Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hospedería Conventual de Alcántara 4 stars

Carretera del Poblado de Iberdrola, s/n, 10980 Alcántara, Spain

#1 of 4 hotels in Alcántara

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 371 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 24

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a very comfortable modern room with a very good bathroom. The bed was huge. The public areas are lovely and comfortable and the bar prices are exceptional value for money. There's a great pool and a spacious terrace with lovely views of the hills. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi fi connection is only available in public areas. You can ask for a plug in modem/keyboard at reception to use in your room, but this is not as convenient as just using your own laptop or notebook.

    We had a spacious, comfortable room, with a nice seating area. The bathroom was warm, nicely appointed, and spacious. We have stayed here twice before, and appreciate the history of the building. The fact that we were back again is because the hotel is comfortable, has character, and was conveniently placed along our route from Spain into Portugal. The food offered as the half board option was more than acceptable, and we enjoyed our meal.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It's a long journey to get there, but it is well worth the effort

    Superb and interesting old building refurbished by the local government. Some modern new build rooms on an attached site. Electric car charger on site. Really interesting village and amazing old Roman bridge, built in 104AD still being used as a major road

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old converted building with loads of character. Really helpful staff and excellent onsite restaurant which offers local food at very reasonable prices. You must visit the village and visit the Convent of San Benito.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A fantastic conversion immaculately executed. A good restaurant although not used much when we were there. Excellent rooms, bar and restaurant. We stayed there as it is adjacent to the bridge of Alcantara and we had family history associations with the bridge.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was too firm for my old bones.

    The location was great and the pool was the highlight of our stay. Great birdwatching while just floating around. We were also able to arrange a late check out which made our time there more relaxing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room in the new block is very claustrophobic , looks like a concrete box with little windows. View to the garbage collection area.

    Very interesting adaptation of the old convent already used as a mill previously.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints

    Great evening meal at reasonable price. Superb spacious room in new block and extremely quiet AC. Breakfast in the flour mill area was excellent and so unusual as regards Vista. Excellent value and local area very interesting Will definitly stay at this chain again

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air con a little noisy. Also, there were two children's beds stored at the top of a staircase that was supposed to be an emergency exit!

    Lovely old building, nice quiet room, helpful staff and good buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that impressed with the bar service and the food served in the restaurant.

    I loved the location in one of the most interesting places in Extremadora . The hotel was a great place to stay and having the swimming pool was definitely an added plus at the end of the day.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We originally booking superior room we misunderstood that it had a balcony/ terrace. However it has a tiny window/ no view (for monks) Receptionist was very nice and moved us to cheaper room in new wing big window with nice view. Apparently only the suite has a private balcony.

    Beautifully renovated building. Lovely patio Great pool with wonderful views. Bar has great outdoor terras with view on country side sunset and good food

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anythink.

    Fantastic location, beautiful restored building. Wonderful poolafter a hard day's sightseeing. Very comfortable room, great shower. Great bar and terrace. Breakfast good. Short walk to local village and local bars. Short drive to Roman Bridge and close to Portuguese border. Would definately stay again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole hotel needs a thorough clean and was chronically understaffed except for the restaurant. The tragedy of this hotel is that the building is amazing and properly organized would be superb. I cannot think why the owners would not want to run it as a quality operation. My wife was also a little unhappy with the bat that shared our room in the open space above our bed but hopefully this was a one off event rather than a regular feature.

    The location and the building is fantastic and the restaurant provided a good dinner. This hotel could and should be of Parador quality.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful building with big rooms. Easy to reach by car

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much in English

    Perfect tranquil location. Large unique rooms. Selection of diffent pillows.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wet room, staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    modern hotel in historical building, nice place to stay

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautifully refurbished former convent offering every convenience

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant empty

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Quietness, friendliness,location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Whilst there were 30 or more people staying, there were only 10 loungers for the pool. Can't think of anything else to moan about!

    Relaxing, friendly, welcoming, attentive staff, good value restaurant, large room, swimming pool, walking distance from the town

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    This is unique property, a converted nunnery, and has a wonderfully tranquil atmosphere. The rooms are contemporary but have been renovated to bring out all the best original features - open wooden beams etc. Excellent bed and roomy bathroom which was spotless. Lovely view and listened to sound of goat bells from a little flock on the valley below. We had trouble connecting with my bank via wifi and the staff were very helpful with this, allowing me to use their phone to call my bank without charge.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Evening meal (half board) mean & disappointing. Let's have real orange juice at breakfast, please. Gifts in reception ridiculously expensive. People smoking in courtyard below room & smoke sucked into bedroom. Booked well in advance by internet but it took a long time to book in.

    I stupidly left clothes in the wardrobe. I phoned to explain on Saturday evening. Received the clothes in rural Valencia by 2pm on Tuesday. Amazing service! Thank you to the staff - you're honest, organised & efficient. I'm very grateful. 2) Preservation of industrial past in breakfast area. 3) Courtyard, especially the trees, resident birds & attractive lights - the "softest" area of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Only WiFi in the lobby

    Good price nice rooms

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24

Browse Hospedería Conventual de Alcántara traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: