Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Express Málaga Airport 3 stars

Avenida de Velazquez 294, Exit 3B Road MA-21, Churriana, 29004 Málaga, Spain

#71 of 92 hotels in Málaga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 11336 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    3.3
    Not accesible from the airport.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not accesible from the airport. Must take a taxi because no other way to reach the hotel. Misleading information if the hotel is defined as holiday Inn airport.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.8
    Overnight stopover very good place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Nice evening meal, room large and clean, staff very helpful, as it was a late arriving flight we were still able to get a meal in the restaurant. In the morning breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    Close to airport, had meal service, clean and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com indicates there is an airport shuttle from the hotel and there was no shuttle. We had to catch a taxi instead.

    Close to airport, had meal service, clean and quiet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    I stay at this hotel every year if I have a late arrival or...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stay at this hotel every year if I have a late arrival or early depature. Staff is always friendly / supportive. Just a great hotel for the purpose it serves near the airport.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.1
    Good and comfortable hotel for the rest before or after your...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no pedestrian to the airport, the distance is only about 1.5 km (taxi is expensive - 15 euros, uber is better - 5,5 euros).

    Good and comfortable hotel for the rest before or after your flight (one night ideal). Small breakfast is from 4:00.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    It’s clean, close to the airport & very convenient for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s clean, close to the airport & very convenient for the airport. The receptionists were friendly, helpful & polite. You cannot go wrong with the Holiday Inn brand - you know exactly what you are getting & it’s good value when you book in advance.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.5
    Close to airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit hard to find

    It is good as an airport hotel. We could have breakfast, even at 4h30. It was around the corner from the carcrental so no stress in the morning and very easy to get to airport

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.1
    A convenient place to spend a short night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Signposting to the hotel is non-existent. If you don't see it from the road (which you don't in the dark), it's easy to miss and spend half an hour backtracking.

    For a three -star one-nighter, the room was perfectly adequate and the breakfast was OK. The hotel is five minutes from Malaga airport though a little elusive in the middle of the night. You definitely need a GPS not to miss it! Parking is convenient and free.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.9
    Great stopover hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a pity hotel doesn’t have a shuttle service, it’s a 1mile treacherous walk or 25€ taxi ok when there is four sharing but steep for loan travelers

    Clean room good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    4.6
    The restaurant was ok for dinner.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its hard to reach despite being so close to the airport. You have to break the trafficregulations to reach the premises, and the road to get there is like a tractor-track . They have no airport-transfer-service which is a shame.

    The restaurant was ok for dinner. The personell in the reception compensated us for the totally useless non existent shuttle-service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.3
    Not a convenient location for airport and be aware of expensive taxi fares from airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised as airport hotel and stayed for convenience for this reason but you cannot actually walk there with bags across busy dual carriageway and very difficult to locate on foot and taxi cost 20 euro, rip off as five minute journey. Breakfast also poor. Wouldn't stay again, would rather spend money on a taxi into Málaga for the same price and eat far better in the centre.

    Bed comfortable and staff friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.3
    conveniently located if they provided rides to the airport
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms do not have proper noise isolation and the hotel is located next to a busy road, so you will hear the cars during all night. The hotel does not provide a coach ride to the airport so you are stuck with taxis that cost 15 eur to take you from/to the airport.

    Very friendly staff, the room was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.3
    Airport hotel recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The restaurant was first class, the staff very helpful and polite. Very close to airport (about 15 min walk) taxi at 5am was 15 Euros which was called from reception with only a 5min wait.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.8
    Overall 9/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast

    Very clean and tidy all you could ask for in the room except real milk only powder stuff BUT the staff behind the bar were very good and gave me a mug full for my granddaughters bottle

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.4
    Near Airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although very near Airport, normally a 15 minute walk, it was near impossible because of lack of footpaths, that meant a taxi ride with a minimum cost of 15 euro!

    Near Airport

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    4.6
    Tired when we arrived and was even more tired when we checked out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is tired in the reception area, restaurant and the rooms are clean, but also very tired. The walls are paper thin and therefore you hear every cough and heels going across the floor

    The staff at reception on checking in were very nice and got us checked in quickly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel , poor walking access to Airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location and inability to walk to the Airport that was only 800 metres away - Sure you can walk along the side of a dangerous Airport Access road , but the whole point to Book an Airport Hotel was to be able to walk to the AIrport in the morning , not get stiffed 20 Euros for a 2 minute Taxi ride - Wont repeat this mistake

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel but no shuttle bus service as indicated /filtered
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not the hotels fault but booking.com indicated a shuttle bus existed from airport-this was not the case.Yes a bus passed by and you could get a taxi but we booked the hotel on basis we believed there was a shuttle bus

    Really excellent staff and meals we had were also very good value for money

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable clean and quiet, location not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought it would have been walking distance to the airport , it is not. Also thought they would put on a free shuttle, they did not. Also, taxis want to charge 15 euros minimum to get there, (it's about a 4 minute drive)

    Was clean, quiet, comfortable. Early 4am breakfast was a nice surprise also as we had to be up at that time to catch our flight.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.9
    Planned to get into Malaga late at night, booked hotel as a quick stop befor onward Journey,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    possibly have more staff on the front desk, seems the front staff act as bar persons, can cause a delay in either checking in, checking out or getting a drink. Disappointed that there is not a shuttle bus, the taxi fare is excessive from the airport and visa-versa. a shuttle operating and charging 10Euros a trip would easily off set the cost of setting it up. Car rental firm next door has a shuttle service!

    location to the airport. suitability for our needs for one night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.7
    Proximity to airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extremly hard matress on the bed. No availability to assist with cases despite being wheelchair bound. The bathroom was totally accessible but became filled with water very quickly. Breakfast was a "free for all". There was no space for a mobility scooter so my friend and I ventured to get a table with her just using sticks. She was nearly knocked over twice. I think any severely disabled person should be advised that the dining area was not the most suitable place for them. The bath towels were on the small side.

    Proximity to airport. Polite, efficient front desk staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.1
    This was the closest hotel to Marbella Airport and it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food in restaurant was ok, but with the dessert something odd happened. An ice-cream with three scopes was in the menu for 5.5€. I asked if it was possible to get only one scope of icecream and it could be arranged. When it arrived it was one scope of icecream, but with some cream on top. OK fine, tasted good. But then it was time to pay, and guess what the price was for one scope of icecream instead of three ? 5€ ! A decrease of the price only with 50 cents for more than 50% less volume. Asked the waitress if she thought this was reasonable but it was like speaking to stoneface, no flexibility at all. I miss also training facilities but I understand it is not included in the hotel since most people stay there due to it is close to airport.

    This was the closest hotel to Marbella Airport and it was possible to walk to the terminal even though the distance was 1.2 km, and the way I walked was not recommended since some 50 meters of the distance was on the side of a main road, but it was the closest way. Also passing the main road was possible on a bridge to the Airport at the building where e.g. Wiber car rental is situated, that was not mentioned by the hotel who only recommended a bus after some walking. Nice and clean air conditioned rooms. OK restaurant at the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.1
    Disappointed we couldn't get a room near our friend as requested. No shuttle bus, taxi SO expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were under the impression this was an airport hotel with shuttle bus... not so.. too far and unsafe to walk to airport with luggage. Taxi SO expensive for 800m... 18 euros!!! We would stay in centre of Malaga and take taxi from there next time

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.0
    Tuna tart at breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room stank of smoke and I had difficulty sleeping well as a result. I had wrongly assumed the room would all be non smoking.

    Tuna tart at breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.5
    Good for one night
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Folding bed a bit rattly!

    Handy for airport transfers. Food and service in restaurant better than expected, and portions very good. Service efficient and with a smile. Rooms clean and comfy. Would use again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    6.7
    One stay night only!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tv in the room had over 35 channels of which only 2 were english speaking? Bed cover on the sofa bed was dirty! Room smelt of smoke, we later found out this was a smoking floor, we were not offered a no smoking room even though we had a child!

    Breakfast was ok, room was a reasonable size and the shower was powerful. Easy to get into Malaga by using the bus and also very cheap. 10 minute walk to the airport, do not use the taxi if you don't have to! For an airport hotel it was ok.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.1
    Requested interconnecting family rooms on ground floor a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested interconnecting family rooms on ground floor a year in advance and checked two weeks before arriving as we have lots of cases and a large family. We stayed twice in two weeks as we had very late flights arriving then very early flights when leaving and on both occasions had unconnected rooms on high floors. Hairdryer etc broken in rooms, bath not clean. Disappointing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like everything was spot on .

    Cleanliness ease of check in comfortable beds . Our breakfast was lovely too . Exactly what we needed after our law flight .I'll definitely use this hotel again .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.1
    Close to airport and Car hire, room was big enough for four...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Diner in restaurant was below our expectation, the overall impression of hotel was that it might need an update.

    Close to airport and Car hire, room was big enough for four and clean, breakfast was abundant, parking space in front of hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.3
    Fit the bill for an early morning flight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficulty driving from main road to hotel. Very difficult. Insufficient frictional signage.

    Very good being able to get some breakfast prior to a very early morning flight

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    Did the job for our requirements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is awful. Toaster takes 10 mins to slightly brown the bread and people placing chocolate and cheese croissants in there too making queues very long. Croissants and bread hard and days old. Orange juice tasted awful as did the coffee. Needs a complete change or don’t offer breakfast.

    Excellent for one night if u have a late flight arrival before moving on to your destination next morning. Comfortable clean rooms and nice staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.1
    If you have to spend a night near the airport this is ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not such good value as same time last year. No double beds available. Handy place to stay overnight if you have arrived on a late flight but the taxi fare is high €20 fixed charge for short journey, registered taxi. Hotel should organise an alternative.

    Room was changed easily when we didn't like the smoke smell in allocated room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.2
    Was very nice , clean and staff were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t walk to the property from the airport and the taxi is 19 Euro standard fare. Could do with a shuttle bus/car and it would be 10/10

    Was very nice , clean and staff were excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    Staff made the hotel shine!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little expensive for what it was

    The staff were amazing especially the girls on the bar friendly and their English was superb nothing was too much for them great team

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.0
    Staff were very friendly&food was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Aircon was very noisy,the beds were so uncomfortable &the outside noise was very loud as next to Motorway&airport,didn't know anybody this when booking.

    Staff were very friendly&food was nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at the airport at around midnight and had to walk to the hotel, crossing major roads and roundabouts. We eventually found it. There was no shuttle bus. We had to get a taxi from the hotel back to the airport which was no more than a 5 minute drive. It cost 14 euro. Very expensive.

    The cleanliness, good customer care and lovely breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    4.2
    I liked that the breakfast was included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to this hotel is horrible and there is no information on the website about how difficult it is to enter its entrance, which is through the entrance of a car dealership. This should be clearly spelled out on their website, particularly for non native speakers. It also should have been clearly spelled out at time of booking that it would be a double OR a twin bed accommodation at their discretion. The bed choice was not clearly stated before the booking was confirmed.

    I liked that the breakfast was included.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Affordable, welcoming and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room got slightly over crowded

    The staff were very helpful. A lady working on Wednesday morning with dark short hair was so informative and really went out of her way to assist us. Many thanks

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.4
    It is NOT an ‘airport hotel’ impossible to walk to from...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is NOT an ‘airport hotel’ impossible to walk to from airport. There is a bus, but if you have an early flight you’ll need to pay €16 euros for the taxi.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    5.8
    Avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location: 15 Euros for a taxi to the airport at 5AM. No shuttlebus. Roads apparently too dangerous to walk along (no crossings). If you want convenience for the airport and have an early flight (why else get somewhere near the airport?), forget it. Save your money and get somewhere cheaper further away because the taxi won't be much more expensive. Fellow guests were noisy. Bedding was umncomfortable.

    Cleanliness

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    5.0
    Over priced and dingy. Only stay here if you need to be close to the airport and grab an Uber.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard pillows, outdated decor, dingy interior, no shuttle to airport even though this is an airport hotel, loud air conditioning system, poor lighting, and not a good value at all.

    Proximity to airport was handy although there was no airport shuttle (this made no sense). Hotel restaurant staff were very polite and professional. The service and the staff were very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    4.6
    Location actually within walking distance of airport
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dirty the bed felt slept in it actually had bits in it felt itchy had to sleep on top of the covers was too tired and had too little time to complain.

    Location actually within walking distance of airport

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    5.0
    Clean hotel room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is closest hotel to Malaga Airport, walking distance between hotel & Airport is 1 km. But there is no walking route from Airport to hotel. In XXI century Europe pedestrians should have safe walking route from Airport to Airport hotel.

    Clean hotel room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.1
    Just right
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath tap mixer was stuck on v hot water ( this was disappointing as good shower is one thing we were looking forward to on arrival) however the staff were excellent and after a number of them reviewing it, a new part was bought and the fittings were replaced and the shower was working by 9.20pm, it was inconvenient as we wanted to settle early due to early am flight , but the staff did all they could and got a new tap 😁 all ok in the end.

    Ideal for one night for the 3 of us before our early flight home to uk. Close to airport but surprising quiet location. Comfy bed and pillows , room was clean and bright. Reception staff spoke good English and were helpful and pleasant. Early continental help yourself breakfast, was much appreciated by my daughter.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Handy for the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a slip on the check in desk with some information relating to the hotel but the clerk didn't really reiterate it and we were too tired when we arrived to read it. I took my sister to the airport at 5am and returned to the hotel for a few hours before checking out and was a bit disappointed to realise there was a light breakfast provided from 4am which she would've been able to have before we left. The prices at the bar were over-inflated €2.25 for a tiny bottle of coke, that was after waiting an age to be served as the barman kept chatting to the reception staff, so long wait to be served, wait for drinks and long wait for him to come back with our change. On the whole though I would stay here again as there were lots if positives.

    Was dropping my sister to Malaga for a 6.30am flight and picked this for proximity to airport and the fact it had free parking. It was only a 5 minute drive which was great. The location/entrance to hotel is a bit weird though... my Sat nav tried to turn us right but I thought it was into a car park so ignored it, so we sailed past the hotel! Considering how close the hotel us to both airport and a busy road it was remarkably quiet.... I also thought we would be kept awake all night by the doors to the rooms which all close with the inevitable wallop, but it was fine.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Perfect location for a one night stop after late flight and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location for a one night stop after late flight and for a short walk to car rental in the morning. Adjoining rooms for the family was exactly what we needed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Close to airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor sound proofing between room & corridor. Very noisy busy hotel 24hrs a day! Bizarre access road to hotel from airport! Dirt track???

    Close to airport.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    4.5
    This hotel is the only opportunity for one who use Malaga...
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you have some luggage with you a taxi from the airport will cost you 20 euro for just 3 minute drive. Our room smelled tobacco Asked for a quiet room, but got a very noisy road facing one Breakfast seemed quite poor

    This hotel is the only opportunity for one who use Malaga airport as a transit to some other destination

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast and absence of a shuttle bus is a pure disaster!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The absence of the airport shuttle! They offer either a public bus with undefinite schedule or a taxi. 20 euro for 3 minutes drive is a shame!!! Why this hotel has no a shuttle bus to the airport - unknown though other airport hotels worldwide have it. The breakfast also starts at 7.30. It is unacceptable for the airport hotel. If a breakfast is included into the price and you must leave before 8.00, then it is just an additional charge, not a service included! And they do not offer you a room without breakfast included!

    Definitely the location which is near the airport. Availability of smoking rooms - nowadays it becomes a value for the smokers. Rooms and bathrooms were good, HI standard.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.1
    Convenient as a stop over from flying in to getting to your...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not an attractive location but functional, clean, tidy and pleasant as a stop over

    Convenient as a stop over from flying in to getting to your chosen accommodation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.3
    Stayed one night. Noney saved was spent on over priced food and taxis
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff engagement not nice. Very limited lunch options particularly for non spanish speakers with only two over priced restaurants that hotel offers to order from.

    Good value compared to other options

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Holiday Inn Express Malaga - perfect stay happy family!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Was brilliant!

    Booked last minute due to a holiday apartment booking error. Convenient location right by the airport perfect for a late night arrival. Also practically next door to car hire places. No airport or road noise despite the close proximity (with the windows closed) we opened them up to watch planes take off in the morning! Clean and comfortable room. Blackout curtains and aircon. Nothing too much for the friendly staff who were really nice to our kids. They had even set up a cot for our infant in advance which was a lovely touch. Nice continental breakfast in the morning with a bar and cold bottled water on reception in the evening. Easy to find and park. Would recommend to anyone who needs the odd night there before or after flying. Not to mention the really reasonable price!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.1
    Close to the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As the room was on the ground floor, ants were coming in from outside forming a line reaching behind the bed. Also, a mini fridge would be helpful in the summer to be able to store bottles of water and keep them cool.

    Close to the airport. Good for one night especially if your flight arrives after midnight. Free parking. Decent breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for its proximity to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for its proximity to the airport but I really liked my room, bed, and shower. I wasn't expecting to enjoy the stay but actually really did enjoy the hotel. Very close to the bus if you want to take public transportation downtown Malaga.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.1
    Ok for a short stay, basic hotel with big clean rooms. Basic breakfast, very busy at times
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit chaotic, too many people and only so much food and a few tables. Lucky we arrived before, but we saw a long queue as we were leaving. Hard to find, our Gps did not take us there and we went in circles. Had to stop and ask

    Classic basic hotel by airport, not for long stays. We were a family of 4, room was of good size for one night. Took a taxi to Malaga center (15 min.). Parking outside. Breakfast was basic but ok for the price we paid

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.8
    Close to the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cramped even though it was a premium room and gave a musty smell There was no bottled water in the room For an airport hotel they don’t operate a shuttle, what they do have is an overpriced taxi service The bathrooms amenities were very poor. Breakfast was so basic - bread, butter, jam and muffins.

    Close to the airport Comfortable bed Hotel parking

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    6.7
    It was as expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Transport to the airport has to be via taxi. It would be good if that could be improved. A shuttle maybe in the early morning?

    It was near to the airport and the food was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.5
    The staff were friendly and helpful in booking a taxi for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m personally not too fussy but I do listen to what my family say . The only point they complained about was the breakfast, the meats were warm and the staff put the breakfast out very slowly, so we missed anything that was hot . Only one coffee machine was working and the water had a bitter taste .

    The staff were friendly and helpful in booking a taxi for our onward journey. I wasn’t expecting a 5 star hotel and I was glad to get my head down as we arrived early morning as our flight was late . Booked in with no problem and they even gave me a courtesy call to confirm our arrival. Be aware there are no smokers rooms , I booked a smokers and non smokers only to be told on arrival there are none .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    We liked being out of town centre and hotel met all our requirements
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like food in restaurant but can't please everybody so we only ate there once and it takes a little research to find best way from airport

    Liked having breakfast included and everything was fresh and always topped up even when busy. Staff extra helpful and location good for as hired car from airport and hotel had free parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.2
    Convenient, clean and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found it really hard to find!!! Didn’t believe the Sat Nav when it tried to send us down a made up road under a flyover. Looked like somewhere you might go to do a drug deal- not the main route to a chain airport hotel!!! So relieved when we found the hotel after driving around in the dark.

    Good price and good breakfast. Convenient when you come in on a late flight.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.1
    Respite
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is small for family. But I only stayed few hours so wouldn't complain too much. If I were to stay for longer days, ut would have been disappointing.

    The fact that it was close to the airport

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.5
    I'm glad it was a short stay but it was comfortable enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Medium hard pillows would have been welcome . Better tea and coffee would also be welcome.

    A small family room which had all facilities albeit cramped. The hard pillows were iron hard and the soft pillows were very soft.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.3
    Pretty basic but the location next to the airport is what you're paying for
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air-conditioning didn't work in the room so it was pretty uncomfortable sweaty night! Bit noisy too with road traffic noise.

    We had a flight at 7.30 so it was great that they had pre-breakfast food so we could eat something quickly before we left.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.1
    Not the most convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trying to find this hotel was a nightmare!! No sign posts, very unclear where to turn of on motorway! No good for walking to the airport with a family, and taxi was €15 for a 2 minute journey.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.8
    Good one night stay next to air
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside the hotel is quite a rough area. Wouldn't like to walk to hotel after dark.

    Nice and helpful staff. Easy to get help with taxi to airport. Nice and clean. Ok restaurant. Really good with a small breakfast already from 04.00. The hotel is used to travellers. No disturbing noise even if room was facing airport and highway.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel, close to airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The looooong wait for a table at breakfast. Lack of vegan options at breakfast for one of my family. Disappointed that I didn’t get the exact rooms I’d paid for... I’d booked and paid for three family rooms and one double.... what I got was two family rooms and two twin rooms.

    Close proximity to airport... quick easy check in procedure. Friendly staff and all four rooms I’d booked were close together. Exceptionally good breakfast which fitted my ketogenic way of eating perfectly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.5
    Great rooms and service - food rubbish!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bar expensive, breakfast badly organised and low quality. Had to wait 30 minutes to get a table; food was poor quality and coffee weak.

    Room was great; staff lovely,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.3
    Close to the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Missing a shutlle and the taxi ride from the airport was very expensiv. 20€ for 2 kilometers or 5 minuts drive.

    Close to the airport, we came 03:00 in the morning and it was fast to check in, the breakfast was ok but not fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.0
    No shuttle bus to airport!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main reason for a negative review is the fact that the whole reason I booked this 'airport' hotel was because of it's proximity to the airport and presuming that there would be a shuttle bus to airport....WRONG. Instead you can walk a few minutes (more like 5 if you have luggage) and wait for a bus or order an overpriced taxi. I was also told by recpetion that UBER was not operating in the area. I am glad I took this information with a pinch of salt as you can indeed order an uber and get to the airport in 10mins for around 8 EURs

    Clean, decent restaurant and they were showing the World Cup.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    5.4
    Not an airport hotel without transfer to the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not informative enough about travel to the airport - the bus leaves from close enough but times vague as it depends on how long it takes to get to the hotel from the city - 9 Euro for annoying bus and 20 Euro for a taxi that was punctual and efficient - no brainier

    Proximity to the airport

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.8
    Close to airport but hard to get to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although close to the airport, it isn't possible to walk between the two places. You either have to catch a bus and cross a major highway or get a taxi for €20.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.5
    The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dated, but ok clean. The location was a surprise. Bad one! Airport hotel without shuttle bus to the airport?? Or not being connected to the airport? Very misleading name for something where you have to walk 35 ish minutes to the airport. 😖 Thankfully we could keep our rental car for an extra day.

    The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. Professional

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.8
    Very close tit the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you expect silence you won’t get. Also the staff at the restaurant could do with a smile or just pretend they like the job and the costumers. Very rude and uninterested on anything

    Very close tit the airport. Perfect for a rest when you ative from a late flight or going early the following day

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.3
    Absolutely fine for a one night stop off before/after a flight. Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to order a taxi however, there is no courtesy bus.

    Handy for an overnight stay for an early morning flight. There is a very close bus stop to get in and out of Malaga itself

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.1
    Ideal if you have a late arrival on the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were not very soundproof to be fair. We could hear everything that was going on in the corridors in the early hours of the morning. Breakfast was a bit bland and boring. Taxi from the offical taxis (the ones that you stand in the queue) costed 19 Euros for a 5 minutes ride. I speak fluent spanish so it wasn't a problem of language barrier. According to them, it is the minímum charge they have. I know this is not the hotel's fault and it hasn't affected in my score of the property, but I thought it would be nice to point out for future guests

    It was close from the aiport, so I ideal for us to have a bed straight away after we landed since our flight arrived at 2am. So, we arrived at 2:30 and check in was made by staff on site without any problem.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: