transit, ATM) by accident and management would not post them to Ireland: surprisingly unhelpful.

    Pleasant reception and restaurant staff. Jacuzzi on balcony. Nice breakfast room, sea view.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Website gave the impression close to beach and the hotel was a long way down to sea level Breakfast poor ran out of bread rolls and tea bags two mornings out of four ( continental b/fast) pool bar closed for the sason so spoiling the idea of lazy days by the pool. End result will not be returning

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast - Not much choice, gets a bit boring after several days.

    Private hot tub on the balcony. Extra large bed. Separate living space. Nice quiet luxury pool area Big wardrobe space Big bathroom with toiletries View of the sea

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The one and only thing I could possibly find a negative about, though trivial and down to personal choice, would be that there is no kettle in the suites, although you can get a tea / coffee from the bar / reception, I would prefer to have the facility in the room to put the kettle on and make a coffee as soon as I wake up in the morning. But, as I say, this is a personal choice negative and should not reflect upon the hotel at all.

    We like pretty much everything about this hotel, if you want to get away from it all and relax this place is perfect. For my wife and I it was our Honeymoon, and we couldn't have chosen better. Close enough to everything if you want more life, taxi or bus is very reasonably priced, train is a short (15 minute) walk away and has a very good and regular service between Fuengirola and Malaga which stops at Carvajal (the local station). After making my booking for this Hotel I looked at reviews on a couple of sites, and read quite a few negative reviews, which even as reading many of them I found petty, but, having now been and stayed 5 nights at Holiday Hydros the best advice I can give anyone is to totally ignore all the negative reviews, one popular negative seemed to be about the breakfast. In our opinion, these are totally unfounded complaints, considering this is quite a small hotel we found the breakfast choice to be outstanding and we had a much better choice than we expected, and I must point out it wasn't just the choice but the quality of the food was good too. This goes for the Restaurant too, a great choice and quality, yes its a little more expensive than along the promenade in one of the many bars / restaurants, but the quality and service is worth it, and you also have probable close to the best views possible. All in all, we had a great stay and really enjoyed staying here and will, when our travel plans allow definitely book to come here again, probably will be a couple of years before we return, but I will have no hesitation in booking again or to recommending this hotel to friends.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a period in the day that no hotel in the resort provides a facility to eat food.

    The staff were exceptionally friendly, like, seemed they were doing more than what their job actually entails.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening dinner was low quality, absolutely not worth the 4 stars rating of the hotel. Tried a lot of different meals, only a few of them were okay in my opinion. Wellness facilities were dirty, turkish steamer smelled very bad, finnish sauna wasn't even working. Green molds between the joints all over the Spa. Ants having a dinner on the food plate. Surely not worth the 18 euros. Rest of the hotel: lot of inferior materials. In our room several things were loose/broken. Crew tried to be friendly but most of them didn't make a professional impression.

    Swimming Pool, view over ocean, jacuzzi were really nice. Also the dining room was a nice and calm place.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The railway is just at the back, so you hear all the trains and the entertaining from the family resorts around. not good if you want to relax. also some appliances were a bit wobbly

    The decor is good and the staff is very friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The choice of food wasn't great and there were no shops or restaurants at a walking distance you had to get a bus to go do anything. the wifi wasn't great either

    The hotel was beautiful really nice rooms and the hot tubs were an added bonus, the staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Spa Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaner's should be sacked, little black flys and ants crawling in the bathroom, the floors were very unhygenic, our bed was only changed twice in 7 days and our towles were actually re folded and put back in the bathroom on one specific occasion. The items used from the vanity kit was not replaced in the whole week. Not to mention the beds, my goodness, rock solid no comfort and the only way we could sleep was by actually putting the pillows on the bed and lying on top of them. Very very poor. Same items each morning for breakfast no change for the week no hot food and its all self service. No close restaurant shops etc nearby at all very out of the way!! NB:Plan your trip!! Hotel is situated in holiday world where other hotels are beside you. Very little staff to assist your need we went to other hotels to get info etc we needed!! Hope this help other travellers.

    We really enjoyed having a hot tub on our balcony, the view from the hotel was amazing.we also enjoyed the spa.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Decor. Room size. Service. Food. Location. View. Everything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fantastic from the staff to the room and the location and the food was excellent..... Will be returning for sure!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Snacks at bar and cooked breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rock hard beds & road noise

    Breakfast and view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows wind no way to the beach

    Spa tranquility

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for spar Some outside furniture stained .

    Breakfast very good Nice and quite.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    dident like sex on the balcony .... other hotel cauld see

    Exellent hotel and will be back

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym not functioning

    Excellent cuisine. Very friendly and helpful staff. Spa beautiful. Fantastic views.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from the beach

    Absolut fantastic

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee in room

    Excellent facialities

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In a big holiday village. No direct access to beach. Noisy hotels around it.,

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - Black little flies and lot of mold in the bathroom - Heated pool is only for the spa for which you have to pay extra and even if you pay kids are not allowed so we couldn't use it. This was unclear on websites. - There are other hotels in the compound and facilities of one hotel cannot be used by other hotels or are charged a lot and this is all very confusing on hotel's website - Location is very inconvenient as you have to drive even if you want to have a stroll on the beach - Some of the hotel staff was very unfriendly some were good. - Breakfast choice was very minimal and poor. For a 4 start hotel I would expect at least one hot item.

    - The complex has a water park that we could use for free. - Hot tub in the room balcony saved our holiday

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were generally unfriendly and seemed that service was something they provided grudgingly. Whenever dealing with any of the staff you came away feeling like you had inconvenienced them. Probably the worse service we have encounter in a hotel. The hotel was not busy either. Cleanliness in the rooms and the hotel in general was surprisingly poor. The hotel was grubby. Minimum maid service also. Food in the restaurant was mediocre at best. Ordered a fresh sea food platter that contained tinned pickled items. Often what was described in the menu had little resemblance to what arrived at the table. The waiter was expert at making excuses. Roll the dice on what comes to the table here.... Side note about the menu for half board. Only half of the menu was available to half board guests. The rest of the menu was available for a surcharge of 9 to 15 euros depending on the dish. There seems to be no value at all in half board option. Very happy we didn't take the HB option.

    Hot tub on balcony was super. Nice shower, rooms were large enough. Decor in the room was modern. Nice outdoor pool and spacious pool area. Breakfast was very good.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was 12 euros to get into main marina at Benalmadena. Food was a bit fancy. If you just want a burger or something simple you need to go out or book at restaurant in other holiday world hotel. American diner at Holiday Village very nice. Reception in Hydros can help with booking.

    The staff were fantastic. Couldn't do enough for us. Hotel wasn't too crowded - not too many rooms so plenty of room by pool etc. Private hot tub was brilliant.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was very sparse and it would be nice to have more choice than a continental breakfast. A cooked breakfast is what I expected as it is a four star hotel. The toaster was awful and there was very little choice. The flower window box outside our hotel window was overgrown with weeds which wasn't very nice to look at and could be easily sorted. The evening meal was average- portion size was good but it lacked seasoning.

    Loved the size of room, beds and aircon was good. Having a hot tub on balcony was great but ours seemed too full and overflowed when we got in it, soaking the balcony. The staff were very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The beds too hard! Self service basic breakftast ... Coffe was auwfull.. it tatsed to chocolate if you tried capuccino option. When a coffe form bar requested then extra chrages.. As this was a **** Hotel I definitely expected better breakfast We were there with 2 teenagers ... very less to do in the hotel

    location

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I didnt like the bed, it was to hard. I would have liked a warm breakfast. the hotel restaurant althought the food was lovely it was too expensive.

    I liked the hotel deco was lovely, and a very relaxing hotel with few people, the staff was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Fresh juice and seasonal fruits should be a part of the breakfast given the country and the luxury. The access to the spa should be free for the guests

    Friendly staff Excellent facilities The calm The view

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Magnificent Staff, spa , food , everything , and to top it off a hot tub on the balcony of room, First class Thank you

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great hotel difficult to find but worth it. Upgraded to a suite...fantastic

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the restaurant options and times

    The room was fantastic!

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Director Pedro Herves , Correcto, el director de !un profesional ! Bravo !

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No issues

    Perfect for couples.... Staff were fantastic and make a killer tinto de verano!!

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poorly maintained, in need of a facelift, and very dirty room and bath.

    Restaurant views

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: